check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kimberly

Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Southwest Colorado's Premier Vacation Retreat

18 Reviews
Sleeps24
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms5
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Rincon Ridge Estate Rental Photos and Description

Estate, 7 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 16-24)

Rincon Lodge is located just east of historic Durango, Colorado where you can enjoy countless seasonal activities such as golfing, horseback riding, river rafting, shopping, dining, and world-class hunting & fishing. Also nearby are Mesa Verde National Park, the Durango-Silverton narrow gauge railroad, two ski areas (Durango Mountain Resort and Wolf Creek Ski Area), and natural healing hot spring spas.

Built in 1995-1996, the lodge itself is a magnificent 6,500 square foot custom log home with expansive wrap-around decks offering views of the majestic La Plata Mountains, the Florida Mesa, and abundant wildlife. Open floor plans, cathedral ceilings, and soaring windows provide views of deer, elk, and wild turkey seen almost daily year-round. Inside the lodge, seven bedrooms will accommodate 20 guests with room for more upon request.

The main floor has two full-size sofas as well as additional seating for comfortable relaxation and is situated around a floor to ceiling woodburning river rock fireplace with satellite television and a DVD/VCR. Several entryways provide access to covered decks with panoramic views. Private bedrooms include shared full baths and another half bath with shower just around the corner. The dining area and kitchen on the main floor feature a teak dining table easily seating ten people with additional leafs for expansion. A massive elk antler chandelier adorns the area.

The custom kitchen and center island features solid granite countertops, a six burner gas range, double ovens, and everything else even the most discerning gourmet cook will appreciate. The center island provides casual seating. The mudroom offers a full-size washer and dryer, a full upright freezer, and a large open pantry.

The lower living area also has a full-size sofa and chair seating around a second river rock fireplace and a big screen satellite television with DVD/VCR. It hosts four private bedrooms including a kids 'dorm room' with a bassinet and one shared full bath. Two entryways provide access to covered patios.

Take the log staircase to the upper level and you will find the master suite complete with a rustic aspen log frame king-size bed and two private decks with views that will take your breath away. The master bath has a Jacuzzi tub, separate shower, double vanity, and a spacious walk-in closet that includes an extra sleeping area with futon, a ping pong table, or a secluded place to just be alone with your thoughts and relax.

Accommodations total two king-size beds, two queen-size beds, one full-size bed, four twin beds, two sets of bunk bed, and futon sleepers. Radiant in-floor heating is accented by oak hardwoods, carpet, slate, and saltillo tile. There are ceiling fans and portable fans in every room. This house was designed without central air, because of it's alititude!

In conjunction with the Lodge for larger parties, the guesthouse will sleep 4 comfortably. Situated as a studio apartment or 'mother-in-law' quarters above the 3 car garage, it offers the same stupendous views and peaceful settings as the Lodge, located approximately 60 yards directly north.

Located at 7487', the fully fenced 76 acres of ponderosa and juniper pine covered ground around the lodge offer endless nature trail hiking, snowshoeing, snow sledding, mountain biking, picnicking, barbecuing, horseshoes, and a ski run in the winter months to keep busy during your stay.

Complimentary wireless internet throughout the property.

RINCON LODGE has something for everyone! With its spaciousness, unmatched beauty and peaceful surroundings, it is an ideal vacation spot for weddings, family and school reunions, or executive corporate retreats. For more information, please contact us at 303-362-0964 or e-mail!

Keywords: Lodge, Estate, Acreage, Large Groups, Privacy, Peaceful

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Kimberly (Owner)
Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Kimberly

Our caretaker is located near the property and can be available for whatever your needs may be during your stay. He also plows the roads to the property and our driveway. It is critical during winter months drive a 4 wheel drive or have chained tires to access the lodge.

Kimberly purchased this estate in 1996

Why Kimberly chose Durango

Everyone loves this property!

Why? The Lodge itself, the views, the land around the property to hike or sled, the amenities and space within the lodge, the seclusion and tranquility, the authenticity of living in a log cabin in the mountains!

What makes this estate unique

A true Log Cabin nestled atop a ridge that is totally secluded to the outside world. At it's elevation of approximately 7500 ft above sea level, the wind blows through the night allowing for a roaring fire sometimes in the middle of summer. This fenced 80 acre property will allow your entire party to roam safely without getting lost in the mountains of Durango. All the comforts of home in a large 3 story cabin with heated floors, lots of space and where the only sounds you hear at night are deer walking through leaves or a wolf howling at the moon.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We spent Christmas at Rincon Lodge in 2006 and we returned to spend Christmas of 2010. The Lodge is great and all of our family had a great time. We had enough snow for a snowman and the house was decorated so pretty and the tree was great. It is a wonderful and beautiful place to relax and enjoy family time. Thank you for sharing your place with us. Scott was great and thanks for all your help.
Dec 2010
  • 1 of 7

Reviews

5
based on 18 traveler reviews

Southwest Colorado's Premier Vacation Retreat
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
5

Spring Break Family

  • 5 of 5

WOW enough cannot be said about this property. The pictures DO NOT do it justice. It is the highest property in the whole area so you can see for miles on end. The secluded area was just right for our family get away for Spring Break. Yet we were only a short drive from downtown Durango. Rooms a plenty for everyone and the Kitchen was a Chef's dream. If you have a group for 10 or more don't think twice this is the place for you.

If you have any questions email me and I can answer question if you like. Management knows how to communicate with me. Kimberly was wonderful to work with and on site support was there for any needs we had. ( none, everything was perfect. )

We look forward to going back.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The Lodge of Views

  • 5 of 5

The perfect place in Durango to relax and unwind. The wrap-around porch is perfect for morning coffee and evening cookouts. The lodge easily slept 15 with large bedrooms and comfortable beds. The kitchen is fully stocked for all cooking needs, along with 2 large TVs and a ping pong table. Not that one needs to spend much time at the lodge with so many activities in and around Durango. My highlight was watching the evening 'fireworks' of lightening storms (in July) from the porch. The porch has 250 degree (probably more) views from high atop the ridge, making for the perfect place to begin or end your day.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much, we hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Livingston, Texas, USA
5

Family rented for nearby wedding Sept. 2011

  • 5 of 5

Our family from Houston, Texas area rented the lodge and guesthouse for a 4 night stay for our sons wedding in Ignacio. It was absolutely perfect !!! With each family having a seperate room and multiple bathrooms, no one had problems with privacy. The views from the porches are breath-takingly fantastic, even though it was rainy the first 3 days, we did had intermittent clear times. I must also confess until we had been up the driveway(and it goes UP, it winds around the mountain) a few times in the rain, at times it was scarey, but when dry or after it was packed it was perfect also!!! Scott, the caretaker, was great and very helpful with any questions we had.

We would highly recommend The Palace Rest. they have very good food (we had our Rehearsal Dinner there and they were great); the train to Silverton was magnificent... long, but well worth the time (a great way to see the countryside without hiking or biking !!); we also viewed the nearby Mancos-Mesa Verde Annual Balloon Festival... it was awesome !!!! see it if you can; take the time to tour Mesa Verde National Park - give it at least 1/2 a day.... the views are spectacular and ancient Indian culture was amazing.

To sum it all up, the photos of the house and surroundings are very accurate and the property was very clean and well maintained. We would absolutely recommend this listing to anyone - friend or family. We have already discussed having family reunions here in the future !!!! WE LOVED IT !!!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Austin, Texas
5

A WONDERFUL Time

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 16 and had a great time. The house is so well built, with no drafts, no noise between levels, and a place for everyone. We had a fire going the entire time and the sun room/mud room with its tile floor was the perfect place to leave all our outer gear as we entered the lodge. Plus there was room left over to set up a card table and four chairs (they thought of everything!). We were able to sit ten or eleven at the dining table and four or five people at the bar (with stools, on the dining side of the kitchen). There was every kind of pot or pan you could ask for, including a frying pan large enough to hold sauce and spaghetti for a crowd of sixteen (great for frying eggs in the morning, too). Every kind of kitchen equipment, including a coffee-bean grinder and two coffee makers, a hand-held mixer with its own storage holder, and a generous pantry to store all the food supplies.. AND there was a half-bath off the pantry (with its own shower, so more than a half-bath). The only thing we could have used was more refrigerator space - with that large a group. There was a stand-up freezer, but we didn't use it. Our only regret was it was too cold to sit out on the balcony, although we often walked out on it to drink in the view from three sides of the lodge. The same spectacular view overlooking a valley of trees and open ground could be seen from the master suite on two sides and one of the corner bedrooms on the main floor. Even the first floor, where most of the bedrooms were, had a view of the property, so lots of light in every room. The ping-pong room was a place of nightly gatherings for an on-going tournament and there was enough space that the smaller children could play on their own, out of the way of the ping-pong players. Plus a table large enough (with two chairs and good lighting) to set out a 500-1,000 piece puzzle. The ping-pong room had a wonderful glass wall at one end that overlooked the back of the lodge and the garage and its living quarters above; again, lots of light, but warm inside. All in all, a terrific place to be.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review! We have just replaced the full size freezer with an additional refrigerator, provided a laptop computer for guest use, installed a play set for our younger guests, and replaced the patio furniture. Hope to see you party again!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Huntsville, AL
5

Rincon Ridge

  • 5 of 5

House was exactly as described. Not only was it fully equiped, but had more dishes, pots & pans, and other stuff than would ever be expected. Ten adults, five children, and one teenager stayed there and everyone had a great time. I would definitely plan to stay there again if viisting Durango with extended family. It was clean and well maintained. Beautiful house, wonderful location and view. Only problem might be getting access if it snowed. I was a little concerned we might see snow over Thanksgiving, but no problems getting up to the lodge. while there we went bowling at the casino, went to see Mesa Verde, and hiked up a mountain my daughter knew about.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, Texas
5

What a place!

  • 5 of 5

We didn't find anything that was not needed, plenty of everything was found! The kitchen was very well equipped. We enjoyed many group activities in your home, everyone still had their own private space to escape and enjoy solitude also. Thank you again for a wonderful week! See you next year!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
La Plata County
Nearest Barpub
19 Miles
Steamworks Brewing Company
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Hillcrest Golf Club
Nearest Train
18 Miles
Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
US 160/CR 234
Nearest Restaurant
17 Miles
Various
Nearest Ski
45 Miles
Durango Mountain Resort
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Animas River
Car: recommended

Ski: Durango Mountain Resort and Wolf Creek Ski Area

This is a rural property just outside of Durango city limits which sits atop a mountainous ridge. You will NEED 4 wheel drive in the winter or chains. There is a good chance you will encounter wild life, small and large. You may see mice, chipmunks, rabbits, turkey, coyotes, deer, elk, mountain lions and bears! Also, the Lodge is equipped with ceiling fans and portable fans in every room for summer, not air conditioning. Generally, the wind at this altitude can be cool enough to burn fires at the Lodge in the summer nights. If any of these things mentioned here bother you or are a cause of concern we may not be a perfect fit, and ultimately we want you to have a wonderful experience. Kindest regards, Rincon Lodge

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rincon Ridge Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Holiday Thanksgiving
Nov 20 2016 - Nov 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$900
$5,900
 
 
Holiday Dec/Jan 2017
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 7 2017
4 night minimum stay
$900
 
 
Summer Season
May 26 2017 - Sep 9 2017
4 night minimum stay
$900
$5,900
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$900
$5,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$600
$3,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $275
Tax Rate 6.8%

Pets are allowed with $500 Refundable pet deposit, per pet. Pet cleaning fees are $50. per pet.
CANCELLATION POLICY: The time factor is critical in vacation rentals and your reservation will hold this property off the market. If you cancel for any reason after we have mailed your executed contract, your rent cannot be refunded unless the Lodge or guesthouse is re-rented (less a $100.00 administrative fee).
Smoking is allowed OUTSIDE the lodge. No inside smoking. Four Wheel Drive Vehicles or chained tires required in winter season!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rincon Ridge Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • 5
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Child Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Bed Sets (2)
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
RINCON LODGE has something for everyone! With its spaciousness, unmatched beauty and peaceful surroundings, it is an ideal vacation spot for weddings, family and school reunions, or executive corporate retreats. For more information, please contact us at 303-362-0964 or e-mail

Partner Offers