Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

5-BR Central VT Vacation Home near Echo Lake

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, sleeps 13, great for groups & families!

Looking for the perfect ski house for your group, convenient to Okemo and Killington? Little Brook House at Echo Lake is comfortable, homey and accessible to both, on VT-100 - 3.5 miles to Okemo's Jackson Gore lift, 11 miles to the Killington Skyeship. This spacious, non-smoking, five-bedroom, 2.5-bath retreat with hot tub, Jacuzzi bath and loads of amenities, is perfect for large families, reunions or groups of friends! The house sleeps 13 (including two sofabeds).

The house is conveniently located on scenic Vermont Rte. 100, 4 miles from Okemo's Jackson Gore base area and 11 miles from the Killington Skyeship. The village of Ludlow, with shopping, restaurants and supermarkets, is five miles away, and there's a little store right across the street where you can buy your morning coffee or NY Times, rent a movie or pick up some wine or beer.

Enjoy an exhilarating day skiing or riding on one of NINE world-class ski areas nearby, then gather in the hot tub on the back deck that overlooks state forest land listen to the babbling brook. There's also XC skiing, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, ice skating, sledding and more! Non-skiers will enjoy the fireplace, hot tub, dining and shopping.

LITTLE BROOK'S HOUSE'S HISTORY

This spacious, non-smoking, five-bedroom house started as a chicken coop over 150 years ago! Some of the original wood remains around the fireplace, but today it's a spacious, comfortable home perfect for large families, reunions or groups of friends. It's a five-minute walk from Echo Lake, where a two-person kayak is docked for your private use.

The house sleeps 13 (including two sofabeds). Relax in the Adirondack chairs on the front porch on lazy summer days, or gather in the hot tub on the back deck that overlooks state forest land listen to the babbling brook. Kids love to play in the creek, hike in the back woods (hundreds of acres with a series of waterfalls and gorges), play volleyball or horseshoes (adult and kids sets), bocce or croquet, ride the tire swing, kick a ball around the expansive lawn, and catch snakes and salamanders. Cross the street to the Black River and catch a few fish, or walk to Echo lake for swimming and kayaking.

(The address is 1785 Rte 100 North, just south of Echo Lake in north Ludlow. NOTE THAT THE MAP places this house at the wrong place. We are actually across the street from this location: http://maps.google.com/maps?q=1786+Route+100+north,+ludlow,+VT&hl=en&sll=43.486442,-72.70655&sspn=0.007457,0.015171&hnear=1786+Rte+100+N,+Ludlow,+Windsor,+Vermont+05149&t=m&z=16)

9% VT lodging tax and $200 cleaning will be added to total rent.

WINTER -- Little Brook House is 3.5 miles from Okemo Mountain Resort and 11 from Killington Skyeship. It is available as a winter seasonal rental, or for winter weeks and weekends.

More Details

Owner
Lisa
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 16, 2017

About Lisa

We're a family of nature lovers -- skiing in the winter; boating, hiking, running and biking in the summer! We live in Colorado after two decades on the East Coast but couldn't part with our beloved Little Brook House.

Lisa purchased this house in 2002

Why Lisa chose Ludlow

We love its rich history -- and the feeling of getting away from it all combined with the community feel of being located at the edge of the tiny village of Tyson, at the northern tip of Ludlow, with the convenience of Tom's Village Store just across the street! Drop in and tell Tom Lisa says 'Hi!'

What makes this house unique

The creek out back! The day hike from the house up Little Brook to Tiny Pond -- look for the moose that resides there! The Country Store across the street and its friendly owner, Tom Village, who is always so friendly to people who stay at Little Brook house.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I just wanted to let you know my family had a wonderful week at the Little Brook House. There was room for all of us. We enjoyed the Brook but all the rain we have had this Spring and Summer has made it a raging brook!! The man at the Tyson Village Store said it’s usually a calm stream at this time of year!We had one full day and night of torrential rains and an afternoon and night. We got to sit out and play in the yard with our grandchildren.We used your list of 20+ favorite things to do also. We had stayed in the area the previous 2 years and had already done some but found quite a few new suggestions. We actually saw a moose at the crossing!We will probably head back to the Echo Lake area next year and hope your home is available for us.
Aug 2009
  • 1 of 23

Amenities

Ludlow House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Backpack
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
  • Crib and highchair available. Two sofabeds -- one double and one single. Downstairs has two adjacent rooms on one side of the house, perfect for a small family. On the other side is the master bedroom. Upstairs, another cluster of two bedrooms.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Boat
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Our two-person kayak is at the dock of a nearby Inn, a five minute walk from the house. Fishing in the Black River is across the street; the country store sells licenses, worms and tackle.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
5-BR Central VT Vacation Home near Echo Lake
average rating of 4.2 based on 38 reviews
Philadelphia, PA
5

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

We had a large group for our stay and there was plenty of room for everyone. The place was very clean. It was definitely a plus having the general store across the street.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2004
  • Stayed: February 2004
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
5

Perfect location and size for our family needs

  • 5 of 5

With five bedrooms, this house comfortably sleeps 10 adults. And there is a sleeper sofa for two more in the living room if necessary. It also has 2 1/2 bathrooms, so that everyone has space there as well. The location is perfect! There is a general store directly across the road, with really good coffee available at 6:00 AM on weekdays, and at 7:00 AM on weekends. The store has a lot of other necessities too. The house is close to the Long Trail Brewery, Killington, Quechee Gorge, Okemo, and the town of Ludlow. There is a trail adjacent to the property that leads to Tiny Pond. It is a very beautiful forest and hike. We also hiked the nearby Healdville trail to the fire tower on Okemo. The brook behind the house is really nice, and the front and back decks are perfect for quiet time, especially when it rains. We will definitely return.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Do not stay here. Unsanitary property and doesn't meet the description

  • 1 of 5

This property was unsanitary, poorly maintained and the communication with the owner and property manager was inefficient to the point of unresponsiveness. We sent the message below upon arrival only to hear back from the owner and manager on the last day of our stay.

Please read message below which we originally sent to owner. She agreed to partially refund for fees but I never heard back from her since. It has been 8 days since we departed. Lastly and most important, children in my family who slept on the carpet on the floor have started to exhibit *** LYCE *****in the past couple of days.

My family decided to stay here as we all had long trips getting to Ludlow (coming from Mexico) and we wanted to enjoy our time together. We put aside the discomfort of this property to enjoy our quality time which happens rarely given we are all scattered in different countries, however I highly recommend against staying here.

Hi Lisa,

We have been trying to contact Keith via phone and have received no answer. He also doesn't have a voicemail setup.

"We arrived at the property a few hours ago and I must say are very underwhelmed by the care and condition of the house.

The first thing was garbage bags of lose trash filled to the brimm sitting on the front porch. We contacted Cheryl as the kitchen doesn't seem to have been properly cleaned neither does the rest of the house. The couch downstairs is dirty and full of stains. The water in the hot tub is cloudy and looks like it hasn't been cleaned, which is unfortunate because we had picked this house for the amenities it advertised.

Dishes and silverware are all dirty.

The bedrooms are also not properly taken care of and not all beds have linens.

The house is moldy musty and the little kids are all having an allergic reaction to it.

I would appreciate a call from you or Keith as this doesn't match what was described and we expected with the rates and additional fees we were charged. "

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest had the right to be upset. She arrived to a house that was not ready, and there was no excuse. The staff should have prepared the house, but somehow they got the date mixed up and thought she was arriving the next day. On top of that, the property manager was having phone service issues, and I was on vacation in a remote village out of the country, so communication was below par. We had the house checked and there is no lice. We have refunded her cleaning fee and one night's rent for the inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Property is amazing. House not so much.

  • 3 of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed hiking waterfalls and trails around house. Surrounding area is beautiful. The house while sizable, was very musty and was only surface clean. The owner never replied to let us know whether we could arrive at a different time after she said she'd get back to us. The wrong house information was emailed to us which impeded our directions to finding the correct house as well as being able to enter, etc.The beds were very uncomfortable and the linens were stained and there were not enough towels which meant we needed to run the dryer constantly. Couches were visibly dirty, we needed to cover them in blankets just to sit. The instructions folder inside didn't match the way the house actually functioned-wifi password, etc. Hot tub was 3/4 filled- we had to fill it with buckets of water. However, we enjoyed the fire pit and when we ran out of wood it was replaced quickly after we requested it by phone.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad this tenant enjoyed the house and the area. It's true I sent them the wrong house information, and corrected it when they pointed it out. We did upgrade the Wifi a month ago, so the Wifi information in the folder was wrong, but they were supplied the new information by email. We also recently replaced the mattresses on the beds, before their stay, so I don't understand that complaint. The hot tub was full and clean, as it always is. Towels were laid out for all occupants, so there should have been enough, unless they brought more people than the house is supposed to fit. If there weren't enough for some inexplicable reason, they could have called the cleaning service or property manager and requested more, but they did not.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Gem

  • 5 of 5

Little Brook House is a perfect gem of a place. You can hear the babbling brook at night from every bedroom. Instructions were clear and the property is perfect for lawn games (badminton, horseshoes, beanbag/cornhole). The jacuzzi on the back deck is wonderful and the house is about a mile or two away from Camp Plymouth State Park and Buttermilk Falls and about ten miles down the road from Long Trail Brewery, great for beers and lunch. Manager was communicative and traffic was surprisingly non-existent; we would stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Very dirty house

  • 1 of 5

The house was very dirty inside. Most of the dishes were old and damaged. The beds were smelling, the carpets were dirty. It seems that they just want to rent the house and don't care about it. However, The location and the back porch with river were great. Totally, doesn't recommend this house at all! be Careful!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house has new carpeting and the cleaning service, which is exemplary, constantly monitors dishes and kitchen stock to make sure there is enough and that it's in good condition. There is a classic Pfalzcraft dish set as well as unbreakable Corel ware. We also just purchased new furniture, lighting and art. I would hardly call these comments grounds for a 1-star review and suggest people read other reviews when making their lodging decision. Every season you get a complainer or two; its the nature of the rental business. But this is a lovely, comfortable vacation home.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Map

Long Trail Brewing Company
Camp Plymouth State Park
Olson's Bridgewater Corners Country Store
The Echo Lake Inn
Lake Ninevah
Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Rutland
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Kilearney's
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Okemo Golf Course
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Rutland
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
Route 7
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Echo Lake Inn
Nearest Ski
4 Miles
Okemo Mountain Resoirt
Car: necessary

In central Vermont, 2 1/2 hours from Boston and just four from NYC, there is a place where the mountains are the greenest of green and a string of pristine lakes is the bluest of blue. The fish are always biting in the summer; feathery flakes fall on red-gold leaves in October; and flowers burst into a jumble of audacious color in May. The only thing that beats taking a kayak out on a misty summer morning is screaming down a ski slope after a fresh snowfall. In winter the snow is deep and fluffy from December well into April -- perfect for skiing! With 8 ski areas within 40 miles, you have plenty to choose from.

Other Activities: Hiking, leaf peeping, road biking, running, canoeing, kayaking

Golf: Okemo Valley Resort and Golf Club

All around you, rolling fields of golden fescue surround bent grass tees and fairways. In the distance, Vermont's Green Mountains provide a striking backdrop. These breathtaking views and access to championship heath land golf are yours at the Okemo Valley Golf Club in Ludlow.

18 holes over 6,500 yards with a par of 70 (Public)

89 Fox Ln., Ludlow, VT 05149-9693

(800) 228-1600

Crown Point Country Club, Crown Point Golf Course

18 holes over 6,602 yards with a par of 72 (Public)

Weathersfield Center Rd., Springfield, VT 05156

(802) 885-1010

Tater Hill Golf Club, Tater Hill Golf Course

18 holes over 6,800 yards with a par of 72 (Public)

6802 Popple Dungeon Rd., Chester, VT 05143-9825

(802) 875-2517

Stratton Mountain Country Club, Forest Golf Course

9 holes (Public)

Stratton Mountain Road, Stratton Mountain, VT 05155

(800) 787-2886

Killington Golf Course, Killington

18 holes over 6,168 yards with a par of 72 (Public)

4763 Killington Rd., Killington, VT 05751-9746

(802) 422-6700

Bellows Falls Country Club, Bellows Falls Golf Course

9 holes over 2,892 yards with a par of 35 (Public)

RR 103, Rockingham Road, Bellows Falls, VT 05101

(802) 463-9809

Woodstock Country Club, Woodstock Golf Course

18 holes over 6,001 yards with a par of 69 (Public)

14 The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091-1283

(802) 457-6674

Stonehedge Golf Course, Stonehedge

9 holes over 1,107 yards with a par of 27 (Public)

216 Squires Road, North Clarendon, VT 05759

Ski: Okemo Mountain Resort

Less than four miles down the road, Okemo Mountain Resort’s Jackson Gore base lodge offers a heady assortment of trails from easy to expert. This is a great cruising mountain that families love, but a couple of the double-diamonds will put even experts to shame. Snowboarders will love the terrain parks, quarter pipe and two Super Pipes!

Killington Resort

Killington Resort stretches across seven mountains with 200 trails and 33 lifts. Averaging 250 inches of natural snow each winter complemented by the country’s most extensive snowmaking system, it has offered the longest season in eastern North America for 43 years. Killington is known for its diversity of terrain.

Pico Mountain

Pico is one of Vermont`s largest mountains, with a vertical drop of 1,967 feet spread over 50 trails and 214 skiable acres that provides lots of choices for all abilities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning & hot tub $200 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 9.0%

Holiday weekends (non-winter) -- $200 surcharge, and Sunday is considered a weekend night. Pets require $69 CSA travel ins. pmnt.

Holiday weekends have a three-night minimum

SCAMMER ALERT: Homeaway and VRBO have had some phishing problems. If anyone asks you to do a wire transfer, it is not us! Call Homeaway immediately to report. We accept Homeaway and VRBO secure credit card payments.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.