Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up


Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Secluded Log Home Getaway Near Indiana University & Nashville

6 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Indiana Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

This hand-crafted, custom built log home sits on 17 heavily wooded acres, yet is conveniently located between Bloomington and Nashville. At Back to Nature Cabin you will experience year round spectacular views of the State Forest and an abundance of wildlife.

For the outdoor enthusiasts, there are neighboring horse trails and hiking trails through Yellowwood State Forest, and Lake Monroe and Lake Yellowwood are nearby for you to rent a boat or go fishing. Back to Nature Cabin is the ideal place for your honeymoon, family vacation, girls' weekend, or for a vacation with friends.

Come "Back to Nature!"

Keywords: Log Cabin

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

Designed and hand built by the owner

Guestbook comments from the owner

"We had the best time, and I'm not

exaggerating when I tell you it was the best Thanksgiving I've had since I was a

kid. I feel nice and relaxed and wonderful. I was so pleased at how well kept and

supplied the cabin is. I brought half my kitchen with me, just in case, and didn't

need most of it. We had a lovely meal and my whole family is grateful for your

Nov 2013
  • 1 of 2


based on 6 traveler reviews

Secluded Log Home Getaway Near Indiana University & Nashville
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 8 reviews

Great cabin!

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time in this cabin during a wedding weekend recently! Easy to navigate to, just remember to take it easy on the winding back roads that lead to the cabin and you'll be a-ok. Very spacious with multiple decks and common areas to hang out in with a well equipped kitchen. The hot tub was our only disappointment as the jets only half work.

Great price and friendly owners! We enjoyed it so much we're thinking about staying again in the late fall.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments, Beth! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back in any of our cabins. We are looking into the problem you mentioned with the hot tub jets. Thanks for the heads up!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Nice cabin, not great amenities, owners seem to not be interested in guests

  • 2 of 5

This is a review of "The Lake House", not the other cabins, as I think they are all different.

If you don't want to read a long review; this is a nice cabin for a decent price. There are some good activities, but not a lot. Its not on a lake and there are a number of things that could be upgraded to make the stay stand out.

my two star review is based on a nice cabin, that was pretty much as advertised, but that could have a number of improvements (many of them being free or very cheap), that would bring it to a 3 star experience. I would have appreciated a little more timely responsiveness from the owners. I also wish I had a bit more secluded and "back to nature" of a cabin. That being said, with internet, 2 couples and 3 days in the winter and some more options for TV, this could be a very nice little retreat.

Random thoughts: you are only about 15 minutes from the nice downtown with places to eat and shop. There is a place for a fire outside, but where do I get firewood? That would have been nice to know. As well as let me know a little bit more (from a personal perspective) about where to go and what to do in the neighborhood.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: JUST A FRIENDLY CLARIFICATION...this reviewer did not stay at the Back to Nature Cabin, the property where he posted his comments. And to avoid confusion to our guests...the Back to Nature Cabin is very secluded (.25 miles off a country road into the woods, to be exact!) and traditional Internet service is not available there. Our guests are welcome to gather loose wood from the property (17.5 acres!) for their camp fires. This cabin is 15 minutes from Lake Monroe, 10 minutes from the Brown County State Park, and 15 minutes to either Bloomington or little Nashville. There is so much to do! Our guests usually look at the list of suggested attractions on our website or contact us via email or phone for further suggestions. We are proud to share our little bit of nature with those who truly enjoy being "back to nature!"
Did you find this review helpful?
1 6
St. Louis


  • 5 of 5

We traveled with 2 other couples and found the cabin to be a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. The cabin is spacious, clean, and comfortable. It exceeded our expectations.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2

Great Property and Great Owners!

  • 5 of 5

I am the best man in my friend's wedding and we decided to get a cabin right outside of IU's campus where we all went to school. I cannot speak highly enough of this cabin or the owners of this cabin. The places was everything we could've asked for and more. Suzanne and her husband were absolutely incredible as well. We saw them one time and it was right at checkout time. We were a little behind on getting out of there, but they were more than happy to leave us alone for an extra hour or two to get our stuff together and leave. For the cost of this cabin, I am confident that you cannot beat it. I will absolutely be back if I'm ever looking for a weekend getaway in Brown County, and I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone else as well.

Thank you so much Back To Nature!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Sarasota, Fl.

Great Family Weekend at Back to Nature Cabin

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent a wonderful four-day weekend here. It could not have been better. The house was clean and had everything we could want, including dinner settings for 10 people. We loved the fact that every room opens to a deck with a fabulous view and seating. It rained for two days but that didn't matter because many of the decks are covered and there is a game room with pool table, dart board and cd player. The BBQ is also terrific.

The road to the house is winding and becomes dirt at the end, which just added to the adventure and the seclusion. It also made for great walks through the woods.

We have rented many vacation homes and this one ranked as one of the most accommodating, comfortable and fun.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Highland, IN


  • 1 of 5

The road leading to the cabin was a one-lane gravel road with a huge drop-off and it was full of pot holes and a raised center. Our car bottomed out a few times. If you're a biker, forget it! The yard was littered with beer cans, plastic bags, etc....

The grill was nasty dirty. No grill brush, no scoop for the ashes, ashes overflowing the bucket and our contract said that the grill should be clean and scooped out. I guess they don't bother to check.

The cabin was very dirty! The kitchen had dirty, moldy dishes in the dishwasher (as if someone waited weeks to run it), the cabinets and drawers were filthy and everytime I pulled up a chair or opened a cabinet, or touched a drawer-pull, it was sticky. I found myself washing my hands several times and then just gave up and cleaned everything myself. I also rewashed the dishes in the cabinets and drawers, because there was dirt and grease in the those receptacles as well.

The blinds in every room were caked with dirt and I began to wonder if these people EVER clean the place! I felt yucky sleeping in the bed....the sheets were thread-bare. We had the added pleasure of killing three wasps that were flying around our room in the morning. When we removed the sheets from the bed at the end of our stay, there were yellow stains on the mattress and pillows. Yuck.

The fireplace didn't work at all. I called the owner about this and didn't receive a call back till the following afternoon (after several calls and a couple of emails). He was argumentative and condescending. Not good customer relations!

The hot tub wasn't working properly on the second night. The temperature wouldn't go past 92 degrees and we froze. (It was 40 degrees outside.) It was warm enough for us to climb in, but then we realized that it wasn't warm enough to stay in. ugh. It was awful!


  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear KR...We appreciate your input and are very sorry that you had a poor experience when you rented one of our cabins recently. If any of our guests are not satisfied, we try to make things right.... as we attempted to do with several emails and phone contacts to you during your stay, and the credit we applied to your account for the inconveniences you expressed. In our defense, we feel that many of your comments have been exaggerated due to your apparent frustration with the situation. We take pride in our cabins and attend to their amenities and cleanliness with great concern for the well being of our guests. Back to Nature Cabins has been serving guests for 7 years, and most of our customers are very satisfied and often return again. Indeed, as with any other small business, sometimes it is good to hear about things upon which we might improve. Thank you for your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 7



Rates & Availability

Bloomington Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Spring 2016
Mar 1 2016 - May 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 15.0%

Deposit can be refunded, minus a cancellation fee of $25, if guest cancels at least TWO WEEKS prior to arrival.

Deposit equal to the amount of one night's stay for two is required at time of reservation. Balance due is collected two-three days prior to arrival.

Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Indiana Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

Contact the Owner

Request to Book

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote