check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Beachfront Casita with Pool, AC, Kitchen. Quiet & Affordable

18 Reviews
Bedrooms Studio
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Akumal Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Come stay in this comfortable beachfront casita on Half Moon Bay. Experience world class snorkeling directly in front of the building, or walk 7 minutes down the road to Yal-Ku Lagoon.

Akumal is located between Playa del Carmen (30 minutes) and Tulum (20 minutes). Centrally located to explore the Yucatan from Cancun to Punta Allen. Akumal is a safe, laid back, family friendly beach town.

Casita Maria is part of the Playa Caribe condominium, considered one of the nicest complexes in Akumal. It maintains its own reverse osmosis water treatment system; it's safe to drink the water straight from the tap! Bicycles available for rent on the premises. On-site manager, daily maid service, 24hr security.

Incredibly, this property offers all the amenities you need at an affordable price. Casita Maria is on the street side of an ocean front property, mere steps around the corner to the pool, palapas and sandy beach. It is one of the best deals you'll find from Cancun to Punta Allen. Come discover paradise for yourself.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Chris & Polly
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 18, 2016


based on 18 traveler reviews

Beachfront Casita with Pool, AC, Kitchen. Quiet & Affordable
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 18 reviews
Houston, TX

The perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

I booked our stay based soley on the previous reviews; everyone had such great things to say about their own visits that I was confident we (my boyfriend and I) would have a great time as well. Great is an understatement...we have been home 3 days now and I'm already thinking about when we can make a return visit. I had expectations of a relaxing beach side vacation, but was not prepared for how friendly everyone was--staff, locals, and fellow travelers alike, and the food! We ate at a different place each night and were never disappointed, Turtle Bay Cafe and Lol-Haa, I think are my favorite though. The room was beautiful and the beds are super comfortable, and Agostin, the property manager was very helpful with all of our questions.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you had a great vacation! I would have to agree with you about the restaurants! Especially if you mean Lolha the restaurant, not the beach bar. Turtle Bay's food cannot be beat. I hope you can make it back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent decision!!!

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was great, extremely clean, we had all we needed and the staff was very friendly and very helpful. The water system is an excellent feature. The convenient store across from the place was very helpful and the lady neighbor with the eatery is still there. We enjoyed her empanadas for breakfast one day.

Staying in Casita Maria/Akumal was an excellent choice. Staying away from the crowds and the “more commercial” area gave us the vacation feeling we were looking for. We enjoyed seeing the Iguanas, Hermit crabs, turtles nesting at night (twice). This was our first time snorkeling…and what a place to start!!! We were all in awe! We went to Xcacel (Stunning beach), Akumal Bay (twice), Chichen Itza, Rio Secreto and Xel-há. All great places.

We ate at La Buena Vida twice (five minutes walk from the apt, the food was great and our boys asked to go back after the first time); Oscar and Lalo (via Tulum - excellent food and excellent service); my son had what he thought was the best smoothie of his life at Turtle Bay Café and Bakery, and my husband and I had the best dinner at La Lunita (down the road, after Playa Caribe).

Sadly, Half Moon Bay was covered with Sargassum seaweed. Which from what we heard has been impacting all beaches from Cancun down to Tulum. The bay is not very appealing and the smell is very strong so very few people ventured to snorkeling or even swimming there.

Luckily for us, Xcacel and Akumal Bay waters were very clean. And Xel-ha and Rio Secreto had no issues with the seaweed. So, even though we were disappointed at first, our vacation was not greatly impacted by it. We still think those were the greatest beaches we had ever visited.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Affordable, Safe, Clean, Great Management, and EXCELENT pre trip communication.

  • 5 of 5

Can't say enough positive about this Casita. I actually think the description is humble. The location is perfect. Management was great as was the security. The owner had great communication prior to the trip which made for stress free travel. I look forward to staying here again. I have traveled to this area over 70 times and can say with confidence a better deal can not be found in Akumal.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cardigan, Wales

Somewhere to sit and watch the turtles

  • 5 of 5

Decide what you want from your holiday, do your homework and if you want sunshine, a prime location, save some money and on arrival realise that you've got it absolutely right then Casita Maria is the place for you. The property is clean, nicely furnished, beds to die for and closer to the beach than almost anyone else. Ok, you don't have a view but why would you be in your apartment when there is so much to do and see outside. The staff at the Playa Caribe couldn't have been more helpful and we loved the location, near enough to the action but far enough to have that exclusive feel. I wont mention excursions as they are down to personal taste but all the local restaurants were excellent especially La Bueno Vida where we spent many a happy hour. Akumal itself is out of a picture book and you need go see it as i suspect change is coming. Well be going back.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I think you summed it up perfectly. We try very hard to portray Casita Maria as accurately as possible. The last thing we want is for people to be disappointed! We love Casita Maria and are so happy that you enjoyed it, too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great facility and convenient

  • 4 of 5

The facilities were great. We couldn't take our kid to the ocean because the waves were too strong and there were too many corals and rocks, so the salt water swimming pool was a perfect alternative. The reverse osmosis water treatment system was very helpful. We could just fill up our water bottles from the tap and go.

We got everything we need in the kitchen. The only thing was there was not an exhaust fan for cooking burner, so smoke and steam would remain in the open concept room. We tried to use low heat to limit the amount of steam.

The two queen-sized beds were comfortable and A/C was quiet. The drawback about this unit was there was not a window except a small one in the bathroom, but we couldn't open it due to no screen. We didn't want any mosquito in our room. It was like a basement apartment, so it was a bit damp at time when steam from shower trapped inside the condo.

The dining area was a bit tight for four people; two would be perfect. We ate outside by the pool instead and also to avoid more ants from food dropping on the floor.

There were quite a few hooks in the bathroom which were great for towels, but not for swimming suits and they didn't get dried due to no air circulation. We had to put all our wet clothes and towels outside to dry by the sun and wind.

The condo had a very nice environmental policy which we could appreciate. The maid service was great. We thought that there would be laundry facilities in the room or in the building, but there was none. However, the laundry service in the town was nice and quick. So it was not a problem.

Over all, it was a great location with nice restaurant nearby, and a couple convenient stores. The parking lot was great and shady. We also saw quite a lot of wild lives, even helped baby turtles get to the sea. It was a great experience. We would love to come back to stay at Playa Caribe, but maybe with a room that has more air circulation.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
St. Louis, MO

July 4th, 2013

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I and are 4-year-old son stayed at Casita Maria for two nights. We really appreciated the warm welcome from the staff and the goodie basket (especially the pineapple!). This is truly one of the best bargains in Akumal. We had a couple of days to kill before moving into a larger villa with friends for a week, and Casita Maria and the Playa Caribe condo complex suited our needs very well. Our son loved the pool, and we even were alerted to a turtle nesting in the middle of the night! The casita was very clean and brightly appointed, and stocked with just about anything we would need. We enjoyed it!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. Best Chris & Polly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Incredible snorkeling in front of building, short walk to Yal-Ku Lagoon, walk to restaurants and grocery store, mini mart across the street


Rates & Availability

Akumal Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Low Season
May 1 2016 - Dec 19 2016
3 night minimum stay
Holiday Season
Dec 20 2016 - Jan 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
High Season
Jan 3 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Akumal Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (2)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Games ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
In room safe is provided for your valuables. Beachfront palapa.

Partner Offers