check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Beachfront Casita with Pool, AC, Kitchen. Quiet & Affordable

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
Studio
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Condo, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Come stay in this comfortable beachfront casita on Half Moon Bay. Experience world class snorkeling directly in front of the building, or walk 7 minutes down the road to Yal-Ku Lagoon.

Akumal is located between Playa del Carmen (30 minutes) and Tulum (20 minutes). Centrally located to explore the Yucatan from Cancun to Punta Allen. Akumal is a safe, laid back, family friendly beach town.

Casita Maria is part of the Playa Caribe condominium, considered one of the nicest complexes in Akumal. It maintains its own reverse osmosis water treatment system; it's safe to drink the water straight from the tap! Bicycles available for rent on the premises. On-site manager, daily maid service, 24hr security.

Incredibly, this property offers all the amenities you need at an affordable price. Casita Maria is on the street side of an ocean front property, mere steps around the corner to the pool, palapas and sandy beach. It is one of the best deals you'll find from Cancun to Punta Allen. Come discover paradise for yourself.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Chris & Polly
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 11, 2017

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Beachfront Casita with Pool, AC, Kitchen. Quiet & Affordable
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 21 reviews
4

Great place!

  • 4 of 5

This Casita was great! Easy to find, on a quiet street. Was very well maintained, clean, and stocked perfect. Loved the extra touches like extra blankets, huge beach towels, cooler, ice cube trays, blender, DVD player and movies. Thankful for the awesome coffee/snack basket! Daughter loved the free wifi! Was described well to us and owners were fast to respond to our questions, hassle free booking! The pool was great and not super busy, beach was sandy, the water was rough so we didn't swim in the ocean there much. We walked to both Akumal Public beach and Yal Ku instead. At Akumal beach they now enforce renting life jackets to go past the bouy line where the turtles are, $8 US each. Yal Ku we rented a thatch hut that came with hammocks for $20 US, that was our favourite experience in Mexico this trip, amazing snorkelling. We had gone to Xel Ha the day before and wish we saved our money. Restaurants we walked to were La Taverna, Turltle Bay Bakery and La Buena Vida and loved them all. Really regretted not stopping and getting groceries at a larger store as they were quite expensive at the local places. Very fun, safe area...we rented a golf cart from Augustine for a day and that was awesome!

Only complaint were very rude, noisy problem guests above us that kept us up during the nights, that however happens anywhere unfortunately. We would love to visit Casita Maria again!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Cheri, So glad you enjoyed Casita Maria! I am so sorry that the upstairs guests kept you up. I hope that you talked with Agustin about that. He's really good with talking to people about, well, anything. Last time I went to Xelha was 30 years ago before the highway south of Cancun was paved and I've been hesitant to go again because I hate crowds. Glad to hear that Yalku is just as good. It is a beautiful spot, especially if you get there early before the tour buses! (I hate crowds, remember?!) We hope to have you stay at Casita Maria again some time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful beachfront

  • 5 of 5

Clean, quiet. The beach is right there, including amazing snorkeling. Very nice pool and patio on the beachside (the casita faces the street). Excellent housekeeping service every day. The casita is very simple but met all our needs. The maintenance guys are great at maintaining a beautiful beach setting.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation! Alfredo and Luis certainly do a great job maintaining the beach! So nice of you to notice! I will let them know you said so!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Hidden Gem

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely enjoyed every minute of our stay. The accomodation is centrally located and have everything you would need including plenty of towels, linens, boogie board, snorkels and a cooler. We were promptly met upon arrival and check-in along with check out were extremely easy. We enjoyed that ability to rest at night and to stay in and cook dinner and watch a movie. We highly recommend this vrbo and will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Lacey for the nice review. So glad you had a nice time and we hope to have you stay again sometime. Happy holidays! Chris and Polly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, TX
5

The perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

I booked our stay based soley on the previous reviews; everyone had such great things to say about their own visits that I was confident we (my boyfriend and I) would have a great time as well. Great is an understatement...we have been home 3 days now and I'm already thinking about when we can make a return visit. I had expectations of a relaxing beach side vacation, but was not prepared for how friendly everyone was--staff, locals, and fellow travelers alike, and the food! We ate at a different place each night and were never disappointed, Turtle Bay Cafe and Lol-Haa, I think are my favorite though. The room was beautiful and the beds are super comfortable, and Agostin, the property manager was very helpful with all of our questions.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you had a great vacation! I would have to agree with you about the restaurants! Especially if you mean Lolha the restaurant, not the beach bar. Turtle Bay's food cannot be beat. I hope you can make it back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent decision!!!

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was great, extremely clean, we had all we needed and the staff was very friendly and very helpful. The water system is an excellent feature. The convenient store across from the place was very helpful and the lady neighbor with the eatery is still there. We enjoyed her empanadas for breakfast one day.

Staying in Casita Maria/Akumal was an excellent choice. Staying away from the crowds and the “more commercial” area gave us the vacation feeling we were looking for. We enjoyed seeing the Iguanas, Hermit crabs, turtles nesting at night (twice). This was our first time snorkeling…and what a place to start!!! We were all in awe! We went to Xcacel (Stunning beach), Akumal Bay (twice), Chichen Itza, Rio Secreto and Xel-há. All great places.

We ate at La Buena Vida twice (five minutes walk from the apt, the food was great and our boys asked to go back after the first time); Oscar and Lalo (via Tulum - excellent food and excellent service); my son had what he thought was the best smoothie of his life at Turtle Bay Café and Bakery, and my husband and I had the best dinner at La Lunita (down the road, after Playa Caribe).

Sadly, Half Moon Bay was covered with Sargassum seaweed. Which from what we heard has been impacting all beaches from Cancun down to Tulum. The bay is not very appealing and the smell is very strong so very few people ventured to snorkeling or even swimming there.

Luckily for us, Xcacel and Akumal Bay waters were very clean. And Xel-ha and Rio Secreto had no issues with the seaweed. So, even though we were disappointed at first, our vacation was not greatly impacted by it. We still think those were the greatest beaches we had ever visited.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Massachusetts
5

Affordable, Safe, Clean, Great Management, and EXCELENT pre trip communication.

  • 5 of 5

Can't say enough positive about this Casita. I actually think the description is humble. The location is perfect. Management was great as was the security. The owner had great communication prior to the trip which made for stress free travel. I look forward to staying here again. I have traveled to this area over 70 times and can say with confidence a better deal can not be found in Akumal.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Incredible snorkeling in front of building, short walk to Yal-Ku Lagoon, walk to restaurants and grocery store, mini mart across the street

Photos

Rates & Availability

Akumal Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Jan 3 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$99
 
 
Low Season
May 1 2017 - Dec 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$89
 
 
Holiday Season
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$89
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 19.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Akumal Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
In room safe is provided for your valuables. Beachfront palapa.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties