check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ken Hodgson

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Owl's Nest- Beautiful, spacious log home

52 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pittsburg Cabin Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 baths, sleeps 8

The Owl's Nest is a 1350 sq.foot 3 bedroom, 2 baths, with large garage and direct access to snowmobile trails. Located on a secluded 16 acre lot on a private road near First Connecticut Lake, public boat ramp and picnic area at the end of the street. Everything new and pristine. Large, comfortable furniture, fully applianced kitchen with plenty of counter space, cathedral ceilings, catwalk, laundry room, auto generator backup system, 2 queens and 4 twins, flat screen TV with surround sound, radio, wireless internet , phone with free long distance, games,grill, fire pit, pet freindly, etc.. Plenty of parking. Linens and towels provided. Sleeps up to 9 people.

.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Ken Hodgson (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Ken Hodgson

Hello, my name is Ken. I have vacationed in Pittsburg for years and love the town, it's people, and all Pittsburg has to offer. Building the Owl's Nest was a dream come true. It's a real joy of mine to share this beautiful cabin with folks that have the same mindset towards Pittsburg. I enjoy swapping stories and sharing experiences with the guests. I'll do whatever I can to assure you have the best in accomodations while in Pittsburg. There is a sign over my front door at the cabin, it reads: 'Arrive as a guest, leave as a friend' That's is my hope for the guests of the Owl's Nest!. Come visit!

Ken Hodgson purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Ken Hodgson chose Great North Woods

The Owl's Nest was designed with you in mind. As a Pittsburg renter for years, staying in several places, I recalled what I liked and didn't like and leveraged that rental experience to create a cabin that offers the best in accomodations.

Reviews

5
based on 52 traveler reviews

Owl's Nest- Beautiful, spacious log home
average rating of 4.980769 based on 52 reviews
5

Awesome Owl's Nest

  • 5 of 5

Great log home and the owner, Ken, was great to deal with. The garage was a great bonus to store the snowmobiles. We lucked out with some of the best trail conditions all season. Hope to be back next winter!

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Tewksbury, MA
5

5th Season and still loving the Owl's Nest

  • 5 of 5

This was my 5th visit to the Owl's Nest and everything is still just as nice looking as my first visit. The space is so open and clean. My friends and I had such a great time. The weather was so mild we were able to enjoy the fire pit many nights. We also used the gas grill and the great big front porch. I'm looking forward to visiting Pittsburg again next year!

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great time by all.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here in 2013 and returned again this year. This was by far the best place we have rented and we have tried quite a few. The cabin is perfect and the area has everything you would need to go and do. It is better then the pictures!.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great place & great fun. Thank you Ken!

  • 5 of 5

It certainly was everything that we expected it to be. It was a nice / warm / and clean facility. Ken was certainly a wonderful person to do business with. Always available for questions and anything else that we needed to know. I would certainly recommend this place for all snowmobile enthusiasts.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Can't say enough good things about Owl's Nest!

  • 5 of 5

Really...we cannot say enough good things about Owl's Nest, Ken and the Pittsburg area in general. There are nice amenities, great nearby restaurants (both fancy and simple), friendly people, incredible snowmobiling...this was our fifth time in Pittsburg and 3rd time at Owl's Nest. Ken called to check on us, the cabin was perfect...exactly as advertised.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tewksbury, MA
5

4th season & still having a great time

  • 5 of 5

This was my 4th visit to the Owl's Nest and everything was just as nice looking as my first visit. Everything is kept so nice and clean. My friends and I had such a great time, I hope to be coming back to Pittsburgh and the Owl's Nest year after year.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
1 Miles

Other Activities: snowmobiling; wildlife watching, hiking, scrapbooking retreats, geocaching

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pittsburg Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
winter
Dec 15 2016 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$220
From
$300
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,260
$5,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pittsburg Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • wall mounted hair dryers
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
Notes:
After each guest stay, the cabin is thoroughly cleaned and beds linens changed. Cleanliness is extremely important and we pride ourselves on keeping the Owl's Nest clean. There is a finished laundry room in the basement available for our guest free of charge, Laundry detergent and fabric softener provided.

Partner Offers