check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Judith Potor

Member since: 2000
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Lovely 4 Bedroom Lakefront, Steps from Scenic Gold Country Lake, Open All Year!

8 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Meadow Vista Cottage Rental Photos and Description

4BR Lakefront Vacation Rental Auburn, California USA

The 'Lake House' is a four-bedroom cottage, situated beside a beautiful 450-acre lake in the Sierra Nevada foothills of northern California. The lake is surrounded by tall pines and majestic oaks. Rest and relax in a most peaceful setting, and let your cares melt away. Enjoy all manner of water sports ( power boating, water skiing, wakeboarding, tubing, ), hiking, fishing, winter skiing, and nearby golfing. Feed the Canadian geese, or watch the deer.

The home, recently remodeled in 2015, provides a fully self-contained vacation retreat that is perfect for couples, families, and small groups of friends. The cottage has a large front deck overlooking the lake with a large picnic table,barbecue, fire pit (great for marshmallow roasting!), and comfortable deck furniture. There is also a wonderful swing located underneath the pines at water's edge. Guests may use free of charge the canoe, 4 kayaks, and small fishing boat ( motor not included) provided to explore Lake Combie; or they are welcome to bring their own watercraft between April and the first week of September since there is a launch ramp and floating dock on the property. The Combie Lake House, although tucked away in the beautiful Bear River Wilderness Area, is not isolated and requires only a five minute drive to reach the Lake of the Pines Shopping Center which features restaurants, markets, specialty shops, and med clinic. There is even a nearby Starbucks! Also, only moments away, is the well regarded Dark HorsePublic Golf Course.

There is so much to enjoy while staying on Lake Combie and the charming home offers a wonderful sense of ambiance and tranquility during any season. Call or e mail to make your reservation!

Fully self contained and accessible!: To view more photos and gain further information please look at The Lake House website and then e mail or phone to reserve your dates.

Highlights of Home, Property, and Area!: The Lake House has its own floating dock, boat launching ramp, canoe, kayak, and small fishing boat!

The Lake House offers -

Hiking trails behind the house!

Great Fishing and Swimming!

Water skiing, wake boarding, tubing - there is even a slalom course on the lake!

Bear River to explore as well as lake!

Golf five minutes away at Dark Horse Golf Course!

Nearby historic towns to visit!

Skiing in Winter - Soda Springs, Donner, Boreal, Squaw Valley only 45 minutes away!

1700' scenic foothill elevation, just below snowline and above the valley fog!

Lake does not freeze in winter and may be used all year long for recreational activities!

Nearby White water rafting on upper, mid, and lower forks of the American River!

Only an hour from Sacramento, 2 hours from the Bay Area, 1.2 hours from Reno, one hour from Lake Tahoe, and an hour and a half from Napa Valley!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Judith Potor (Owner)
Member since: 2000
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Judith Potor

I love Nature and my favorite setting is spending time at my cottage on Lake Combie. I am also a traveler and am happiest when exploring other cultures and distant locations.

Judith Potor purchased this cottage in 1985

Why Judith Potor chose California

I grew up in the South and my family had a 'Camp' on a recreational lake. My happiest memories were those at that lake when I was water skiing and swimming with family and friends. After moving to the West, it became my dream to find a 'California Camp' and give my own children a similar lakeside experience. We have now owned this property for almost 30 years and it is still my fondest place to visit. Now I have grand children with which to share this most special of lakeside retreats. I also hope that you can enjoy it, too!

What makes this cottage unique

Nature! Nature! Nature! My favorite experience is awakening in the early morning and seeing mist rising from the lake. It is also wonderful fun to go exploring by boat and visit an area of marshland not far from the dam that reminds me of the southern lake that I so loved growing up in Louisiana. You don't need a boat to take a voyage of discovery, because you may use my canoe, kayak, or small fishing boat free of charge! I also have a great swing that is located close to the water, for enjoying lazy days, a floating dock which can be used for lounging or fishing, and an amazing outside deck which looks out over the water at a jewel of a lake that most people do not even know about!

Reviews

4.8
based on 8 traveler reviews

Lovely 4 Bedroom Lakefront, Steps from Scenic Gold Country Lake, Open All Year!
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews
pacific grove, california
5

perfect honeymoon

  • 5 of 5

This was a perfect setting for our romantic honeymoon. We savored the quietness, drinking coffee on the deck, canoeing, and just being together on our first days as husband and wife. One of my favorite places on earth and feel fortunate to have gotten to enjoy the Potor Lake House. I wish we could have stayed longer but every detail was amazing and it was a special experience!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your honeymoon is one of the most special things you will remember as newlyweds. I am so glad to learn that your first days as newlyweds at the Potor Lake House - Combie Cottage was " love"ly. Congratulations on your marriage!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
SoCal
5

Perfect Get-A-Way!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week with our teenagers on this peaceful wooded lake! The house is clean and updated with a generous deck overlooking the water. Nestled on the side of the lake for a perfect view, the house comes with its own dock and plenty of water sports for everyone. Even just enjoying a warm cup of coffee on a cool morning on the bench swing at the lake's edge is a great way to start the day while the kids sleep. Thank you for a lovely family vacation!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay at Combie Cottage. Thank you for using my home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful lake front family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We have been staying at the Potor family lake house for many years now. Our kids (who are now adults) still look forward to coming to this house on Lake Combie each year. It's a beautiful house with tasteful lake decor and very comfortable. Everything that you'd need is provided. The view is spectacular and the lake is so welcoming and just a short walk down the driveway for a swim or float. We have so many wonderful family memories here and are so grateful to the Potor family for sharing. They truly have the best view of the lake, being on the corner and with the newly completed remodel, the home is lovely. Every year we come to relax, swim, bbq and play board games. We spend most of our time on the large deck and eat all of our meals outside. It's truly our favorite vacation spot.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your patronage is deeply appreciated these many years!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great vacation place for all ages.

  • 5 of 5

Our family has enjoyed vacationing on Lake Combie for 5 years. This lake front home has recently been remodeled and it just enhanced the lovely lake house charm. The view is the best on the lake and you could spend the day just lounging on the deck. The sunset and moon reflections on the lake are a thing of natural beauty. The water is great for swimming, kayaking, boating and all water sports. Perfect for a family vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that your family has enjoyed my cottage and Combie Lake for the past five summers. There are many places your family could choose for your vacation, so it means a great deal to me that you appreciate my home and like its recent remodel.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A piece of heaven

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I recently had the unique opportunity to vacation at this lovely lake house. We think it is perhaps the best location on the lake as you can sit on the large deck with a refreshing drink and look right down the heart of the lake. During the day the sun playfully reflects on the water and at not you just cannot miss the moon reflecting on the lake, it is breathtaking. Then if you want to take a dip, paddle a kayak or canoe, fish or ski this lake house is right on the water with it's own dock. The remodeling is fresh and warm, all at the same time. We hope in the future to make this one of our 'go-to' vacation homes. You will love it and will create memories galore.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Combie Lake House, a " little piece of Heaven" on Lake Combie.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Location, location, location!

  • 4 of 5

If you're looking for a beautiful water front rental this is it! This home offers a family everything they could want and more, from the private boat launch and dock, to the kayaks, canoe and fishing boat. You can sit and enjoy the spectacular views from the deck, while enjoying a cup of coffee in the peaceful morning hours. This is a great family get together!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed a happy 4th of July in my newly remodeled lake cottage. Thank you for your patronage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Sacramento
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Stinky Mulligans Sports Bar
Nearest Ferry
90 Miles
San Francisco
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Dark Horse
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Sacramento
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Interstate 80
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Northridge
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Soda Springs
Nearest Beach
100 Miles
Bodega Bay

The 'Lake House' is located at an elevation of 1700 feet on the banks of Combie Lake in the Sierra Nevada foothills. Surrounded by tall pines and oak trees, the cottage is a fifteen minute drive from the charming and historic former Gold Rush towns of Auburn and GrassValley/Nevada City, and a one hour drive from Sacramento. Beautiful Lake Tahoe is also a one hour drive and the ski slopes of Soda Springs and Donner are only 45 minutes away! The Napa Valley Wine Country is 1 1/2 hours from the home while the San Francisco Bay area is a 2 hour drive. Although the home is located in the Bear Valley Wilderness area, it is not isolated. Restaurants, specialty shops, markets, and med clinic are within minutes from the cottage.

Other Activities: Visiting nearby Gold Rush Towns and river rafting

Photos

Rates & Availability

Meadow Vista Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Autumn
Sep 19 2016 - Dec 21 2016
2 night minimum stay
$325
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas/ New Years
Dec 22 2016 - Jan 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning fees $100
Tax Rate 10.0%

Holiday weekends - Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years, Easter, Memorial and Labor Day weekends - three/four night minimum depending on holiday Rate increases by $25.00 per night for each holiday
$350.00 per night from August 29 - September 10th and May 1st - 31st

A first night's deposit is required to secure the reservation. If there is cancellation, refund of deposit will only be made 6 weeks or earlier prior to reservation and $100.00 of deposit will be kept as a cancellation fee. There will be no refund if there is cancellation less than six weeks before arrival date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Meadow Vista Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , with trundle
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single , double bottombunk top single bunk & trundle - sleeps 4
  • In order for our Combie Lake House to provide accommodations for larger groups, beds will need to be shared as well as trundles and couches utilized in living room. Besides the four bedrooms that can sleep ten if beds are shared, there are also two queen sofa sleepers in the living room. Because of the size of the cottage, it is recommended that larger groups only use the 1800 sq foot home during summer months when there is no threat of rain and people can be outside for most of the day.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Lake House has a large front deck with built in seating as well deck furniture, picnic table, portable fire pit, and grill. The deck overlooks Lake Combie, and in fact, the lake is so close that friends can easily converse with one another while standing on the floating dock and home's front deck. Besides the picnic table on the deck, there are two others, as well as a wonderful swing located at water's edge. The property comes with its own boat ramp, so bring your watercraft!

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties