check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

jackie davidson

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, very basic spanish only

Charming Colorado wine country carriage house

12 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Clifton Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom + loft, sleeps 4. Located on 6 acres within biking distance to town.

This unique cottage is located in Palisade, CO close to wineries and mountains. Full kitchen, private yard w/ patio, beautiful views, antique furnishings surrounded by horse pastures. The bedroom has a queen brass bed, the living room has a double futon, and the loft has a blow-up double mattress. Close to fishing, hiking, horseback riding, skiing, biking, river rafting, canoeing and of course, wine tasting. Cable TV /DVD, A/C, WiFi. Pets considered on an individual basis.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
jackie davidson (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, very basic spanish only

About jackie davidson

Frank and Jackie met and lived in Aspen for many years, but moved to Palisade for a quieter lifestyle and room for their many pets.

jackie davidson purchased this cottage in 1985

Why jackie davidson chose Colorado

This property is one of the original Palisade homesteads and has lovingly been restored maintaining it's victorian charm.

What makes this cottage unique

Vaulted ceilings with skylight, a small "extra" room for dining, playpen, dog kennel or just keeping luggage out of the way.

Reviews

5
based on 12 traveler reviews

Charming Colorado wine country carriage house
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
5

Wonderful "home away from home"!

  • 5 of 5

Very much enjoyed our stay! Lovely cottage that provided comfort and ease for traveling with our two dogs. The owners were friendly, helpful, and attentive. The listing description was accurate, the property was clean and well-maintained, and the cottage was close to incredible national parks/forests, and delightful local wineries. We would recommend a stay at the cottage to our friends and relatives.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

extremely pleased

  • 5 of 5

Extremely pleased!!! The owners were courteous, accommodating, friendly and very helpful with anything we needed. From excellent recommendations on all things we asked, delicious fresh eggs from their chickens , to even offering to dry our clothes which happened to ge drenched from an unexpected rain shower during a bike ride.The property was very clean, charming and the location was perfect! We would highly recommend and would stay again!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely Lovely Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

Jackie and Frank were wonderful and friendly hosts. The attention to details in the cottage was unexpected. The place was very, very clean. The gardens were beautiful. We travel with our dogs and it was perfect for them. They have a large fenced, green area where our dog Suzie loved to play ball and Lollie loved to run around. We toured wineries and had a lovely lunch at Maison la Belle winery on G Road. I wish we could have stayed longer and we will be back.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The best place in Palisade/western Colorado!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here following our wedding, as a little "mini-moon," and we cannot say enough good things about our experience!! Frank and Jackie provided excellent service, going absolutely above and beyond our expectations to ensure we enjoyed our stay!! The farm fresh eggs are legitimately the best eggs we have ever had, and we enjoyed having our own intimate place to stay. We did swing through the Wine Country Inn for dinner at Caroline's (disappointing by the way), and we were so glad we opted for this off-the-beaten track option where we didn't have to deal with crowds of people. We will definitely be back, and we would both strongly recommend you stay here when in Palisade. Close enough to town yet cozy and relaxing. Our only recommendation: bring your own pillows. As another reviewer stated, we almost don't want anyone else to discover this place, but we still want the world to know that Frank and Jackie put on a great time for anyone smart enough to book here and we will be encouraging our friends and family to stay here. This was the icing on our mini-moon experience in Colorado's wine country!!! I could go on and on about how amazing this place is, but you really do need to experience it for yourself. Don't hesitate, book it right now!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I knew I needed to upgrade the pillows, but just hadn't gotten around to it! I will go shopping for new pillows today! Thanks for the honest opinion! Jackie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Parker, CO
5

Best rental we've stayed at

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough good things about the Carriage House and its owners Jackie and Frank. They were most welcoming to us and our small dog. The bed was comfy, the kitchen well-stocked and the location couldn't be better. We enjoyed eggs from their free-range chickens and our dog had the run of a fenced in pasture; also the cottage's patio is fully fenced. Watching the chickens and cat also kept her intrigued.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver
5

Quiet and Accomodating

  • 5 of 5

We had a great visit. The owners were extremely accommodating to our situation of having a <1-year son and our dog. The fresh eggs in the morning were amazing and my son loved seeing all the animals in the yard and surrounding yards. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Grand Junction Regional Airport
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Amtrak Station
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 6 and 35 rd.
Car: necessary

Charming, private country cottage located in the heart of the Colorado wine and fruit country. Surrounded by horse pasture, this cottage is located on 6 acres and boasts beautiful views of the Grand Mesa and Mt. Garfield. Furnished in antiques, with a full , completely equipped kitchen, outdoor patio and B.B.Q., fenced yard,cable t.v., wi-fi ...everything is there for your comfort. Well behaved pets are accepted on an individual basis. Farm fresh eggs included with rental.

Other Activities: wine tasting, winery tours, orchard tours

Photos

Rates & Availability

Clifton Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.0%

peach fest is $175 per night with a two night minimum
wine fest is $175 per night with a three night minimum.

Deposit required when reservation made. Balance due 30 days prior to arrival or check with owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Clifton Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • shower stall, no tub
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Brass
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Full sized futon in the living room with upgraded mattress. Loft available for sleeping bags or Queen sized Air Matress.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • 5 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • ski privileges optional
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
More suitable for adults, as nothing is 'child-Proof'. Children must be supervised at all times--there are horses and other farm animals nearby.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties