Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

$70/nt Guest Room for One

Sleeps1
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 1)

****"Maple Room"**** is located next to a garden where a beautiful Japanese Maple makes its home. Other information include:

****There are heaters in the room. Guests from outside of the Bay Area, please bring thick, warm pajamas all year round.

1. House Location - near 'Inner Sunset' (94116)

2. Check in : 4pm; Check out: 11:30am.

3. This guest room is self check in. Please visit the hospitality pages on VRBO for details.

4. Booking - SINGLE occupancy & non smokers ONLY. Booking is NOT completed until the rent is received. *******MAXIMUM. stay: 4 weeks.

5. Transportation -

1) Bus #6 stop is across the street from our gate 2) MUNI subway (Forrest Hill Station[M, L, K, T]10~12 min. walk; 9th Ave.+ Judah Station[N])

6. Parking - Street parking

7. Food & others - 'Inner Sunset' district (5 blocks/9th Ave & Irving: restaurants, bakery, grocery markets, laundry, post office & etc)

8. Private entrance + bathroom.

9. Kitchenette - microwave, refrigerator, toaster & Electric water boiler

Please NOTE: YES! There are two HEATERS; one in the bathroom and one portable heater in the bedroom.

**Cleaning fee $50~$120 may be deducted if the room is not returned to the original tidy condition. 2nd set of linen is provided if staying over 5 nights; please ask! Additional janitorial service can be arranged during longer stay; $75 per service.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Sally Wei
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, mandarin, Taiwanese
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 14, 2017

About Sally Wei

I(Sally) am a classical pianist living in San Francisco with my husband(Greg). We also have a German Shepherd dog that was adopted. As a graduate of the Conservatory, our tenant will hear practices from myself on the piano and my students. For recent years have I devoted myself to Buddhist Tzu Chi Foundation, an international charitable organization.

I am also operating a Tea lounge in Santa Rosa after I was certified as a Tea Sommelier in England. If you do have a chance to visit Sonoma County in the beautiful Wine Country, you may want to stop by for a cup of fine tea at Sally's Parlor. www.SallysParlor.com.

Sally Wei purchased this house in 1991

Why Sally Wei chose San Francisco

A beautiful Redwood tree attracted my attention at the first sight. This charming cottage was built in 1907. We have named it 'the Little Red House in San Francisco'.

What makes this house unique

Clean, simple, quiet and safe.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is a wonderful, clean, calm, studio in a lovely neighborhood. Very Zen-like. No TV but strong internet. Includes an unexpected outside area with seating and peaceful view. Easy bus transportation steps away so great for day or evening, and avoid parking frustration.
Oct 2016
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Sunset District House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 1
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 1
  • 1 x Standard Twin Bed
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
12% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
$70/nt Guest Room for One
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 27 reviews
5

Very nice room

  • 5 of 5

Small. Perfect for my week of yoga. I went to class on the 43 line and returned home to a quiet space. The price was great. The host and hostess were wonderful and quite considerate. Restaurants down hill, 8th street is a good way to walk back up. Would stay again.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Affordable place for 1 person, short stays only. Good price & location but with some downsides.

  • 3 of 5

The best thing about Sally's place is the price. San Francisco is now an outrageously expensive place to stay, and Sally's place is very affordable. However, you get what you pay for. This is a very small studio underneath the main part of a very old house. It seems to be some kind of converted storage space. There isn't much natural light in there, and no widow that opens to the outside. There is a bed which is fairly comfortable, a small desk and chair facing the wall, a shower and toilet, a mini-fridge and an ancient microwave that only worked on the 'popcorn' setting as far as I could see. Outside the space is a lovely Maple tree, you can have a coffee here but not really any chance for tea, nor to make any kind of cooked breakfast. If you just night a base to sleep in and are not planning on spending any real time in the unit, then this is a great place to stay. The neighbourhood is very peaceful and there are great shops and restaurants up on 9th and Irving, around 6-7 blocks away. Sally was kind enough to get her husband to loan me a crock pot to cook porridge in, but I could not get it to work. Would I stay here again? Probably not, but only because the unit is a bit grim, a bit subterranean with poor air quality. If you don't mind a small spartan space, the price is certainly right, and access was easy.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The microwave works, I tested it after your departure, and there's no problem at all. I am sorry you did not know how to operate it, as well as the heater. There's no cooking allowed in the unit. To your next rental, I suggest you bring your own equipment, so there's not much dissatisfaction.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bellingham, WA, USA
5

Clean, charming, quiet and convenient location!

  • 5 of 5

Sally's small Maple room was perfect for my needs. It was in a charming historical home, was clean and had everything I needed. And it was only two blocks from my daughter's apartment so I could easily walk over. And I liked the gated patio area leading up to the front door. I highly recommend Sally's Maple room and hope to stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Beijing, China
5

This is a fantastic place for one person to stay!

  • 5 of 5

I felt safe and cozy staying in this property. The studio is exactly as represented in the photos. It's beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, and very comfortable. There is plenty of storage, great water pressure in the shower, and plenty of hot water. The wifi works perfectly. The kitchen is well equipped, I especially enjoyed making coffee every morning. I used Uber to get around the city, although there is a bus stop right outside. This place is a bargain, I'll definitely stay here again. I highly recommend it!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice and quaint

  • 5 of 5

I was overly impressed with the property. I was travelling alone & this was my 1st time in San Francisco so I didn't know what to expect, but once I got there I was happy with the accommodations. One recommendation would be to supply more linen for guest staying more than 2 nights. Also at night it was difficult to see the numbers on the combination for the gate & front door, however with a little help from my cell phone I managed through this. I had a rental car & parking was ok. Only 1 time did I have to park halfway up the block but on the other days I was able to park either in front of the house or 1 to 2 houses away. The neighborhood was very good & safe & a few of the neighbors I spoke to were very friendly & helpful by offering suggestions on where to go & how to get there. Overall I thought this place was awesome & the price was very reasonable. I would highly recommend staying at this house & I would definitely stay here again. Thank you for the opportunity to stay at your house.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

It's a lovely little place in a great neighborhood.

  • 5 of 5

I love this little place.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $120
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.