Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Book for Spring- Luxury House on Mountain Golf Course with/ Resort Membership

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Covered Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Book now for Spring and Summer. House is located on the mountain golf course. We are halfway down the fairway on hole #3.

We have exclusive Wintergreen resort passes which give our guests access to resort amenities that are closed to the public including the Spa/Fitness Center; Tennis Courts; Mountain Golf Course etc. (fees apply for these amenities). We also have a private/special Parking permit for premium parking at the resort.

3500+sq ft Gorgeous/Custom Built House *** Two Master Bedroom/Bath Suites with flat screen TV's *** FREE Wi-Fi *** FREE long-distance calling in the US/Canada *** Wii & X-box/Kinect Games *** Foosball Table *** Elliptical exercise equipment ***

House located on mountain golf course and in very popular area of the resort. We offer morning check-ins and late check-outs at no additional charge as long as there are no conflicting reservations on day of arrival/departure.

Our house is located right on the Wintergreen mountain golf course. Perfect location for year round. After the last Golf tee time of the day, you can walk out a few yards to the third hole from our deck and practice a few hits or even golf at no charge (Holes #4, #5 and #6 are all an easy walking distance from our house). We even have a few golf sets at the house for our guests.

This beautiful mountain house sleeps six to eight easily: with two master bedroom suites, each with a king-size bed, large bathroom suite and flat screen TV's. Perfect for a couple who wants to have a nice spacious place for a get-a-way, and equally perfect for two families due to size and the lay-out of the house. Have an infant or toddler? We have all the basic amenities (in a separate closet) you need so you won't have to bring them - e.g. pack-n-play; bouncy seat; infant tub; high-chair; toys, strollers, DVD's etc.

The place is also appropriate for those requiring extra assistance in accessing and getting around in the house (i.e. with stairs/steps). The main level is huge and has all the main rooms/amenities on that level (master bedroom and bath; laundry room; living room; dining room; kitchen and deck).

The first master bedroom, located on the first floor, is stunning with a beautiful six piece cherry wood bedroom set. It has cathedral ceilings both in the room and master bathroom suite which includes a jacuzzi tub. This bedroom has a separate access to the deck with gazebo. The second master bedroom suite/bath, located on the second level, is beautifully decorated with oriental rugs. It has a small balcony and a sizeable sitting/reading area. The third bedroom, also located on the second floor, has two twin beds and separate bath. The beds can be joined to make it into a king bed if requested. This third room also have a flat screen TV. The second floor has a large loft area suitable for children to play around and even have a sleepover/campout.

There is also a sofa bed available on the main level to give you room for eight, if required. All bedrooms, living room and kitchen area have wood ceiling fans. The house has an enclosed garage which is perfect for winter weather. We have a very large mudroom which is perfect to store all your ski and/or golf equipment, suitcases etc.

The living area is this rental's real highlight! With a large open living room, wood burning fireplace (perfect for S'mores), entertainment center, a DVD/VHS library selection with over 100+ movies(includes a great DVD/VHS selection for children) and over 20 board games/puzzels - you'll be living in Mountain Luxury! Our book library has a selection of 'classic' books. We have firewood at the house for our guests all year round. We even have some exercise equipment and a Foosball table.

The adjacent dining area seats six comfortably. With additional bar stool chairs at the kitchen, you can acoomodate more guests. On any warm or cool evening you may also enjoy dinner on the large deck with gazebo. Our patio furniture sits up to eight people. The well-equipped kitchen offers a full complement of cookware and appliances including a microwave, four-burner stove and oven, coffeepot, waffle maker; blender and more. We also have a grill for outside cooking.

Also, don't worry about other amenities like shampoo; conditioner; soap; dishwasher detergent; hairdryers, laundry detergent etc. We have premium coffee, tea and hot chocolate too for our guests. We provide those to our guests along with 400+ thread count bed linens and white bath towels. Also provided include paper towels, trash bags, toilet paper etc. You don't have to bring any of these items.

Located on top of the mountain and on the Devil's Knob Golf Course, we are down the street from the Devil's Knob Golf Course, Clubhouse and restaurant, as well as indoor/outdoor tennis courts. It is a short distance to the ski slopes, the Wintergarden Spa and Fitness Center, and the Nature Center. Old Appalachian Trail and many other great hiking trails are also nearby.

We have been renting our place since Oct 2008 and our guests who has stayed at our place have really liked it. They say the pictures don't do the place justice!

More Details

Owner
Michael and Gina Marie Hatheway
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, german, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2017

About Michael and Gina Marie Hatheway

We live in Northern VA and have been going to Wintergreen for over 12 years. It's our escape away from the busy and stressful (at times) Washington, DC area. We first discovered Wintergreen after a very tough medical condition I was diagnosed with (wasn't sure I would be able to walk again). We visited Wintergreen after a very tough surgery/recovery and just fell in love with it. We call Wintergreen our 'haven.' Our kids have grown up going there; some of they are still young and growing! We have had great memories there with family vacations, holidays etc. With our schedules being as busy as they are now (our kids have a lot of activities), we haven't been able to go as often and so we decided to rent it out so others can enjoy the place. We have repeated guests - some who consider the Wintergreen house as their second house as well.

Michael and Gina Marie Hatheway purchased this house in 2008

Why Michael and Gina Marie Hatheway chose Wintergreen

This is our second property at Wintergreen. We first bought a condo and while it was nice, we needed more space as we would want to invite friends and family when they would come to visit. When we started to look for homes (we saw 35+ homes) this one was by far our favorite. It's a beautiful, spacious, custom built house. We love it because we can invite another family to stay with us and we don't feel cramped. We can even invite two families. Everyone has their space. It is perfect also for our aging parents when they come to visit as everything is very accessible and there are hardly any steps etc. They can stay on the first level.

What makes this house unique

It's a custom built house with a lot of space. A lot of homes at Wintergreen are smaller than you may think (small square footage and the bedrooms are small etc.). We provide pretty much everything you will need for you stay; think of it as a turn-key house where you check in and don't have to worry about items you may have forgotten. We also have the resort membership which is an added benefit.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Following comment is from one of our rental guests named Diane from Culpepper, VA.

"Outstanding Experience. This property was everything that the description said and it was definitely more beautiful than the pictures. We had an excellent experience in dealing with the home owners, they were easy to work with and made the entire experience pleasant. There is always a fear factor when renting for the first time, but I have recommended using the Home Away Rental website to several people. We had a party that ranged from 20 months to adults and everyone enjoyed this property and the amenities of the resort. We would definitely recommend this property to friends and actually hope to return again ourselves.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway"
Aug 2009
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Chestnut Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Half Bathroom -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Each bathroom is very large with double sinks.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Bedooms are very large/spacious. Two master bedroom suites have full baths inside the suites. Third bedroom has two twins and it can be converted into a king bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Minimum age limit for renters: 25. No Smoking; No Pets We provide amenities including shampoo; conditioner; soap; hair dryers; dishwasher detergent; laundry detergent; coffee; tea; hot chocolate etc. We provide these to our guests along with 400+ thread count bed linens and white premium towels. WPI Membership included in house which gives you access to multiple Wintergreen facilities that are now closed to the public.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

Book for Spring- Luxury House on Mountain Golf Course with/ Resort Membership
average rating of 4.9722223 based on 37 reviews
5

Clean well maintained

  • 5 of 5

The owner was very helpful and easily reachable definitely would recommend staying here

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We very much appreciate it. We are glad you had a great stay and the house met your expectations. Have a great spring!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Winter Mini Ski Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our multi-generation family just returned from a lovely long weekend at Hatheway Haven. We enjoyed the comfortable and spacious house, which included furnished linens and plenty of toys for our two active grandsons to play with. The house is located in a quiet area and we enjoyed taking walks near the golf course. Gina Marie and Michael were very responsive when we needed help with getting settled. They even went the extra mile to insure we had a working television in time to watch the Super Bowl.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are SO happy you had a great stay. With the Super Bowl that weekend we wanted to make sure the brand new HD TV in the Family Room would be up/running for the big game. Thank you for the kind review. If we can ever be of assistance in the future, do let us know.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pinehurst, North Carolina
5

Family Ski Trip

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four enjoyed a holiday ski weekend with this spacious home as our base. It's very convenient to Wintergreen Resort, and the parking pass made getting onto the slopes extremely convenient. The house was very large (we truthfully had much more space than we needed), clean, and well appointed (thank you for having coffee on hand!). We especially enjoyed the large wood-burning fireplace in the family room. The house has a beautiful back porch on the green which would be very nice to enjoy during warmer weather. The owners were responsive and attentive. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear you enjoyed the holiday weekend. Thank you for your kind comments. We work hard to make sure we have available amenities like coffee so you don't have to worry about bringing these items on your vacation. Thank you again for staying at the Wintergreen house and we wish you a great year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful House!

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed here for the NYE weekend in Wintergreen. The house was perfect and had everything we needed. It was very close to the resort and we had no problems using the passes or parking on the resort. The house was very spacious and very cozy.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cameron - Thank you for staying at the house and for your kind review. We are happy to hear you had a great time. We wish you the very best this new year and if we may be of any assistance to you in the future (if you decide to visit Wintergreen again), please let us know. Best Regards, Gina Marie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlottesville, VA
4

Open, airy home

  • 4 of 5

The house is beautiful with tall ceilings, open rooms and great fireplace. Some of the amenities were a little dated/slightly warned (carpet, couches) and some lights didn't work, nor soap dispenser in Master BR. Otherwise it was lovely, and it is located close to "everything". The summer would be nice to enjoy the large deck.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ruth - We are glad to hear you had a good stay. The house is lovely and we have received nothing but 5 stars from our guests for the past 10+ years in renting properties through VRBO. I wish you had alerted us about the light bulbs and soap dispenser as we would have addressed the issue immediately and do all possible to 'make it right' for you and your family so you have a wonderful visit. We always reach out to the guests on the day of their arrival to make sure they got in fine and to inquire if they have any questions or concerns. We were unable to reach you despite several attempts in calling the house (hopefully you/your family were out skiing or enjoying WTG). :) The Christmas/New Years week is the busiest and most popular time of the year at Wintergreen (with multiple back to back rentals). We thank you for staying at the house and we wish you the very best this new year. If we may be of any assistance to you in the future, please let us know. Take care.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay in Wintergreen

  • 5 of 5

This was our fourth trip to Wintergreen for a fall weekend getaway, and our second time staying in this particular rental... The house is lovely, spacious, comfortable, clean, well-equipped and well-maintained. We enjoyed staying here and had a great time visiting wineries and breweries in the area, and then relaxing back at this lovely home at the end of the day.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Chestnut Springs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring
Mar 21 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$265
From
$285
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$3,750
 
 
Memorial Day Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Departure Cleaning Fee $125
Refundable damage deposit $300

NOTE: There is a departure cleaning fee of $145.
$400 nightly rate apply on holiday periods (Christmas/New Year's Weeks; MLK weekend; President's weekend; Easter weekend; Memorial Day weekend; 4th July week; Labor Day weekend; Columbus Day weekend; Thanksgiving Week.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Car: necessary

WPI Resort Passes available to use throughout resort - can be used to facilities that are closed to the general public.

After the last Golf tee time of the day, you can walk out a few yards to the third hole from our deck and practice a few hits or even golf at no charge (Holes #4, #5 and #6 are all an easy walking distance from our house).

We even have two sets of golf clubs (right hand and left handed sets) and two golf pull cart (with wheels) for use.

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties