Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic Downtown Vacation Home Rental

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Main House, 5 sleeping areas + Attached Units, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-24)

Rates are for the main house only which accommodates 10 guests. If additional units are added, rates decrease per night costs.

The Oviedo House offers convenient lodging close to Historic downtown St. Augustine, Flagler College. It is a great house for wedding groups, family reunions, vacation get aways or even business stays. Rates listed are for the main house only which sleeps up to 10. There are 2 suites that can be added for larger groups and are discounted when booked with the main house. Call for additional costs for the suites.

To help you know how Oviedo House is set up, there is a floor plan in the photo section. It is a very comfortable house for large groups.

The house was built around 1910 as a rooming house for nurses of Florida East Coast Hospital, located two blocks from Flagler College, six blocks from Historic downtown, one-half mile from the White Room and just a few miles from great shopping and the beach. It has been completely remodeled with care to offer new amenities yet keep all its original charm!

The Oviedo House is the best St. Augustine vacation rental for medium sized groups near all of St. Augustine's top attractions and things to do. This home is great for wedding groups or family reunions. Whether on business or pleasure, this house will definitely be able to meet all your traveling needs and more! You can go directly to oviedo house to see additional information.

Dakota Suite & West Wing: We have just remodeled 2 small apartments on the second floor that have been used for the family. They can be opened up to the Oviedo House to accommodate larger groups. Each suite is equipped to sleep up to 4 people and have a separate entrance, their own wrap around porch, and are full service units all by themselves. Check out the pictures! For those interested in also booking the Dakota Suite or West Wing, please check availability and additional costs.

Keywords: House, wedding party, family reunions, vacation get aways, family vacations

More Details

Owner
Kitty Pursley
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 2, 2017

About Kitty Pursley

Oviedo House is not the typical 'Vacation Rental'. This is the house that a large family grew up in and we want to keep it in the family. The picture was taken a couple of years ago and has all 7 children with our mother. We have moved all over the country (Seattle, California, Kansas, and Florida - but not St. Augustine) and still come home to St. Augustine to spend time. Now our kids, who have kids of their own, also come and enjoy all the things to do in St. Augustine. Mostly we just love to come home. The house is filled with so many memories.

Kitty Pursley purchased this house in 1956

Why Kitty Pursley chose St. Augustine

Oviedo House is our family home and not the typical 'vacation rental' bought as an investment. As we moved on with our lives we wanted to keep the house in the family and left the house with most of the items we grew up with. It has a real 'home' feeling when you walk in. Our picture wall in the hall way has many generations and you can get a sense of the closeness our family has for each other and Oviedo House.

What makes this house unique

We strive to make our guests stay as comfortable as we can. If there are any specifics that you would like, we try and make it happen...Special things for birthdays, weddings, etc. With the addition of the 'Dakota Suite' & 'West Wing', the house is big enough to have 18 people comfortably enjoy the house or can be split up for from 4 in each Suite and up to 10 in the main house. Even though Oviedo House is a large home, it is even very comfortable for just 2 people. We have everything you need to keep working or in touch with everyone. The house has an up-to-date computer, fax, copier, printer, and is equipped for wireless with high speed cable. It is close to the historic district and one can walk most anywhere they want and it is a very safe neighborhood.

Come enjoy our house.

Guestbook comments from the owner

On Mon, Oct 11, 2010 at 5:03 PM, wrote:

I just wanted to thank you for an incredible experience at the Oviedo House...my daughter's bridal brunch was wonderful and everyone was impressed with the house, the furnishings and the overall experience. You had so many items that I was able to use in the set-up and I had many flashbacks to my childhood growing up in New Orleans in an old southern home. My husband usually has no opinion on places where we stay but he also loved the house and is now making comments about looking for property in Saint Augustine for part of our retirement--if the Oveido House experience can get my New York husband to consider living in the south then it is truly a magical place! Thank you again for your hospitality. Janette Johnson
Oct 2010
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Downtown Historic District House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 in Master Bedroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Master Bedroom has full bath
    2nd Bathroom - toilet , shower , Second bedroom on the first floor has full bath
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Hall Bath is half bath with toilet and sink
    Bathroom 4 in Sun Room - toilet , shower , Sun Room on 2nd floor has full bath
    Bathroom 5 in Dakota Suite - toilet , shower , Dakota Suite can be added to the main house at a discount
    Bathroom 6 in West Wing - toilet , shower , West Wing can be added to the main house at a discount
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom has king bed, full bath & french door to deck
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Bedroom with queen bed & full bath has single door to deck
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeping Parlor has sofa sleeper and ottoman cot
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , Sun Room has full bed at east end & shares full bath
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , Sun Room has 2 twin beds at East end, and sitting area
    Dakota Suite (small apartment on 2nd Floor) - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , King bed & Day bed and trundle in livingroom, kitchen for 4
    West Wing (small apt on 2nd floor) - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , Living room has daybed and trundle and kitchen for 4
  • Main House has 1 king bed, 1 queen bed, 1 sleeper sofa, 1 ottoman cot, 1 full bed, 2 twin beds. Suites can be added at a discount when booked with main house: Dakota Suite has 1 king bed, 1 day bed and 1 trundle. West Wing has 1 king bed, 1 day bed, and 1 trundle.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 7 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

Historic Downtown Vacation Home Rental
average rating of 4.935484 based on 32 reviews
5

House was more than expected by far.

  • 5 of 5

This house was more than I or any of my other 7 golfers could have expected. Besides the multitude of sleeping options, the house was fully equipped with anything that you would need including coffee for the coffee maker, spices, plenty of cups & dishes, pots & pans, laundry detergent, bath towels, extra pillows etc. There are 2 porches with chairs suitable for just sitting, sipping drinks and watching students going and coming back from classes at the nearby college. Walk 2 blocks from the house and you find yourself in the bustling town square just filled with tourists & residents alike enjoying the many shops, restaurants and historical sites of St. Augustine. Enjoy being part of a tour of the area or ride in a horse drawn carriage for a leisurely ride in this area. Or just listen to the music being played by independent musicians looking for tips. If it wasn't for a blizzard up north tonight that forced us to leave town early we would still be down enjoying this oldest city in America. Certainly the house added greatly to the charm of this area and is even on a cobblestone street. And the house owner is a very accommodating owner who responded to a specific need of ours without any concern of the added cost to her. She only wanted to please us as much as she could. Hoping to get back her one day to finish what that dumb storm forced us to cut short.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much. It is such a pleasure to share our home with guests that are so great to work with. I enjoyed our phone conversations and am glad that the Oviedo House provided things to make your stay more comfortable. Just so sorry that you had to cut your stay short because of the storms up north. Glad weather was good for you in St. Augustine while you were there. If you get to come back to St. Augustine, remind me of your stay and I am sure I will remember. Kitty
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic spring break with friends

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time with 3 other families in the Oviedo house over spring break! With 8 adults and 8 children we always felt comfortable in this spacious home. The home was by far the most well stocked vacation home we've ever stayed in. The owners have thought out every detail in order to make sure your stay is comfortable.

The Oviedo home is conveniently located near the historic downtown. Our children enjoyed being able to hop on the bikes and cruise the streets. We rode to the Castillo de San Marcos, Flagler College, the San Sebastian Winery, the distillery, and the historic downtown. The areas were also close enough to walk to.

The Oviedo house offered multiple sitting areas in and out of the house. I really enjoyed being able to sit out front in the rocking chairs sipping coffee in the morning or wine in the evening, as the kids rode bikes out front.

St. Augustine is a perfect blend of history and fun at the beach. We had a great time making memories with friends at the Oviedo house.

Thank you!

Carisa

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad that you had a great time in St. Augustine and that Oviedo House could play a part in your memories. We love it when our guests feel comfortable and that is exactly what we strive for. Thank you for your kind words. Hope you come visit us again! Kitty
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

GREAT TIME HAD BY ALL

  • 5 of 5

My family spent the Thanksgiving weekend at the O.H. A great time was had by all. The house is conveniently located a few blocks from downtown St. Augustine.; yet, Its located in a quiet and serene neighborhood. The house was the best stocked home i have evvveerr rented! the kitchen was equipped with every utensil and pot needed for us to prepare our Thanksgiving meal. The home is clean and spacious. The large porches are well appointed with large comfortable chairs and rockers which are comfortable and relaxing! There is something for everyone: books, games, bikes....this home is AMAZING and is definitely on our repeat rental list!!

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you picked Oviedo House for your family get together for Thanksgiving. We love to be part of memories that will last forever! Thanks for noting that Oviedo House is very well equipped. We want you to have everything you need and not have to pack extra items to bring with you. Also, thank you for leaving our home in such good shape when you checked out. We would love to have you visit with us again. Kitty
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay post-hurricane!

  • 5 of 5

We had a truly incredible stay with Kitty during the week of our wedding. They suffered some damage from the hurricane but by the time we arrived, you wouldn't have known it. They worked tirelessly and there was no sign of the hurricane in sight. We also had a lovely rehearsal dinner in the backyard which was perfect. Kitty and Angela were always accessible if we had questions. Would definitely recommend to anyone with a large group!

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for posting a "post-hurricane" review. I have had so many calls from guests that have already booked and are concerned that everything would be taken care of. I think your kind words will let everyone know that we are back on track! I am so thankful we were able to get a great crew to help us pull things together and a big thanks to you and your guests for being so patient and allowing us an extra day to complete the repairs. Would love to have you come back and stay with us again! Thanks for the goodies you left for us! Kitty
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Malabar, FL
5

Vaughan

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the ' Oviedo House ' exceeded our expectations. A lovely place for our family of eight to gather. The home is convenient to Historic St. Augustine, Anastasia State Park, the Lighthouse, shopping, and dinning. We began our days with breakfast in a well equipped kitchen, followed by touring the area and returning to a relaxing and comfortable home. I would highly recommend ' Oviedo House ' for a vacation rental.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the Oveido House for a family member's wedding. We had 3 families who used the main house, Dakota Suite, and the carriage house. It was the perfect setup for our families. My family stayed in the carriage house. It was the best stocked VRBO that I have ever stayed in. Angela was so attentive to all of our needs. I would highly recommend this place to a large group!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a wonderful stay and thank you for your kind words. We want our guests to feel like they are in something as close to their own home as possible and by having all your daily needs there, it makes it more comfortable and you don't have to run to the store to get "something". Thank you for mentioning how well stocked the house is so our future guests will know what to expect. Also thank you for taking such good care of the property and I will forward your kind words to Angela, our resident property manager. Kitty
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Jacksonville International Airport
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
World Golf Village
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
US I
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Georgie's
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
St. Augustine Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Flagler College
Nearest Point of Interest
White Room
Nearest Point of Interest
Castillo de San Marcos - Historic Fort
Nearest Point of Interest
San Sebastian Winery
Nearest Point of Interest
Tennis Courts & Event Field
Nearest Point of Interest
City Marina
Nearest Point of Interest
Willie Galimore Community Center & Aquatic Complex
Car: not necessary

Oviedo House is on a quiet brick street just a couple of blocks from Flagler College. Enjoy a cup of coffee on the front porch and watch as the students walk to class!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Downtown Historic District House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee each Suite $75
Cleaning Fee Main House $175
Tax Rate 10.5%

PRICING IS FOR MAIN HOUSE ONLY, Which sleeps up to 10

Dakota Suite and West Wing each sleep up to 4 and are discounted from $125 to $100/night/each suite (plus cleaning and taxes), when booked with the main house. The suites have their own separate entrance or can be opened up to the main house.
We also have a Carriage Apartment that is not attached to the main house and sleeps up to 6. It is discounted from $175/night to $150/night (plus cleaning and taxes) when booked with the main house.
CANCELLATION POLICY: Full refund minus $200 IF we re-rent your cancelled period. Notifying us 60 days prior to check-in gives us the best opportunity to re-book your dates.

Security Deposit is credit card on file

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable