Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

The Rainbow River House

Bedrooms 3
Space 3,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Single Family w/ 3 Bedrooms - 3½ Bathrooms - Sleeps 8

Situated directly on the crystal clear, spring fed, rainbow river, this two story, 3500 square foot,

3 bedroom, 3.5 bath, two car garage home offers peaceful comfort and privacy while you enjoy your


Andy Burwell
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 19, 2017


Dunnellon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • River
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Sleeper Couch
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Piano
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Boat
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Motorboat
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Walkway to Water
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Pontoon Boat, Canoe, Kayak, Pool Table, Fishing Poles, Rafts & Tubes, Hammock, Dock Slide,


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Rainbow River House
average rating of 4.9 based on 20 reviews
Woodland Hills, Calif/Stuart, FL

Very spacious and comfortable in a beautiful riverside setting

  • 5 of 5

We had a family weekend to celebrate Mother's Day and kayak down the Rainbow River. The game room upstairs was a big hit with the pool table and the air hockey table!! There was plenty of room for all of us to be comfortable. It is conveniently located near several restaurants for the couple of meals we had out but also has a huge kitchen and a lovely large dining table to accommodate several people. House was very clean and grounds well kept. We spent a lot of time on the dock watching the birds!!

  • Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to hear you had a good time spending Mother's Day weekend with your family at our home. Thank you for sharing.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Brunswick, GA

Beautiful house!!

  • 5 of 5

My family had a wonderful time! It was by far the best family vacation we've ever had!! The house was amazing, the boat and beautiful water completely made the trip. But even when it rained we enjoyed the game room and board games at the house! The house had everything you could possibly need to feel right at home. We will definitely be back next year!! Thanks so much Andy for sharing your family's home with me and my family 😊

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

River House

  • 4 of 5

My family and I recently stayed a weekend at Andy's river house. Andy was very helpful with the booking process. The house is absolutely beautiful. I enjoyed reading through the journal of previous people's visit to the river house. Some might loved all the family photos, awards and memorabilia ... they didn't bother me ... but did creep my kids out which was very funny! At first I was taken back by the lack of televisions in the home, but ended up really enjoying renting a family movie to watch on the DVR at night and all the kids pilling up in one space on sofas and making little beds on the floor to watch together...never happens at home since everyone has a TV in their room. The boat looks like it has been through tough times, but was reliable. Some things I was not excited about and actually caused me some stress during this trip was the fact that you are expected to wash the bed linens. I personally feel the cleaning fee should include this. What stressed me out was the fact that you have no idea if the renters before you actually washed their bed linen....the nurse inside me could not let this go knowing some of the contagious skin conditions not to mention skin parasites that could be present. So, I started the trip with several hours of washing bed linens and finished the trip spending several hours washing bed linens. I also feel that there should be a river map in the home so you know where to find the springs.

Even with the stress of the laundry and not knowing where we were going on the boat....we enjoyed ourselves. The home was absolutely beautiful and had everything you need it. More than likely we would stay again, but just plan an extra day for all the laundry.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice house - clean, well stocked with the necessary items for our stay. No complaints.

  • 5 of 5

We had a nice time with our family!! The down side was it rained the whole time, so we didn't get much time on the river, so it was nice that there was a pool table to keep us entertained. The location on the river isn't my preference, but since we were able to use the pontoon boat we were able to see the parts of the river I prefer when it wasn't raining. The owner is amazing to work with! He was quick with responses to any questions we had. Overall - beautiful home & I would stay there again:)

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry about the weather (rain) during your stay. Glad you were able to enjoy your family time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fort Myers, FL

Our stay was great!

  • 5 of 5

The house had everything we needed to have an amazing weekend!

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you had what you needed. Even happier to hear you had an amazing weekend. Thanks for sharing. Andy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything you need to fully experience this river paradise

  • 5 of 5

This one is like house-sitting for a very fun and active family who trust you with their home and possessions and want you to responsibly use every single thing they use to enjoy their time there. Everything is nice, and there is a lot of room to spread out.

The pontoon boat is what puts this place over the top as far as value. Several people can get on this motorized river lounger and idle down the Rainbow or Withlacoochee rivers (the house is on the Rainbow, but very near the confluence with the Withlacoochee). note: there is no sheltered area on the pontoon boat, so figuring a way to rig a tarp up to block the sun will make it even better.

Beyond the boat, though, is a very relaxing (and beautiful) home, and the stand of Cypress trees in the back yard is utterly spectacular. Here are the things to know:

*GREAT Grill to use.

*Fantastic Kitchen

*Epic Dining table that seats 8, plus several other smaller inside tables

*Fun billiards table upstairs

*Comfortable beds

*great Washer and Dryer Unit

*old, but serviceable canoe

Fantastic house for kids because there is an upstairs that feels like a clubhouse/den that kids will definitely gravitate to when they're not outside.

Things to bring:

*personal paddlecraft - if you're a paddler, it is totally worth it to bring your own boat. The two kayaks are tiny toy kayaks that kids will love but they have no glide and you won't want to take them down either river. The canoe is fine, but this is PRIME paddling in BOTH rivers, so having your own boat is really worth the trouble. Paddlers - this area brags on the Rainbow, but the Withlacoocheee is primordial - lovely, dark, and deep. Don't skip it, but bring your smart phone on the Withlacoochee because you have to navigate a pretty wide area before you settle into the river channel.

*road bikes - there are paved trails galore in this part of the state. Great road biking possibilities. This is a paddler/cyclist paradise!!!

Andy is VERY clear, and his instructions are reasonable and easy to follow. He is also very accessible during your stay if anything arises. It is very difficult for me to imagine how this could be a bad experience for anyone. Way beautiful, and houses for rent right on the Rainbow River are rare...

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! What a great and thorough review. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. This will be valuable information for future guests considering a visit. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Activities available include pool table, boating, fishing, swimming, tubing, kayaking, canoeing,

bird and nature watching.

Other Activities: boating, tubing, kayaking, canoeing, bird and nature watching


Rates & Availability

Dunnellon House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 11.0%

All Year: 1/1/13 to 1/31/13 at $250.00 per Week Night, $250.00 per Weekend Night, $500.00 per Weekend, $1,750.00 per Week, $250.00 per Extra Night with a minimum stay of 2 nights

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties