Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

nice farm house in Rome

Bedrooms 5
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Villa 5+1 Bedrooms with bathroom ensuite

The property is a family roman estate since 1600. The Foresteria villa , is situated on 360 acres of rolling, natural woodlands and manicured gardens and are located at via Pisana 600 right near the heart of Rome (15min from Vatican-2,5km inside GRA)

It is one of the 13 nature parks situated within Rome's city boundaries where sacred woods blend with cultivated fields, ancient farmhouses and medieval tower stand next to patrician residences, and precious olive trees grow side-by-side native cork oaks and pine trees. There is an intense profume of cultivated land, while the metropolis is well behind you. It' picture postcard landscape that is both sweet and savage is living proof of an incredible bio-diversity successfully preserved.

Sceneries unfolding before the visitor's eyes are often the same ones celebrated by Goethe or landscape painters of the 19th century. We are happy to invite guests to come experience for themselves the old farm life of 'vecchia Roma'. Inhale scents, colors, flavors and sensations that still exist today and represent an invaluable heritage that must be treasured and appreciated. Make friends with the farm's donkeys, bunnies and newly hatched chicks. Visit an ancient drinking trough full of newly hatched pollywogs. Follow along a well-maintained footpath traversing a cork forest in search of signs of habitat from a great number of wild animals such as fox, beechmartens, weasels, lodgers, porcupines, and pheasant that take refuge in the wooded areas of the property. For children and adults alike, Torretta de Massimi nature reserve is an open air classroom. Bus stop at 100mts from the property gate. supermarket at 100 mt, A very good restaurant-pizzeria with free pickup and return at the property at 5min drive

Keywords: villa rome

More Details

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french, italian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2016

What makes this farmhouse unique

the best way to enjoy Rome everyday as you were at home, sleeping far away from noise and traffic

Guestbook comments from the owner

Four of us had a weeks stay at the tower.

It is a fantastic alternative to staying in a small hotel room.

The property is about 20 min by bus ( $ 1 euro ) to the center

of rome. We had a car but found the bus more convenient and cheaper, also more fun. The tower is a historical building and has charm and character. Plenty of room for two couples

or family. It has a kitchen two bedrooms two shower/toilets,

and a fantastic pool right outside the front door. It was great to

come back and have swim and a beer by the pool after walking Rome all day. There is a small town walking distance, for shopping etc.... There are three houses for rent on this property,

we prevered the tower only because it was different and the pool

was close but I would recommend any of them if you are staying with a group of people. Highly recommended if you want to see Rome and experience a little country style living at the same time.
Jun 2008
  • 1 of 3


Zona XLIV La Pisana Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Catering available
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 500 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 14
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Town
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • lauro - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , bidet
    Blue - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , bidet
    yellow - toilet , shower , bidet
    natura - toilet , shower , bidet
    flower - toilet , shower , bidet
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Blue - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Yellow - 1 king
    Natura - 1 king
    Lauro - 1 king
    flower room - 2 twin/ single
  • Books ...
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Terrace
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • swimming
  • tennis
unique cork wood


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

nice farm house in Rome
average rating of 4.6 based on 18 reviews

Beautiful Estate and Ottavio is the perfect host and is always available when needed

  • 3 of 5

This is a beautiful property with perfectly manicured gardens and chickens, donkeys and the most beautiful baby donkey which Ottavio showed the grandchildren with great care. The rooms were neat with clean bed linen, somewhat hard for our taste, which I hear is an Italian standard.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, I would comment that the walk to the bus station is about 20 min, however it did not take away from the enjoyment of the stay. Ottavio did guide us carefully on security, and as in any country. For us to follow security instructions when entering accommodation in a Villa is a normal personal responsibility. Taxis were organized by Ottavio where necessary as was a very good restaurant which offered us transport to and from the restaurant. Very memorable experience. Garland

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

My family & I rented this property for our 25th Anniversary. in our party were our mothers both of which are in their upper 70's. Ottavio assured me there would be no problem for them to get around during our stay. This was not the case. There is a long gravel road to the property from the street not to mention an incline which would have made it virtually impossible for them to get to bus stop every day and night. Ottavio assured me we did not need a car to get around which made this property so enticing. The property is situated in a somewhat undesirable location. In a previous review from another travel there was mention of a housing project close to this property. I asked Ottavio regarding this and he said it was torn down and not to worry. Upon arriving at the property Ottavio said he had a meeting he had forgotten and left us after a very brief tutorial regarding the villa failing to mention that the front door to villa was finicky which led to the majority of our party being locked out while my kids and I walked down to the grocery store to get drinks and snacks. There was no way that our mothers could have stayed at this property. It was not suitable for them. I called Ottavio to express our concerns and to let him know we would not be staying. He was kind enough to call us taxis because when we tried we were told that the address of this property was invalid. We never even unpacked. We unfortunately had to move to a hotel in the city which is what I wanted to avoid and is why we chose VRBO. Ottavio seems like a nice enough gentleman. He did arrange for his drivers to pick us up from airport. They were very friendly and Ottavio payed them since we did not have a chance to exchange our money to Euro yet. Unfortunetly this property was not suitable for our party.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mr,Eric, Torretta is a wonderful property in a unique park, its located in Rome the capital of Italy so its normal that there houses on one size of the property (the nearest building is at at 500mts) I must say that you and your family you were complaining since your arrival! In fact you were not happy about beds sheets (just renovated one week before by Zara Home), you told me that the towels and toilet paper were not in place and I show you that it was not true! The long gravelroad to the gate (300mts) has never been a problem (based on our never having received a complaint or encountered a problem with our many elder guests in the history of this vacation rental (10 years). The average guest profile for the Torretta Villa is a family including an elder +70). Check in, was at 3pm but I have accord you to arrive at 11am, I was there and gave you a welcome and some instructions, I told you I had a meeting but I was back again at 2pm! The front door of the Villa is very easy to open but probably you was just tired. I apologize if some taxi driver are ignorant but the address as the property are very well known. I am so sorry that you have post this unfair feedback that for sure my place does not deserve. ottavio lancellotti
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful stay!

  • 5 of 5

Big rambling property, full of animals, special chicken breeds, donkeys and trails. Well equipped kitchen, wonderful historical and updated property. When you are up in the villa, all you see is green. It's beautiful with the birdsong.... Well positioned for public transport into Rome. Perfect for a large family retreat with kids of all ages. Two minor negatives: my husband had a hard time finding a place to recycle our trash the day we left and it was very cold the first day before the heat kicked in. In fact, we had to drive off the property to get blankets and covers since there weren't enough to keep us all warm. But again, after the heat kicked in and the house warmed up, we were perfectly fine for the rest of our stay. All in all, it was a beautiful and we thank Ottavio for the warm welcome.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and your stay!! The Torretta estate is tucked among 360 privileged, rambling acres of woodland right in the center of Rome - and very unique position! Because of the immense nature surrounding it, Torretta takes on a micro-climate similar to the Umbrian or Tuscan countryside with temperatures dipping beneath what the historic center experiences just 3 miles away. Many of our foreign guests don't expect this, and are always pleasantly surprised in the warm Summer months. During the Winter and other impromptu "chilly" periods of Spring and Fall, the properties are equipped with autonomous heating which is available whenever needed, even though the use of centralized heating is restricted in Rome between early April and early November (to help promote good living habits among its citizens and regulate energy-use). We are extremely commited to our guests' satisfaction and comfort. In the Spring our maids dress the beds with our lighter-weight quilts appropriate for the warmer weather, although our heavier-weight Winter bedding is always on-hand. During the months of unstable warm weather (April, Oct. and Nov.), natural solutions (warm or layered clothing) normally solve the issue - although autonomous heating always remains available as a back-up. As for recycling, city services do not extend onto private property therefore the work is tended to by our own staff to relieve our vacationing clients of the inconvenience of having to differentiate and transport the recycled materials as required by Italian laws. Hope to see you soon again in Rome :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Glasgow, Scotland

Amazing place to stay in Rome

  • 5 of 5

Stayed in the tower with 2 teenage girls.

A quiet oasis to retreat to after the bustle of the city. A short bus trip takes you right to the centre of Rome. Peaceful, beautiful setting and the owner is friendly and helpful.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, happy you enjoyed !
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
indianapolis in

Fantastic Villa and Property

  • 5 of 5

I have just returned from a weeklong stay at the Torretta. There were 14 of us including 9 teenagers. Ottavio went out of his way to assist us in all our needs including bringing us fresh eggs and organic lettuce from the farm. He arranged for our transportation to and from the airport. With this large group, it was one less thing to worry about!. The rooms and the facility were outstanding. Everyone enjoyed taking a swim in the pool after a long day in the city.

We caught the local bus each day, which put us into downtown Rome in 15 minutes and on the way home stopped by the grocery to get our dinner supplies of fresh pasta ad meats. We truly enjoyed eating all of our meals outside on the veranda while taking in the beautiful Italian countryside.

I highly recommend this property for small groups or large groups such as ours!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a great plesure to have your group here!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

A lovely oasis in Roma!

  • 5 of 5

There were 10 of us all together for a family break to celebrate a big birthday and we stayed in the villa farmhouse. It was fabulous - plenty of room for us all, well furnished, lovely and quiet. You can walk to the supermarket and bus stop easily (15 minute walk depending on your speed but not suitable for those with walking difficulties) and the bus takes you directly to the centre of Rome in about 20 minutes. Ottavio (& Skipper the dog!) made us very welcome and was very helpful when we had questions. We had fresh eggs in the morning and lots of lovely organic salad from Ottavio's garden. The pool was lovely, there was lots of open space for the children to run around and explore and so easy to relax - it really felt like the countryside rather than a city, so nice after a long day sightseeing. There are a couple of restaurants close by (and a yummy ice cream place) and Ottavio arranged for us to be picked up & taken to a local restaurant where we had amazing steak & fish. We'd really recommend it for a relaxing break, combined with all the amazing sights of Rome. Wonderful, thank you Ottavio (& Skipper).

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Rates & Availability

Zona XLIV La Pisana Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jan 9 2017 - Apr 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
Apr 3 2017 - Oct 16 2017
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,080

All utilities are inculded. airport pickup & return are included during hi season, as well weekly cleaning. Gardnening and pool maintenance included. No refund after guest's check in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message


Nearest Airport
18 Kilometres
Fiumicino intl
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Nearest Ferry
68 Miles
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Parco dei Medici
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
stazione Aurelia
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Grande Raccordo Anulare
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Schiave d'abruzzo
Nearest Ski
120 Kilometres
campo felice
Nearest Beach
25 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

croquet, badminton, gardening, bird watching,golf club at 10min drive

related at the fitness club


Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties