Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

El Faro Penthouse 403 - Great Ocean Views & Private Rooftop

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Penthouse unit with private rooftop, outdoor kitchen and amazing views

Enjoy a luxurious stay at the beautiful El Faro Condo penthouse Reef 403, situated in the heart of Playa del Carmen at Calle 10 and the beach. Spacious with 9 foot ceilings throughout, with natural lighting & amazing views of the Caribbean!

Our luxurious penthouse condo has two bedrooms (1 king, 1 queen + den/entryway sofa sleeper) and two baths and a breathtaking view of the Caribbean from the main floor balcony and from our amazing and private rooftop terrace.

This fabulous rooftop comes complete with a wet bar, bar stools, mini-fridge, sink, sun loungers, BBQ grill, sink, mini-fridge, dining area for 4, as well as a rooftop shower & outdoor bathroom. Your own private tropical paradise! This unit does have a jacuzzi - we do our best to make sure it is operational for every guest but we cannot guarantee that as when problems arise it often takes weeks for us to receive parts. The rates for the condo are the same whether or not the jacuzzi is operational.

The 2 luxurious bedrooms feature one master bedroom with king bed, en-suite bath with rain shower, 2nd adjustable shower head, and a jetted hot tub. The guest bedroom features one queen bed, with en-suite full bath. A sleeper sofa is available to sleep 2 extra guests.

Fully-equipped stainless steel kitchen, and fantastic Sony stereo in the living room completes the entertainment features of this gorgeous condo.

Maid service, onsite massage, a huge amazing pool and the incomparable natural beauty of the Caribbean makes this an ideal vacation!

El Faro is ideally located in the town of Playa del Carmen on the shores of our beautiful blue sea, yet just 1.5 blocks off 'Quinta Avenida.' 5th Avenue is an amazing paved pedestrian only walkway that runs parallel to the beach and houses a colorful array of shops, restaurants, bars, spas and provides excellent people watching all hours of the day and night.

This beautiful vacation home has everything you want - complete kitchen, maid service, gorgeous furnishings, beautiful views, a perfect place to stay and every amenity you expect in paradise.

65 Condos in an exclusive complex in the middle of Playa's main beach make El Faro the very best place to be. Walk to everything. All water sports available on our sandy beach.

Playa del Carmen and El Faro are easy to get to: fly into Cancun and either take a 40-minute cab to Calle 10th & and the beach or a luxury bus to the Playa terminal just two blocks from your vacation home. (Alternately, you can fly into Cozumel and take the ferry across the Caribbean and land just a few blocks from your vacation home.)

We are happy to arrange for your airport transportation via private van delivering you right to your condo door!

More Details

Property Manager
Tonya Sarina
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
July 15, 2017

About Tonya Sarina

After falling in love with Playa del Carmen and buying condo properties there, Tonya Sarina founded Playa Beach Getaways / Your Best Getaway (PBG).

Playa Beach Getaways is an elite vacation rental specialist company offering an array of exclusive condos and luxurious villas. We now represent over 300 luxury properties where couples, families, wedding groups and loved ones can spend their dream vacation making memories together! We also offer a wonderful property in Cabo San Lucas as well.

PBG has built a solid reputation on integrity, a competitive edge and catering to the needs of our discerning clients. We pride ourselves on providing our clients with a quality product, excellent service, and great value all at the same time. We also manage properties for owners who appreciate the high standard of professional management we offer. If you are interested in having your property managed by Playa Beach Getaways, please contact Tonya for more information!

We hand-pick every condo and villa, we take the extra steps to ensure each of these properties are a “home away from home” that exceeds all your expectations. We will work closely with you to match you with your ideal accommodations (oceanfront, pool, budget, location, amenities etc.) and we do this with no extra charge to the traveler.

We work with a team of professionals who are committed to catering to all of your needs, while providing you with exceptional service and expertise during your stay. We are always a phone call or an email away.

Tonya and the staff of Playa Beach Getaways will plan your trip from beginning to end & you will receive a personal friendly touch that few in the industry offer. With them at the wheel NOTHING is left to chance! Whether you are traveling on a budget or wanting extravagance all the way, everyone is treated the same; like a VIP.

Amenities

Gonzalo Guerrero Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Downtown
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Elevator
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Located in living area
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This unit has it's own rooftop jacuzzi, grill, refrigerator, shower, bathroom and wet bar with fantastic views.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
El Faro Penthouse 403 - Great Ocean Views & Private Rooftop
average rating of 4.571429 based on 7 reviews
5

Place was great! Will stay again!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here 6/16 for 7 days and absolutely enjoyed every single moment of it. The 2 bedroom condo was perfect for us. The bed was really comfy, and the master suite was very spacious and clean. We loved using the walk out balcony and everyday sat out there and enjoyed the views while we had breakfast/lunch or simply enjoyed our drinks. The maid staff that came every other day did an amazing job, and ensured we had new beach towels as well as other towels and wash clothes, they also made sure we had all of the ice trays filled up which was very convenient.

The complex itself of El Faro was well maintained and felt very safe. Its location off of 5th ave was prime. You could go left or right on 5th ave and be at a great restaurant or newer shopping mall right away. The pool was great and the beach and ocean were amazing. The beach did get a little busy with locals, but the pool deck is 20 yards from the ocean so we enjoyed that and never really had a desire to lay on the beach. Security was very good about making sure only the residents of El Faro were on the pool deck, and using the beds.

We will definitely be returning to Reef 403 in the future and is absolutely perfect for a couple by themselves or two couples on a fun trip!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your thoughtful and positive review! It makes us happy when our guests enjoy our place in paradise. We will look forward to welcoming you back to El Faro Penthouse Reef 403!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good but not great

  • 3 of 5

We have vacationed in many areas of Mexico and this trip was somewhat disappointing. The condo itself was nice, but not at all perfect or in our opinion worth the price we paid. Kitchen was good, bedrooms and bathrooms were good. One of our main complaints was that our rooftop hot tub was broken the whole time. We did get a small refund for this, but it was very disappointing because the rooftop area was one of the draws for us to this condo. The couch/sofa in the living room is old/broken and not comfortable. It was a sleeper sofa but when we looked at the mattress it was so disgusting we would never let a family member sleep on it. The futon in the entry way was fine, but very short for anyone over 6 feet tall (and our son is 6'2").

For the resort itself, our first complaint was that we were only allowed to have one key for 4 adults. They said they were waiting on a new order of keys which never arrived while we were there. We were probably in Playa del Carmen at a very crowded time of year but the beach areas were so crowded there was at times little room to move, and very little beach area in front of El Faro. We had to get up very early and secure chairs at the pool or beach any day we wanted chairs. Not having a restaurant or bar at the complex is a negative.

All in all it was a good family vacation, but if we ever go back to this area we would not stay here again for the price.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very troubled and puzzled to hear about your stay at our condo. We generally receive very good reviews on our condos so this came as a complete surprise as we always want to ensure our guests have a fantastic stay with us. In regards to the Jacuzzi, we have had to add a disclaimer on our listing to indicate that we will do our best to have the Jacuzzi working for our guests; however, like any hot tub, it does need new parts from time to time and parts are quite often difficult to source in this area – we were originally told the necessary part we were awaiting during your stay would take 2 weeks and it has now been over 6. As a courtesy, we did give you a refund as we know this was an amenity that played a part in your choice of condo. We'd like to note that we do not charge extra for this amenity; the condo is priced very similarly to units without a Jacuzzi so that we are fair to our guests. As for the futon mattress, we are extremely upset to hear your comments on its condition since it is not an old futon. We do regular maintenance and checks on our condo to ensure it is clean, maintained and comfortable and have never had a guest indicate anything about the futon. We are doing an owner inspection to correct any issues related to the futon, sofa sleeper and air mattress that we provide. Our management has had a supply of card keys on order and until that shipment arrives, they have had to limit condos to one key card. We are extremely sorry for any inconvenience this caused you. We are all anxious for that delivery! Christmas is definitely high season in Playa and of course that means that the beaches can be busy and as you can understand we have no control over that. We hope to see you again so we can prove to you that our management & staff are here to make your vacation a happy and memorable one.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Doesn't Get Any Better Than This in Playa!

  • 5 of 5

We were thrilled with our decision to stay at El Faro and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We cannot say enough about how spectacular the private rooftop is with its jaw-dropping views and expansive space. It was our favorite place to hang out, sip margaritas, sunbathe and take in amazing sunrises and sunsets. There is also a main balcony off the living room area where we enjoyed coffee while enjoying the beach/ocean views. The condo is open-concept and nice & and bright. It was well-maintained with nice size rooms and en-suite bathrooms and a fully-equipped kitchen which came in handy. The pool is large and well maintained, and there are loungers & umbrellas on the beach for the guests of EF. We'd pack a cooler with beer & snacks and spend hours at the beach. Tonya of Your Best Getaway was excellent to deal with, and immediately responded to any questions we had and gave us her top tips for dining & an activity guide! She also arranged transportation for us from Cancun which was a plus. El Faro is right in the heart of everything and we could walk everywhere without taking a cab. We walked to Walmart for groceries/beer and were steps away to the many beach bars and restaurants. We liked the vibe at Zenzis & Wah Wahs (great Sun. BBQ) on the beach and the martinis at Dirty Martini Lounge! Cheap but very good breakfasts at Playa Maya on the beach, and at 100% Natural on 5th avenue. We're planning a trip back to El Faro with some friends!

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Chefann for your wonderful review of our condo. We so appreciate your glowing comments and that you added some extra tips for our guests to enjoy. I'd have to agree with you that our rooftop condo offers the very best in ocean views and it's a great place to hang out. It is definitely one of the top features of our condo to have this rooftop space and privacy which is ideal for a group. We look forward to you choosing our condo again for your next vacation so we can once again be part of making your vacation a memorable & enjoyable one! Salud!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philadelphia
5

perfect

  • 5 of 5

just returned from a week in Playa del Carmen that was perfect. Friends stayed at El Faro last year so I knew I wanted to be at this location, and Reef 403 was amazing. Everything is exactly as you see in the photos and Tonya and her staff were great. They checked in with us several times to see if we needed anything and the one request we did have was taken care of immediately. I travel to Playa with a large group annually and will definitely be staying here again!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

I stay in this Reef 403 2 to 3 times a year. My favorite spot

  • 5 of 5

If you are planning on going to Playa El Faro is the spot. The best access to 5th avenue and the beach. The staff is super helpful. If you are staying at El Faro this unit is the best we have stayed at. I rent several different units each year for friends and family. This unit is the one I stay at. Everything always works. The view is the best and you have your own private rooftop perch. The owner Mike is always so helpful. Internet and Vonage phone for free. The room rates are very completive with like quality projects. I can't say enough, on a scale of 1 to 10 its an 11.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

We enjoyed our vacation!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at condo Reef 403 in October 2013. It was not our first time in Playa but the first time we stayed at El Faro. We enjoyed our vacation tremendously. The location is absolutely perfect: close to shopping, restaurants, beach – everything. Our favorite restaurant is Zenzi next door: the food, drinks are unbeatable.

The condo itself is very quiet and nice too: there are basic appliances, plates, pots and pans, glasses, etc. We particularly enjoyed free phone calls to the US and in-room internet. When we got there first there were a few things missing or not working. We contacted the manager in the US (Tonya) and we got what we needed within a couple of hours even though it was 6 pm. Everything else was fixed the next day. We were told that the reason some things were missing or not working was due to them switching management companies, and I have to say that the new management company is great. It is located right across the street and things get fixed within only few hours. Their representative (Angie) stopped by every day to make sure that we did not need anything. We needed filters changed in the air-conditioner in the second room, Angie asked us what time would be most convenient and by the time we were back from the beach it was done.

One thing that we missed was the instructions on how to use TV, AC, etc. We pressed a button on the TV remote control and lost TV programing until Angie stopped by. She also had to show us how to use the AC so it would not blow straight at us when we are asleep. And the hot tub did not work the whole time we were there but we got credit for that which was fair.

It was our favorite vacation in Playa del Carmen so far.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Beach chairs/umbrellas onsite.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties