Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Lake Michigan Beachfront home

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms - 2 Baths - (Sleeps 8) beachfront on Lake Michigan

For faster response please call or text 616-350-0777 for availability at Sandy Shores or our other three cottages on Lake Michigan as we do not use or update the Home Away availability calendar.

'Sandy Shores' is a four-bedroom beachfront home on Lake Michigan designed to take advantage of the site and views with balconies and decks overlooking the water. Fall asleep to the sound of the waves and wake up to spectacular views. The water is clear blue-green and the beach is clean sand with great swimming (June-September).

Many prime July and August weeks will be taken 6-8 months in advance.

Rented by the week only from Memorial day to Labor day with prime July and August weeks at $3800.00


Weekends available before Memorial day and after Labor day.

Locals know that the best time of the year is September and early October. Why not join them at a discount.

More Details

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 1, 2017


Other Activities: Shopping, Boating, Snowmobiling, Kayaking, Cross Country Skiing, Wildlife Viewing, Miniature Golf


Mears House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • 2 of the bedrooms have private balconies overlooking the lake and a third bedroom on the lower level has 2 large windows facing the lake.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 beach chairs
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
We do not use the availability calender, please call or text 616-350-0777 for current availability. Located on sandy Lake Michigan Beach with great swimming, 2 bedrooms have french doors to private covered balconies with lake view, 2 large decks overlooking Lake Michigan, open floor plan with 18 foot windows, 6 miles to quaint village of Pentwater with deep water harbor. Beachfront: Nice view over Lake Michigan with approx 70 steps to clean sandy beach. Minutes to 25 miles paved bike trail and 15k groomed cross country skiing, Silver Lake sand dunes 5 miles, village of Pentwater 6 miles.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lake Michigan Beachfront home
average rating of 4.5 based on 6 reviews

Truly enjoyed staying at Sandy Shores!

  • 4 of 5

This place fit the bill for our family of seven adults and two children. Plenty of room within the house and a nice large deck outside, plus private decks off of two bedrooms. Saw some great sunsets from the deck. There are quite a few steps to get down to the beach, but it was not an issue. and the beach was great! There is a large table to seat everyone for eating and a separate TV area away from those who want to play games or talk. Silver Lake Dunes is close by for a nice side trip. Everyone enjoyed poking around the shops in Pentwater. We would definitely rent this place again!

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank-you for the great review and your comments about the steps. Guests sometimes have questions about access to the beach so I thought I'd take this opportunity to put it into perspective. The vast majority of cottages on the west shore of Michigan are built on some kind of dune with steps to the beach. They can vary from between 30 to 300+ steps with a very few being at lake level. We have 4 cottages on Lake Michigan (5 if we count our own) all in the Pentwater/Ludington area, and they range from between 50 and 250 steps. Sandy Shores has between 60-70 depending on which deck you are going down from. The higher locations do have some advantages including the views, lack of mosquitoes and cooling breezes not to mention the obvious health benefits of climbing the stairs. (We built our own cottage on a high bluff with 217 steps) but it's not for everyone. Hope this helps anyone with access questions Looking forward to seeing you again. Ken
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

A little bit of heaven

  • 5 of 5

Believe everything you read about this wonderful house. The setting is spectacular, with amazing views of the lake framed by a forest of mixed birch and pines. Upon opening the door to one of the balconies, the roar of the lake and its ocean-like waves greeted us, usually land-locked, like a balm. Everything in the house was in excellent condition; the kitchen well-supplied; the one bed we used extremely comfortable; good TV and wi-fi. We were there off-season which meant we had the beach to ourselves on our walks. Sunsets were spectacular, particularly after a storm, when we witnessed a light show both in the sky and on the surface of the water. We are eager to return in season, perhaps with some of our children and grand-children when they can enjoy all the nearby activities. Our only wish is that Pentwater, much closer than Ludington, had better restaurants. We did enjoy shopping at Hart's grocery store on the way in to the house. Our days here were peaceful; our entry and departure were easy, and we knew that the owner was available by phone, if necessary.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: September 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

wonderful 4rth of July in sandy shore

  • 5 of 5

We spent the week of July 4rth with family and little kids (3yr old and 2 18month old). The house is very comfortable (we were 3 couples and the kids) clean, well equipped, it was all we could expect and more. The location is great, a few miles form downtown pentwater which is great for shopping and dining and walking around, a few miles from beautiful bike trails throught the orchards, but of course and mainly, it is right on the beach. We enjoyed the sunsets every-night from the deck of the beach. The beach access is a bit of a workout but was really not a problem, we had a pregnant woman and the little kids and that was no big deal, it is very safe and you can leave the beach stuff at the bottom. A lot of neighbors had great fireworks and we also enjoyed the pentwater ones from the beach.

The kids went to the beach every day, made friends with the neighbors, the beach is very private and basically shared with the neighbors, it;s a great white sand beach, you can walk for miles up and down, go down for a bit and take the kids for a nap, just very relaxing.

We have nothing negative to say about the house or the owners, everything went smoothly. We had read the comment about the bedding and were worried but every bed was great and everybody slept great, including the kids.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: July 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Sarasota, FL

Cottage on Lake Shore Dr. in Mears, MI

  • 4 of 5

We had a pleasant time at the cottage. The beds were very comfortable. The room in the basement is cooler than the rest of the home and it would have been ideal to have a half bath in the basement. Be very cautious of the stairs leading down to the beach. Plan on having extra storage space in your luggage for sheets and towels if your flying. Make sure you receive directions from the owner before arriving. Overall, we had a good time and would return.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2011
  • Stayed: June 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

This nice lake house is as it is described to be--well positioned to make the most of the views and access to Lake Michigan. The kitchen is nicely equipped. The living areas are quite comfortable although small.

We found the beds a bit uncomfortable. The mattress in the lower bedroom is thin, without box springs. It tilts so that your head is lower than your feet. The mattress in the upstairs bedroom rolled toward the middle from the edges. The mattress and bunks on the main floor were fine.

A housekeeper cleans between guests which is nice. It was clean and tidy when we arrived. The linoleum floors in the bathrooms were sticky so we put towels down so we didn't have to feel the floors on barefeet.

The internet access didn't work while we were there but that can be fixed.

The owner was great to work with and the house provided us with a lovely location for a family vacation. We plan to stay again, hoping that the mattresses get upgraded.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2009
  • Stayed: August 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to know about the bed situation. I was surprised considering that the mattresses are newer and the upstairs mattress is a very expensive pillowtop that we always got complements on, Upon examination however we discovered that the center supports on both beds in question had collapsed. Those have now been repaired. Should fix the problem. Also made the cleaning person aware of the bathroom floor. Internet is working now, not sure what the problem was.
Did you find this review helpful?
16 0
Rochester Hills, MI

Spectacular Sandy Shores

  • 5 of 5

My husband, our three young children, and my grandmother spent a delightful week at Sandy Shores. The home is beautiful and comfortable, with amazing views of Lake Michigan from almost every room. The beach is clean and beautiful- the water is clear, not rocky, and there was no drop-off to worry about. The home is sunny and clean, the only down-fall being that on of the queen bedrooms is in the basement. We are hoping to visit Sandy Shores again next year, and even the family staying next door took a look around and is considering renting this amazing home.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2009
  • Stayed: August 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 6.0%

Prime July and August weeks $3800.00
Add 6% MI Tax
Available off season by the week or weekend at discounted rates

Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

Please note that we do not use the availability calender and prime July and August weeks usually book 6-8 months in advance

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties