Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Cozy Cottage w/Ocean View-Just steps to the Beach! ""w/ Wifi"""""

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + 1 Qn Sofa Bed, 1 Bath, (Slps 6),WIFI, 3 TV/DVD's, Great Be

Get away from it all and relax in this remodeled charming cozy cottage. Enjoy the ocean sounds and view from the expansive front deck or stay inside next to the fire surrounded by knotty pine paneling in all the rooms. Also enjoy the peace and quiet of the backyard, from the new full length deck. This quaint cottage is just steps away from the sand. Barbequing is quick and easy on the front deck, which is right across the street from the beach. The front deck is adjacent to the remodeled and fully equipped kitchen with all new appliances. All linens are included as well as a 'start-up' supply of both kitchen and bath paper products. WiFi Internet Access and wonderfully appointed beds with 100% Egyptian Cotton Sheets and bedding! Also enjoy the flat screen TV/DVD's 's in both bedrooms along with a 42' High Definition flat screen TV/DVD in the living room. AND WE NOW HAVE NETFLIX FOR ALL OUR GUESTS!! :)

POLICY NOTE: No refunds prior to 30 days of your scheduled arrival, unless owner is able to re-book the property.

Keywords: Cozy cottage, beach view, big yard, 2 bedroom, WIFI, 3 TV's, 3 DVD's, outlet shopping, movie theatre, casino

More Details

Mary Jo Chapman
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 14, 2018

About Mary Jo Chapman

My husband and I live in West Linn, Oregon and have always LOVED the beach! We were fortunate to be able to purchase this little cottage recently. We have been blessed with four incredible children, a wonderful extended family on both sides and look forward to sharing our cottage with our renters.

Mary Jo Chapman purchased this cottage in 2011

Why Mary Jo Chapman chose Nelscott

Lincoln City has a lot to to for everyone of all, gambling, golfing, beachcombing, fishing and just relaxing...We think it is a great place to own a vacation rental home!

What makes this cottage unique

While the cottage did not need much fixing up, we still enjoyed adding a few upgrades, such as - new plush pillowtop mattresses, thick down comforters, great linens, WIFI and flat screen TV/DVD's in both bedrooms. We have had great responses from our guests and strive to have repeat guests! Let us know if we missed anything! Hope you can find some time to come down and stay at the Driftwood Beach Cottage. ALSO - the location is excellent! Located right across the street from the beach and just two doors down from the beach access! Also just 1 mile to the outlet mall for great deals, 1 mile to the multiplex movie theatre, 3 blocks from 2 restaurants, - one Mexican Restaurant and The Nelscott Cafe - which has great breakfasts with the best sausage, French Toast, pancakes and Oatmeal in town! And of course great coffee!


Nelscott Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , This is a Queen Size Sofa Sleeper
  • Queen size Beds (2), Qn Sz Sofa Hide a Bed (1) Great down Comforters and Egyptian Cotton Sheets - very comfortable beds.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
Each bedroom has its own flat screen TV/DVD with Cable Satelitte, and the L/R has a 42' flat screen TV/DVD with a high definition cable box.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Cozy Cottage w/Ocean View!-Just steps to beach! w/ 2 Lrg decks & WiFi!!
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews

Cute little house...But...

  • 3 of 5

this is a cute little house, but no room for cooking, & smells very musty that played havoc on my allergies for the entire week we stayed. I assume its due to the age of the home and the fact that it's across from the ocean. 2nd bedroom bed is so close to the window you cannot sleep at the head of the bed. The home is decorated very cozy, and all bedding is high end for comfort. The owner seems to be very nice and very responsive.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Debra, I’m sorry your allergies played havoc with you during your stay. While the house is very cozy and very clean, you are right, it is an older cottage and right across the street from the beach. And with that mighty storm last week, the ocean waves had actually come up on the street to add even more dampness to the normal damp beach air. I’ll check into turning on the heaters a few hours before guests arrive in the winter to help combat the damp beach air before arrival, it just makes me nervous because of a fire hazard. And yes, our kitchen is small as displayed in our pictures. And, while we try to equip it with all the gadgets we can think of for your stay, we can’t make it any bigger, although we wish we could snap our fingers and do just that. :) As far as not being able to sleep at the head of the bed in the second bedroom because it is up against the wall under the window, I am not quite sure what you mean, but again, I am sorry you didn’t feel comfortable in that extremely comfortable bed. Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to share your thoughts. We always welcome feedback, as it helps us make our Cottage the best it can be for our guests. Sincerely, Mary Jo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The greatest little cottage in Lincoln City

  • 5 of 5

A co-worker of mine suggested this little diamond after I told her about a horrible experiance I had with a previous rental...she had also had a horrible experience with the same company. Anyhow! This is a great little home...the owners touch makes it like you are just in a home away from home. The beds are really comfortable AND it has a washer and dryer. We didn't get to enjoy the deck (February visit) however the home is literally 3 mins away from the ocean...definitely worth the stay and reasonable price! We have already booked for 2017!! :) So excited!!

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Katie for taking the time to revive our Cozy Cottage and your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay!! We are fortunate to have you back again this coming February! Gratefully, Mary Jo :)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Anchorage, AK

Perfect Little Cottage

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful, cozy little cottage! We were so very pleased when we arrived. The house was immaculate and everything you needed was provided by the owner. All you need is your clothes and food. The beach is just across the road and down some steps and we were blessed with sunny skies and 70+ degree weather our entire stay. We were a party of five and there was plenty of room, even when we opened up the hide-a-bed for the kids. Two comfy chairs to sit and watch TV or read right by the open windows so you can hear and smell the ocean. The deck on front was perfect for sitting outside in the evening and enjoying a glass of wine. A nice, clean and quiet neighborhood. If you are looking for cozy and comfortable place to stay for your party of 6 or less, I highly recommend the Driftwood Cottage. Mary Jo was super easy to work with, and responded promptly to all our questions. Don't miss out on this little gem on the Oregon Coast!!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Driftwood Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5

This is a fantastic house! It has wonderful charm and a real good feeling about it. Everything's here, just bring your clothes and food. The beach is just 2 houses down so its a easy walk! We had a great time here, hope to get back here again soon someday! I would definitely recommend this place to anybody looking for a good stay on the beautiful Oregon coastline. Thank you! for letting us stay in your home away from home. P.S. don't eat at the Mexican restaurant up the street by the Christmas store, lost a whole day because of the bad food there!

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

cozy cottage

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I loved it! Extremely comfy even the pull out couch! The beach was steps away, not crowded, great sunset watching. The kitchen is small but we had no problem preparing our meals, stocked with everything you need.

Its a great location to start exploring for the day and a comfy place to come home to after a hard day of adventure!

The owner was great to deal with, friendly, helpful, just a good experience.

I would recommend to stay here if you enjoy an excellent beach, a quiet neighbourhood, and an amazingly place to stay and of course watching the sun set with a good beverage in hand! Cheers!

Thank you Mary Jo for an amazing place to stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Oregon City

Super Sweet Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Wow! Such a lovely place. I picked this cottage since it was reminicent of Cape Cod Massachusetts. Simply delightful from the moment we pulled up. Super clean in and out with everything you need for a fun and relaxing get away; even had flashlights. I was expecting a small cottage but there is nothing small here. The Chapman's generousity and pride of their beautiful beach home shines through down to every little detail. Lots of soft towels, super comfy pillows, warm blankets... We forgot out beach blanket; no problem, they had the best beach blankets ever. The beds are sooooooo comfortable and all the furniture is comfy too. Mary Jo was so kind and thoughtful with our communications. Too many wonderful things about this place to express. You have to see it to believe it. I highly recommend the Driftwood Cottage. Thank you so much for sharing your cottage.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2012
  • Stayed: April 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1


Nearest Golf
4.2 Miles
Chinook Winds Casino Golf Course
Nearest Beach
Nelscott Beach

Multiplex Movie Theatre less than 1 mile South, Outlet Shopping Mall 1.3 miles North and Chinnook Winds Casino is appprox 4 miles North. Also, two grocery stores within 1 mile from cabin.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Convenience Fee $20
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.3%

NOTES: Pets are welcome with prior approval. Pet fees are $10/nt/per pet. Cleaning fee with a pet is $75
Holidays have a 3 night minimum.
Off Season Rates AKA Standard Rate: Rent 6 nights, get the 7th night free!!
Holidays Include: New Years, Valentines, MLK Birthday, Wshingtns Birthday, Spring Break, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving & Christmas

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • -1% refund if canceled at least -1 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties