check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Holden Beach House / Short 5 minute walk to Beach / Perfect Family Vacation Home

40 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights


Holden Beach House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 1/2 bathrooms, sleeps 9, central heating and AC, 1 block to beach

We have added a brand new sofa and loveseat in the living area. In January 2015 we replaced all four queen size beds with new premium mattresses and box springs. On your next Holden Beach vacation enjoy our new premium mattresses. New Keypad entry system. No keys needed. We have new AC Heat pump. Heat & AC controled by one central thermostat. Family home ideal for one or two families. Comfortably sleeps 9.  Master bedroom with queen bed, single bed and half-bath, one bedroom with queen bed, one bedroom with two queen beds. Dining space for 10 with 6 at table and 4 at bar. Fully equipped kitchen. Living area comfortably seats 6. Two covered porches with chairs and/or rockers. View of beach on one porch and view of inland waterway on other porch. Full garage accommodates 2 cars parked bumper-to-bumper. Enclosed outdoor shower with hot/cold water, washer and dryer, 4 color TVs with expanded HD cable. DVD player. 32' HDTV in the living area (one of the 4 TV's). Beautiful new floor in living area. Carpet in 3 bedrooms replaced in 2013.

New for 2013 :New carpet in all 3 bedrooms. Porch railing painted.

Pets welcomed with a pet charge.

Additional rooms close by: Do you have a larger group coming?  There is a duplex directly across the street that sleeps 8 and it is also listed on HomeAway as property 220585.  This is ideal for a family reunion or large gathering that needs additional space.

Check out 11 am

Check in 4 pm

Guests provide linens and towels

After reservation request are accepted, reservations are booked based on first payment received bases.

Best family beach

For a “laid-back” atmosphere, Leatherman favors Holden Beach, N.C. (pop. 575). On a tiny barrier island, the town is primarily residential, and traffic and crime are minimal. “When I look at the family beaches, safety is a very big issue,” Leatherman says.

In our photos we have a schedule of the Holden Beach Concert Series. Look at what concerts are scheduled when you are staying in our house. Enjoy!

Come stay in our house at Holden Beach!

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Byron Ritter
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 26, 2016
Call Owner

About Byron Ritter

Our parents built this house in 1979. They lived in it from 1991 until 2008. The house and property is well maintained. The house is now owened by the three brothers families. We live in the Piedmont Triad of North Carolina. We vacation in our house each year so we know what is expected for a vacation home.

Byron Ritter purchased this house in 1979

Why Byron Ritter chose Coastal North Carolina

We have new premium mattresses and box springs on all four queen size beds.This property is a great location for walking to the beach or the inland water way. You can see both the ocean and the water way from the porches. The ocean is only a short 5 minute walk from the house. There is a private walk way over the dunes we help maintain that is part of the walk over to the beach.

What makes this house unique

We have an enclosed downstairs with outside and inside showers downstairs. There is room for two cars in the inclosed downstairs. You can have dinner downstairs great for hosting neighbors. We have charcoal grill provided.


based on 40 traveler reviews

Holden Beach House / Short 5 minute walk to Beach / Perfect Family Vacation Home
average rating of 4.875 based on 40 reviews

Great house right across from the beach

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay, everything seemed to be in good working order. Definitely a great house if you're planning to be out exploring. The beds did not have sheets on them, just a mattress pad so I'd suggest bringing your own. There may have been some in closets but we didn't look. If you do stay here make sure to wear shoes when you walk around anywhere with grass, the sand spurs are brutally painful. Other than that everything was great and we would stay here again!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a great stay and were pleased that we could accommodate your request for an early check in. We will look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your constructive suggestions. We are working to reduce the number of sandspurs by using weed killer designed specifically for sandspurs multiple times a year but are having limited success. As mentioned in our correspondence and website "guests provide linens and towels". I will try to stress that to future guests that "guests provide linens and towels". We make an effort for our guests to have an enjoyable visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Worked perfect for my family

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We had a great, relaxing stay.

  • 5 of 5

This beach rental was everything we expected. We enjoyed a restful week at the beach with our dog. Very easy, short walk to the beach, just .6 miles to the coffee shop. Being on the third row is very quiet. The house was clean and comfortable. If you plan to cook a lot, bring your own cookware. We didn't cook. We only needed to boil water for tea. The owner was very helpful as we planned our trip. The location is also a great base to explore Myrtle Beach and Wilmington.

I recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We still love it!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 3rd stay at this beach house in 5 years and we still love it. My sister, my husband and I and 6 kids manage to fit comfortably in all of the bedrooms. We cooked most of our meals and the kitchen was adequate for our needs.

The outdoor space is excellent and I enjoyed evening breezes on the back porch.

The beach was great, and we really appreciated the beach chairs! Unfortunately, we visited in jellyfish season and had a few stings, so be warned if you're in the water in late summer.

Nonetheless, the house is great and the owner is great to work with! We're definitely be interested in returning.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We greatly appreciate our guests returning year after year. We have several guests that have been vacationing in our house for years. Repeat guests always treat our house as their own. Thank you! We want to apologize for your unfortunate jelly fish encounter. We pray for a complete recovery. We aim to please all our guests and make efforts to have each year better that the previous year. If you have any suggestions for improvements, please let me know. Sincerely, Byron Ritter
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We had an incredible vacation at Holden in this rental! The house was very clean and perfect for our little family. We love being able to bring our dogs to the beach and they had an absolute blast! We will certainly be staying here again for our next Holden stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Holden beach vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was absolutely wonderful! With it being pet friendly, that made the time much better. We felt very at home in your vacation home. Thank you for letting us stay, we will definitely stay again if we go back to Holden beach!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We greatly appreciate you review and comments. We totally agree- pets make the vacation or visit so much more enjoyable. You have much more time to spend with your pets and give them the attention they so enjoy. Your relationship with your pet grows much deeper and closer with an extended time together without the day to day responsibilities of normal life. We try to keep the pet fee reasonable at $25 for two days visits, $50 for 3-4 day visits, $75 for 5-6 day vacations and $100 for 7 day vacation. We believe that is much cheaper and enjoyable for you and the pet than staying in a pet boarding house. We appreciate you taking care of our house like it is your on. We appreciate you choosing our house for your vacation. We look forward to you returning soon. Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Wilmington NC
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Provisions Restaurant
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Lockwood Folly GC
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
US Hwy 17
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Blackbeard or Provisions
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Holden Beach
Car: recommended

Holden Beach is a Family beach with wide sandy beaches. There are many golf courses in the area. It is only 3/4 hour 's drive from Myrtle Beach with a variety of theme parks, great outlet shopping, and wonderful restaurants or historic Wilmington which offers sightseeing, good shopping, great restaurants, and UNC Wilmington.


Rates & Availability

Holden Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Fall Sept-Nov 2016 no cleaning
Aug 27 2016 - Nov 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
Winter 2016-17 + cleaning $75
Dec 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
March 2017 no cleaning fee
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
April-May 2017 no cleaning fee
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
Summer June 3-July 1 no clean
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
July 4 week July 1-8 no clean
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Summer July 8-August 26
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Fall August 27 - November 30
Aug 27 2017 - Nov 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.75%

Cleaning charge $75 for only December through February.. Cleaning fee included March through November. Guest provides linens and towels. There is a 3% surcharge on Credit Card payments. We prefer personal checks and electronic transfer. Pets are encouraged with a pet charge. Pet charge is $25 for 2 days, $50 for 3-4 days, $75 for 5-6 days, $100. 7 days.
If you pay through HomeAway there is a 9% service on your first payment by credit card or electronic transfer. We accept personal checks without the HomeAway service fee. Contact owner for details on saving HomeAway service fee through payment with personal check.
After reservation request are accepted, reservations are booked based on first payment received bases.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Holden Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , upstairs
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , downstairs
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , beside master bedroom
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower , Outside shower on side of house. Excellent for quick showers
  • There is also an outside enclosed shower with hot/cold water for a quick shower.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
  • All queen beds are comfortable. Master bedroom has queen bed plus twin bed. TVs are in all bedrooms. Ceiling fans are in all bedrooms, kitchen and greatroom. Windows in all bedrooms. Carpet replaced in 2013 for all bedrooms. AC / Heat pump replaced August 2013
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Home is built 1 level above ground and is accessible only with stairs. All rooms are on the same level, with the exception of one full bath with large shower and toilet on the ground level.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties