Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Pool, Secluded New Home with beautiful Gardens, Walk to Guiones Beach

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

One of two Identical, Brand new homes located in the K Section of Guiones Beach, Nosara, Costa Rica only a short walk to the surf and white sand beach. Many rentals in Nosara are located next to a road, the villas are NOT, so you have a greater level of privacy than most Homes.

The construction of this custom home has recently been completed by one of the premier builders in the area and no expense or detail has been spared and the homes are impeccably maintained. We have spent years traveling to Guiones and renting all types of homes, seeing the good and the bad. We are pleased to offer a home designed and outfitted for the seasoned visitor or newcomer. Whether you're staying for a week a month or a year, you will be comfortable here.

The entire house, Including the main living area and Kitchen is air conditioned, not just the bedrooms, lets remember we are in the jungle. The Kitchen is completely equipped and kept up to date, so you will have what you need when you need it! Secure surfboard storage next to the outdoor shower and carport with a gas grill and cooler.

Exterior porches are large with plenty of comfortable furniture for everyone near the pool.

We have minimized water issues by incorporating a state of the art back-up system that will provide full water pressure, 24-7, no matter what. We also have installed a unique gray water and septic system that is Eco friendly and eliminates odors and other problems associated with conventional systems typically used. House security includes a remote controlled alarm system on all windows & doors, Security cameras and 24hr monitoring service for peace of mind while away from the villas. As well, our loyal Gardener Jorge is on hand most days keeping the one acre of gardens and grounds manicured and safe. Wireless Internet connection throughout the property.

Keywords: House

More Details

Member since: 2008
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2018

About The Owner


I'm Dave, aka 'small wave dave,' as named by my kids. Apparently there are too many Big Wave Dave's. At any rate, we are happy that you have spent the time to look at this property. Our family has been traveling and surfing Costa Rica for the last 15 years. We stopped looking for the 'perfect spot' after spending time in Guiones. After purchasing our property, we set out to create a special place that we call our second home until we move here full time. Please know that the Four Winds Villas provides some of the finest lodging available at one the best surfing beaches Costa has to offer. It is our family's privilege to share our home with you.

Kind Regards,


What makes this house unique

A few of the many things that make The Four Winds Villas standout:

The property is impeccably maintained.

We are secluded and not right on the main road.

Beach, Restaurants and Stores are in close proximity.

The House layout is very comfortable and functional.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Last winter, my wife and I, who live in DC, were looking for a warm escape that was affordable, peaceful, private, and not too far away. Not an easy combination to find for February. Well we found it in Nosara, Costa Rica at the Four Winds Villas! We left feet of snow and cold on the East Coast and arrived in tropical paradise.... Four Winds Villas, (2 Villas on the property) are tucked away in Playa Guionas, just steps away from a huge beautiful beach, a really cute town with restaurants/shops/bank, and a very short drive from many other amazing places. The Villas are brand new feeling with all the modern amenities. The open kitchen/living space with island, made it a pleasure to prepare food and relax with the sounds of nature around us. There is a nice outdoor deck with a small pool you can cool off in. What a beautiful way to start the day by sitting outside on the deck with some coffee and end by star gazing at night! The owner of the Villas was extremely friendly and prepared. I had about a 100 questions regarding travel and our stay, which were all answered. There was a packet with so many helpful tips once we booked and we even had a hot meal and cold beverages awaiting our arrival!!!! By the end of our week, we wanted to move to Nosara!!! We really appreciated the luxury living while still experiencing the 3rd world like atmosphere! We can't wait to go back, and can't imagine staying anywhere else....
Feb 2010
  • 1 of 8


Playa Guiones House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Catering available
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Pool Bath -
  • 2.5
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Master bedroom with private bath and walk in closet and safe
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed , Guest bedroom with private bath, custom closet with safe
  • A total of 3 Queen size Beds, one in each bedroom and one Sleep Sofa And one Bunk in the Guest bedroom.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 8 garden chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Locking Surfboard storage next to the outdoor shower. Three safes, two standard and one large.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Private Pool, Secluded New Home with beautiful Gardens, Walk to Guiones Beach
average rating of 4.714286 based on 22 reviews


  • 5 of 5

perfect location, close to beach, close enough to town. bodhi yoga institute close proximity was great for the women . visited with jorge & the maid had coffee, practiced spanish, enjoyed it all. went down to do what i wanted when i wanted and everybody did just that conveneintly. thanks dave. vince

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Vince, Pleasure having you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Plymouth, Ma USA

Four Winds Villa in Rainy Season

  • 5 of 5

What a fabulous place to stay this house was. I made plane reservations and then found out October is rainy season and lots of places would be closed. Undaunted, we planned further. Nosara, unlike the other beach communities we visited near by, does not have most of their restaurants and shops on the beach. The restaurants and shops are all over. You mostly just come upon them in the jungle. The homes and resorts are also around and about in the jungle. One out of five establishments, restaurants, shops etc., were closed. We could have cared less. I loved it. Loved the quiet, loved the monkeys, loved the coatis, loved the birds, loved the weather. It rained in the evenings or in the night. We were only caught once out in the rain. The house was one of the best we ever stayed at. It isn’t a large house but it is more than adequate for two or four people. There are two bedrooms and two full baths and very large closets. The kitchen is beautiful and well supplied with gadgets. The washer and dryer are in a separate space accessed separately from the outside, brilliant. The little pool was a sublime place to refresh after a walk on the beach. The landscaping is very well planned out and cared for. There are two identical houses on the property but they are not kissing close to each other. They share a driveway. We can’t wait to go back.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2009
  • Stayed: October 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is always helpful to know that the effort put into making your vacation in The Four Winds Villas a satisfying and memorable one is apreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
USA. New Jersey

An Oasis !!

  • 5 of 5

The overall experience from start to finish was simply excellent

The local management company are proactive , attentive ,timely and informative. Whatever you need they will find it for you.

The house is beautiful, top notch, comfortable, well appointed and perfectly situated for beach and play. We walked everywhere !!

Only 5 min to the one of the best surf spots I have ever surfed. Waves every day for 6 days in a row. More waves then I could ever imagined in a surf trip, fantastic vibe in the water , easy in and out, all with an amazing view.

Love the whole experience and highly recommend Four Winds to anyone !!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Steve, Happy to hear you had a good experience. Truly a unique place and well worth the trip. Thanks again for selecting Four Winds. Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Villa for a Nosara Surf Adventure

  • 5 of 5

Dear Dave - Many thanks as we enjoyed our 8-day stay at the Four Winds Villas!!! The villa was well-appointed and we were comfortable immediately. We went surfing everyday and the the short, five minute walk to the beach allowed us to maximize our time in the surf at Playa Guiones. Your property manager, Rebeca, helped us to arrange for a fishing trip and ATV tours to a cattle ranch and snorkeling in San Juanillo. During our fishing trip we caught a beautiful dorado and a red snapper, which we were able to cook and enjoy using the grill and nice kitchen. Our boys (ages 7 and 9) loved the pool, and it was a perfect way for all of us to relax and refresh after a surf session and during the afternoon heat. The groundskeeper, Jorge, was so pleasant and we enjoyed practicing our Spanish with him. We also loved that the villa is centrally located and we were able to explore the entire Nosara area with ease. We went to Olga's on our last night to watch the sunset and enjoy some cold Imperials and Pilsens - spectacular!!! This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we had a great time surfing, fishing, exploring, and our "downtime" at the villa. We cannot wait to return. Pura Vida!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: John, Thanks for staying at the villas and we are glad you had a great trip, that's what it's all about. Can't wait to get back down. My espanol is a bit rusty so I'll need a few of those mid morning lessons with Jorge and some fresh brewed coffe. Please let us know if there is anything we should do to improve the villas and let me know when you return, I'll have Rebe stock some cold Pilsens in the fridge.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
New Mexico

Beware; serious issues.

  • 1 of 5

Stayed in this rental Feb 23 - Mar 1, 2016.

1) There was no WIFI for 4.5 of the 7 days and there was no attempt to rectify or partially compensate for this outage. All three of us staying during this time expected and needed the WIFI that was described in the rental description.

2) Upon returning back to US, owner said we needed to pay a significant extra payment for overuse of electricity. Though this possibility is buried in the RA, none of the protocol for determining the overuse was ever carried out. The property manager neither checked the meter on check-in AND the property was not even present during checkout. The owner simply stated we owed him more money. Moreover, he was unable to furnish any proof (i.e. pics of meter) to support his claim. The topper of this disturbing event was that the owner then tried to charge our credit card file for these costs without any prior agreement.

3) The groundskeeper left beer cans and garbage strewn about the outside which necessitates us, the renters, to clean up.

In summary, we were all very disappointed with this experience. There are many rentals in Nosara / Quiones; avoid the headaches you will inevitably encounter with the owner and rent a different place.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very transparent in our rental agreement in regard to the responsibility of the client and the owner. We were never informed of a interuption to the Internet connection, if we had been, we would have investigated and determined if there was a problem on our end or the service provider. We are not clear about the "trash issue" Jorge has been or gardener for 5 years and we have never had an issue with any other client regarding his performance, only praises for his hard work and dedication. In regard to our electric policy, there is an entire separate document that is sent to clients that explains in detail the policy. In addition the clients submit and sign an agreement that allows us to charge for security issues or overages all which are very well documented. This client submitted a bad credit card and did not read the information sent.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect House and Location

  • 5 of 5

Dear Dave,

Thanks so much! We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Four Winds Villas and are already planning our return. We have stayed in numerous houses in Guiones over the years and I can honestly say this was our favorite. The interior was exceptionally clean and so comfortable. Upon our arrival it only took minutes to get into that laid-back Nosara groove!

The pool was a perfect reprieve from the mid-day heat and we couldn't get our 10 year old out of it! This was our first trip where water pressure/availability was no issue - nice job with the back up system. We were pleasantly surprised by the short walk to the beach via the back yard cut-through path. Even while lugging my gigantic surfboard the 5 minute walk was a breeze! Thanks again and we can't wait to return.

Mark, Sam & Micky

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Guys! We go to great lengths to keep the properties as pristine as possible and continually update appliances, linens, towels and other equipment throughout the year so it was good to hear the positive feedback. We look forward to having you back. Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: not necessary

Canopy Tours, ATV Rentals, Yoga and Massage




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee / Wk $100

All bookings made through VRBO/Home Away and paid by credit card through them will be subject to the 3.5 - 4% card fee that is deducted from our payment by VRBO/Homeaway.
A security deposit will be held on a credit card and refunded within 2 weeks of departure. No Cash required at check in! Incidentals can be charged for you convenience or in the event of an emergency.

Please be aware that often times, we may have several clients looking at the same dates, unless other arrangements are made, the unit will be booked to the first client to commit with a signed rental contract and paid deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties