Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Available Christmas & late check-out! 4 bedrooms!! WIFI, FIREPLACE! CLOSE TO SKI

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,610 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

4 bedrooms. 2 bathrooms. Sleeps up to 12.

Available for Christmas and we will give you an anytime late check-out on Christmas Day!

This home, Poplar Cottage, is professionally managed by Massanutten Vacation, a local vacation rental home company.

Reservations must be made on our website. We'll email the link to you when we receive your email inquiry. We do not have reservations enabled on HomeAway.

Home Description:

3 queen beds. 2 twin beds. 1 double/full (bottom bunk) bed.

Poplar Cottage is named for the tulip poplar trees that are all over the property.

Xfinity cable & WIFI! HBO package!


2 decks! 4 bedrooms, big great room with a big stone fireplace, a very big dining room table for family meals & craft-making.

Enjoy a warming fire (firewood is provided. Fireplace use id for Oct 1 to Mar 31st, only) while sharing meals with your family, watching TV, and just hanging out.

* This home has a high chair for babies and toddlers.

Enjoy the quietude of the neighborhood as dappled sunlight reaches through the poplar, hickory, maple and oak trees, birds sing and deer walk through the yard.

The kitchen is stocked and the dining room table is huge. Bring your family for a peaceful and fun vacation in Poplar Cottage.

This home is a quick walk to our Great Escape house- just 4 lots away!, and near our Double B, Bears Den, Gobbler's Roost & Old Coot's Cabin homes.

The scenic Overlook & hiking trails, and Mountain Greens Golf Course are also nearby.

10 minute drive to the water park. 5 minute drive to mini-golf, go-karts, outdoor swimming pool & the ski lodge.





Enter the front door into a hallway. To your left is the laundry room, and a full bathroom with a tub/shower combo. To your right is a bedroom with a queen bed and cable TV.

The great room (kitchen, dining room with a very big table, and the living room) is down the entry hall to the back of the home. The living room boasts a large stone fireplace, (wood is provided. Fireplace use 01 October through 31 March, ONLY), with a huge hearth, cable flat screen Vizio TV and Game Cube game console with several games.

The dining room table is MASSIVE, and there are plenty of chairs to seat everyone for meals.

The deck is off the living/dining room and has a gas grill and deck furniture.

Upstairs are 3 bedrooms and a full bath with a tub/shower combo.

Two of the bedrooms are at the front of the house: One bedroom has a pyramid bunk (twin over double) bed, and a twin bed. Another bedroom has a queen bed and cable TV.

The 3rd upstairs bedroom is at the back of the house, and has a queen sleigh bed, cable TV & X-BOX, and it's own small deck.

This Massanutten Vacation Home is approximately 1610 square feet, and is ready for your visit with the following items:

* Central air & heat

* Linens for all beds

* Toaster or toaster oven

* Coffee maker and filters

* Cookware, bakeware and dinnerware

* Washing machine & dryer

* Microwave oven

* Cable or satellite TVs

* Dishwasher

* Books & Family Board Games

* Gas grill

Items you will need to bring:

* Bath towels, hand towels and washcloths

* Cell phone (no landline phone at this home)

* Soaps & detergents

* Camera & film

* Trash bags

* Paper goods (bathroom tissue & paper towels)

* Baby items

* Toiletries


***10% MILITARY DISCOUNT on the rental fee given when you reserve this home. Holidays are excluded. Thank you for your service!


1) The reservation must be in the name of the person whose name is on the military ID.

2) A copy of your unexpired U.S. military ID card, current orders, or Veteran's Administration ID must be submitted with your signed rental contract to get this discount.

Mark through all social security numbers on the military ID copy.

Write MILITARY next to the Payment Details on page 1 of your rental contract.

Your rental contract will not show the discounted amount. Military discount will be applied once your rental agreement & military ID are received in our office.

3) Military IDs received after payment has been made will not be honored for the discount.

4) This discount is given to active duty, reservists and retired military persons.

5) Military discount is not given to civilians, civilian affiliates, contractors, Senior Executive Service (SES), Federal affiliates or Military affiliates accompanying the Armed Forces.

All Reservations: Refundable security deposit and cleaning fee additional.


1) Not valid in combination with any other discounts.

2) Not valid on reservations made previous to special rates being posted.

Please call 800-644-1355 for more info.


5 minute drive to the slopes, mini-golf & go-karts! 1 minute to Mountain Greens Golf Course and Fareways Restaurant! 7-10 minutes to the water park!

Area Information:

In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are a 10 minutes or less drive from this home!

Tennis, Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining.

Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue.

Charlottesville, Harper's Ferry, Lexington, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, and Washington D.C. are all within a 1-3 hour drive.

More Details

Property Manager
Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 14, 2017


Massanutten House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1610 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , ground floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , upstairs
  • Guests must bring towels for pool & water park, bath & hand towels and wash cloths.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , ground floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , upstairs
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , kids- upstairs
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , upstairs
  • Linens for all beds are included: Mattress covers, pillows, sheets & pillowcases, blankets, comforters.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Wood Deck
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
The Stonewall Terrace outdoor swimming pool (open Summertime, only) is a short drive away!


3.7/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
8% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
16% Complete
Available Christmas & late check-out! 4 bedrooms!! WIFI, FIREPLACE! CLOSE TO SKI
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 12 reviews

Nice Ski Cottage

  • 4 of 5

House was perfect for my family and was clean. Plenty space. We loved the big kitchen table. The house does need some work though. We could not get either sliding glass doors to lock and the towel rod in the bathroom was falling off.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! We're so pleased you enjoyed the house. FYI: The sliding patio doors have bars made for them, to drop down and keep the doors from being opened! The towel bar was securely re-installed right after you alerted us about it! We hope you will return and stay with us, again. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fun and cute vacation house

  • 5 of 5

this house is cute, cozy, and clean- the 3 c's. The furniture is comfortable and colorful. the big dining room table gave us lots of space for all 12 of us to eat together. We toured a couple wineries Saturday and on Sunday the guys watched football while the gals did some scrapbooking. We were suppose to check out Monday, but we called the office and added an extra night. Monday we drove Skyline Drive.

We are already planning our next trip here for skiing.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed the house and had a great getaway! Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward o having you return for your ski vacation! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The house is in terrible shape.

  • 1 of 5

The internet did not work and aftwr spending 2 hours trying to fix it we finally gave up. The house was dirty and had dust everywhere. The bathroom are molded and there are unfinished patches everywhere. Definitely not worth the price or time. The company managing the property has a lot of rules but they seem to only apply to tge tenants. Good luck, they even keep your deposit for 30 days after check out. This is the only company I have ever encounter that holds onto your money that long.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry you did not have a 100% good experience in the house. Comcast had an area-wide outage of internet service during the weekend you were here. One of our employees did not have internet that weekend, either, and Comcast told her they were experiencing an outage. The house is cleaned after each family vacates. It is also inspected and when anything has been missed the housekeepers are called back to the house to clean while the inspector is still there. We make sure it is clean and ready for guests' arrivals. The bathrooms are not molded. There is one patch in the downstairs bathroom wall from where plumbing was replaced on the other side, for the washing machine. You were due to check-in before that patch could be painted. It has been painted, since along with the rest of the bathroom...a new color. Virginia law dictates we can hold your damage deposit for 45 days with no reason. This is because most rental companies including where my family vacations, puts the damage deposits in an interest-bearing account. I don't get my refund until 45 days after I checked out. We hold damage deposits until the cable bills come in, so we can check to make certain guests did not charge any Pay-Per-View movies or events on the home owners' cable bills. Once we are certain, we reufnd the damage deposit. We explained all of this in writing in your lease, that you had opportunity to read before signing & paying, and in the email we sent to you with your driving & check-in info. Our home owners cannot afford to pay $300-500 for a guest's Pay-Per-View purchases, ever again. Our goal is to provide a variety of clean, spacious, lovely vacation homes for our guests, and that is what we do. We understand each home is not for everyone, and while one guest is not happy with a house the next several guests are very happy with it. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

The day after our arrival, my family and I made a list of “problems” with the house which I then emailed to the owner. Her response started with, “I am sorry the house was not perfect for your arrival.”

I was not asking for perfect.

There was, what appeared to be black mold on the downstairs bathroom wall. The floor was warped and; therefore the bathroom door would not close all the way. The shower had almost no pressure. The screen on the upstairs balcony door was off the track (and looks like it has been for well over a year from the April 2015 review) and the one off the living room was not the correct size so it could not be used either. All of the beds squeaked. I slept in the 3-bed bedroom with my children so whenever anyone turned over, the squeak would wake up the others in the room. She offered to send the maintenance man over to fix the minor things. She let me call the maintenance man and then wait for his arrival. He had to cut a piece of the wall out of the bathroom to remove the mold and said he would return to spray the trim with bleach. When he did not, I called the next day and waited until noon for him and he never did come. So there was about 10 hours out of the 4 ½ day stay wasted on waiting on someone to fix things that should have been fixed before we arrived. Also, in general, it was filthy. I could go on, but hopefully, you get the picture.

This house was definitely not worth the price. I was stuck spending part of my family vacation waiting for a maintenance man in less than satisfactory accommodations. It was a great disappointment. I really think we deserve some sort of compensation.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always apologise if the house you've rented is not perfect. We want all our vacation homes to be perfect for all our guests. When there are problems we ask, in a letter included in your check-in packet, that you call the maintenance number for the house so those issues can be reolved. We never "let" you call the maintenance man, we want you to call him so you get a response from him without having to go through our office. We are not open 24 hours a day and when there are maintenance issues we do not want you to wait until we open our office to have something important attended to. We also do not require you to stay in the house waiting for maintenance. The maintenance department triages problems and sees to them in the order of importance. For instance, on a 98° day someone's air conditioning takes priority over someone needing 2 light bulbs. There was a leak, from the washing machine hose. It leaked into the wall and under the floor. Maintenance turned off the water supply, removed the damaged wall so inside the wall could air out, and sprayed inside the wall and the baseboard to prevent mold growth and kill any mold that was present. This was done for your family's safety and to prevent further damage to the home. The floor has been replaced and the leak repaired. The screen doors are damaged by guests, repeatedly, and repaired, repeatedly. I have asked maintenance to remove those doors because the property owner does not want to spend any more money repairing doors he did not damage and he does not want to buy replacement doors that will wind up damaged because some guests are too forceful with them. Although no other guests have complained about the creaky beds, I will check them, myself, and have the owner replace them if there are any problems with them. Sincerely, Katrina rental manager Massanutten Vacation
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Nice cottage but needs a little tender loving care

  • 3 of 5

This was our sixth visit in the Massanutten area for our road cycling camp, so we've rented a few different houses over the years. There were only five of us this year (no wife/GF this year), so the boys opted for a smaller place to stay. The cottage is nice but needs a little maintenance (unfinished wall repairs, towel bar falling off in the first floor bathroom). Beds were confortable and there is a nice dining table with lots of chairs. The internet access wasn't working upon our arrival. Service provider told us that subscription had not been renewed. We stopped by the rental agency to have the problem taken care of, but the few phone calls made by management did not solve the problem. I finally was able to get the internet service back after a lengthy phone call with the internet service provider (a big thank you to one very nice, caring and patient lady at Comcast!!!). So all in all, I would rate this cottage "average" but I must say, it was priced accordingly, compared to other houses we've rented in the past.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and feedback. We have made the repairs. If you had let us know the internet still was not working we would have spent the lengthy amount of time on the phone with Comcast to get it working, so you would not have had to. We hope you will come back to stay with us, again. We love our cyclists! the Massanutten Vacation Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice location and size. In need of maintenance.

  • 3 of 5

We stayed here for a spring break getaway. 2 families shared to house and it was a perfect size. Huge table and nice family room. Loved that everyone could have their own room. The only issue with the house was that it needed better maintenance. The screen door on the master bedroom was broken. All the towel bars in the bathroom were broken. There were may little things in the house that needed repair. But the house is a great value and is close to all the amenities in the resort.

  • Submitted: May 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and thank you for staying in one of our vacation rental homes. We take care of maintenance and repair issues as they come in. The new patio screen door has been on back order and we hope to have it, soon. The upstairs bathroom has one missing towel bar, however that bathroom has other towel bars. The downstairs bathroom has no towel bar issues. Please email us about any other issues (you mentioned "many little things in the house that need repair") so we can take care of them. We hope to have you back to stay! the Massanutten Vacation Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Car: necessary

20 minutes from Skyline Drive, the city of Harrisonburg and James Madison University. 45 minutes from Luray Caverns, Charlottesville and the University of Virginia.

2 hours from Washington DC and Richmond VA.

Other Activities: water park, Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park


Rates & Availability

Massanutten House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Labor Day weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Early Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
Oct 30 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
Late Fall
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
Christmas - New Year's
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
MLK Jr Day weekend
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
Presidents' Day weekend
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
Early Spring
Mar 19 2018 - Mar 29 2018
2 night minimum stay
Mar 30 2018 - Apr 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
Apr 2 2018 - May 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
JMU Graduation weekend
May 3 2018 - May 6 2018
3 night minimum stay
Late Spring
May 7 2018 - May 24 2018
2 night minimum stay
Memorial Day weekend
May 25 2018 - May 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
4th of July
Jul 1 2018 - Jul 7 2018
3 night minimum stay
Labor Day weekend
Aug 31 2018 - Sep 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
Early Fall
Sep 4 2018 - Sep 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $100

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Manager