check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Bob and Lorna

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

Brett's Falling Waters Cabin, Hot Tub, Central Air, Waterfall, Pet Friendly

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Swannanoa Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4 Adults in 2 Beds

Listen to the babbling brook and waterfall just steps away from this cheerful little cabin in the woods. Relax with a morning coffee on the porch, or enjoy a soothing soak in the hot tub after a day of adventure in the village of Black Mountain or downtown Asheville.

We can accommodate up to 4 guests. Pet fees for all bookings are $75.00 for one or two pets.

Nestled in a corner of 15 wooded acres that may be hiked, Falling Waters has a peaceful, back to nature appeal. The cabin is perfect for honeymooners, couples, or small families who want to enjoy a little solitude and comfort in a private mountain setting, but not too far from restaurants and the nightlife of downtown Asheville. Two bedrooms and one bath, modern eat-in Kitchen. A cozy firebox lends ambiance and warmth to the Living Room with cable TV and free internet access. The driveway is gravel, level, and accessible by any vehicle. Brett's Falling Waters is also Pet Friendly!

If you have any questions about the Cabin and its amenities, please contact us at 703.475.8385. If we miss your call, leave a message and we will call you back!

Answers to Frequent Questions: The cabin is screened from the nearest neighbor and roadway by trees and hilly terrain. The Hot Tub is available year round and is located on the front porch. The driveway is gravel and level, so a regular car may be driven right up to the cabin. No steps Kitchen door entry. The front porch (3 steps) is gated. The family owned property is comprised of fifteen acres of woods, with a trail to the top of the property for exercising your pet and enjoying a different view of the surroundings.

Shopping and Restaurants: The nearest grocery store is Ingles Market on Route 70, 4 miles from the cabin. They have a full service pharmacy, movie rentals, extended shopping hours, self-checkout, and accept major credit cards. Black Mountain (10 miles) has many wonderful restaurants; we can personally recommend the Black Mountain Bistro, My Father's Pizza, Veranda Cafe and Las Quezelas. For those who like atmosphere with their coffee, visit the Dripolator Coffeehouse on State Street.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Bob and Lorna (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

About Bob and Lorna

We live in Northern Virginia and have managed this cozy little cabin on behalf of Lorna's father, Brett, since 2006. Before it became a vacation rental, we enjoyed many visits to the cabin with our children as did Lorna's sisters and their families.

Bob and Lorna purchased this cabin in 1990

Why Bob and Lorna chose Asheville Area

The cabin was purchased to accommodate family and other out of town visitors and it's renovation was one of Lorna's father's many projects. We now rent it through Homeaway and VRBO so that others can enjoy Swannanoa, Black Mountain and Asheville as much as he did.

What makes this cabin unique

Built in 1932, the Cabin was renovated and modernized in 1992, and a complete overhaul of the exterior and interior was done again in 2010. Changes and updates to the furnishings are made on an ongoing basis to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of our guests. The Cabin is a perfect place for a weekend getaway. The waterfall can be viewed from the deck and hot tub, and the general tone of the property is quiet, relaxing comfort.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This was the perfect getaway. Everything was clean and working well. TV and DVD player was a bonus. Having VS on cable so I could watch the Tour de France was the cherry on top. I could not ask for anything more!
Jul 2009
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)
Brett's Falling Waters Cabin, Hot Tub, Central Air, Waterfall, Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 47 reviews
Winston-Salem
5

LOVE THIS PLACE!

  • 5 of 5

Let me start off with how precious this little cabin is! Tucked away with some gorgeous views! We rented this cute cabin for a weekend couples birthday trip. We had a blast and enjoyed the cabin to it's fullest. Our favorite part was walking out on the deck with a beautiful back noise coming from the little waterfall in the front of the house. The cabin is also a conveniently 20-25min drive to Asheville. I highly recommend this cabin to small families and couples who are looking for a fantastic get away from busy every day life! We will be returning again ❤

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice

  • 4 of 5

I totally understood the complaints about the traffic - it was distracting - esp if you wanted to use the tub - you really felt on display. But it was one of the best times I have had and would do again.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that our cabin did not meet your expectations. The cabin is more than 100 feet from the road, screened by trees and the stream. The main road is a dead end, so the traffic is only that of the residents farther up the hill. We apologize for their need to travel to and fro. Nonetheless, we are glad that you felt it was one of the best times that you had; we want you to enjoy your vacation!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy cabin within nature's beauty!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Brett's Waterfall cabin! Very secluded feel and the waterfalls and wooded property made us feel like we were the only people around. We took our 8 month old beagle who had so much fun "exploring" without going too far from the cabin. The cabin was extremely clean and well stocked as far as kitchen supplies, bath linens, etc. The only thing we needed to bring was our own food and drinks. The hot tub was clean and soothing. The ONLY suggestion I would have would be to get at least one recliner in the living room. That would be the only improvement I would make. The bedrooms had ample room and comfortable beds with nice linens. Very close to area attractions, restaurants, hiking, etc. Loved it!!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We welcome suggestions from our guests, and will certainly consider the addition of a recliner; thank you for being such a great guest!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte
5

Quaint cabin in a beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

My husband, I, and our two dogs really enjoyed our short stay at Brett's Falling Waters Cabin. We were only able to stay two nights but we wish we could have stayed longer. The cabin is pretty small but was very comfortable for the two of us and our dogs. We loved spending time in the hot tub with mountain views in the background. The waterfall provides a continuous soothing noise, which was quite relaxing. We also had fun having a camp fire and making s'mores. The cabin was only about 5-6 miles from Pisgah Brewery which was awesome because we came to town for a concert there. It is also very close to TONS of hiking spots. We really enjoyed Catawba Falls and driving on the Blue Ridge Parkway. The only (minor) complaint we had was that there were quite a few ants in the house. I think this is probably likely in any cabin that is in the woods. I opened a bag of marshmallows one night and folded them over so that they were semi-sealed, but we woke up the next morning with a bunch of ants in the kitchen. Once we threw out the marshmallows and cleaned up the counter, they did not come back until the next day. When we were packing up our leftover food to take home, I put it in a grocery bag and set it on the table. About 20 minutes later I went to grab the bag and put it in the car but it was already completely infested with ants. I am not sure how they got to it so quick! But again, I do think that this would probably happen at any remote cabin in the woods. Other than the ants, there were no other bugs inside the house and really not too many while we were sitting out by the camp fire. We would definitely come back and say in the future. Thanks for having us!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay with all the amenities needed!

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay with all the amenities we needed. I would definitely recommend to a friend! The water fall and hot tub were the best!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Magical

  • 5 of 5

This place was magical! Beautiful setting, adorable cabin with everything you need to be comfortable. We can't wait to go back and I have already recommended this beautiful cabin to several if my friends.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Asheville Airport
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Pisgah Brewing Company
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Black Mountain Golf Club, Exit 64
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Exit 59, Interstate 40
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Okie Dokie BBQ, Athens Pizza, Subway, Burger King
Car: necessary

A four-wheel drive vehicle is not needed to reach Brett's Falling Waters Cabin. Full service grocery shopping, ATM, Banking, Gas Stations within 4 miles. Falling Waters Cabin is just 3 miles from Warren Wilson College and minutes away from the Village of Black Mountain, Montreat College, and UNC Asheville. Go driving and hiking the Blue Ridge Parkway, entry at Milepost 382; Visit the Biltmore Estate, take a Trolley Tour of downtown Asheville, wander the shops of Black Mountain.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Swannanoa Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$130
From
$150
Fri,Sat,Sun
$910
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Cleaning Fee $75
Tax Rate 10.0%

Pet Fee - $75.00 for up to two pets; Additional pets upon request.
Seasonal Hot Tub Fee - 50.00 in January, February and March

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Swannanoa Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Tiled Stove
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Queen size bed in Master Bedroom with connecting door to bath. Second bedroom has a Full size/Double bed. All linens and towels are provided. Summer and Winter weight blankets; hypoallergenic pillows. A Pack N Play is available upon request for our guests travelling with infants. Baby linens are not provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Prepare an excellent meal in the well-appointed kitchen with full size dishwasher, refrigerator, gas stove, countertop microwave and dish service for eight. Relax in the cozy living room with cable TV and DVD, or enjoy the warmth of the gas log firebox while chatting about the day's adventures. Wireless Internet is available; stay connected by bringing your personal laptop!

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties