check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr


Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Relaxing, beautiful walking and biking trails

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Sandpoint Cabin Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 8 plus plenty of parking

1480 sq foot A-frame, real hardwood floors. Three Percheron horses!! Property is on 23 acres. Fishing, boating, swimming, jet skiing nearby. Snowmobiling, snowshoe and ice skate in the winter. Tons of wildlife including moose, deer, elk, black bear, eagles, hawks, turkeys etc. Minutes from Priest Lake, Pend Oreille Lake and Sandpoint (with a city beach). Pets are welcome. It's great for weddings, family reunions, retreats, etc.

Plenty of parking for large family reumions and other types of events. Places to pitch tents. Fenced yard - pets must be in house, yard or on leash. May smoke outside.

Wildlife is various and abundant. 4 sets of eagles have built their nest in close proximity to the cabin; we feed the deer and elk in the winter. We have refurbished the entire house so the inside is virtually brand new. Close to Priest River, Hope, Sandpoint, Coeur D'Alene, City Beach, Pend Oreille Lake and River. On 23 acres.

  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Cathy (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Cathy

My husband Rocky and I bought the land in 1996. Rocky built the home himself in 1997; in fact he built almost every home around us. We love animals. We have five German Shepherds and three Percheron Draft Horses. We have 3 "babies." We rescued their father, Gus, the stallion in 1998 when he was 13. He crossed the rainbow bridge 3 years ago. We rescued the mother, Ebony, in 2007. We lost Ebony last year (2015). We are left with their three "children" - Blackjack (boy - foal) - born May 1, 2009; Pepperjack - (girl - filly) born April 30, 2010 and Hijack born April 30, 2011.

Cathy purchased this cabin in 1996

Why Cathy chose Lake Pend Oreille

In 1996, my daughter-in-law and I were sent on a trip to buy property in Idaho, Washington, Montana or Oregon. The very first place the realtor took us was Sandpoint. After we drove across the Long Bridge into Sandpoint, we knew we were home and we looked no further. My husband built their home. On our property, he built the A-frame and later a state-of-the-art dog kennel for me to breed and train German Shepherd dogs. We trained for police, protection, search and rescue, cadaver, companion, obedience (you can't always tell it with my 3 "pups" who are 3 years old. My husband changed the dog kennel into our current home in 2011. We live on the property but can't hear or see you unless you want or need something. We try to give you as much privacy as we can.

What makes this cabin unique

The list is too long. The house itself is comfortable and has tons of storage places and room for sleeping bags if needed. Wildlife is everywhere. We have 4 pair of nesting bald eagles nearby. Moose and deer are abundant along with black bear, geese, ducks, wild turkeys and more. We've fed the deer through the winter of 2015-16 and have up to 30 now hanging around.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)
Relaxing, beautiful walking and biking trails
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 17 reviews

Wild Wild Life

  • 5 of 5

My kids never saw deer walking by so close you could hit them with a frisbee. Our family made memories, took a billion pictures, and everyone wants to go back next year.

My daughter is turning 13 and wants to bring her best friend. My wife is now actually pricing kayaks online.

Beautiful setting, more amenties than expected, and overall I was not just comfortable - I felt like I belonged.

I live in Phoenix but we are seriously considering living up north part of the year now.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Wonderful Cabin

  • 5 of 5

This was exactly the type of place I was looking for, quiet in the woods. A nice wood stove to heat the cabin nicely with a kitchen to do all you would need to do in it. The basement gets a little cool but the beds have electric blankets to keep you warm and there are plenty of space heaters as well. About 25 min to Schwietzer Mt. TV is there but I never used that.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salem, Oregon

Everything we expected and more!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was perfect for our needs and we definitely plan to return in the future if Rocky and Kathy are gracious enough to continue to rent their place to strangers. Everything was as described or better and both Rocky and Kathy went out of their way to accommodate changes to the number of people and a last minute great dane addition along with making sure we had everything we needed upon arrival!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome retreat

  • 5 of 5

What a great place to stay 10 minutes from town and you feel like all the worlds stresses are gone. Beautiful home and property where wildlife is everywhere and there are so many stars you can't count them all!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you !! We enjoyed having you - Cathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing Cabin vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this quiet cabin in the woods. The house is beautiful and had all the amenities we needed to feel comfortable. Lots of parking which was great. My husband, two year old daughter and I loved the horses you could see out the front windows, and our dog had fenced yard and back deck to lounge on. We also had some family out for a small reunion and Rocky and Cathy were so kind, even asking if we needed more picnic tables! All in all, a great place to stay if you'd like to get away from it all for a few days and just enjoy the great outdoors. Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. We're so glad you had a good time and you are welcome back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA

Cabin in the woods

  • 4 of 5

Cabin is comfortable and kitchen is well stocked. There are 3 queen sized beds, 2 in one large basement room and one in the loft. Would have been nice to have a bunk/2 twins. There is a futon style couch/bed but the mattress is unsleepable.

The accommodation for a pet I would rate Excellent. There is a back porch and a fenced yard so my dog could be let out without having to worry. The snow was VERY deep, I think a more adventuresome dog would have figured out how to hop over the fence that was partially covered in a snow drift.

It was in the low teens the first couple nights, and it was hard to keep the cabin warm. When it warmed up to the 20's the cabin stayed warm. The owner provided space heaters which helped.

This cabin is far from the ski resort, up a windy road. Since there has been a lot of snow, the road was a sheet of ice. We managed with 4WD, would not want to be on this road in a sedan. It was 45 minutes at least to Schweitzer.

The cabin is a work in progress. The kitchen tiles were broken, frig door did not seal shut. In the cold basement was a large jetted tub, could easily hold 2-3 people, that looked new. The basement is one LARGE room, would be nice to have a curtain, or some sort of divider...

Only cell service that works in Verizon, and there is no land line. Internet was sporadic. Cable TV good, but Dish network is more common, and could not get Fox! This was true in the sports bar in town as well.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you here. First Fox - it is on channel 28 and I too have not been happy because that IS Dish network with hundreds of channels that you had but if you went to the channel you would have seen that Fox was blocking its programs from Dish. I'm happy to report that some time in the last 2 or 3 days, we got Fox back. Yay!!! The high snow in the yard happens because of the A-frame roof - the snow doesn't stay on it but slides down into the sides of the yard. My husband actually moved the entire fenceline back (it used to go all the way to the drive) for that very reason and he actually shovels that part of the yard when guests are not there so it won't get too high. The home was built in 1997 and we plan on replacing the tile counters this year or next (as well as the middle floor doors and windows. The heat from the wood stove apparently dries the tile grout too much but we are going to replace it with more ceramic tile because the tile can withstand heat - even from items taken directly off the stove or from the oven. We were not aware the fridge door wasn't sealing. We will check that (we want our guests comfortable plus we also don't want the electricity bill to be effected. The reason we have electric blankets on the downstairs beds is because it is a daylight basement. We do plan not only in actually walling off the downstairs bedroom (which was OUR bedroom when we lived there - and why there is a wall-to-wall mirror-doored closets) but also plan on putting hydronic heat in the floor and then it will great on the feet. It's going to take a while for us to do all the changes. We plan on putting in 3 more queen sized beds (1 in the loft and 2 downstairs). We won't put in bunk beds though because when our sons were very young one of them went up and over the rail (nightmare) and hit the tiled floor this was in AZ) face first. It almost killed him and we found out then that's actually common. We are in the mountains of N.Idaho which is why I always say 4 or all wheel drive is mandatory. It's a 20 minute drive to Schweitzer - we offer privacy, quiet and tons of parking. I don't know why you had sporadic internet. I do know your son was watching downloaded tv shows - which I explained to you doesn't work here because we have satellite. No landlines because of the phone company and though there is a cell antenna in the Aframe,you told me you had T-mobile which you said was worthless here. Thanks again for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Lake Pend Oreille
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Trails
Grouse Creek Falls
Joel's Mexican Food
Sandpoint Marina
Mountain Horse Adventures
Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Spokane International Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
City Beach
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Country Club
Nearest Train
11 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Highway 200
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
City Beach
Car: necessary

Our A-frame is about 8 miles from Sandpoint, 11 from Schweitzer Mountain Ski Lodge, 10 from Priest Lake and Priest River. Close to the Pend Oreille River and Lake. Plenty of fishing.

Other Activities: Something is always going on - the Festival at Sandpoint, Lost in the 50's just to name a couple. We have several repeat renters like the one below:

We were guests at the cabin in 2007 and again in 2008. It is relaxing, and secluded. We saw several moose and a black bear during our second visit. We plan on visiting again in 2009 - it's like a home away from home.


Rates & Availability

Sandpoint Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Spring and Summer
May 9 - Sep 6
1 night minimum stay
Skiing hiking snow season
Sep 7 - May 8
1 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Cleaning fee $100

We will consider a negotiated fee if the other property you have found is comparable to ours.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Sandpoint Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1480 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , Huge deep jacuzzi tub - no jets - great bubbles though
  • It's a jacuzzi tub downstairs - the motor no longer works but it's a great size and gives perfect bubble baths for one or two adults and children as well.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Other - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon , You can bring air mattresses/sleeping bags
  • Sleeps max of 8 comfortably. However we rent by the night - not by the person so sleeping bags, air mattresses etc. can be used if there are more in your party. It is okay to bring a crib. If you want a family reunion, call us about camping sites and winnebego parking on site.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers