Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Island Retreat Condo on the Beach – Boardwalk to Gulf, Pool Access

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 430 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Studio, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Steps from the Gulf of Mexico, this 1BR/1BA condo in the desirable Island Retreat is just the beach getaway you’re looking for. Smartly designed to accommodate up to four guests, you’ll love our home’s sunny interior and coastal spirit.

Kick back at the community pool and sundeck, or take a short stroll down the boardwalk to the beach. Port Aransas’s shops, dining, nightlife, history and culture are just a short drive away.

Winter Texans welcome!

INSIDE THE HOUSE

Beachy accents and cozy furnishings adorn our living room, where you’ll find plush carpeting underfoot and shore paintings on the walls. After a long day in the sun, grab a seat on the sofa to watch a movie on the flat-screen TV. An additional sleeper sofa unfolds to a full bed to accommodate more guests.

This space also includes a round glass dining table with room for 4 in wicker chairs, in true seashore spirit. A full kitchen just off the dining area includes a gas oven with 4-burner stove, full fridge and microwave, so that your leftovers never go to waste and your beach lunches can be whipped up right at home.

The open-concept floorplan leads to the bedroom area which offers a queen-size bed. This airy space is decorated in deep blue pinstripes and stars, a nod to the spirit of the Texas coast you’re visiting. In the bathroom, you’ll find a shower/tub combo and sit-down vanity that makes it easy to get ready before hitting the town.

Conveniences like Wi-Fi and standard cable are included. Leave the sand behind by running your clothes through the onsite laundry before heading home.

OUR LOCATION

Our house is located in Island Retreat, just a short drive from delightful restaurants, shopping and many other opportunities for adventure! Two renovated boardwalks grant you direct access to beautiful gulf waters. Right at home, you’ll have access to a sparkling community pool with sundeck and shaded picnic area.

Port Aransas is on the very northern tip of Mustang Island at the intersection of Harbor Island and St. Jo's Island. It is an eco-tourism area, with lots of wildlife, including a huge variety of migratory birds. Bay and deep sea fishing is a local favorite with many charter boats available in the marina.

Thirty minutes away is the USS Lexington and right next door is the Texas State Aquarium. We are located approximately a three-minute drive from town, so you’ll have easy access while enjoying serenity and peace from the hustle and bustle.

If you’re a golfer, you can grab your clubs and head over to the New Port Dunes Arnold Palmer Signature Course just down the road. This course offers greens on both sides of the highway with a cart bridge connecting the two. The club has a pro shop and snack bar available.

Schlitterbahn Waterpark is only a 20-minute drive down the island for wet and wild fun in the sun.

The short term permit number is 248214

THE TURNKEY ADVANTAGE

Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. All photos, amenities, calendar, and rates are 100% accurate. We will notify you proactively when early check-in / late check-outs are possible and you'll receive the comforts of home with a starter supply of shampoo, soaps, paper products and hotel-quality towels and linens.

And we make it easy to stay with us! Drive straight to your rental and access the rental with a unique lock code that we give only to you. When you book, we will send you our mobile app with directions, lock code, and instructions. We’re available 24 hours a day with live help.

All Turn Key Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee, and a Property Damage Protection policy.

More Details

Property Manager
TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2017

Amenities

Port Aransas Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Floor Area:
  • 430 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • 1 Queen bed, 1 Sofa Bed bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(125 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
4% Complete
Island Retreat Condo on the Beach – Boardwalk to Gulf, Pool Access
average rating of 4.392 based on 125 reviews
Seguin, TX
5

Quaint and Quiet

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Love all the amenities on the property, pools were beautiful and well maintained. Loved the grill cabana areas and the walk to the beach was relatively short. The ease of rental was excellent. Some updating needed in the condo but overall acceptable. The area was quiet and very family friendly! Will definitely return.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lubbock, TX
3

Good location but it needs attention.

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The condo itself was relatively clean but it's a bit run down. The pull out couch is broken so don't rely on it if you need an extra bed. The DVD was broke. The bathroom is ran down and in need of serious updates. The room is close to the beach so that was nice. Not sure I would stay here again without some renovations.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Briton, Thank you so much for the review, and we are happy to hear that you had a good stay at our place. That being said, we do apologize if some inconveniences occurred and wish we had known during your stay so that we could have helped out. Here at TurnKey, it is our highest priority to make sure each guest has the best experience possible, and our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to help if anything comes up. Please know that we are following up on all concerns mentioned. By the way, you were absolutely perfect guests, and we are hopeful to hear from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Belton, TX
1

Dirty and dated

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Condo was filthy. Furniture and linens were worn and outdated. Condo had roaches and bathroom sink leaked. Island Retreat amenities - pool, BBQ pits, and boardwalks were all very nice and well kept.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lacy, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we are so sorry to hear if your experience staying with us was not as great as it should have been. Please be assured we are checking on everything you have mentioned and will make sure each issue is addressed. Hopefully the compensation we offered for these inconveniences helped. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Austin, Texas
5

Great memorial weekend

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The property was clean, interior was exactly as expected. We were never told to check in with the front to get a parking permit and pool pass. Luckily we didn't get towed and on day 2 the parking lot security directed us to the office to get our tags.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
austin , tx
4

Great place to crash after a full day at the beach

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Our family was looking for an home base for our beach weekend with two small kids. This place is not fancy, but is a comfortable and clean place to come back to after a long day at the beach. Pros: - Full kitchen allowed us to cook and eat dinner in - Kitchen was equipped well enough to cook meals - Walking distance to the beach - Clean place, with a comfy bed, and working AC where you can sleep well - Location has active security and was quiet at night, which isn't always the case in Port A. Cons/Minor Annoyances: - kitchen is tiny, as you might expect. Don't plan on cooking anything too involved. - remote for the TV didn't work - walls are super thin, can hear the folks next door having a conversation - pictures might imply a beach view. there is no view of the beach or water from this unit. Not a big deal for us, but might matter to others. - the electronic lock stopped working over an hour before our extended checkout time, locking us out when we returned from the beach. Easily resolved with a call to TurnKey's emergency number.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Hi Austin, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will check on the remote for the TV and make sure it is working properly. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, TX
3

Shabby unit, but great venue for families

  • 3 of 5

Worst part first: my wife started crying once she saw the inside of the unit; it was cramped and cheaply decorated, the bathroom was really grubby, and there was a huge dead roach on the floor. The overall impression was of a shabby motel room.

On the bright side, once you leave the unit, the communal areas are very nice, the general location is great (easy walk to a fabulous beach!), and you probably don't go to a beach to spend a lot of time indoors, anyway! We had a great time barbecuing, swimming, and playing basketball on the well-maintained grounds, and beach access was quick and fun via the wooden walkways over the dunes.

The beds were very comfortable (even the sofa bed -- it had a huge memory-foam topper that made it difficult to fold up, but that was worth it, as it was vastly more pleasant than any other sofa bed ever!), the appliances worked (though the stove is a bit off-kilter), and generally we enjoyed our visit.

The photos were mostly accurate, except that the kitchenette is much more cramped than it appears in the photos, and the bathroom was quite nasty with mold and water damage not visible in the particular angle shown in the photo.

The promised "ocean views from our front door" and the aerial photo of the complex (https://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207993) were quite misleading -- this unit does *not* face the beach, unlike those units -- it has no views at all, facing directly onto other nearby units instead. It's true that one can see a tiny patch of water off in the distance from the balcony on the way to the stairs down from the unit, but there is *no* ocean view (or any other) from this particular unit. A "romantic retreat" this is not.

So, overall, we had a great time in Port Aransas, had no issues with checking in or out, had no internet issues (we updated the out-of-date internet access instructions left inside; there should be no problem with them now) and would definitely return to this family-friendly complex. We would try to find a better-maintained unit next time, but if this were all that was available in the Island Retreat complex, we would do it, just to get a chance to be at this location.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi James, thank you so much for taking the time to write us. We really apologize that you weren't completely satisfied and we want you to know that we are making updates, in part due to your suggestions. Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Port A and we hope to hear from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. City and state taxes will be added to all reservation rates. Each reservation also requires a cleaning fee, and the standard Property Damage Protection policy.

You might like these similar properties