check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sara/Jamie

Member since: 2002
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Magical Waterfall Estate - Mika Taki - In the Heart of Hilo.

47 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hilo Estate Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms + Den - 4.5 Baths - (Sleeps 9)

Come enjoy a memorable vacation in a beautiful tropical setting. Mika Taki is an exceptionally lovely large home with two acres of tropical splendor, incuding a waterfall and pond for swimming. The property is private and peaceful.

Mika Taki is constantly updated. This includes high speed and wireless Internet service, and cable TV. Outdoors you will find a dining area, a large deck lounging area, a luxurious Jacuzzi, lovely gardens and paths to various water features of the property. There is also a screened-in lanai. We have created a mini private oasis for you - yet it lies less than 2 minutes from downtown Hilo.

Here is the layout of the house: 4 Bedrooms – all 4 ensuite, each with its own private bathroom. The master suite has a King size canopy bed and a beautiful bathroom with an ofuro (a Japanese soak tub.) The other three bedrooms all contain Queen size beds, each with a distinctive style and beauty of their own. The living room, which is very large, contains a comfy sitting area grouped around the lava rock fireplace. There are many Japanese decorations, including antiques. The floors are eucalyptus wood with oriental area rugs to compliment the furnishings. The gourmet kitchen is a dream. The kitchen comes fully equipped and stocked. All you need to do is bring your own fresh foods and beverages. Completing the layout is the TV/media room adjacent to the living room. This room also has a wet bar. Just outside is a screened-in lanai where you can sit and listen to the waterfalls below. A fifth half bath is provided, as well as a laundry room. From every room, you view the towering palm trees, the lush flowers and the abundant tropical vegetation. The home is on one level.

**Mika Taki is in a residential neighborhood and to be good neighbors we do not rent the house for large parties. We do not allow more than a total of 10 people on the property at any one time

Check Our Calendar – Mika Taki is a very popular vacation rental. So that you will not be disappointed, please check our availability calendar. It is updated daily. You are wise to book ahead, because we are already getting inquiries for 2017 from new and returning guests. If Mika Taki is not available, check our other 2 nearby vacation rentals:

Mika Mizu - 2-3 guest max HomeAway/213954

Mika Lani - 2 guests max HomeAway/171795

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sara/Jamie (Property Manager)
Member since: 2002
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Sara/Jamie

We met in Hawaii, fell in love in Hawaii....and the rest is history. Now we get to share our good fortune with guests from around the world.

Why Sara/Jamie chose Hilo District

We are happy to have a wonderful home in Hawaii, and we love the Big Island, its many sights and its friendly people.

Hilo gives one the chance to get a feel of the 'real Hawaii.' The Farmers' Market in town is a riot of color from the many exotic fruits and flowers. There's just a special feeling one comes away with after exploring this unique area.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you for sharing your home with us!

It provided all the necessities, plus great aesthetics. We created lots of memories to last a lifetime during our stay. Thanks again! Mahalo!
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 169

Reviews

5
based on 47 traveler reviews

Magical Waterfall Estate - Mika Taki - In the Heart of Hilo.
average rating of 4.9574466 based on 216 reviews
Wylie, TX
5

Great home away from home.

  • 5 of 5

What a great place to spend your time in Hilo. Quick drive to downtown and other scenic locations. We shared the home with three other couples and there was plenty of room. Having the full kitchen was a huge plus. We loved how each room had its own unique feel and décor. The owners were very responsive and helpful in every detail. They had even left us all earplugs in case the frogs were too much at night, but while loud, they are lovely to listen to every night. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Better than you can imagine!

  • 5 of 5

As others have said, the pictures just don't capture how beautiful this house is. We literally all gasped when we entered the house as it is so lovely in every detail. Great kitchen for those who love to cook, plus a big grill outside. Luxurious linens, comfortable beds, beautiful Japanese decor throughout the house. The path to the waterfall is indeed a challenge, but worth the effort as swimming in the pond with the waterfall was great fun. Really the best rental property I have ever experienced! If we ever return to the Big Island, this is where we will stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kirkland, WA
5

Lovely gem of a place in the jungle

  • 5 of 5

This is a great find. The house really can't be judged by the pictures posted. It is so well thought out, beautiful and peaceful. It is very clean and has a comfortable, lived in feeling to it. I enjoyed the location because it's out of the town just far enough to be quite, yet a quick 15 minute walk to the center of Hilo. The owners are super responsive to questions and very kind people. The frogs do put on quite a show for the hear at night but that's all part of the charm of the jungle. Earplugs are provided but no one in our party needed them. This is the kind of place you look forward to visiting again. The hot tub was a nice addition and what a treat to have a personal waterfall!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Germantown, TN
5

Absolutely fabulous - pictures hardly do it justice!!!

  • 5 of 5

This property is one in a million... Not only is it comfortable and charmingly zen like with its Japanese styling and appointments, it is situated above a hidden private tropical oasis with a stunning waterfall where you can swim!

The location is in an older residential neighborhood close to waterfront Hilo. It is lush and quiet. The home is very comfortable and offers every amenity. There is even a hot tub, but we preferred swimming at the waterfall in the refreshing water.

The property was clean, well maintained, and the owners are very friendly. The kitchen, bathrooms (5), and laundry were well supplied. The owners thought of every detail.

Staying at Maka Tiki was the highlight of our vacation!🌺 We highly recommend it!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hong Kong
5

Amazing property managed by very thoughtful owners

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a stay at this heavenly place. Easily one of the best places we have ever stayed in and we've stayed in a very wide variety of places in 65+ countries. I'd give it 6 stars out of 5.

I'll try not to repeat the points of praise mentioned elsewhere, but here are the things we loved.

1. Attention to detail - like ear plugs left in every room for those who might be sensitive to the frogs at night, handyman contacts, clear descriptions of facilities and gadgets.

2. Spotlessly clean home throughout

3. Exceptionally well furnished - from extra pillows and sheets to snorkelling equipment, board games and kitchen utensils

4. Thoughtful starter packs for late night arrivals who may not have time to visit the supermarket

5. Exceptional communication throughout

Many thanks Sara and Jamie for sharing your lovely home with us and for being such exceptionally professional landlords.

Ajit

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Bend, OR, USA
4

Elegant Asian style home in the jungle, next to Hilo

  • 4 of 5

Our family group really enjoyed our stay in this classic Hilo home. Each bedroom suite was spacious and uniquely beautiful. The kitchen and dining area area made for a convivial meal experience. The living room is a bit dark despite having plenty of windows. The jungle is pretty dense out there. The cacophony of coqui frogs at night take some getting used to. The pond and waterfall are wondrous, but are out of sight of the house, a bit of a hike, and a little tricky to enter. Definately only for the able bodied. Reed Island is a fantastic neighborhood and we really enjoyed strolling to town. The owners were good about communicating, the place was nice and clean upon arrival, overall I would highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Hilo International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Downtown Hilo
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Naniloa Country Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 19
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Downtown Hilo
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Many

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hilo Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall Discount until December
Aug 11 2016 - Dec 19 2016
3 night minimum stay
$204
$1,323
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas-New Year
Dec 20 2016 - Jan 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$379
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 6 2017 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$224
$1,463
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$224
$1,463
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $195
Damage Waiver Insurance $59
Tax Rate 13.42%

Fall Discount until December 19, 2016
This is the lowest price ever offered at Mika Taki due to the special conditions of a neighbor having plans to build a house on the adjacent lot. During the construction phase, the usual quiet and serenity at our Magical Waterfall Estate may be impacted during the daytime.
Mika Taki is a unique and wonderful home in a fantastic location! The time you spend here will be special and memorable. It truly is a Magical Waterfall Estate!
Min stay 3 nights, unless only 2 nights are available
Children are included in the guest count.
For Christmas-New Year and Merrie Monarch flat rates - up to a total of 8 guests
13.419% Hawaii State Taxes additional - Tax ID # 166-523-9040-01

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hilo Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • River
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • There is also a convertible bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Minimum Age Limit for Renters: 25 years or older

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties