check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Vero

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

NEW POOL + Great Fall & Winter Rates = Best Vacation Ever!!

15 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Puerto Morelos Condo Rental Photos and Description

2/3 bedroom, 2 bath---sleeps six--- $850 to $1700/week

This beautiful, beachfront condo is located in a very small (only 4 units), complex in Puerto Morelos. Casa Tykel is located on a beautiful sandy beach in the quaint, laid back, fishing village of Puerto Morelos. These units are extremely well furnished and comfortable. They have telephone, internet, satellite TV, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and washer/dryer in each unit. Theses units have huge balconies to sit and relax on and enjoy the sea breeze. Sit and enjoy your favorite beverage and watch the pelicans fly by and dive for fish. Enjoy the view of the waves breaking over the world's 2nd largest barrier reef. The ground floor balcony leads you right to the beach where you can catch some sun or swim and snorkel in the pristine waters of the Carribean. Most people love to go for long walks (or runs) on the sandy beaches where you can go for miles in either direction or you can just sit, relax and enjoy!!!!!

Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Vero (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Reviews

4.7
based on 15 traveler reviews

NEW POOL + Great Fall & Winter Rates = Best Vacation Ever!!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 15 reviews
N. Branford, CT USA
5

Absolutely lovely

  • 5 of 5

If you are a beach lover and enjoy local culture you will absolutely love this property. My husband and I travel extensively, and almost exclusively in “rent by owner” properties. Casa Tykel was one of the most delightful places we have had the good fortune to experience.

Just walking in our first evening we all gasped at the complete beauty of the place. Well laid out and beautifully furnished, it was a place to be completely comfortable. The kitchen, indeed the entire house, was stocked with spices, napkins, paper towels, soaps, cleansers, etc. And, although we did not avail ourselves of the service, one could have sent in a “grocery list” that would have been in place for arrival.

The beach was breathtaking, great for walks, snorkeling, or just lounging. The property provides both patio and beach furniture. And the town was exactly what my family had been seeking. A small town square surrounded by local businesses. There were “happy hour” spots, patio bars with live music, and plenty of wonderful restaurants with excellent food. Activities, should you desire, were easy to find. And I know the men in our group truly appreciated the dish TV at the house to catch up on their favorite sports on the few evenings we spent in.

We rented a car because we knew that we wanted to do some excursions. Car rentals in Mexico, especially during Holiday time, are often expensive. We soon discovered that there were less expensive alternatives—buses that run from the airport and down the main highway to many of the sights or other towns, combined with taxi service would have met most of our needs.

The house and the environs were glorious and the owners were gracious. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
39 66
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We have been on this property for one week, last June, my wife and I. Such a fantastic experience !!! The pool and the private beach were just like we wanted it !!!! 30 minutes walk and you are in town, so precious !!! The owner was realyy pleasant and the caretaker, Jose, was very elpful for everything. We should have stay 2 weeks, and that s why we already make our reservation for next year . Highly recommended place !!!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We have been there for one week, last June, my wife and me !!! Such a fantastic experience !!! The pool and the private beach were just like we wanted. The condo was full equipped and 30 minutes walk, you are in town, so precious place !!! The owner is a really pleasant man as his fiance, Vero, also. Jose, the caretaker was very helpful for everything, anything we needed. We should have booked for 2 weeks, as it was really difficult to leave this paradise. We already made our reservation for next year, can t wait to be back !!!! Highly recommended !!! Mat

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely Fabulous !!!

  • 5 of 5

We just had a amazing time at Casa Tykel !!! Everything was perfect, Vero was tremendous and Jose, the caretaker, took care of all our needs !!! The place was immaculate and the pool was wonderful. The private beach in front was so relaxing and peaceful. We went several time into the village and had a wonderful time meeting all kind of interesting people and eating at some excellent restaurants. Our first time but definitely not our last !!! Can t wait to come back in January as we already booked !!! Hasta Luego !!!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 16
California
1

OWNER REALLY

  • 1 of 5

I contacted the owner about renting the condo listed on VRBO. He got back to me and told me that the listed condos were already booked, but he could "let us have" the Penthouse for the same price. Boy did he let us have it.

To start off with, there are no pictures of the penthouse posted and he provided none because to do so would be false advertising. When I think of a penthouse, I think of something that is generally better or in someway superior to the other properties at the site. This was anything but that. It had 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. The bedrooms had beds, but did not have headboards, closets or wardrobes. There was literally a bar running from a dresser to the wall to hang clothes from. The bathroom smelled of sewer and the shower floor was so filthy that I didn't dare use it without wearing my flip-flops. All of the grout between the shower floor tiles had long ago washed away and been replaced with mold and dirt.

The penthouse balcony with a view was much smaller than all of the other units balconies. In addition, those balconies had a glass wall that allowed one to enjoy the view sitting down or relaxing. The penthouse balcony had a 4 foot high solid wall that had to be peered over to get a view of the lower condo's roofline and the beach.

While I rented the place for one week with my son, I spent the prior week in the same penthouse unit with my girlfriend. As she officially rented it the prior week, I'll let her post her review of her stay for that week. I will only say this, when we arrived we had to wait 30 minutes for someone to show up with a key. We were promised somebody would be there or there would be a lockbox on the property since we arranged for an early morning check in. After somebody showed up, we dropped off our luggage and went for an hour walk because the place was filthy. Empty beer bottles, trash, unwashed dishes etc. littered the unit. Not exactly how I wanted to start off a two week vacation.

I would have asked for my money back right then and been on our way, if I thought there was even the most remote chance that the owner would have given it to us. As luck would have it, we bumped into a Canadian couple on our early morning walk. When we told them where we were staying, they told us that they had been the victims of this owner's "penthouse" scam the year before. I only wished they had taken the time to write a review. Renter beware, this owner will really "Let You Have It!"

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: When Steven inquired to rent our ground floor it was booked. We had our penthouse available and I sent him pics of same. His response—Oct 26, Hi Glen Thanks for getting back to us so quickly. We are very interested in the penthouse. The pictures look great. We just have a few follow up questions… As you can see, he did see pics of the PH. I am quite proud of the PH and this where I live when I’m in PoMo. I never described it as luxurious. It is finished plainly but the bedrooms function quite well. I am here now and there is no sewer smell. The grout was missing but the floor is washed with muratic acid each time so there is no mold or dirt. (Grout now replaced) Steven e-mailed us when he arrived that the unit wasn’t clean enough. I had Jose go up to clean whatever needed to be recleaned. He sent him away and told him the unit was clean enough. There is a wall on the terrace for privacy in case you want to sun bathe au natural! But there are 2 glass partions where you can sit and see miles up the beach. Again he saw pics of the terrace!! I arranged an airport pickup for him and let him have an early check in. Our normal check in is 4pm. I was letting him in 8 hours early. You would think he would be happy but no, he had to wait 10 minutes for Jose to show up and it made him unhappy. Go figure!! The unit was cleaned, the only things left to do were the windows and the floor. There was a garbage bag outside the unit with beer bottles etc. I phoned the only Canadian couple that stayed in the penthouse the year before and they were not in the area this year. Roy also said it was the best holiday ever and he’s looking to rent 2 units next time with his sister in law. He will let you call him directly if you want to. On another note, we had a Canadian doctor stay in the penthouse just before Steven arrived. He liked it so much, that he has already booked for next year. We did a little checking around and found out that Steven had stayed up the beach from us the year before and he complained about that stay. So what have we learned?? We now know Steven doesn't tell the truth. I learned not to call my smaller 4th floor unit a “Penthouse” in case someone gets confused. I also learned that HomeAway will not stand up for the owners when they get a bogus review filled with untruths. I will spend my advert. monies elsewhere now. Will send pics of PH and all e-mails with Steven if you like to see them. Tks glen
Did you find this review helpful?
64 5
5

We could have stayed forever :-)

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week on the ground floor at Casa Tykel and it wasn't nearly enough! As other reviewers have said, it felt like home but also paradise and we could have stayed forever. Our party included mom, dad, 8yo boy and grandma and all of us were amazed at the beauty of the location. The unit was large and comfortable and had nearly everything we needed for our stay. Caretaker Jose was very eager to help. The ocean view, breeze, patio and beach area were heavenly. Although people do walk by, it was pretty secluded, nowhere near as busy as the beach areas nearer to town. The pool is a fantastic addition, very well thought out, and it's great that the sea view and beach space was maintained. Internet was good, and fast enough to support multiple devices and even Skype. A mobile fruit vendor came around the neighborhood, a nice surprise. Puerto Morelos was about a 30 minute walk. Taxis to/from town cost us 50-80 pesos, depending on number of people. Overall an excellent stay and we wish we could go back!

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 32

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Cancun Int'l Airport
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Iberostar
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
307
Nearest Beach
Right in Front :o))
Car: not necessary

Puerto Morelos is a quiet little fishing village only 20 minutes from the Cancun airport. The condos are located on a white sandy beach with a cement dock near by which is great for snorkeling. Off shore you can see the waves break over the world's second largest barrier reef. The village itself has many fine restaurants independently owned with exceptional quality. (there are no fast foof or chain restaurants!!!) There is world class scuba diving and snorkeling in the area and you can make day trips to some of the regions best Mayan ruins. However, most people just enjoy walking the beach or just kicking back, relaxing and watching the other's do the walking.

Other Activities: kite surfing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Puerto Morelos Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Apr 26 2016 - Sep 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 4 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
$850
 
 
Winter
Nov 5 2016 - Dec 16 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,050
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,700
 
 
High Season
Jan 8 2017 - Apr 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,350
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$130
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Rates are based on 2 persons staying, please add $15/night for each extra person

Rates are based on 2 persons, add 15$ night per extra person

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Puerto Morelos Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Can be made into a King size bed.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , (Can be made into 2 singles)
  • There is a small 3rd bedroom with a matramonial size bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
• Please be aware that there are a lot of listings for Puerto Morelos that are not actually in Puerto Morelos. We only have about 250 vacation rentals in Puerto Morelos but there over 600 listed in our area!!!They are located on different access roads, miles down the beach or are in Cancun, Playa del Carmen and other all-inclusive resorts around Mexico. • If your more than a 30 to 40 minute walk into the village center, then you are not where you should be!! So if you really want the best vacation ever in a quaint little fishing village that is super friendly and not too over run with tourists, make sure the property is in PUERTO MORELOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties