check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

••• Studio ZOLLO II ••• cozy apartment in a quaint Carpathian village near Sibiu

Sleeps3
Bedrooms Studio
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
3
Bedrooms
Studio
Bathrooms
0
Minimum Stay
5 nights

Description

Sibiu Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Take a break - in the serenity of a quaint Carapathian village

New holiday apartment at the hillside in an absolutely peaceful spot. Located at the edge of the shepherd's village of Vale, where the only through traffic consists of one or two horse carts bringing in the hay from the nearby hills. A good place for starting your explorations in the serenity of the romanian countryside.

The village of Vale is nestled between the wooded mountains overlooking the Transylvanian plain. On the one hand, far away from the pulse of time, on the other hand just around the corner of Sibiu, the European Capital of Culture 2007. Leaving the property behind, you already find yourself on the way up to the mountain meadows with their unique flora and fauna. So take a break and treat yourself a place, where unspoiled nature meets traditions and the breath of the past.

Interested in our other holiday homes, more photos, reviews or excursion tips? Please take a look at our homepage • www.casa-vale.net • We answer every enquiry within 24 hours.

____________________________________________________________________

••• CASA ZOLLO II •••

The studio (28 sqm) is situated on the ground floor of the main house, and features a private entrance as well as its own terrace, kitchen, and a bathroom. Expect custom-made furnishings, exceptional cleanliness, and relaxing views of the valley and the forested mountains.

Furnishings include an oak parquet, a double bed, TV set with (international channels, Wi-Fi internet access, and plants. The kitchenette is fully equipped for self-catering with a fridge, gas stove, coffee maker, and espresso machine, as well as a toaster, kettle, spices, and more. On request, we provide you with breakfast, traditional menus or farm products from the village.

The separate bathroom is equipped with a shower, washstand, toilet, and washing machine.

The entire interior was chosen with care and is of high quality, including the sanitary installation, kitchen utensils, linen, and mattress. All the furniture, doors and windows were made to measure. On arrival you’ll find the bed freshly made, with towels, soap and shower gel provided.

The solar-assisted central heating is powered by a gas heater. Alternatively, three electrical infrared panel can be switched on at no additional costs for you.

From the spacious terrace (21 sqm) you can look out onto the lush green of the wooded mountain slopes, or past the fruit trees down into the valley. A staircase leads to the fenced garden adjacent to the surrounding hills. Here you can relax on a covered terrace, grill your steak on the stonewalled barbecue, or enjoy the evening by an open fire, proposing a toast to the awakening crickets. Maybe you’ll just sit down under an apple tree, listen to the birds, and let your thoughts drift …

We rent out this apartment separately or in combination with the main house Casa Zollo with 6 (up to 8) sleeps.

• For 2 (to 3) people

• Studio-apartment with a double bed and kitchenette

• Bathroom with shower and washing machine

• Private terrace

• Large garden with parking lot, covered patio, BBQ and fire pit

• Minimum stay: 5 nights

• Additional bed: € 10 per night.

• Pet: € 5 per night

• Discount from the 15th day of stay

____________________________________________________________________

••• We offer more than just accommodation •••

• Free pickup from the Sibiu airport or train station, rental car & bicycles on request.

• On request, our cook provides breakfast or swings the wooden spoon. She conjures traditional menus fresh on the table to pre-arranged time. Also available are farm products from the village, such as: fresh milk, goat or sheep's cheese, forest honey and homemade jam, Zakusca, pickled vegetables, wine and schnaps.

• On request: shopping prior to your arrival, cot, rides in a horse cart or donkey cart for children.

• Tip: trip to our shepherd’s cottage (Cozo Fantu) in the mountain meadows. Without comfort but with lots of fresh mountain air for stressed lungs. A source emerges a stone's throw away, the cherries hanging in the trees, and cheese or milk you can get from the shepherd next door. Ascent with a horse cart and traditional shepherd stew over an open fire on request. ____________________________________________________________________

••• We provide more than only one cottage •••

We aren't trained tourism experts. We live in Vale and have joined together in a small and family-type construction company. By this company, we have given five houses a complete overhaul or constructed them from scratch. With attention to detail all along, with respect towards the traditional style of the area, as well with a view to modern building materials and contemporary housing needs. The result is an encounter of different ages and cultures in five oasis of wellbeing, each of them with their own flair, distinctive and special in a place which – we hope – will be sidestepped by the world's hustle for a long time to come.

••• VILLA CRINA - the icing of our resort with 200 sqm of living space and terraced garden – for 8 people.

••• CASA PELU - the former farmhouse with extended loft and roof-terrace – for 6 people.

••• CASA NICU - the 120-year-old cottage with the appropriate historic flair – for 2 (to 3) people.

••• VILLA ZOLLO - the new 150 sqm holiday home with panoramic views and large garden – for 6 (to 8) people.

••• CONDO ZOLLO II • well equipped apartment with large terrace, BBQ and garden – for 2 (to 3) people.

••• COZO FANTU - our shepherd’s hut in the mountain meadows – for 4 people.

More on our homepage ••• www.casa-vale.net •••

A tarmac road touches the village, but in large parts there are cobblestone roads and trails leading up into the hills. Here, traditional structures and lowbrow hospitality have largely survived. Horses, goats and poultry are still part of the village landscape and the farmers take up the scythe and plant corn, potatoes and vegetables to preserve them for winter.

Some say it looks as though time were frozen and that a great deal of things aren’t perfect. The culture seems to be alien, the nature unique and untouched, and the breath of the past hides in every angle. It may occur to you that this is the charm of the extraordinary before being run over by the advance of civilization. Want to have a look at? Just take place on the hillside above the village, enjoy the vastness of the valley, and you will be surprised about the thoughts popping up in your mind out of nowhere.

Find below some attractions and tips for trips around Vale.

.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
W. Konnerth
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, german, romanian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 30, 2016
Call Owner

About W. Konnerth

We live in Vale and have joined together our experiences in a small and family-type construction company. By this company, we have given five houses a complete overhaul or constructed them from scratch. After eight years of work - with many possibilities for creative design - we put trowels and planing aside for a while and breathe a sigh.

Of the income of the vacation rentals (your money) on one hand the 'investor' is served. On the other hand, the administration allows two families an extra income. When we cook for you, if you order local products, plan a trip in a horse cart or rent a car other villagers have a benefit. Finally, we are planning a soup kitchen for the less well-off families in the village which also will be financed from the proceeds of the accomodations.

We foster a climate of openness and equality-based relationships.

W. Konnerth purchased this apartment in 2010

Why W. Konnerth chose Transylvania

... because clucking chickens, neighing horses and the absolute silence of the night less burden the nerves than roaring engines.

... because the sight of forested mountains and free-flowing streams better likes to the eye than concrete ground overgrown with skyscrapers.

... because there aren't many places where the breath of the past is perceptible and where, nevertheless, you don't need to give up the comforts of running water, central heating, TV programs and online services.

... because you can relax sitting on the mountainside, chewing a blade of grass and looking down into the valley, and about half an hour later you may stand in front of the impressive fortifications of a city, actually worthy to be called 'European Capital of Culture'.

... because you enjoy a privilege as western foreigner, located more in a special respect than in attempts to defraud you.

... and because - in our temporal possibilities - we really care if desired instead only manage you.

What makes this apartment unique

... you may judge for yourself after you've left.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

••• Studio ZOLLO II ••• cozy apartment in a quaint Carpathian village near Sibiu
average rating of 4.571429 based on 9 reviews
2

Great Property, Bad managment.

  • 2 of 5

Well, to start I'd like to say that the Property looks great and has a good view. It's comfortable if a bit cold and Romania I can definitely recommend. But the Problem with Casa Zollo is the management. To start We arrived on the day we said we would at the time we said we would but there had been a miss communication (Later reveled one that could have been easily been avoided if there had been a check procedure anywhere) and we where left stranded at the airport.

We made our way to the Location using a taxi we never got reimbursed for but ended up having to stay in Casa Zollo 1 (The three bedroom) in order to avoid the Sub-freezing temperatures. I was willing to over look this but he then charged us for his mistake later upping the night we stayed from the cost of the one bedroom to the cost of a night in the three bedroom.

We where told the Train station was 3Km away or a ten minute walk. It turned out to be 8Km away and an hour walk. The internet that is promised to be 5-10 Mbs didn't work for the first three days, After a few hours of chatting we had it working... for a day. There is a 10 Gig limit he doesn't mention and seems to avoid filling it up as we got a old card with 5Gig left and he didn't top it up for us or the people who came after us.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In short the location is great and the Staff are Nice if a bit pushy but the Management is neglectful and in some cases down right dishonest. The Best part of Casa Zollo for me was Leaving Casa Zollo as any attempt to relax was always met with unfulfilled Promises, Half measures and Frustration.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I regret your discontent with our management. I hear this for the first time, and your rating is the worst we've ever received. To date, we have an average of 4.9 out of 5 points at a total of 54 HomeAway ratings for our properties. I think a part of your criticism is a non reflected misunderstanding. You booked 6 nights but stayed 7, and have announced the pickup at the airport without a date. So we expected you the following day, and Nicu came over immediately as we noticed what happened. Only our fault? Furthermore we charged the regular apartment rate of 176 Lei = 39 euros. It's not fair to claim that you've paid the three-bedroom-house. The nearest bus stop is actually 1.4 km away and the train station 3.8 km. I never talked about 10 minutes walk, maybe you went to the further away station Sibiel? It is true that I promised an Internet connection of 5-10 Mbps. Unfortunately we forgot to check the data cards before your arrival, and the capacity for high speed was exhausted by the previous guests. This is our mistake. I did apologize, and do it again now. However, with an instant notification you would not have to wait 3 days to solve the problem. To that I told you that the high speed traffic is limited, and this you could also read in the house-information in the apartment (pointed out that high downloads should be avoided). Since you watched a movie and videos the high speed was consumed. Afterwards I informed you that we can charge the card only the next day, what happened. So it's also not fair to claim the opposite. Latest after this experience we will change the provider and have then 50 GB per month with 10-50 Mbps. Overall, it's unfortunate to read your criticism only now and public. During your stay you didn‘t express your discontent, and direct communication on site would have been better. Especially the assertion of dishonesty and poor management are disappointing, because we attach great importance on both, and I've always responded to your questions (total 9 emails) immediately. Maybe you have a later understanding for the problem. You can't expect us to suppose 7 nights if you booked only 6, and if you didn't communicate the change. As well as we understand that you climb into a foreign house at night. However, regarding our mistake with the data cards, I would like to give you back the 39 euro for the 7th night - please tell me your bank account or Paypal address. Best wishes, Werner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wunderschöne Unterkunft - perfekt gemanaged

  • 5 of 5

Wir konnten leider nur eine kurze Nacht im "Zollo II" verbringen, aber die war wunderschön.

Eine tolle Wohnung mit einer tollen Terrasse und einem wunderschönen Blick über die Ebene.

Super Ausstattung, alles perfekt sauber und "mitgedacht" und mit liebevoller Betreuung!

So muss eine Ferienwohnung sein!

Ich komme auf jeden Fall wieder - dann für länger!

Vielen Dank!

Corinna.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful & Quiet

  • 5 of 5

Lovely house, very helpful people and nice homecooked food. Cute neighbourhood kitties. Recommended for everyone who loves some quiet, beautiful nature but still be close to a bigger city (Sibiu). We will definitely come back when we visit Romania again!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Alinde. After you've fed the kitties well they became full-grown cats. You're welcome anytime, Werner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Schöne Tage in Vale

  • 5 of 5

Die Wohnung und der Garten mit Grillplatz sind sehr schön. wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Für einen Urlaub zu zweit ist Casa Zollo II sehr zu empfehlen.

Auch die nähere Umgebung mit dem Cindrelgebirge ist zum Wandern, Fahrradfahren und Motorradfahren ist toll. In die Schöne Stadt Sibiu ist es auch nicht weit.

Immer wieder gern !

Teodora und Jörg

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Traumurlaub wie aus dem Katalog

  • 5 of 5

Nachdem wir bereits nach unserer online Buchung begeistert waren wie freundlich und schnell unsere zahlreichen Fragen beantwortet wurden hofften wir, dass die Wohnung und die Umgebung dem gerecht werden können, was wir uns vorgestellt haben. Vorweg, wir haben nicht vorgefunden, was wir erwartet haben, nein, es war noch viel besser! Selbst wenn wir uns die Bilder dieses traumhaften Urlaubs ansehen spiegeln diese nicht die Ruhe wieder, die frische Luft, die klaren Quellen, das herrliche Essen und die Freundlichkeit der Menschen. Wir sind nicht nur herzlich aufgenommen worden und während unserer Zeit in der gemütlichen Wohnung betreut worden, wir durften ein Stück des Landes kennenlernen. Frische Produkte aus eigener Herstellung an einem knisternden Kaminfeuer im Garten genießen, während man dem Konzert der Natur lauscht. Es hat einfach alles gestimmt, die Wohnung war in einem super Zustand, die Ausstattung wie beschrieben, es war sauber, die Betreuung jederzeit gewährleistet. Gerne werden wir wiederkommen und freuen uns jetzt schon darauf, noch mehr dieser unglaublichen Gegend entdecken zu dürfen.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Danke, es tut gut eine solche Begeisterung und von übertroffenen Erwartungen zu lesen. Und Hut ab vor der bildhaften Beschreibung. Sie trifft im groben genau das, was auch mich in diesen Landstrich gezogen hat. Alles Gute bis später einmal im Leben, Werner
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Haus am Berg

  • 5 of 5

Ein Haus in den Bergen mit sehr viel Liebe gebaut und sehr nette Menschen die sich darum kümmern. Mit Werner hatten wir schon bevor wir nach Rumänien fuhren netten Kontakt. Er holte uns dann auch vom Bahnhof in Sibiu ab und brachte uns zum Casa Zollo II nach Vale. Und ab da war eine sorgenfreie Woche mit Wandern, gutem Essen und netten Menschen angesagt. Das Haus hat eine schöne Umgebung und auch ohne Auto kann man schon viel erkunden und findet viele Möglichkeiten zum Wandern. Wenn man sich dann von Werner noch eins der günstigen Autos mietet geht dann natürlich noch mehr. Viele klare Seen und Bergwiesen mit malerischen Ausblicken in der Umgebung und überall die Dörfer mit den Kirchburgen machen die Region wirklich SEHR empfehlenswert. Der einzige Nachteil ist, dass man irgendwann wieder zurück muss... Wir kommen zurück nach Vale das war für uns schon nach kurzer Zeit klar.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Danke! Der einzige Nachteil wird vielleicht aushaltbar, wenn man sich auf ein nächstes Mal freuen kann. Von uns aus jederzeit gerne, Werner
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Sibiu
Nearest Barpub
2 Kilometres
Saliste
Nearest Train
4 Kilometres
Saliste / Sibiel
Nearest Motorway
4 Kilometres
Saliste
Nearest Restaurant
3 Kilometres
Saliste / Sibiel
Nearest Ski
12 Kilometres
Gura Raului
Car: recommended

.

••• A trip can take you an hour or a day •••

It can take you on the hillside above the village for a few glances into the vastness of the valley or to the jumping fishes in the mountain lake of Gura Raului. Maybe you are interested in a Saxon fortified church, in the historic town center of Sibiu or in a day trip across the Carpathians into the Wallachia on the other side. There are many options, here you get a few examples.

The open-air Marmelada swimming pool is just across the hill 20 minutes walk away, and so is the first of five lakes in the valley.

In 15 minutes you’ve left the village below, passing dozens of hand-carved wooden sculptures on the Poiana Soarelui (sun glade) on the ascent, to arrive at the mountain meadows with a unique view across the vastness of the Transylvanian Plain. In good weather, you get sweeping views all the way to Sibiu and the Fagaras Mountains range beyond it.

You can start your hiking tour in every village. A gravel road takes you from Saliste (2 km) to the high plateau of Crint, and from Sibiel (2 km) you walk along a stream to a remote monastery in the heart of the forest and further.

Connoisseurs are attracted to the mountain lake at Gura Raiului (8 km). It lies in a depression surrounded by forest. The water is clear and in the evening, you can light a fire and watch the fish jump for mosquitoes. Anyone visiting this place won’t easily forget the serenity of this place.

If you are aiming really high, you can choose between two trafficable north-south passes over the Carpathians, both to visit in a day trip:

• The ‘Transfagarasan’ – winding past steep rocks and a waterfall dozens of meters high. On the top awaits you the ‘Balea’ lake with a hostel and the house of ice.

• The ‘Transalpina’ - at 2.145m the highest trafficable road across the Carpathians, sometimes even above the clouds. Created by the Romans in their campaign against the Dacians, she was forgotten in the meantime and today presents one of the untouched mountain regions in Europe. The Transalpina starts at Saliste, just 2 km from Vale.

In both cases, you arrive at ‘Walachia’, the southern part of the country, in a climate zone influenced by the Mediterranean. From here you can return through the ‘Olt Valley’, the only north-south route through the Carpathians, passing ancient monasteries and partly steep cliffs. Anyone who doesn’t stop here must be in a real hurry.

When you’ve had enough of mountains and steep slopes, turn to the valley. Scattered across the countryside are Dacian ruins, caves and abandoned Roman mines, and ancient fortified churches built by the Transylvanian Saxony partly 800 years ago.

One of their medieval towns, the European Capital of Culture Sibiu, lies just around the corner and to this day is a fountain of cultural diversity. The medieval fortifications enbrace an old town with historic alleys and restaurants, cafés and bars, some of which are set in vaulted cellars or courtyards. During the summer the town opens up to visitors and regularly organizes events, from cabaret and theater, through open-air concerts, to exhibitions of local crafts guilds.

The Traditional Village Museum ASTRA on the outskirts of Sibiu also merits one or two glances. Here, centuries-old log cabins, water mills, blacksmith shops and saw mills from all over the country were reconstructed true to the original.

From here, it's just a stone's throw to the fortified church of Cisnadioara, one of the oldest Saxon buildings in Transylvania established in the 13th century. It stands on an almost circular mountain top above the village.

After taking a walk for hours you will feel your legs. In the saltwater lakes and spas of Ocna Sibiului (25 km) you can soothe your aching bones in brine, stretch out in saltwater reading the newspaper and then coat yourself in mud.

The way back from Sibiu leads you past Cristian (13 km). Here, another Saxon fortified church gives you an impression of how centuries ago people barricaded themselves against Mongols, Turks and Kuruc irregulars.

If you choose to delve deeper into the history of Romania you will hear about the Dacians. Similar to the Celts in Ireland, they are famous for their mystical traditions and particular skills. The last Dacians are said to have taken refuge in the ‘Muntii Apuseni’ (Central Carpathians), a sparsely populated region on the western border of Transylvania. Today however, this region is known for its caves and abandoned mine tunnels, some of which run hundreds of meters through rock. Skeletons of dinosaurs and other prehistoric monsters are found in their depths even today. Early birds can explore this area on a day trip.

Heist and highway robbery are tales from the years following the political change and Count Dracula obviously exists only in movies. People in this parts don't drink blood and are mostly open-minded if met with respect. So, no matter which way you turn, you will experience amazing things - usually things you never expected.

.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sibiu Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
peak season | hauptsaison
Dec 20 2016 - Jan 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
$57
$399
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest
 
mid season | zwischensaison
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 14 2017
5 night minimum stay
$49
$363
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest
 
peak season | hauptsaison
Jun 15 2017 - Sep 17 2017
5 night minimum stay
$57
$415
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest
 
mid season | zwischensaison
Sep 18 2017 - Oct 22 2017
5 night minimum stay
$49
$379
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$42
$294
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $5
Fee for online booking $16

• pet per day: 5 € / Haustier pro Tag
• Extra bed 3. person: € 8 per night / Extrabett pro Nacht
• Fee for credit card booking: 15 € / Transaktionsgebühr bei Kreditkarten-Buchung
• Discount from 15th day of stay / Ermässigung ab dem 15. Tag
• Free pickup from Sibiu airport, rental car & bikes on request / Transfer vom Flughafen Sibiu inclusive, Mietauto & Fahrräder auf Anfrage

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sibiu Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 28 m²
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Holiday Resort
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • Studio - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • 8 bicycles
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • skiing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties