check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Doug King

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

California Casual Meets Sayulita Serenity

18 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Sayulita House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Specifically designed for a casually laid-back and relaxing stay, even a really long one, Casa Amarilla reflects the owner's belief that quality is always a good investment! Canadian designed, and built to that standard, though constructed and managed by some of the best local artisans, no effort, or expense, has been spared to ensure your security and enjoyment. This compound is a short walk away from the hustle and bustle of the beach and completely surrounded by a 2 meter wall and each unit has a safe for valuables; providing a quiet, serene and secure setting. There is off street, covered parking for 2.

Whether you want to tan in a lounger by the pool, nap in a hammock, enjoy a cerveza or two either under the palapa or at the bar by the pool, dance under the stars or entertain friends, new or old, these homes offer the flexibility to do it all and more in style. Or, since the 3 separate air-conditioned get-aways are in the same compound, you may elect to book it in it's entirety for larger parties.

Our open concept allows the breezes to waft through while the large windows admit an abundance of light. The kitchens are fully equipped to allow you to create anything you wish... blenders, coffee makers,pots and pans,(margarita glasses), bar fridges and full fridges, full stoves with oven and toaster ovens. If we could think of a need, we provided for it!

Featuring professionally designed gardens, soft colours, wonderful rock walls, tiled courtyards, and the splashing of the pool to soothe the senses, we are certain your stay here to be one you'll remember as long as it takes to come again.

Casa Amarilla is a magically perfect place for a couple, a small family, or even a larger party to comfortably enjoy the wonderful village of Sayulita. We have two, 1 bedroom apartment style casitas available for rent as well, contact us for details on renting the whole complex!!

We look forward to welcoming you to our casitas and hearing of your enjoyment there!

Keywords: Casita

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Doug King (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Doug King

Our family first heard about Sayulita from our (then) 19 year old son who'd spent several months in 1996 surfing with a bunch of his high school buddies. He regaled us with tales of Paradise, of friendly people, unspoiled charm, and SURFING! I somewhat reluctantly headed off with his Mom and 2 younger siblings to 'no-one knew' that next Christmas and was smitten inside of 3 hours.

Over the next 1/2 dozen or so years and at least 10 visits we became ever more convinced that this really was a place we could retire to and call home, have our grand-kids visit and build fond memories of. Finally we bought first one, then another, piece of property and began to formulate plans for the construction of (what?)and with whom? Ideas came and went, changed and changed again, When we thought we had it right and were ready to start, we found out we were really beginning another stage in the evolution of what we now have...and we see more change yet. Such are the ways of dreams!

What we never changed was our focus on quality and our belief that built well is built best. We are so very proud of what have, owe so much to those who did our work and added to our dream. We always enjoy hearing from our past guests and how much they enjoyed their stay. We welcome you to stay with us and see what a part of our dream looks and feels like.

Pura Vida,

Doug and Sheran

Doug King purchased this house in 2008

Why Doug King chose Nayarit

Well, we really didn't buy...we built. It seemed more rewarding to us to design, build, change and evolve our way into something uniquely ours. What you'll see here is a blend of what we wanted and what we learned how to do all folded into and around one of the nicest little villages either of us has ever been to. It's privacy, location and amenities are uniquely appealing...whether it's surfing, fishing, snorkeling sampling some FIRST CLASS dining, collapsing at the side of the pool with a cerveza or curling up with a book, it can all be done and enjoyed from here. I've never been to a place I like being more. That's why!

What makes this house unique

We're about a 7-10 minute walk to the town square...close enough for easy access, far enough away for privacy. Our property is self-sufficient, laundry, grounds and house staff, garden areas, pool, 3 palapas to relax under, satellite TV and internet. If you want it, it's either there or close by! Maybe the neatest, and most under-used asset is a hidden beach you can't get to from the main town/beach area, Carrecitos...guaranteed quiet.

Reviews

5
based on 18 traveler reviews

California Casual Meets Sayulita Serenity
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
5

Wonderful holiday spot

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent two glorious weeks at the Casa Amarilla in beautiful Sayulita. The accommodations were designed with everything in mind. The kitchens were modern, the bathrooms had a lovely shower, the bedroom was large and the king-sized bed was very comfortable. Most importantly the private deck, the shared upper deck and the pool area were well maintained and offered a variety of spaces to relax in. We were also lucky to have been able to spend some time with our hosts, Sheran and Doug, they were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The town of Sayulita is a real gem and the beaches were spectacular. We enjoyed our daily strolls in to town and really felt like we experienced an authentic Mexican holiday. We will definitely try to return to Casa Amarilla.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your lovely comments! We try hard to make sure folks feel comfortable here and that we avoided the common mistakes lots of other places are prone to. Hurry back, you'll be welcome!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Property, Wonderful Hosts

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at this amazing property on two separate occasions, and plan to return soon for a third trip. It is perfect in every way. The property is beautiful and well cared for with excellent security and fantastic landscaping. The town center is a short walk away and it feels just secluded enough for a private getaway. My family and I plan to return to Casa Amarilla for years to come.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Troutdale Or. US
5

Hard to come Home

  • 5 of 5

Loved every minute of our time in Sayulita ! Casa Amarilla was perfect ! Well done Doug and Sheran ! We stayed in the upper unit, very nicely done, beds super comfortable, great bathroom , excellent kitchen . There are plenty of small markets in town for groceries. We do like AC and it is only in the bedroom, however not really a problem because at the end of the day we fell into bed. The pool and grounds are beautiful, the secure area is a nice feature . We happened to get to meet Doug the owner, he arrived just after us for the winter. Super nice guy, very friendly ,enjoyed drinks and pool time visiting with him was like hanging out with an old friend ! The staff is really kind and they do a great job. When it is very humid or hot, renting a golf cart is a nice way to go. We liked being able to go in and out of town as needed. Plus any folks with walking issues the golf cart can be a sweet deal saving you energy to play as it is just far enough into town up and down hills, to be bit of a problem.

Sayulita is quaint and the people are very nice. The restaurants are fabulous did not have a bad meal in 10 days ! Can not wait to go back ... beautiful town, people, food and of course the hospitality of a very beautiful home !

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the lovely review Kathy, we're glad you liked staying here! Sayulita really is a magical little town that seems to bring out the very best in a holiday! For us, it's really an unexpected bonus when we meet and befriend people who stay here at Casita Amarilla. We hope your return is quick and that you enjoy a second trip back!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego, CA, USA
5

Possibly the best vacation, ever.

  • 5 of 5

Case Amarilla was the perfect place to stay on Sayulita. It was far enough away from town to be very quiet but close enough to not mind the walk to the beach and then back into town for dinner. The house itself was very nice - the beds were super comfortable, the kitchen was well-appointed, the showers were lovely. The best part of the house, by far, was the roof-top deck - it was a great place to rest after a long day in the sun, both at the beach and at the pool.

Sayulita itself was great. Lots of delicious places to eat, all very inexpensive. We rented chairs on the beach every day, had lunch either on the beach or tacos on the way back to the house. There were fun places to shop for unique souvenirs. And you can't beat the exchange rate right now - most places gave 14-15 pesos per U.S. dollar.

In all, you really can't beat Casa Amarilla for a relaxing, stress-free vacation in Sayulita. We will certainly be coming back.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Jami, Thanks! We like it when our guests like staying with us, and we're old enough to remember Avis wanting to try harder...we get it and we think it matters. Yes, Sayulita is magical and we think it draws magical people. The palapa really is a nice place to hang out, isn't it? You sure will be welcome back!! Doug and Sheran
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mission BC
5

PERFECT!!!

  • 5 of 5

Its almost hard to write this review....there is no way to cover it all.... You simply have to go! Casa Amarilla was a wonderful discovery on our first trip Feb/Mar of 2014 and our second trip this past October just confirmed everything. For our type of vacation we could not ask for more....close to town, away from the crowds, excellent staff, we have been keeping an eye out for a place in Mexico to keep going back to and this it!

Sayulita has tons to offer for such a small place....close to all the action though, if you want it. We haven't even made a dent in all there is to see and do. And the food....I don't know of any other place that has so many excellent restaurants to choose from! Whatever you do, don't miss out on Don Jaun's, just around the corner from the condo!

If you get a chance to meet Sheran and Doug, you will see why Casa Amarilla is such a beautiful place....they have made it so warm and comfortable and I don't mean the temperature! You do feel at home there as soon as you walk through the gates.

Rene and the rest of the staff are the icing on the cake....they all want your stay to be wonderful.

We can't wait for our next trip, it won't come soon enough!!

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks folks, we really appreciate your comments, your enthusiasm. We remember back when we rented how hit and miss it was and try to provide a really nice home for our guests. It might be as bit of 'paying it forward' but it's always better ( and more fun ) when people have a good time together. We're glad you had a good time there and look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Langley BC Canada
5

Our Private Oasis!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 2nd vacation to Casa Amarilla in Sayulita, on both occasions we stayed in the Casa. This trip we brought our 14 yr old daughter along to share in our wonderful discovery . My wife initially found Casa Amarilla on VRBO 3 years ago and Doug and Sheran have been excellent to deal with since that time (all our arrangements have been conducted over the internet). Both trips Sheran arranged for a private cab (Air conditioned SUV)to meet us at the PV airport with cold beer in hand. We did our 1 hour stop at the Mega Store and loaded up groceries and beverages for 2 weeks. We were met at the Casa by Rene, who gave us the usual tour, then it was 2 weeks of rest and relaxation! Very user friendly kitchen, well equipped; the bed is huge and super comfortable and very nice to have laundry facilities in the unit. Our daughter slept on the pullout couch in the living room which was comfy. The Casita's would certainly have beeb big enough for us but we love the privacy of the upper balcony where we started each day with our coffee,watching the exotic birds coming and going from the surrounding palms and being entertained by the activities of the gekkos and the Iguana who like to perch on the stair railing to provide us with an early morning greeting. .The upper patio was expanded with the addition of a a built in seating area under a huge shaded palapa.. The one thing we would change? The BBQ ! Gas or propane instead of charcoal. Tended to be a bit of a pain. But, thats just us! I run a business back home and definitely require access to the internet for a few hours a day.On our first stay, the internet was hit and miss, but it has since been updated and now works flawlessly, even up on the balcony. $13.95 for a month of Skype land line service and you're set. Rosa came every second day for housekeeping and the gentleman (didn't catch his name) manicured the gardens and cleaned the outside areas. They have a "pool boy" who does a fantastic job of keeping the pool fresh and comes more often when the Casa and Casitas are full. Any of our concerns were emailed to Sheran and answered and dealt with immediately. We were absolutely blown away when Doug and Sheran couriered us a CASE of Dom Perignon AND flew in fresh lobster from Atlantic Canada! But, I'm sure they do that for all the renters! :) Folks, you can't go wrong with Casa Amarilla. Be sure to check out Mary's Restaurant. Fabulous! Cheers, John, KC and Lexi Langley BC

  • Submitted: May 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey John, we're glad you liked your stay. It's always nice to hear from our guests and nicer still to hear from people who've chosen tom come back and enjoy it again. Thanks! We remember ourselves, years back, trying to figure out whether or not a casita we would look at on-line would work for us. We didn't have reviews to go by so it was always hit and miss. Regarding the barbeque? We so like the charcoal process, the smells, the taste. YUMM!! We aren't likely to change, but do recognize that it takes a bit more experience to deal with it. Adjusting the air flows in and out and creating an even coal bed seems to be the best way to guarantee delicious cooking. That and a few cold Pacificos!! We're pleased you like our staff. They do make a difference, don't they? We think they're the best. Funny though. I don't recall the Lobster and Dom Perignon! We'll look forward to hearing from you again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Kilometres
Puerto Vallarta
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Don Juan's
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Don Juan's
Nearest Beach
600 Metres
Sayulita's Main Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Casa Amarilla
Nearest Point of Interest
Town Square
Nearest Point of Interest
Stairs/steps to town
Nearest Point of Interest
Rollie's Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
La Fiesta
Nearest Point of Interest
Playa de los Muertos
Nearest Point of Interest
Our hidden beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Bodega
Nearest Point of Interest
Hardware store
Nearest Point of Interest
Don Pedros
Nearest Point of Interest
La Costenos
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Welcome to Sayulita
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sayulita House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Reservations are confirmed by receipt of a 50% deposit via direct deposit or Paypal.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sayulita House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • King size beds (1) The most comfortable beds in Sayulta., Sleep Sofa or Futons (3) Each unit has a sofa bed the size of a long twin that could handle someone as tall as 6'7'.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties