Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Largest Private Patio on the Ocean and Air-Conditioning

Bedrooms 1
Space 750 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Newly remodeled unit just made available for rentals. This was our home in the 70's and now our vacation home. We want you to enjoy old Hawaii the way we did when we were first married. This is a quiet get away from the hustle of Waikiki but can be reached in under an hour by taking a beautiful scenic drive along the beach and through the tunnels to the 'City' side on the island.

Life is slower here. Take a stroll on a beach right in front of the unit and never see more than a hand-full of people for miles. We furnished the unit for us to enjoy, not as a rental. You will feel that you are in your own home on the beach. Everything that you need is here, and our property manager is available at a moments notice if you should ever desire any services. Large private unit, a True One Bedroom, not a studio, don't be fooled by other listings. Over 200 sq ft private lanai on the beach and air-conditioning. GREAT BEDS!!! Great Kitchen!!! Great Vacation!!!

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Property Manager
Philip D. Hopkins
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

About Philip D. Hopkins

We are both teachers who moved to the mainland and stayed to raise our family. Now we return to our 'HOME' on the beach twice a year or more to return to the slow pace of the country for rest and relaxation.

Philip D. Hopkins purchased this condo in 1977

Why Philip D. Hopkins chose North Shore Oahu

We completely remodeled the whole unit from bare walls to make it comfortable. Luckily our unit is on the third floor with a large patio on the beach and is the only floor that can install full unit sized air-conditioning. After living in the mainland my wife, the native Hawaiian needs to have air-conditioning. I always enjoy the tropical breezes that rush through the unit from the ocean, but she's the boss. Either way you will be very comfortable.


Hauula Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
  • 8 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1) In living room. Murphy bed completely hidden in wall behind mirrors. Top quality mattress not a pull out., Murphy Beds (1) Ask stated above. First quality sleeping experience not a pull out or fold out. Great mattress.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
18% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Largest Private Patio on the Ocean and Air-Conditioning
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews

Close to the beach

  • 3 of 5

Overall I liked the location, nice and close to the beach and water of course! Nice inside including the cool bedroom. As I saw on here before I choose this place the 'cement wall' is a hindrance. Obviously, as you look at the pictures you should take that into consideration. Also it would have been nice to have a couple of comfortable lounge chairs to stretch out on. But Paul was helpful as was his sister.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

comfortable stay,love the beach

  • 4 of 5

Overall it was a good stay ! the property looks just like the pictures !! Only thing Is the patio was not very clean and the furniture out there was not great! In order to really be able to enjoy the patio area you need a barstool height chair to see over the cement wall and really be able to take in the amazing view !! We would of spent most of the time out there enjoying the view had we had better furniture ect....

Over all a great place to stay and Paul was very helpful and courteous.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice quiet rental

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. It was clean, nice beds and good quality linens. Washer and dryer are a plus. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cookware. Note on the grocery store; drive the 10 miles to a larger store. The small stores have very little selections. I wish this unit didn't have a cement balcony railing, a metal,railing would have let us see the ocean better.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Right on the beach. Comfortable and plenty of room for our family. Everything we needed!

  • 5 of 5

The property is older but the elements weather everything in Hawaii.

We appreciated the secure elevator - you have to use your condo key to make the elevator work. The security guards were easy to spot and were seen quite often doing their job around the property.

We were happy about the non-smoking policy everywhere inside and outside the building. For the most part, people followed it.

The location of these condos is so great. We mostly wanted to be out of Honolulu area for our stay so we traveled to north shore several times. Lots of good food (lots of shrimp trucks) and beaches (and bathrooms) along the way up the highway. Super close to the Polynesian Cultural Center, LDS Temple. Both are amazing!

Aside from maybe a little laundry detergent soap, we felt all necessities and niceties were provided. (We left our bottle of soap for the next guests.) Kitchen is fully stocked with anything we needed. Everything felt clean in the condo. It has the feeling of staying at a friend's house or a relative's house. You don't expect them to go buy everything brand new for you but they are going to make sure things are clean and comfortable and have what you need.

The pull out bed was very comfortable for our two kids to share - 14,10. The room my husband and I shared was very spacious and the bed was great. We slept very well. Bedding felt very clean.

We would 100% stay in this place again!

Thank you Phil and Paul for the great stay!

Ray and Leah Paddock


  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved this condo...lovely and cool AC.

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful stay at this property a few weeks ago. The place was clean and has a very comfortable king bed in the bedroom as well as the very comfy wall bed in the living room. This place has it all including an air conditioner that never let us down. Paul was a very good manager of the condo and made things so easy to check in and out. Thanks Paul, we'll definitely be staying here again. Aloha nui loa!

K.Harris/Utah and H. Zaha/ Washington

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Las Cruces- Currently (past) Mary (Alma, WI ) Richard (Hinsdale, Il)

Spectacular Vacation Rental......

  • 5 of 5

We are currently staying at this VRBO rental condo unit. What a great way to end our vacation. We do not want to leave. The condo unit is beautiful, modern and very comfortable. The photos on this site do not do the condo interior or exterior views real justice. The interior looks much better and the ocean views are real, million dollar views. It is very hard to find any rental property for either short term or long term rental with the ocean views and sound of the ocean waves from this condo unit at the rental price. The views are simply stunning. Vast palm trees line the ocean landscape and the exterior grounds from the condo and are kept in impeccable fashion.

The beach frontage has almost total privacy and the ocean water is crystal clear, with stunning colors of blue, mixed with green. There is a large natural breakwater about 1000 feet from the shore which provides a friendly and safe water environment for those who enjoy swimming or basking in the ocean.

The condo unit offers a large outside patio or lanai. The pool is gated and uses an electronic entry to access the pool area. The pool is visible from all condo units and is just below this condo unit.

The unit interior offers beautiful granite counter tops and modern appliances and is well stocked for those guests who may prefer to complete some cooking inside. The master bedroom is very nice, offers a king size bed which we find to be very comfortable. The unit is well stocked with quality towels and nice pillows. The unit also offers a pull-down “murphy bed” for additional guests or family members. We are a party of 2 renting the unit this week.

The condo unit offers high-speed internet in a secure access and a large flat panel TV with HD cable channels for your enjoyment. A smaller flat panel TV is also available in the master bedroom.

All in all, we rate this condo a 5 Star rating, being the best. We encountered no problems that could not be resolved. 3 years ago we stayed in the same condo building, for one full month, but not this specific unit. We were pleased to come back to the same location 3 years later now in March 2016, with absolutely no disappointments.

The rental agent Paul was excellent and professional in handling all aspects of the condo reservations, deposits, and had great follow-up with us during the pre-rental and arrival process. He was at the condo unit waiting for our arrival.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. You are definitely a travel writer. We have own our condo on the beach, our first home, and after reading your prose can not wait to get back. Pat's is a special place. You have to live it to appreciate what it has to offer. We would love to have you return. As our special return guests we will honor a 20% discount to you for any length of stay if you book directly with us. Sincerely yours, Phil and Paulette 619-933-1616
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Honlulu International
Car: recommended

Very Close to Polynesian Culture Center and other North Shore attractions.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100

A Hawaii Hotel Tax of 13.962% will be included with all rentals. Hawaii Tax ID: W0225318-01. Hawaii Property Manager- Paul Comeau 808-293-8124.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties