check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Chris Peeples

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Cottage on Historic Gentleman's Farm

36 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Chester Springs Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Located in the heart of Historic Chester County, few locations in the United States offer so many things to see and do. Some of the loveliest creations of man or nature are nearby ( 1hr.). The cottage is on a 70 acre country estate (circa. 1797) with fields & trails, surrounded by over 2000 acres of private land. Yet, there is gourmet dining, tennis and historic sites within walking or bicycle distance. In the late 1990s, Chester County was listed as one of the top ten counties in which to live, owing to its beauty, historic significance and the general sophistication of its inhabitants. Horse-carriages and hot air balloons are just a few of the common sights. The Cottage is located on a private lane, just off a quiet, picturesque country road that is a favorite of bicyclists, joggers and equestrians. The farm, its history and surroundings were the subject of Edwin A. Peeples’ Walden-like memoir PLANTING AN INHERITANCE; LIFE ON A PENNSYLVANIA FARM (see amazon dot com)

DIRECTIONS: Googlemaps '1611 Old Kimberton Rd,Pa,19425'

Keywords: Country Estate Cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets considered
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Chris Peeples (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Chris Peeples

Owner and creator of nationally recognized Vixen Hill Mfg. Co. in 1980.

Chris Peeples purchased this cottage in 1946

Why Chris Peeples chose Greater Philadelphia area

Family Estate and an opportunity to meet world travelers without leaving home.

What makes this cottage unique

Having personally traveled the world I can say no place offers the palate of life's delights as life in Chester Springs, Pa USA

Guestbook comments from the owner

Maintaining a 65 acre farm includes all kinds of equipment and is inescapable. City people would never understand this just as the scream of sirens in the city is something beyond my threshold of acceptance.The jackhammering could have been avoided had the guests ever left the cottage for a one day outing. There's lots to see. Allowing dogs is a luxury few owners allow, and had I known that the animal was mentally deranged, I'd have turned down the reservation. There's all kinds of flavors out their and this couple is the wrong flavor for this farm.
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.8
based on 36 traveler reviews

Cottage on Historic Gentleman's Farm
average rating of 4.8055553 based on 37 reviews
2

Misleading listing but otherwise pleasant stay

  • 2 of 5

As I said to my husband the first morning of our stay, if I wanted to be woken up to jackhammering, I would have stayed in New York City. My husband and I came to Chester Springs expecting a quiet, secluded few days away from the city with our dog, and were looking forward to the pool and grill as per the listing. It turned out the cottage is directly adjacent to the owner's home, which is also where the pool is located, and we didn't have our own grill. Plus it turned out that the owner's dogs roam freely, which is a problem for our dog, who is terrified of other dogs, no matter how friendly they are, as a result of having been attacked by off-leash dogs here in NYC.

When we complained about the noise and asked for a discount because of it and the lack of the pool being available, we were told that "farm noises are simply part of country living" and that he couldn't "pay you to stay here by discounting rates lower." We didn't complain further, but this didn't seem, to us, to prioritize hospitality and care for our stay. If only I'd realized "country living" and "farm noises" included jackhammers and having the masonry redone in the pool. We were also told we could leave early if we wanted to, for a refund, but we didn't want to cut short our vacation (we don't get many of them and it was too late to find alternate accommodations) so we stuck it out. The house itself is nice and convenient to exploring Valley Forge, and the rates are reasonable, but the listing description is misleading and I'm not sure we would have selected this site if we had the full information.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property was as advertised, a quaint and quiet cottage on a Gentleman's farm.

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was the perfect escape for a few days during closings on our previous home and our new home. The setting was beautiful and quiet and we enjoyed relaxing at the farm very much after the hustle of preparing for closing. The host was gracious and the cottage was a wonderful hideaway!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

charming get away from it all

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed this lovely home in the PA country. Even in the extremely hot weather, the house was comfortable for us and our dog. The farm is beautiful and the owner, Chris, was friendly and welcoming. Would love to return in the Autumn to see the fall colors!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice.

  • 5 of 5

Nice place to come to if your looking for a quiet beautiful surroundings.

My wife and I attended a wedding in Philadelphia and enjoyed coming back to the home for a quiet evening.

We enjoyed sitting on the front porch for morning coffee watching the joggers and dog walkers go by.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Western NY
5

Peaceful cottage

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I had a very relaxing week at the cottage. It is set in a beautiful property just in front of the main residence. The location and setting is beautiful and very peaceful. The cottage is very comfortable and the enclosed patio was a favorite place for us to sit and enjoy the setting. I would highly recommend this cottage!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Washington, DC
5

Rest and Quiet on Beautiful Farm -- Return Visit

  • 5 of 5

This was our second visit to Vixen Hill Farm. We enjoy walking and sitting on the glassed-in porch watching the sun set on the hill across the road. I love the stone floors and beams of the cottage, and the sitting area is handsomely decorated. The wind chimes at night, though i think a smaller set than last year, give restful, baritone music. Most interesting was to read what the owner's father wrote about the beginnings of the farm in the 1940s.

The farm is a favorite destination of mine.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Philadelphia / Reading / Allentown
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Sly Fox Micro Brewery
Nearest Ferry
200 Miles
Cape May Ferry
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Kimberton / Phoenixville / Valley Forge
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Paoli / Malvern / Exton
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Pa Turnpike / Rt 100
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Yellow Springs & Kimberton Inns (4/5*)
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Doe / Spring Mountains
Nearest Beach
90 Miles
Atlantic City
Car: necessary

Personal Fitness Training & Massage Therapy available on Premises, Free Bicycles Provided, Fox and Basset Hunting

Photos

Rates & Availability

Chester Springs Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Rate Change 2016
Apr 28 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$800
$2,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$800
$2,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25

OLD pre- 2013 rates were:

$ 125 / day 1 or 2
$ 100/day for 3 day or more
$ 600/wk & $ 2,400/month ( $ 75/nt.)

New 2013 rates are:

$ 150 for 1 night
$ 125/night for 2 to 6 days
$ 100/night for 7 to 30 days
$ 80/night for 30+ days

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Chester Springs Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets considered ...
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Groomed fields & rolling hills, Pure Spring Water for drinking & bathing, Bicycles Provided

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties