check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ed & Lexy

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Privacy in the heart of Myrtle Beach

18 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Long Bay Estates House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedroom, 4 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 14

Large Beach House across the street from the Atlantic Ocean in a private community of luxurious homes. Sit on the front porch and watch the waves as you enjoy a fresh seafood and steak dinner cooked on the gas grill by your private pool! Now with a brand new hot tub

Long Bay Estates enjoys the widest beach on the strand since we have no high rises for a couple of miles in either direction, and the Myrtle Beach State Park stretches for about one and a half miles along the coast. A walk up the beach takes you to the State Park Pier for fishing or ice cream, or walk a little further to Springmaid Pier for breakfast or lunch.

We actually have the best of both worlds. We are second row, but next door to the Myrtle Beach State Park with the largest piece of undeveloped beach land on the Grand Strand. So you get the second row prices with the beachfront view. The boardwalk to the beach is only @ 50 feet from your beach house across a quiet cul de sac.

Exterior Features:: Private Professionally Maintained Swimming Pool & Wading Pool, Oceanview Sundeck 2nd Level, Private Walkway to Beach, Exterior Shower, Professionally Landscaped Grounds, Gas Grill....

Email Today for a Great Deal !: You may bring your own linens, or we can provide you with linen service. Cleaning Service is included in our rental rates. No pets allowed. The sand fleas love them too much. There is no worry about who to call if there's a problem, since the owners live in the neighborhood. Email for any special requests. Email soon, we book quickly.

Great Activities: Murrells Inlet is the seafood capital of South Carolina. When they say catch of the day, you can look out the window and see the boat where it was caught.

Market Commons has many shops, restaurants, and a stadium seat movie theater.

Broadway at the Beach has Ripley's Aquarium, MagiQuest, Hard Rock Cafe, and hundred of other entertainment, shopping, and restaurants.

Of course, the beach is beautiful in the winter. We usually take a long walk on Christmas Day.

The little ones would probably like the Children's Museum of South Carolina. It is all hands on fun stuff.

We have world class theaters here: Alabama Theater, Carolina Opry, Legends,...

The Dinner & Action Shows are wonderful: Dixie Stampede, Medieval Times,...

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Ed & Lexy (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Ed & Lexy

We have been married 50 years and still enjoy our lives together. Kyle is our daughter who manages our beach house. We welcome you to our corner of paradise.

Ed & Lexy purchased this house in 1972

Why Ed & Lexy chose Myrtle Beach

Long Bay Estates has been our home for many years. We love the privacy and relaxed pace of our neighborhood. We welcome you to share it with us.

What makes this house unique

Privacy on spacious beaches, yet close to all the Myrtle Beach attractions

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Ed & Lexy ~

Just a little note to say what a pleasure it was meeting you both & enjoying your beach house & wonderful southern hospitality in MB. The whole experience couldn't have been a nicer opportunity for our family to spend time together ~ we don't get the chance to see each other as my niece & her husband moved to Asheville, NC & are so far away from us, here, at the New Jersey shore.

Thanks for your good company & GREAT stories Ed, we loved hearing about your cool missions & your beautiful family & your adventures. May God continue to Bless YOU & Lexy (& your family & Max!)!

Would've come by to say 'Good bye!' but John said you had company so this note will have to suffice & I was 'pushing' them all to get going in a timely fashion with the long ride ahead...



Thank you both again for a lovely family experience,

Blessings & All the Best to You & Yours !
May 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.8
based on 18 traveler reviews

Privacy in the heart of Myrtle Beach
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 19 reviews
Wilmington, MA
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a great time. The house is very roomy, the pool is great and it's so nice to just have to cross the street to get to the beach. Can't wait to come back.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
30 1
Charleston, SC
5

Great week at beach!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 14 had a great vacation. We loved the short walk to the beach and the pool was a favorite!

The house in Long Bay Estates is very convenient to shopping, grocery stores, golf, and Market Commons.

We rented both levels of the house so had plenty of parking too.

Thanks Ed & Lexy for a wonderful week!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

the owners are very pleasant.

  • 5 of 5

The house and the back yard is very nice. Also like to see a light with a sensor under the back stairs it is very dark. We left around 6am we had to use a flash light walking down the steps. Also it be nice have a tv in every bedroom. I would stay there again . Also the house is right across the street from the beach with

a great view. We rented the top floor for two weeks. We had a great time. We love myrtle beach.

Bill

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying in our beach house ! A light with a sensor is a great idea for the back porch. We'll get that installed this winter.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Very relaxing, clean, one minute walk to the beach

  • 5 of 5

I would not hesitate to stay here again, and I would recommend this home to anyone with a large group. The location was amazing & we loved the beach. It was almost like having a private beach; we never had to fight for a spot. We could go there @ any time of the day & we had the pick of where we’d like to sit.

This house accommodates very large groups with ease, we never felt crowded & coming & going to & from the beach with small children was very easy. We had 6 children under the age of 7 so you can imagine all that we had to carry with us to & from the beach & how many trips we had to make. We appreciated the convenience of being able to store our beach items right off of the beach @ the owners’ home. With the ease of leaving our beach items @ the owners home & how close our house was to the beach it was no issue at all. It’s even a very easy walk for those who have difficulty walking.

The pool was amazing & I loved the section for small children. That was very beneficial to our group as we had 2 babies staying with us; even the adults took time out of the sun & sat in that section.

At times we had up to 23 people in the pool area & there was plenty of room for everyone, we did not feel overcrowded & there were plenty of areas to sit & eat.

The shower outside of the house made it very easy to clean the sand off of us, which is important b/c I hate dealing with sand all over in a home.

The owners are very quick to respond to any emails and/or requests. During our stay the dryer on the 1st floor broke & we had a new dryer within hours.

We’ve stayed in myrtle many times & in several different places from high rise condo’s to homes & we really appreciated the hospitality & the spaciousness of the home. We also appreciated the beachy feel, very nice & very relaxing.

The house is a beach house, it’s not super updated, but it is very clean which to me is more important that anything. It reminds me of the times I traveled to Myrtle when I was younger to visit my grandparents. It’s not super fancy; however the owners are very clear about that so there were no surprises when we got there. The location is UNBEATABLE for the price.

If we ever have a large group like that going on vacation together again I would certainly return & I would highly recommend your home to anyone I know traveling with a large group.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love having guests at our little slice of paradise !
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Mt Vernon, KY
3

Disappointed but we had fun!!!

  • 3 of 5

The house was okay but needed new carpet or at least cleaning. Two of the tiles on the bar just fell off, thank the Lord they did not break. The house description did not say a shared pool. We did not get a contact ever but I was expecting an email saying your last part of payment was due but I did not get it, so I have not idea if it included the shared pool description. In speaking with Kyle, I did ask that it be shouted out about the shared pool and to change the website. I assumed the owners owned another home with four bedrooms because, it did not say a duplex. BUT the renters downstairs were wonderful people and we got along great.

Back to the house, the 5th BR had a window AC unit that was very loud. The beds, two of them was hard as a rock and linens were of poor quality. The television in one of the double BR did not work. The outside refrigerator was very handy. The pool area was great even with the extra vegetation that needed cutting and even some guy did cut some of it but left the refuse there and did not haul off. The open area of the living room, kitchen and dining room was nice. The laundry room is off one of the bedrooms and it has a step down and could of been an accident waiting to happen. The owner, Ed, came over after I had my conversation with Kyle about not knowing it was a duplex and a shared pool area and Ed was very nice and kept assuring me that everything would be fine. The proximity to the beach was nice and Ed said we could store our chairs under his home, so we did not have to lug them over everyday and that was very nice.

I knew going in that the furnishings was not as nice as we are accustomed to when we have a home at the beach but the pool area was the selling point. I was terribly disappointed on the arrival because I knew our week was going to be ruined but it was not ruined and it was not attributed the owners but our downstairs neighbors.

Take a couple of good skillets but the rest of the kitchen is very good in the stock of pots and pans and dishes.

I sincerely hopes you make a insightful decision and to know all the facts, that I did not.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love having guests each year and always want them to have a good time. The owners live across the street and we pride ourselves in addressing concerns in a timely manner. Of course, if nothing is said, then we can't fix it. The majority of our peak season guests are repeat visitors. Unfortunately, these guests misunderstood the contract and thought the 4 bedroom downstairs unit was in one location and the 5 bedroom upstairs unit was in a different location. They were surprised that they had to carry their luggage upstairs to the upstairs unit. To address specific items mentioned in the review: The guests visited with the owners almost daily and never mentioned a problem other than they didn't like carrying their bags upstairs and didn't want to share the large pool. The guest received a contract and returned it signed on 12/27 in which it clearly stated that there is a 4 bedroom downstairs unit and 5 bedroom upstairs unit. The carpets were professionally cleaned in March 2015 and have been vacuumed after each guest since then. The air conditioner is less than a month old and under warranty. If the guests had alerted us to it not working properly, we would have had the technician out to fix it during their stay. Likewise with the tiles, we would have fixed it immediately had we been alerted to the situation. All tile work, hinges, doorknobs, etc are thoroughly checked annually in January during our "Spring Cleaning" and our cleaning crew looks out for maintenance issues during our Saturday scramble each week. Unfortunately, with any house sometimes things break. Our neighbor did cut his vegetation off our property and it took him a couple days to haul it away. He works full time and is not always able to get two days off in a row during the summer. It was outside the pool fence and did not inconvenience our guests in any way. The furnishings are exactly as pictured on the website. We update the pictures whenever any furnishings change. Each unit should have 3 good skillets. Sometimes when groups rent the whole house they move cookware around. If our guests are missing anything in the kitchen we look for it and replace it if the previous guest took it with them. If we had only known, then we could have helped them.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
4

Incredibly private and so close to the beach!

  • 4 of 5

What a pleasant surprise to arrive and find this gem just waiting for us! Ed and Lexy are very gracious and helpful and made our stay super easy to enjoy - The upstairs unit was spacious and well equipped, the sitting area provided hours of family fun! The kitchen and eating areas were clean and uber roomy for all of us! While we were there in the spring it was a bit too cold for the pool, we used the hot tub a few times to warm up! The ocean was literally across the street (a dead end street at that!)

I will stay again if I get the chance and I know my kids and their families fell in love with Myrtle Beach and Long Bay Estates! The long pier at the state park became our meeting place to watch the sun rise and set and to enjoy a little fishing and beachcombing - If you are thinking of renting this wonderful spot, don't delay! Do it Today!!!

Thanks again to the owners who had such great foresight in purchasing this terrific property and then offering it up as an ideal family vacation destination!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Business Highway 17
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Nearest Beach
0.02 Miles
Atlantic Ocean
Car: recommended

Fun and privacy in the heart of town. Only 20 minutes to Market Commons, Broadway at the Beach, Carolina Opry, Brookgreen Gardens, Huntington Beach State Park, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, and so much more.

Golf: We have more golf courses per capita than any where in the United States ! Play a different championship course every day !

Photos

Rates & Availability

Long Bay Estates House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter Beach Special
Sep 10 2016 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$220
$990
$1,700
 
 
Beautiful Carolinas
Apr 1 2017 - May 12 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,290
 
 
Start of Summer
May 13 2017 - May 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,390
 
 
Memorial Day Week
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$2,540
 
 
Summer Bliss
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 9 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,770
 
 
Sun in the Fun
Jun 10 2017 - Jun 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,290
 
 
Sunny August
Aug 5 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,700
 
 
Still Summer
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
School Special
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 22 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,790
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$220
$990
$1,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

** Winter monthly rentals available. Stay with us for a discount of up to 88%
** Adjoining beach house can be rented together for an exciting family reunion or church event that sleeps 26 people in real beds.
** During Peak Season, rental of both units is required. So invite your family and friends to join you !
our 5 bedroom unit ~ id# 206035
our 4 bedroom unit ~ id# 230767

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Long Bay Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , Poolside
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Ocean View
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , Ocean View
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
  • Sleep & Bath Accommodations (sleeps 14): 1 Queen, 1 Queen, 1 Queen, 2 Double, 2 Double, 4 Full Baths Pool Area: 1 Half Bath Front Porch: 1 Exterior Shower
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Enter a tropical paradise with the whole house recently remodeled. A lush grove of palm trees and tropical plants greets you as you arrive and surrounds the pool. Get away from it all in your private oasis. Monthly rentals are available November through February. Sometimes we have availability into October & March.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties