check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Spectacular 8,000 square foot Mansion 5 blocks to the beach- huge beautiful pool

Sleeps26
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms5
Half Baths2
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
estate
Sleeps
26
Bedrooms
8
Bathrooms
5
Half Baths
2
Minimum Stay
4 nights

Description

Hollywood Lakes Estate Rental Photos and Description

Featured on HGTV-8 bedroom-5 bath-2 half bath- perfect beach location

Want to create great memories? This is one of the most famous mansions in South Florida. Personal residence of JW Young founder of Hollywood and Port Everglades. This masterpiece was designed by the renowned architectural house of Rubish & Hunter, with significant influences from famous Palm Beach architect Addison Mizner. Listed on National Register of Historic Places by US Department of Interior. Former presidents of the United States have played pool here. Property has been beautifully restored and featured on HGTV, the mansion boasts 23 rooms with 8 bedrooms, 7 bathrooms (5 Full/2 Half), with a 8,000 square feet layout this property has a gym, a billiard room, and a huge heated pool (30’ X 50’) with a cabana surrounded by beautiful gardens. Sitting on half an acre and only 5 city blocks from Hollywood Beach with the only beachfront boardwalk in Florida! It is also just a short walk to numerous fantastic restaurants. From the moment you enter the mansion you will realize that every detail was carefully thought out. Fantastic hardwood and Cuban tile floors throughout. Adorned with a old world imported Spanish tile roof and hand crafted interior wrought iron Spanish gates. As a guest you will experience beauty, comfort, and attention to detail that will have you coming back year after year.

The mansion is a destination unto itself with almost too many amenities to list: You will feel like you have been instantly transported to Andalusia. Slate billiards table with a Tiffany billiards room light, a exercise room, English pub style bar, outdoor gas grill, most bedrooms have new flat screen televisions which stream video, 50MPS wifi throughout the house (soon to be 125MPS when available), beautiful formal dinning room and living room with imported limestone fireplaces- formal library (also used as a convertible bedroom), separate attached apartment with it's own kitchen, convertible bedroom at ground level off the family room, Jacuzzi tub in marble master bath, commercial grade stainless steel appliances in kitchen, also waffle maker, juice maker, coffee maker, toaster- ect..., teak lounge chairs, and cabana with full bathroom and a serving kitchen with a refrigerator. Gorgeous formal courtyard with fountain and two additional Moorish fountains. All of this is framed with stunning formal gardens, imported marble statues (five total), and great Moorish limestone fixtures that sets this property apart from all others!

The mansion is ideally located between Fort Lauderdale and Miami. World renowned South Beach is just 25 minutes away. The home is close to both Miami and Ft. Lauderdale airports (FLA is only 5 miles away). Gulfstream Park (horse racing, gaming, dining, and entertainment) is just 7 minutes away. Hard Rock Hotel and Casino is just 15 minutes away. Only 17 minutes to Dolphins Stadium. Famous Ft. Lauderdale Beach is only 20 minutes away and charming Hollywood Beach (with the only beachfront boardwalk in Florida), is a short walk. Close to charming downtown Hollywood, with great shops, outdoor cafes, wine bars, jazz bars, and nightclubs. Aventura Mall is only a ten minute drive from here.

Rent jet skis just up the beach, or charter a fishing boat, etc. Most South Florida attractions are within 30 minutes driving time.

***Free beverages for guest arrivals (bottled water, sodas, imported and domestic beer) memory foam topped mattresses and new 600 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets on every bed)***

Keywords: Mansion, villa, vacation home, beach house, castle

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Property Manager
Richard Vest
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2016
Call Manager

About Richard Vest

I am originally from California but fell in love with south Florida and made it home for years. I purchased the Young Mansion and did a extensive five year renovation to return the house to its former glory. My plans changed and I decided to move back to California. It was hard leaving this beautiful home; staying in the Young Mansion is a one of a kind experience, you feel like you are living in a Andalusian or Tuscan villa. Great experience!

Richard Vest purchased this estate in 2002

Why Richard Vest chose Hollywood

This house has it all. It is close to the beach and it is a Spanish/Moorish architectural masterpiece. We fell in love with it the first time we saw it. The place is so sophisticated it really gives you the experience of living in another era.

What makes this estate unique

Huge pool, formal gardens, hardwood floors and cuban tile throughout the house. House was built with a unique craftsmanship that would be incredibly difficult to duplicate today. Insurance companies valued the replacement cost to reproduce a house of this magnitude to be valued at 5 million dollars because of the home's intricate details. The place is a destination unto itself and staying here is a total experience.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

Spectacular 8,000 square foot Mansion 5 blocks to the beach- huge beautiful pool
average rating of 4.709677 based on 31 reviews
5

Lovely retreat within walking distance....

  • 5 of 5

We had a large group of friends that all stayed at Young Mansion together for two weeks and we had a wonderful time! The house is beautiful albeit old which we loved. We cooked group meals in the large kitchen, ate in the large dining room or by the pool and lounged in the cabana all day. The pool table was a hit with everyone. We were there for the Superbowl and the living room and TV was large enough to accommodate our large group. Even the dog had fun chasing the lizards around the pool. Michael (the caretaker) was nearby and available whenever we ran across a problem or question (which is bound to happen with an old estate this large). Richard was very responsive by email or phone whenever we had a question and sent us a very exhaustive list of guidelines/suggestions to help us prior to checking in. The beds were very comfortable and water pressure/temp was great (which can be tricky in an old house) - no problems there! The only thing I can even think of to suggest would be a commercial coffee maker - we were a large group of coffee drinkers and made many pots a day with the 12 cup Mr. Coffee maker - but other than that we had a lovely time in a grand old house with many nooks and crannies to explore! We are already planning our trip back next year. Thanks again to Richard Vest and Michael Neal for a wonderful time!

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tricia and her group where a joy to host. We are glad they had a good time and loved her "commercial coffeemaker" suggestion. Today we ordered two additional coffee makers for the property. We value our guest feedback which led us to purchasing waffle makers, juice makers, etc... Feed back like this is so helpful for us and our future guests. Hope to see you back next year Tricia!
Did you find this review helpful?
11 2
5

To the owners, absolutamente magnífico.

  • 5 of 5

As my dear beautiful friend Nayano hosts week-long workshops at the Mansion often, we had a large group that stayed for 1 week and we had a wonderful time! (Please disregard the date as I wasn't able to select the correct date.) It's an amazing place to stay; the feel, the warmth, the architecture, the detail, etc., etc. I could definitely go on and on. The owners did an amazing job with restoration. And needless to say, we had several amazing meals in that beautiful kitchen. As for the TV, pool table, etc., I have to say that we spent hte majority of the visit enjoying great meals, conversation, relaxing by the pool or enjoying a walk on the beach. I don't recall that we had any issues during our stay but I have to believe that the caretaker and owners would've been very responsive. Though unlikely due to personal difficulties, hopeful to be able to visit again.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

The house was absolutely beautiful.

  • 5 of 5

Michael was extremely helpful. We had a couple of questions regarding a drip. He followed up very quickly. The house was well stocked in a great location and even nicer than the photos. 18 adult women with particular tastes celebrating a 50- year-old birthday we have absolutely no complaints. If ever in the area I would rent this mansion again.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

An amazing and beautiful property dated 1929 and many original architectural details.

  • 4 of 5

Our annual family reunion during the week of 8/6 was one of the best out of 13 so far, all due to this amazing home. There were 17 of us all sleeping comfortably with the aid of a few air mattresses on fold out couches. The kitchen was so roomy as to allow three to work on making meals without collision. Huge refrigerator and a gas stove/oven. Plenty of dishes and containers to support the clan. A massive wood table with 8 chairs but we managed to add several other chairs to seat 17. We spent time playing cards and celebrating my father's 90th birthday. Kudos to the house management who responded quickly to our requests. We needed the stair hand rail secured among a few other minor needs. Our only concerns were the traffic noise in the bedroom street side. This is only because the windows are original frames, and hardware. All the other bedrooms were reasonably quiet. This is a fine home for reunions but also perfect for murder mystery dinner games. Dark wood, metal work, thick drapery and stonework. We'd return should my father want to try for #14.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Beautiful spacious property with lots of character and charm

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic stay at the Young Mansion and I would highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying in the area. I had booked the property to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday with a suprise family reunion - the house was spacious and comfortable for the 20 of us with a beautiful pool and garden area to relax by during the day. Although the kitchen was very well equipped we purchased a couple of other items during our stay to cater for the specific requirements of our group - Richard was so accommodating and purchased these items from us at the end of our stay (something that he did not need to do but was much appreciated as could not be taken with us). Thank you Richard for sharing your beautiful house!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

A little old and outdated but very spacious and great pool

  • 3 of 5

The house is a little old and outdated but it's a historic marker of the owners who founded Hollywood Florida. The air conditioner didn't work that well in the bedrooms on the left side of the house. The backdoor going from the house to the courtyard to get to the pool locks so when you go out it locks you out. There is only cable in the living room but have Ruko (it's like Apple TV) in the other rooms. All the rooms had a TV. The pool and pool area is really really nice and clean. Very spacious to entertain. We had an issue with one of the toilets but the house manager responded immediately. Overall it would be like a 3 star resort.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is perplexing. The house is on the national historic register, not sure how to respond to “old and outdated”. What I can say is that as the owner of the house for the past 15 years my wife and I have personally invested approximately $800,000 to beautifully restore and upgrade this property….new roof, kitchen, bathrooms, imported marble statues, imported fountains, landscaping, the list goes on and on…..We had all air conditioning units service a month before summer, as we do every year, they all checked out fine and they are on Nest wifi thermostats which record the temperatures- after reviewing the records we show there are no issue with any of the four AC units, my house manager has confirmed this as well. The house has high grade Baldwin mortise handles and locks that need the button at the bottom pushed in to turn off the auto lock feature, we inform all guests of this and for the past eight years it has not been an issue. This is the first time we are hearing any problem about the door locks and unfortunately the guest didn’t communicate anything about this to our house manager or us during their weeklong stay. The entire house is under high-speed wifi-internet; television in the bedrooms is streaming with premium channels like Netflix, HBO, Showtime, and various other streaming channels. A year ago we installed high definition flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and chose a streaming video platform, as we have in our personal residence, our logic was that most guests are not local, are not familiar with local cable provider’s channel line up, and would rather have non-commercial programing. Three star resort????? Not even close, my wife and myself traveled to southern Spain after we bought the house and based our restoration on the many places we visited there such as Madrid, Seville, Granada, Cordoba, Toledo, and other areas of Andalusia. We won awards for our restoration and were on HGTV. Staying in a unique property like this, where you feel like you are vacationing in an Italian or Spanish villa, is not even close to a three star resort experience. Again this review is perplexing, these guests did request a late check out which we were not able to accommodate due to other guests checking in the same day. The house is huge, we pride ourselves on it's cleanliness, we needed the five hour time gap to properly prepare for the new guest's arrival.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Hollywood
Car: recommended

This lovely mansion just steps from lovely Hollywood beach and is ideally located between Fort Lauderdale and Miami. Ft. Lauderdale airport is approximately 10 minutes away and Miami airport is about 25 minutes away. Gulfstream Park (horse racing, gaming, dining, and entertainment) is just 5 minutes away. Hard Rock Hotel and Casino is only about 15 minutes away. Dolphins Stadium, site of Super Bowl XLI and famous Ft. Lauderdale beach is only a 15 minute car ride, Hollywood Beach just steps away with its great boardwalk, restaurants, shop and the Atlantic ocean. Also within walking distance is charming downtown Hollywood, with great shops, outdoor cafes, wine bars, jazz bars, nightclubs, etc.

From here you can rent jet skis just up the beach, or charter a fishing boat, etc. Most South Florida attractions are within 30 minutes driving time.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hollywood Lakes Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low Season
Aug 13 2016 - Dec 16 2016
4 night minimum stay
$990
$4,890
$17,980
 
 
High Season
Dec 17 2016 - Apr 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,390
$6,290
$22,980
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$990
$4,890
$17,980
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Cleaning $500 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $900
Tax Rate 11.0%

Holiday Rates: 4th of July week $6,980, Thanksgiving week $6,980, Christmas week $7,950, and New Years week $8,980

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Amenities

Hollywood Lakes Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 8000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
    Bathroom 6 - toilet
    Bathroom 7 - toilet , shower , located in cabana beside pool
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , Marble tiled master bathroom.
  • A lot of bathroom options in this house including a full bathroom out at the cabana by the pool. In addition to the seven bathrooms there is also an outdoor shower by the pool to rinse off sand from the beach.
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 26
  • Bedroom 6 - 1 double , Television & High Speed Wifi
    Bedroom 7 - 1 double , Convertible Bedroom- Television & High Speed Wifi
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen , Television, High Speed Wifi, and Decorative Fireplace
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Television & High Speed Wifi
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master with full bath, TV, High Speed Wifi, and fireplace
    Bedroom 4 - 2 queen , Television & High Speed Wifi
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , Bunk beds- Television & High Speed Wifi
    Bedroom 8 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Library- convertible bedroom
  • Six bedrooms + 2 additional convertible bedrooms: (two with kings size beds, two with two queen beds, one with full/twin bunkbed, and another with a full size bed), one convertible bedroom with a full-size bed, and library as another convertible bedroom with a sofa sleeper, plus 2 additional full size sleeper sofas. 13 beds total including
Entertainment:
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
One of a kind rental- guest keep coming back!

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties