check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Hidden Cove Cabin on Lake Hiwassee

6 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Murphy Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Handicapped Accessible Lakefront Cabin... Hidden Cove Cabin offers accommodations for ten people. It has three full bedrooms and a sleeping loft. Three queen-size beds and four twins, two full roomy bathrooms (main floor is fully Handicapped Accessible), woodstove with gas logs, washer and dryer, central heat and air, along with ceiling fans.

Outside you will find a screened porch and full deck with beautiful view, private deck on lower level, private fishing and swimming dock, and gas grill on deck. Additional amenities at Bear Paw include: two fully operational marinas, rental water craft, basketball courts, fishing pond for the kids, playground, and 24 hour security.

Keywords: Log Cabin

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Member since: 2000
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 29, 2016
Call Owner


based on 6 traveler reviews

Hidden Cove Cabin on Lake Hiwassee
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews
Batawa, Ontario, Canada

Enjoyable stay

  • 4 of 5

At the insistence of our son, we rented this cabin to get together with our three children, daughter in law, and girlfriend of one of our sons, all who live in different parts of the country. We tried to find a place an equal driving distance for them. We also needed a place fully accessible to our daughter, who is a paraplegic. We were quite pleased with the accessibility of the cabin, a large bathroom with a good shower and a bedroom on the main floor for her. Also, the entrance into the cabin was good for her as well. It was quite roomy for the 7 of us and had a sufficient amount of dishes for our meals. It also had a DVD player for the DVDs we brought with us. The fact that we had no internet was great for us to relax there. It did make us a little anxious that we had no cell phone coverage since our kids all arrived after dark and we were afraid they wouldn't be able to find the cabin on those winding roads. Our GPS gave us some trouble, but they all arrived safely and we had a great time together. It rained all week, but that was okay since we really wanted a place to visit, not to go do anything. It was nice there was a washer and dryer there (with detergent) since my husband and I had already been away from home a week. It was the perfect place to have a great visit with all our family.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Waynesville, NC

4th year our 6 Pack has rented from Owner and stayed at Lake Hiwassee

  • 4 of 5

We are a "6 pack" of women , who steal away to Lake Hiwassee after a long summer and before craziness and school starts back. This is the 4th year we've rented from the owner, and the 2nd year we've stayed in this cabin. It fits every need we have, and that would include NO cell service , unless we choose to find some! Guess what, our families survived without us and we return refreshed and renewed. You may even hear our group singing on the screened in porch, our favorite hang out! Perfect place for a girls get a way! I won't repeat the positive comments below but ditto them, and ignore the negative one. Obviously a true get a way in the mountains wasn't the place for this group.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 2 of 5

thinking this to be a lake side home with a green lush yard due to picture posted on line WE TOOK 11 FAMILY MEMBERS THERE 5 OF WHICH WERE HIGHLY ALERGIC TO POISON when we arrived I was shocked to find it totally in the woods with a down hill long hike to lake completely surrounded by poison of all sorts hardly any TV service and NO phone signal of any kind 15 miles to town to get a signal left owner a message to come see me and he said go to top of mountain to try for signal they also removed the photo showing nice green yard since we had driven 5 hrs with 5 kids and paid in cash up front we opted to stay but never again will I do either and I don't advise anyone to go here because what you going to do in case of emergency

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There has never been any picture or representation of a lush grassy yard around the house or down to the dock on my VRBO site or any other listing I have. This cabin is in the mountains and surrounded by beautiful trees and lake. It is in the woods. There is basic DISH satellite TV service with a DVD and VCR player. There are Verizon towers in the area. If you have another cell phone server, you may have difficulty staying connected 24/7. Cell service is sporadic here in the mountains due to the terrain. There is WIFI available at the Bear Paw clubhouse, no charge. This renter came in on Saturday. On Sunday, had the guard at security call me and left a message, but nothing specific. I returned her request and left two messages on her voice mail. No returned call. Also went out to the cabin on Monday to see what the problem might be. No one was there, all their stuff was. Left a note on the kitchen counter asking her to call me and let me know what problem she was encountering so we could remedy that. Never heard from her again until this review came up for posting. I have no idea what “POISON” she is talking about. She did “manage” to stay the entire week of her booking. From the comments in the guest book in the cabin, everyone else in her party had a great time. If you are allergic to clean mountain air, fresh cool mountain lake water or just can’t stand the thought of no constant hustle and bustle, maybe this isn’t the best place for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Boynton Beach, Florida

Great Cabin

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was in pristine condition when we arrived and had all of the amenities we needed for our week's stay. We were looking forward to using the basketball court in the recreational area but could not because both rims had been broken off the backboards. Also, at the time of our stay the tennis court was being refurbished so we were not able to use that either. The pool, however, was very nice and we did enjoy using it. The cabin is in a very unique and picturesque setting and we enjoyed being right on the lake. We fished extensively from the dock (which is in need of some repair) and caught a few fish and it was very convenient as our fishing guide was able to pick us up right at our dock. The only recommendation we would have would be a larger television in the living area and the addition of wi-fi access in the cabin. Due to the fact that we had a lot of rain during our week's stay, we spent quite a bit of time in the cabin so these amenities would have been useful to us. Overall, it was a wonderful stay and the owner was very responsive the couple of times we needed him. We will more than likely return to Hidden Cove in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Hinesville, GA

Wonder Place to unwind

  • 5 of 5

We spent Thanksgiving at the cabin. there were 11 of us staying the nights and had 4 extra people having Thanksgiving dinner with us. the cabin was better than the pictures and we all had a fabulous time. The only compaint that I had was that we couldn''t get cell phone signal at the cabin. In a way that was a good thing, because none of us were tied up on the phone during the trip. I could walk to the end of the long drive way and could usually pick up a signal to touch in with the rest of the family. I do intend to go back over and over again. You can't beat the price. I would highly recommend this place.

The owner was very helpful in everything I asked and was very friendly. The property was clean and well kept.

First floor is handicap accessible. So much to do within a half hour range. The recreation area in the housing area was great for the kids.

This place is breath taking gorgous!

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Avella, PA, USA

July 2010 Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Handicap accessibility was important, as one family member is a paraplegic. The house was everything advertised and was very clean. All of the beds were comfortable and everything worked properly. Parking is limited to about 3 vehicles and 1 trailer. There is a small dock, however it is not accessible by wheelchair. The stairs and trail to the dock is not suitable for the elderly or handicapped, the terrain is somewhat uneven and steep. This lakes level can be significantly different depending on rainfall. During this visit, it was as high as it can get and varied about a foot or so from morning to night. Water temp stayed at 84 degrees at the surface for the week. We were able to keep our 2 Sea Doo's and a pontoon boat at the dock for the week, the cove is extremely private and calm. Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 2


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Murphy Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Murphy Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Main floor bath is fully handicap accessible
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (4)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Handicapped Accessible Lakefront Cabin, NO PETS WITHOUT PRIOR CONSENT OF OWNER

Partner Offers