Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Charming Latin Quarter Apartment

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

1 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 2 adults

This spectacular two room apartment with a new kitchen and bath is located in a charming 19th century building very typical of the neighborhood. The apartment is well situated in the Latin Quarter near the Mouffetard market area. There are several bus lines and metro stop nearby. Bus 21 and 27 stop at the corner, and the nearest metro stop is Censier.

The apartment has west facing and east facing windows to provide a bright well lit space. The bedroom window faces a lovely courtyard. The kitchen and dining room window is street facing, yet has a new double glazed window to eliminate traffic noise. The apartment is up one flight of stairs.

The space is ideally suited for a couple. It cannot comfortably accommodate more than two people. The bedroom is equipped with a full sized new Simmons memory foam mattress. Also in the bedroom area is a flat screen color television; international channels are available. High speed internet access is available at no additional cost.

More Details

Owner
Kathryn Schummer
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
30%
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2016

Amenities

Val-de-Grâce Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Floor Area:
  • 290 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • The small, but tastefully redone bath, has a sink, toilet and shower. All linens and towels are provided, and a hair dryer is available.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
  • The bedroom is equipped with a full sized new Simmons memory foam mattress. Also in the bedroom area is a flat screen color television; international channels are available.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

Charming Latin Quarter Apartment
average rating of 4.352941 based on 34 reviews
Chicago
1

undisclosed issues

  • 1 of 5

My family rented this apartment in September 2016 for the two-week Christmas break for the listed price. We signed the rental agreement, paid the deposit and balance, and received keys before our arrival. We were so happy to be in Paris after so many years, but our stay was made untenable because of the following issues that were neither fixed, nor addressed nor warned of before our arrival:

• Lack of hot water in the kitchen. Instructed by Owner to boil water to wash dishes and cleanup.

• No oven, and no notice of this in advertising for apt.

• Apartment has limited electrical circuits, one of which blew out with a hair dryer and was not reactivated for 24 hours.

• Smoke detector siren from adjacent unit went off and was blaring for the next 48 HOURS STRAIGHT because 24/7 management was not located.

• Nonstop, noisy, noxious-smelling work in the hallways of the entire building (as well as specifically the unit’s front door) the entire length of our stay.

Finally, we were offered just two nights’ discount even though we were compelled to stay out of the apartment just for some peace and quiet. We would prefer not being lied to about the condition of our unit and the building. We could have rented a functioning apartment with reliable maintenance if we were given the facts.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Mission Hills, Kansas
5

Great location, quiet, comfortable apartment

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed in a lot of vacation rentals. None have been as well-equipped. Plenty of pots and pans. A roller cart to go to the nearby markets -- Rue Mouffetard is very close by. Plenty of thick, soft towels, bed pillows -- even an umbrella. The apartment is small, but wisely laid out, pretty, and very functional. I will be back!

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
1

Nice apartment, but severely lacking owner.

  • 1 of 5

The property was as advertised, nice apartment in a great neighborhood.

That said, dealing with Kathryn has been a nightmare. Our problems started the moment we paid our deposit. She promptly told us that she would be mailing a postbox key to us so we could get access to the apartment upon our arrival. The post box key never arrived. After numerous attempts to contact her, she advised me that the post box would be left unlocked.

Upon arrival we found an apartment that was not cleaned after the previous tenant. There was garbage, unmade beds, and a dirty kitchen. It was not acceptable to us. We tried to reach Kathryn, but she was unavailable. We were able to contact her on site representative and he told us that he could not clean the unit until tomorrow. That was unacceptable to us so we found a hotel room.

Kathryn agreed that the apartment was not right and to refund our payments. Unfortunately, she has again been totally unresponsive. It has been over a month and we still have not received our refund.

Nice apartment, but do not gamble on the owner.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: James, I appreciate your feedback but there was never a time that I did not let you know that you'd be receiving your refund. I never want a guest to have a bad experience - I am sorry that you did, but I fully refunded your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Apartment is neat clean and updated!

  • 5 of 5

This is a really nice apartment in a secure building about an 11 minute walk from the Port Royale rear stop and even closer to the metro. 10-15 minutes via metro to the Louvre. The Mouflrtard restaurant and outdoor market is nearby. Stock the fridge with fruit and get fresh bread every day. You can also cook if you are ambitious. The ability to make a pot of American coffee in the morning is great. If theres a downside to renting an apartment it's the absence of a concierge, but owner responds to questions and there are local contacts listed should problems arise. Taxis are available at the end of the street- in either direction. Have a blast!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful location, a few small issues

  • 4 of 5

Kathryn's apartment was in a great location for public transit and walking to shopping and tourist spots. It was as advertised and very fairly priced. The only slip ups were a sizable stain on the duvet, questionable shower cleanliness, and no toilet paper or bath soaps.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Acceptable

  • 2 of 5

Well equipped with dishes and food starters. The problem was the hall way to the apartment. Paint chips from the ceiling covered the carpet. This was also a problem in the apartment bathroom.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Gwenn, Yes the building lobby did require a repaint. I'm delighted to say that the project was voted on and nearly complete. Should you return, you'd find it looking wonderfully! Best, Kathryn
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Charles De Gaulle

There are many good restaurants, bakeries, delis, and shops in the neighborhood. The rue Mouffetard market is open Tuesday through Saturday and Sunday morning. ‘La Mouffe’ is the perfect spot to pick up artisinal cheeses, fabulous wines, fruits and vegetables, and crusty bread. Take your goodies back to the apartment, or stroll to the Luxembourg Gardens for a picnic. Mouffetard market is down the street, and the Gardens are about a ten minute walk from the apartment

Photos

Rates & Availability

Val-de-Grâce Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$106
 

Additional information about rental rates

50% payment taken at time of reservation; remaining 50% due 2 weeks prior to arrival.
Once made, payments are nonrefundable.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers