check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jan Russell

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Vacation in stylish comfort...

6 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms4
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Northeast Harbor Townhome Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, sleeps 6

This large, beautiful luxury town home in Northeast Harbor is one of two town homes located on a 1/3 acre parcel of property. The gracious front porch leads to a living room with a granite fireplace (gas fired) and adjacent dining room. Large family room, state of the art kitchen, full bath, window lined sunroom and a small separate office make up the rest of the first floor. The second floor is comprised of 3 bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and full laundry facilities. Private stone patio overlooking spacious lawn makes a wonderful place to relax and unwind. The home is just a few steps from golf, tennis and many of the hiking trails of Acadia. Stunning Somes Sound is just a two minute walk away.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jan Russell (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 6 traveler reviews

Vacation in stylish comfort...
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
5

Ideal setting to explore Acadia!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of six had a delightful stay at this Maine vacation home while exploring Acadia National Park. We hiked, toured the Rockefeller Bridges, had tea and popovers, discovered tide pools and relaxed on a carriage ride. This home was an ideal spot to refuel and rest between park adventures. The home is beautifully updated and spotlessly clean! The kids loved the connecting bedrooms and had fun exploring the backyard. The kitchen was well stocked for cooking meals. There is a small grocery store very nearby that has all the essentials. We enjoyed flipping through the many travel books and relaxing on the sun porch. The owner was very friendly and responded quickly to any questions we had prior to our arrival. This is a gem on Mt. Desert Island!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were so pleased to hear that your visit to our home was a successful experience for the whole family. We have loved this island for almost 40 years and are thrilled to read your comments. It sounds like you managed to hit a lot of the high points but come back....we are still discovering new things after all this time and would love to have you visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home! Perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

This duplex/coach house is exactly as advertised. Spacious and meticulous with a very private and picturesque yard. We are a family with two teens and we had more than enough room to spread out. Beds were comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked. Ideally located to explore both the more touristy Bar Harbor, and the "Quiet Side" of Mount Desert Island. Don't miss Sargeant Drive! It's among of the prettiest scenic roads we've ever seen. And every part of Acadia we explored was stunning!

(The only minor 'issue' we had was with low water pressure in the master shower, but it wouldn't keep us from returning again.) Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased to see your kind comments about our place! It sounds like you hit all the high points of this beautiful island. Thanks for the heads up on the master bath shower....must be time for a new water filter....sorry about that. We hope you will visit the Island and Belle Clair again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oak Point, TX 75068
5

Beautiful home in Maine

  • 5 of 5

Maine in September was lovely! The home was very spacious and beautifully decorated. It was extremely clean and welcoming with fresh flowers and a personal sign at driveway!! Nice touch!

The beds and linens were wonderful and we certainly enjoyed all the sights and shops in Bar Harbor, Northeast Harbor and in Acadia National Park. we hiked, shopped and ate some delicious lobster, lobster, lobster and more lobster! We hope to return again!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Newton, MA
5

Loveliest vacation home we've ever rented!

  • 5 of 5

In the 20 or so years my husband and I have been renting houses for family vacations, this is the nicest house we've ever rented, period. The house has an extraordinary spaciousness, elegance, and friendly feel to it that photos can't fully convey. We rented this house for a week each of the past two summers and would have gladly returned this year but for the complex schedules of grown children. Having spent many family vacations on Mt. Desert Island (renting houses in NE Harbor, SW Harbor and Bass Harbor) this is the one we plan to return to again and again.

Designed by an architect for his own family, the house is beautifully furnished and filled with light. A huge, well-appointed kitchen with granite counters makes meal preparation a delight. A lovely backyard with great seating for reading and relaxing makes it a wonderful place to hang around before and after enjoying all the pleasures of Acadia National Park. Its location, off Sargent Drive (perhaps the most scenic public road in the country) and near downtown Northeast Harbor, can't be beat, though you'll need a car to fully enjoy the location.

The tasteful elegance of the house blew us away the first time we saw it, yet the house is warm and friendly, too. Our teenage/young adult children love the place as well (hooray for individual bathrooms for each large and airy bedroom!). There is ample room for both togetherness and privacy. So many vacation homes we've rented have been great locations but otherwise mildly disappointing: functional, but cheaply furnished and with little attention to style or aesthetics. This house is truly a joy to be in.

The owner is delightful and dealing with her has been a genuine pleasure. I would recommend this property in a heartbeat to anyone seeking a spacious and elegant house near Acadia National Park. Though not ideal for small children (the furnishings are way too nice!), it's perfect for families with teens and would be a great place for 2-3 adult couples vacationing together.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glowing from your kind words but would like to add that in the last 4 years we have had dozens of children under 12 and never had to collect a security deposit. Must be the echos of my yelling 'keep your feet off the couch' to our son still reverberating through the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Newton, MA
5

Loveliest vacation house we've ever rented!

  • 5 of 5

In the 20 or so years my husband and I have been renting houses for family vacations, this is the nicest house we've ever rented, period. While the photos are accurate, they don't do the house justice for it has an extraordinary spaciousness, elegance, and friendly feel to it that photos can't convey. We rented this house for a week each of the past two summers and would have gladly returned this year but for the complex schedules of grown children. Having spent many family vacations on Mt. Desert Island (renting houses in NE Harbor, SW Harbor and Bass Harbor) this is the one we plan to return to again and again.

Designed by an architect for his own family, the house is beautifully furnished and filled with light. A huge, well-appointed kitchen with granite counters makes meal preparation a delight. A lovely backyard with great seating for reading and relaxing makes it a wonderful place to hang around before and after enjoying all the pleasures of Acadia National Park. Its location, off Sargent Drive (perhaps the most scenic public road in the country) and near downtown Northeast Harbor, can't be beat, though you'll need a car to fully enjoy the location.

The tasteful elegance of the house blew us away the first time we saw it, yet the house is warm and friendly, too. Our teenage/young adult children love the place as well (hooray for individual bathrooms for each large and airy bedroom!). There is ample room for both togetherness and privacy. So many vacation homes we've rented have been great locations but otherwise mildly disappointing: functional, but cheaply furnished and with little attention to style or aesthetics. This house is truly a joy to be in.

The owner is delightful and dealing with her has been a genuine pleasure. I would recommend this property in a heartbeat to anyone seeking a spacious and elegant house near Acadia National Park. Though not ideal for small children (the furnishings are way too nice!), it's perfect for families with teens and would be a great place for 2-3 adult couples vacationing together.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glowing from your kind words but would like to add that in the last 4 years we have had dozens of children under 12 and never had to collect a security deposit. Must be the echos of my yelling 'keep your feet off the couch' to our son still reverberating through the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
New Orleans
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house and yard were beautiful and the owners were very accommodating and helpful.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Car: recommended

Northeast Harbor on Mt. Desert Island is a quiet, quaint village highlighted by a remarkably beautiful harbor filled in the summertime with the spectacular motor yachts and sailing ships of the significant summer population. If you would like large crowds of people, souvenir shops, ice cream stores and countless hotels and B & B’s I would suggest Bar Harbor 15 minutes away. However, Northeast Harbor has a few fine antique shops, several clothing stores, superb art galleries, a few restaurants, a couple of coffee shops, a hardware store, a wonderful grocery store with organic and local foods and one very good all round video/books/magazines/espresso/candy/Maine memorabilia etc. called McGrath's. We have tennis, golf, a ferry service to the outer islands, a fabulous new library and of course, Acadia National Park with its miles of hiking trails and carriage paths. Many of the walking trails begin within 1 mile of Northeast Harbor.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Northeast Harbor Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 3 2016 - Oct 29 2016
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 9.0%

Pets considered with $100 non-refundable fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Northeast Harbor Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Village
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Each bedroom has private bath. Master has tub and shower. Bedrooms 2 & 3 have showers only.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 5 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers