Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Summer Fun-Swimming, Boating, Fishing and More!

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms2
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

6 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 kitchens, hot tub, 3 boats, sleeps 16

Lake Rescue Chalet is an amenity-packed lake house with a private dock and three boats!

This cozy chalet has everything you need to feel at home on your getaway with family or friends: Six bedrooms. Two kitchens – one new, one recently renovated – two family rooms and two dining rooms. Plenty of room for your group of family or friends! Two large decks surrounded by pine trees. A large yard for playing or relaxing. A glorious outdoor hot tub to sink into on a cool summer evening. Close proximity to the region’s largest and most beautiful lake, 200-acre Lake Rescue, with your own private dock and three boats.

Let’s be clear – it’s a lakeside chalet, not the Ritz. Many of the bedrooms are small, as they are with many lake area homes, and there’s a breathtakingly large amount of knotty pine in this chalet built n the 1970s. Chipmunks occasionally scamper in the door. In spring cold nights and warm days sometimes attract ants, though we spray every month. But the public areas are cozy, the windows upstairs are enormous, there’s a closet full of games, you don’t have to worry about your little ones breaking stuff, and the outdoor spaces are breathtaking.

Lake Rescue Chalet sleeps 16 people on two levels that feature three bedrooms apiece. Upstairs and down are connected by a wrought-iron spiral staircase, and each level has its own bathroom, fireplace, TV and VCR. Upstairs has a large-screen HDTV. It's a terrific home for families and friends who want to spend time together but also cherish their privacy.

In spring and summer, your group has exclusive use of a canoe and two kayaks at our private dock 1 minute down the dirt road -- as well as swimming, fishing, golfing, sunbathing or relaxing in two handcrafted wood park benches! Barbecue on the huge front deck, watch the great blue herons that live just over the ridge, play volleyball in the large yard, roast marshmallows over the fire pit, nap in a hammock in the woods, go hiking, take the family on a picnic, or go road or mountain biking. At night, watch the stars while relaxing in the hot tub on the back deck.

(The address is 26 Benson Point Rd, https://goo.gl/maps/5hErhjVrWZz)

9% VT lodging tax, $200 cleaning and $100 hot tub payment will be added to total rent, as well as a CSA travel insurance payment.

A ONE-WEEK rental is required in July and August, Sunday to Sunday.

FALL FOLIAGE season is also very popular.

IN WINTER -- Little Brook House is just 3.5 miles from Okemo Mountain Resort and 11 from Killington Skyeship. It is available as a winter seasonal rental, or for winter weeks and weekends.

More Details

Owner
Lisa
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 29, 2017

About Lisa

We're a family of four who love the mountains and the outdoors. We lived in New York for two decades before relocating to Colorado during the recession. We get back to Vermont as often as we can!

Lisa purchased this chalet in 2000

Why Lisa chose Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area

We love Lake Rescue Chalet because of its access to Okemo Ski Resort in winter -- just five minutes down the road -- and to Lake Rescue in summer for swimming, boating and fishing. We like its homey, woodsy feel, and the flat yard for volleyball and other fun activities. We love to sit around the fire pit toasting marshmallows at the end of the day.

What makes this chalet unique

We love that the lake is just a two-minute walk, so we never had to worry about the kids stepping outside and drowning when we weren't looking. We added two huge decks in the front and the back so that we could truly live outdoors. The hot tub feels like a wonderful luxury. We also love the two living areas so that we can send the kids downstairs to watch their movies while the adults hang upstairs sometimes.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I just wanted to thank you again for letting us rent your Lake House. We all had a great time. The house was very comfortable and clean, and well stocked. Getting in and out was a breeze, and we left everything as we found it.



Thanks,
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Ludlow Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double
  • One room has a bunk bed. There is a new sleep sofa on each level. The house also has a pack-n-play, a highchair and a booster seat to accommodate babies and small children.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat Dock
  • Canoe
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Okemo is just three miles down the road. Killington Skyeship is 11 miles north. Nearby you can go to the Jackson Gore Spring House and enjoy a health club, racquetball, swimming and more! You'll also find XC skiing, sledding and ice skating nearby.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Summer Fun-Swimming, Boating, Fishing and More!
average rating of 4.24 based on 28 reviews
5

Great property

  • 5 of 5

Great property

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for visitig us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good Place for a Large Group

  • 4 of 5

Nice place that accommodated a large group rather comfortably. Wasn't quite as close to water as we had anticipated (short walk down to the dock). Overall though, certainly satisfied with our stay. Recommended.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Did not meet expectations

  • 2 of 5

In a short summary: the pictures on the listing and description of the property are out of date and misleading. Do not expect what you see or read until it is updated to reflect the current condition of the property.

In detail: The house is severely outdated, the pictures of the interior and exterior are from when it was first built/redone. The deck is close to falling down, every time we walked it moved and the railings were bowed out bad. There is only one grill, not two as listed. All three sliders are a workout to open and close. There was no wood inside (despite the description) and what was under the tarp was too damp to use. The dock is much further away than it shows/explains in the pictures and was not put into the lake upon arrival despite the owner knowing we were bringing our boat. The property manager did come and put it in, but only after he and the owner made us feel bad as the lake was still chilly. There are ants everywhere! In the beds, all over the house - do not leave any food on the counters, even during dinner as they will run all over it. The smoking policy is a joke as we spent the first hour of our stay cleaning up the property of butts so our pups didn't eat them. If you are planning on a large group, draw straws for the internet as it is very very slow and a younger crowd needing their tech fix will find it super difficult. The only good thing I can say is the kitchens were fully stocked with utensils and cookware which you don't often find in rentals.

We tried to express our concerns to the owner during our stay but when she did respond to us, she was hesitant to accept that her cleaning lady, property manager and herself were at fault for any of it. Had we known the shape the house was in, we wouldn't have paid as much as we did. Super disappointed as we have properties of our own and have rented several others and have never had an experience like this nor have our renters with us. Will not stay again.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter was determined to find everything wrong about the house that she could because when she arrived on Memorial Day weekend, the dock hadn’t been put in the water yet. It was the first time in 16 years, because it had been an unusually cold spring and the water was still icy. Only two homes on the entire lake had their docks in. When she called the property manager, he was very responsive and put the dock in within two hours, despite the frigid water. In addition, it seems a previous renter had smoked by the fire pit, which is against house rules. This is the sort of issue our house instructions tell renters they can call the cleaning service about, but they didn’t. They just complained. (They did tell me the rest of the house was quite clean.) They also report an ant problem -- we have a regular exterminator, but sometimes in early spring, when nights are cold and days are warm, ants go into the house when they can’t get into their frozen homes. This happens because the house is in the woods and nature happens. Rather than telling staff, this renter chose to suffer silently and then publicly complain later. We sent in the exterminator immediately after seeing this review, and the house is now ant-free. On the internet speed – it’s a rural area. We have the fastest Internet available, but the speed in the Green Mountains is not going to be the same as at home in a bigger city. It is fast enough to stream movies. The deck is not falling apart. It is solidly built. One railing has a little wiggle, but it is not falling off or a danger to anyone – it just leans to the left. We offered this renter a significant refund and remedied every problem we could yet she still wasn’t satisfied. Some people never are. We put a lot of time and money into this house and we feel we give families and groups a warm, comfortable vacation. The other reviews reflect this.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

A great property in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We spent a weekend in the chalet in April, before boating season, and still had an incredible time because of the beautiful property. This chalet is perfect for a large group, with two kitchens and several rooms as well as pull out beds for extra space. I seriously recommend renting this property and especially through HomeAway.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Everything we hoped for

  • 5 of 5

The place was amazing, with ample space as well as parking. And the 2nd kitchen came in handy when cooking for 12.

It was also extremely helpful that Lisa spelled everything out clearly, both in email and with a binder in the home to help us know all the workings of the cabin.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The owner is very responsive

  • 3 of 5

Here is the important thing. The owner is really responsive and cares a lot about this property and your experience. I am confident my stay was not typical. The cleaning crew had definitely slacked off before our arrival which made things disappointing. This is the reason I give it 3 stars. The condition at the time was sub par. That said the owner was responsive to our feedback and took great concern to it. I am appreciative of her attention. Aside from this, the location itself is great. Right near Okemo which had a nice summer festival going on over the holiday weekend. The area of VT is beautiful.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Rutland
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Christopher's
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Okemo Golf Course
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Rutland
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
91 and 103
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Echo Lake Inn
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Okemo Mountain Resoirt
Car: necessary

Lake Rescue Chalet – An Amenity-Packed Lake and Ski House Minutes with a private dock and three boats! This house has it all – a glorious outdoor hot tub to sink into on a cool summer evening or after a vigorous day skiing. Six bedrooms. Two kitchens, two living rooms and two dining rooms. Plenty of room for your group or family! Lake Rescue Chalet sleeps 16 people on two levels that each feature full living areas – including a kitchen/living/dining room – and three bedrooms apiece. Upstairs and down are connected by a wrought-iron spiral staircase, and each level has its own bathroom, fireplace, TV and DVD player. Upstairs has a new flat screen TV. Downstairs has a new kitchen and carpeting.

It's a terrific home for families and friends who want to spend time together but also cherish their privacy.

Other Activities: Skiing, ice skating, sledding, snowshoeing in winter. Dock, boats, fishing in spring, summer and fall.

Golf: Golf nearby at Okemo, Chester, Springfield, Stratton, Woodstock, Killington and more! There's also mini-golf up the road.

Ski: Choose from nine ski areas within 30 miles -- the closest are Okemo, just three miles down the road, and the six-mountain Killington (12 miles to Skyeship) with sister Pico (18 miles). Stratton, Bromley, Magic Mountain, Mount Snow, and others are a stone's throw farther. Prefer cross-country? Step outside onto the frozen-over lake, or drive to some terrific XC areas nearby (Okemo Golf Club, Hawk Mountain Resort, mountain meadows, local parks). You'll also find hunting, snowmobiling, horse-drawn sleigh rides, snowshoeing, and more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ludlow Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
JUNE
May 26 2017 - Jun 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$375
Fri,Sat
$1,600
 
 
SUMMER
Jun 30 2017 - Sep 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,050
 
 
Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 5 2017
2 night minimum stay
$245
From
$295
Fri,Sat
$1,060
 
 
Fall Peak Foliage
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$375
Fri,Sat
$1,360
 
 
CHRISTMAS
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$585
From
$720
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,750
 
 
NEW YEARS
Dec 28 2017 - Jan 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$795
$4,995
 
 
WINTER PEAK
Jan 3 2018 - Jan 11 2018
2 night minimum stay
$530
From
$635
Fri,Sat
$3,290
 
 
MLK WEEKEND
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$740
$3,950
 
 
Winter Peak
Jan 16 2018 - Feb 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$530
From
$635
Fri,Sat
$3,290
 
 
President's Week
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 25 2018
3 night minimum stay
$605
From
$740
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,950
 
 
June
Jun 1 2018 - Jun 29 2018
2 night minimum stay
$275
$1,600
 
 
Summer
Jul 1 2018 - Sep 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,050
 
 
FALL
Sep 4 2018 - Oct 5 2018
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$325
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$295
 

Additional information about rental rates

Hot Tub $100 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Holidays (non-winter) -- Sundays considered weekend nights; $200 surcharge.
Weekend rates 12/24 & 25.
Pets--$69 CSA travel ins. pmnt.
Summer rentals--Sun-Sun. Check-in 4PM; check-out 11AM
Linens & bath towels provided.
WINTER SEASONAL rental-$16K plus util. Plowing included. No tax.
SCAMMER ALERT: DO NOT send wire transfers. Pay thru this website only.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable