Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Super Location! No TAXES on 30+ Day Rentals!!!!!!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 850 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1BR-1BH Oceanside Vacation Rental South Padre Island, Texas USA

SPI Tax Permit 2017 109398. South Padre Island is one of the finest recreational areas in the world. Our condo at Gulfview I offers all the amenities one could ask for in a one-bedroom condo, including a full kitchen with everything needed to prepare a gourmet meal or reheat a pizza in the microwave.

For those downtime moments away from the beaches, we have large wall-mount TVs with cable service in both the Living room and bedroom that include HBO/Cinemax.

All new furniture, tile floor, stove and microwave combo, too.

The bedroom is spacious and has two full-size beds. All necessary sheets and towels are supplied. I keep children's beach toys readily available in the kitchen pantry.

The third-floor balcony provides a space to kick back and enjoy the view of the ocean and the jetties. Then take a swim in the Olympic-plus size swimming pool, or enjoy basking in the luxury of one of the two whirlpool spas. Afterward, take a walk on the pristine beach where you can collect some shells, try out your new surfboard, or do some windsurfing.

The Schlitterbahn Water Park is located just across the street.

Activities: Do not worry about parking spaces; just keep your auto at Gulfview I and walk over to buy your ticket and enjoy a fun-filled day of water sports for the entire family at Schlitterbahn. Our manager has DISCOUNTED tickets for Schlitterbahn.

If you are not too exhausted from your day activities, you'll have restaurants, nightclubs, or a cruise on an offshore gambling vessel to choose among at night.

Brownsville is only 30 minutes away, and prides itself on the Gladys Porter Zoo -- one of largest and most comprehensive zoos in the United States. And world-class golfing is located at Laguna Vista, only a few minutes' drive from the Island.

The close proximity to Mexico (45 minutes) provides the vacationer an opportunity to enjoy a south-of-the-border experience. Dine or dance to a Latin beat at Garcia's, or visit the Mercado where you can buy gifts for everyone for only a few pesos.

Pets: Absolutely NO PETS unless the owner agrees to it. Steam Cleaning fee of $150.00 for dogs.

Payment: The owner only takes PAYPAL or might agree to a check or money order if it is mailed overnight. It is not rented until the money is received; other wise, it is available on a first come first serve basis. Condo is not put on hold due to an inquiry. Must book right away or lose out to other waiting customers. I do not log my rentals into the HomeAway website as I simply do not have the time to post or edit rental dates or entry and exit times. Just email me.

More Details

Owner
Dr. Wilkinson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 12, 2017

About Dr. Wilkinson

I lived in South Padre Island as a child on a houseboat when there weren't any paved streets and just one small hotel. I recall lots of coyotes roaming the sand dunes and eating lots of fish and duck for dinner. I still have some of the huge conch shells that we collected on the beach. After, my husband and I bought the condo in 1987, we lived there for about one and a half years.

Dr. Wilkinson purchased this condo in 1987

Why Dr. Wilkinson chose Texas Gulf Coast

Location, Location, Location.

NO TAXES on 30 DAY Rentals!!!!!!

What makes this condo unique

Home away from home, very restful with a great hot tub and very short walk to beach or Isla Blanca Park or the restaurants across the street.

Amenities

South Padre Island Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Extra towels provided, but you are welcome to bring your own if you prefer.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeper Sofa
  • Extra sheets and linens provided, but you are welcome to bring your own if you prefer.
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
I charge a refundable deposit of $50.00 to cover lost Guest Wrist Bands and car tags and a deposit of $200 for all Spring Breakers during the month of March. I do charge a $65 cleaning fee. Summer season monthly rentals are $3,200 and Winter season is $1,200. All fees may be negotiable depending on the number of days or months that a customer wishes to rent and current demand.

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

44% Complete
22% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
22% Complete
Super Location! No TAXES on 30+ Day Rentals!!!!!!
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 9 reviews
Laredo ,texas
4

Buena

  • 4 of 5

Es muy cómodo y cerca de la playa 😎

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Okay Property, But Terrible Experience

  • 1 of 5

We knew we were not booking a 5 star property, but we were very disappointed with our experience. There were 3 main problems:

First, the owner did not contact us via email as was promised to tell us how to get into the condo. Thus, we had to arrive a day late.

Second, there were bugs in the condo. We saw a roach on the counter the first night and had a cricket jump in my husbands lap while sitting on the sofa. Those were not a big deal. But, my husband started getting small bites all over his lower body from the first night of sitting on the sofa. We went to the office manager to complain and she told us that the unit next door had complained of a similar problem. My husband had over 30 bites.

Third, there was terrible customer service. We complained to the owner and she was extremely dismissive. First, she said it was just "fine sand" causing the problems. But we had not even gone to the beach at that point. She did pay to have an exterminator come, and spray the sofa and they could not find any bugs. She had the sofa cleaned and then told us that the cleaners told her that people often make up stories about bugs to get out from their contracts. I could not believe what she was insinuating. We would never make up such a story. I then sent her pictures of the bites. After seeing them she said we must have brought them into her unit. What??? We had not had any problem with bites until we arrived there, and the unit next door had the exact same problem. She said my husband must have picked up chiggers or fleas in the grass...but he had not even gone in any grass. We complained to VRBO and they were nice enough to give us two nights away at a local hotel. We got no bites while we were away. But when we returned, the bites started again. We complained again and the owner started blaming us again for bringing the bugs...which she was also saying did not exist in the first place. She would not give us any discount or allow us to depart early and get a refund. Again, we were not expecting a 5 Star place, but we were expecting some sort of understanding or customer service. It was a terrible experience and all but ruined our plans for a relaxing getaway on the Island.

From our vast experience in traveling all over the world, there are often problems that arise. That is to be expected. But you can tell a good property from a bad one based on how the owner/manager responds to the complaints. Her response was completely unacceptable.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was gracious enough not to rate these customers despite all the problems they gave me and our manager's office. #1.) I tried to contact them one week prior to their arrival with no response. They changed their phone number and didn't link their email address to the new phone and forgot to notify me. I thought I had been scammed. #2.) They arrived one day late because they chose to visit family in Kerrville. Not because I did not contact them. Finally, they did contact me and apologized profusely. #3.) They were in my condo for 3 full nights before reporting husband had bug bites. He went fishing prior to these "bug" bites appearing and could have picked up something there or during his prior stay in Kerrville. #4.) The pest control people, in the presence of my manager, professionally checked the sofa and both beds and could not find any evidence of any bugs what so ever. Both beds are wrapped in plastic mattress covers and have been since they were bought. #5.) My family and I immediately went to the condo after this guest left and spent 3 nights on the sofa, and both beds. And Voila! , No bugs seen and no bites on us either. #6.) The previous long term renters and their guest and seven renters after this guest had no bug bites. #7.) Per my condo manager, no bugs were ever found on the sofa in the unit next to mine. That sofa was treated just to appease that long term renter. My sofa was also treated and hand cleaned to appease these two renters. #8.) Our condo units are totally sealed off from one another so nothing can enter from one unit to the other. #9.) The last time we had a dead bug in the A/C closet was after a hurricane and that pipe opening was totally sealed off. #10.) There are no roaches to be seen at night on the sidewalks or walls of this complex. We keep it in tip top shape with pest control to each unit and perimeters on a monthly basis. #11.) These renters saw a cricket when it is not even "cricket season"! They blamed the small dog next door and raccoons they saw by the trash dumpster. #12.) I wanted the pest control guy to find some bugs for me so that I could in turn blame these guests for bringing them into my condo. But he could not find any for me!!!!!! #13.) I do believe the husband had a skin condition caused by sand, sand fleas, or dust mites from his fishing equipment. #14.) My manager had no other available units to rent out. We are popular. #15.) Their congregation paid the rent and they wanted to pocket $1K refund.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excelente lo recomiendo mucho

  • 5 of 5

muchoEs una muy buena opcion para vacacionar lo recomiendo mucho

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great 2-day getaway for the Summer Causeway Run

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Dr Wilkinson's condo for two nights, getting to the island Friday evening to be ready to go early Saturday morning for the Summer Causeway Run. The condo was conveniently located a walking distance away from the start of the race at Schlitterbahn. The condo was a perfect size for the three of us. We put the little one's pack 'n play in between the two full size beds in the bedroom, with a little room to spare to access the side of one of the beds. Beds were comfortable enough, kitchen well stocked, and overall the whole place was clean and cozy. Beach is easily accessible through the parking lot of the Schlitterbahn Resort and Gulfview II condos (on the same side of the pool, where there is a overhead and foot shower to rinse off the sand from the beach!). Would consider staying here again esp for the reasonable rate and nice beach area nearby.

One tip: if the hot water is turned on in the bathroom or kitchen faucet, the water out of the shower suddenly turns cold!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Very reasonably priced for summer, we had a blast!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was great, we had plenty of room and the pool was refreshing. It is so close to schlitterbauhn you can walk and enjoy the park with out the expensive hotel prices. Every night there are people BBQ'n out at the grills, the guests were freindly as well as the staff. My family and I had a great stay at the island, everything was awesome.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Fair

  • 3 of 5

We had a dog, with no carpets didn't have to worry about the floor. The beds were very comfortable. The cleaning and service staff were A plus. The stove needs updating as do kitchen equipment. Shower water has a problem going hot to cold your in it.very good for the cost! MW

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: New stove to be delivered soon. Refrigerator is new. Microwave and coffee maker in great shape. All small kitchen appliances are fairly new --bought within the past two or three years and are rarely used. I will report water issue to condo management. I would have had them check it out if I had been notified sooner while guests were in residence.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Harlingen International Airport
Car: recommended

Visit Matamoros in Mexico across the International Bridge. Visit Laguna Atascosa Wildlife Refuge for bird or wildlife watching. Or just surf, hangglide, sun and tan, ride horses, walk on the beach, bicycle, or sleep late.

Golf: Golfing available at Laguna Vista and in Brownsville about 20 miles away on Hwy 44 and in Harlingen next to the Border Patrol station.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Pet Fee $100

This is a first-come, first-serve type of rental during the Summer Season from April thru August. No Partial payments. Do try and book it right away as I cannot hold it for anyone. Payment is due in full at the time of the booking. I do not keep up with the HomeAway online rental calendar except for the months of January thru the end of March. This condo has a strict Occupancy of six people.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.