check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Jonathan O'Hare

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Luxury Vacation Home between the Notch & the Lakes

10 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Waterville Valley Area House Rental Photos and Description

3 bdrms (1)king+(1)full+(2)xl twn, 2.5 bath, loft w/ pullout sofa, sleeps 8

Large custom built mountain style home includes great room with 16' tall granite fireplace (wood for burning included), leather coaches with enough seating for 9+ people, HDTV with HD cable. Great room has 25' high vaulted ceiling with large windows. 200 sq ft loft area over great room can be extra sleeping area. Interior has exposed timber construction that utilizes trees cut on the property. Secluded on hill top with partial mtn views in developed neighbor with paved access. Plenty of parking and (2) car garage.

Access to peak foliage season attractions such as Flume Gorge, the Basin, Old Man and major ski resorts, such as Waterville Valley ( 12miles), Loon Mtn( 14miles), Cannon Mtn, Tenney Mtn. Also just a short drive from beautiful Squam Lake a.k.a. Golden Pond. Located off Waterville Valley exit 28 from I-93.

Property is within a few miles of a driving range and Benton's Sugar Shack on Rte 175. Nearby Campton village offer close amenities such as groceries, bank, restaurants and pub.

White Mountain Skiing: Waterville Valley (12 miles); Loon Mountain (14 miles); Tenney Mountain (17 miles); Cannon Mountain (~25 miles)

Foliage Season: House is well within the White Mountain Region and surrounded by forest. White Mountain National Forest entrance in Waterville Valley is only 10 miles away by road, with numerous hiking trails. The Basin and Flume Gorge make nice spots for autumn rambles. Just a short drive north is the Kancamagus Highway, where you'll find the most impressive foliage drive in New England, if not the world. Leaf peepers drive extremely slow because they can barely look at the road!

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Jonathan O'Hare (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Jonathan O'Hare

Nature lover, husband, father of three boys.

Jonathan O'Hare purchased this house in 2008

Why Jonathan O'Hare chose Waterville Valley Area

Custom built with timber cut down on the property. This is a real mountain home. It is teh best way to enjoy New Hampshire in peace and comfort

Guestbook comments from the owner

Jon and Liz,

We had an amazing time in NH! As you'll see in our guest book entry,

almost everything we did was a recommendation you made. We didn't

note it in our entry but on the way home we did do the trail in

Holderness to the lookout over Squam Lake and went to lunch at Walters

Basin, as suggested. All wonderful. The house is so beautiful.
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 1


based on 10 traveler reviews

Luxury Vacation Home between the Notch & the Lakes
average rating of 4.5 based on 11 reviews
International member

The Perfect Private Sanctuary

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of guys from NYC interested in exploring NH mountains. This property was the perfect sanctuary for our expedition. It was within 20 minutes to all three mountains we explored, Waterville Valley, Cannon, Loon. We fell asleep on several occasions on the comfortable couches near the fireplace. We discovered a wonderful weekend restaurant nearby for breakfast...and a great convenience store with a butcher. We picked up some steaks to marinate overnight and grilled the next day after a day on the slopes.

The house was just perfect. We will definitely choose this property for our next NH excursion. The owner was a pleasure to deal with.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Pristine and spacious vacation rental

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous time at this beautiful vacation home. House was perfectly maintained and in pristine condition. It was very spacious, beautiful and fully stocked. We could not get enough of the magnificent views overlooking the mountains - I enjoyed my coffee on the deck every morning. We stayed at this home with our five children and it was just the perfect vacation. Our kids loved the foosball table and air hockey in the basement. The high chair and Pack N Play were helpful as well. Jon was a pleasure to deal with and we really look forward to coming back to this great place again - really soon!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect weekend!

  • 5 of 5

The house had everything we needed and with a 2 car garage it made unloading the cars easy. Jon was very helpful in suggesting places to go which worked out great. Added bonus was we had some snow which made skiing ideal and the driveway was even sanded since it's on a hill. Can't wait to head back up.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect Winter Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Exactly as described by owner, perfect home for a winter retreat. Location was very private and with amazing views. Home is very spacious with an open floor plan. Owner was very helpful and offered many recommendations regarding local shops and surrounding amenities. Can't wait to come back again!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Poor maintenance and customer service

  • 1 of 5

Arrived at the property and soon realized that there was an unpleasant odor coming from the upstairs bathroom. We turned the bathroom fan on with the hope that the odor will eventually go away, which it did not over the course of the next 3 days (it was also noticeable in one of the bedrooms). We have stayed at the same house a few years back and this time we realized that there were no improvements since that time. Also if you care about internet connection the quality of the connection in this house is extremely poor. After our stay we requested the security deposit back which the owner was already late in returning. The return was partial and he claimed that he did repair work at the upstairs bathroom for damages that we caused which was definitely not the case. In conclusion we will not be returning to this property any time soon.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: My appologies for the odor. This may have been cause by ice forming inside the gas vent on the roof and not the toilet. This will be addressed for the coming season so that it does not happen again. I also appologize again for the late security deposit reimbursement. The property manager could not unclog the toilet and required calling a plumber whose bill I didn't receive for some time. I needed to wait for the bill to calculate the difference from the security deposit.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Holbrook, Massachusetts

Gorgeous and Spacious Winter 2011

  • 4 of 5

My family stayed at this wonderful home for xmas week 2011 (the review doesn't allow us to say a date that far in the past). Very Nice home with all the comforts of our own. Large Hill can be difficult to get up in ice/snow weather...but well worth the views. Would recommend staying again.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
110 Miles
Boston Logan Airport
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Weirs Beach
Nearest Motorway
9 Miles
Nearest Beach
30 Miles
Weirs Beach
Car: necessary

White Mountains Region, Waterville Valley Exit 28, Short drive to Waterville Valley Ski Resort, Loon Mtn, or Squam Lake. Near Campton Village.


Rates & Availability

Thornton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Jul 1 2016 - Sep 11 2016
2 night minimum stay
Sep 12 2016 - Oct 16 2016
2 night minimum stay
Dec 16 2016 - Mar 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

add clean for 4+ nights $25 + Tax
cleaning and security check $125
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 8.26%

HOLIDAY PERIODS may include additional fees or adjusted rates. Holidays include, but not limited to: Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Week, Christmas/New Years Weeks.

EXTENDED STAYS greater than one week in duration may include separate fees for utilities or other services

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Waterville Valley Area House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Town
  • Family
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master bath - toilet , shower , custom tile
    Upstairs bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , bedroom walk thru
    Living area bath - toilet
  • Master bath has stand-up/ sit down shower with granite bench and conventional plus waterfall head. Glass door enclosure.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master - 1 king , 1 baby crib , Pack & Play
    Guest - 1 double
    Singles - 2 twin/ single , kids or extra adults
    loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , pullout sofa
  • Master can sleep two adults and a child. Pack and Play (play pen) included in master bedroom closet.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Free WiFi and extended HD cable - Times Warner

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...