Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spring/Sum Rates. Beautiful Views, quiet/tranquil. Two lounges on screened lana

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

We are a member of the Better Business Bureau, A+ rating.

Additional reviews (from our GUEST BOOK) under Owner Info. Mahalo.

Check out our Video under the Links & Video tab.

The 'Bamboo Hideaway' has an excellent ocean view. It is situated close to an old stand of large bamboo, hence the name. Entry and parking are private and at ground level.

This accommodation offers slate floors, granite counter tops, King bed, full bath, cooking facilities, refrigerator, and kitchen island. A large screened lanai encloses the dining and lounge area with a full 10ft.sliding glass door to the lanai and two very comfortable lounges. Free laundry facilities are available in the garage. Shopping is close as well as 12 min. to ocean snorkeling and kayaking. Coffee and macadamia farms to visit.

A short 10 min. drive will take you down to the beach, Capt. Cook monument & Place of Refuge. Great snorkeling and kayaking.

The accommodations are compact but well designed, very pleasant decor.

There are several very good restaurants and a grocery store within one mile drive.

This is a smoke free environment for your enjoyment. Sorry no pets.

The owner of this vacation rental property is Greg Gerard, Realtor, licensed in the State of Hawaii and member of the National Association of Realtors with Clark Realty Corporation.

75-5722 Kuakini Hwy, Suite 102, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, 808-329-5255.

Tax ID # W01652994-02

For vacation rental information please first contact Nancy, locally at 808-987-9748.

Keywords: Studio Apartment but with a separate sleeping area at the end of the room, just no wall and bedroom door.

More Details

Owner
Nancy
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2017

About Nancy

We moved to the Big Island in 1987 and built our home in Captain Cook in1988.

We added our two vacation rentals on our 1 1/4 property in 2000.

Greg is a realtor with Clark Realty Corp. and I ( Nancy ), manage our two vacation rentals. We have one dog. His name is Peaberry and is 5.

Along with a Siamese cat named Mr. Mow, who is 13.

Nancy purchased this apartment in 2000

Guestbook comments from the owner

Great place, great hosts. We have a great time & would certainly come back.

Patt & Tam

PS: I know I used great too many times but when it is true what can you do?
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 11

Amenities

Captain Cook Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for children
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

Spring/Sum Rates. Beautiful Views, quiet/tranquil. Two lounges on screened lana
average rating of 4.724138 based on 40 reviews
5

Relaxing, wonderful view , clean and quiet

  • 5 of 5

absolut suitable place and quiet

comfortable bed and furniture inside

special lanai with table and lounge chairs and wonderful view

good bathroom and nicely equipped kitchen

stayed at the downstairs unit, The location is perfect for privacy, peace and centrally located

i arrived at the evening and it was not easy to find the downstairs unit (on the basis of your description)

thank you for letting use your place - Mahalo !

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, thank you for your nice review. I'm sorry we did not get to meet you during your 4 night stay. I'm sorry you had a hard time with your arrival. I will revisit the directions and if you email me with some suggestions that would have helped you I'll add that to the directions. This is the first time we have heard this so your feed back will be appreciated. Mahalo and thank you for staying with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nancy's place was very comfortable&you have there everything you need!

  • 5 of 5

During our stay we didn't met Nancy, but she sent us all the informations we neeeded to get there and as we arrived there was a message with all the further information for the property. The place is well located to explore the kailua-kona coast&you can use a lot of snorkeling and beach stuff. The property has a well equipped kitchen, just don't try to cook big meals as the electricity doesn't work for to many electronic devises. Otherwise you get a comfy bed, good Wifi and this wonderful lanai to relax... we would definitly come back and book this lovely place!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Back to the Hideaway again

  • 4 of 5

We've stayed in the Bamboo Hideaway several times over the last 10+ years and so it's clear that we like the simple accommodations there and would recommend it to many of our friends. The view from the large screened lanai remains one of the best of our many stays at numerous places on the Big Island. The location is close to some of the best snorkeling on the island and is also not far from numerous restaurants and a small shopping center. We'll be back.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

quiet and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

just what we were looking for

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very Nice

  • 4 of 5

Nice and quiet, off the beaten path with great vistas and a lot of greenery. Beautiful garden and very well maintained. Attention to detail by caring owners. All the beach toys including snorkel gear were supplied at no charge. Comfortable bed and furniture inside and great table and chairs and loungers on the lanai. Nicely equipped kitchen. Good bathroom with regular tub/shower, not a jetted tub . There is a vacation rental on the level above, maybe the 2 person jetted tub is up there. We were not told where it was.

The house is close to many good local eateries and a grocery store. Also there are lots of places to visit nearby and some excellent snorkeling waters.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your review. I'm so sorry for the headline, double jetted tub. Yes, that is our upper unit we call the Capt. Suite. When I last changed the heading I must have been thinking I was in the Capt. Suite heading. I'm so glad you mentioned that. I have changed the heading and again apologize if you were disappointed that it was not there!! If you will return and we hope you do, in the future we will extend a 10% discount in either of our units to you. Mahalo and we appreciate the wonderful way you left the unit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful view and hosts, clean, comfortable, centrally located

  • 5 of 5

Stayed at the unit for 12 days, big lanai with table and lounge chairs great for enjoying the wonderful view. The unit is not big but more than adequate for a couple, the location is close to Kona and all the west side beaches. The hosts were awesome, the grounds immaculate with laundry facilities and beach equipment (chairs, coolers, snorkeling equipment, Boogie board, beach towels). The kitchen has a hot plate, toaster oven, toaster, full size frig, blender and all the need equipment for meals, there is a TV with cable and DVD player. Now for the down side, this unit is on the bottom floor and footsteps can echo down, not a real issue for us. Secondly the internet is slow, luckily I have Verizon with good coverage, AT&T is spotty though. Mahalo

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Kehole International Airport
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Kealakekua Bay & Two Step
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Captain Cook Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring/Summer
May 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$85
$560
$2,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$100
$630
$2,550
 

Additional information about rental rates

Exit cleaning fee. $80 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.41%

We require a min. of 4 nights, at regular nightly price. We do not change our prices for high season. Mahalo.

There are no other fees, besides the ones listed under payment terms. There is private parking and use of the washer and dryer with soap and softeners free of charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Ask a Question Ask a Question
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties