check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Peter Herrera

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Please...read the reviews. Bring your binochs

12 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kaimuki House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Office, 2 Baths, Sleeps 4-6

Very rare Ossipoff (renowned HI architect) home at the top of Wilhelmina Rise. This 2B/2B professionally-designed home is highly stylized and contemporary yet VERY Hawaiiana - open/airy but extremely private, quiet and secluded. Unlike many homes located on the mountains, there are NO telephone lines or dozens of roofs in your view or alot of stairs.

You will need a car. Only minutes downhill to incredible restaurants like 3660 on the Rise and 12th Ave. Grill or trendy cafes like town and Cafe Laufer. 10 minutes to Kahala Mall with over 40 shops plus Long's, Whole Foods market and Kahala Movies. 15 minutes to the beach at the Gold Coast where tourists rarely venture.

The home is 'insulated' from the street because it is located in the middle of the 'doughnut-street' that is Maunalani Circle - a very up-scale, QUIET neighborhood where our house is tucked away at the end of the 90' driveway and elevated about 35' above street-level - the entire lot is nearly invisible.

The beautiful blue-tile pool in NOT heated and really doesn't need to be for most of the year.

All new furnishings: Leather sofas in living room; one queen bedroom with spectacular view; one king suite with vaulted ceiling, small seating area and Japanese Shoji screen doors. Both have been remodeled. Both have very comfortable beds. Kitchen also remodeled with Viking appliances, granite counter-tops with a tasting-bar which seats four. The dining table seats 8.

This gem of Hawaiiana architecture was created in the 50's during Ossipoff's declaration of 'War on Ugly Architecture'. He created a home with great elegance and functionality in perfect balance with the lay-of-the-land but ahead of its time with stained concrete floors which were unheard of in the 50's. A complete remodel in the 90's added skylights and an updated kitchen which makes this home as close to Heaven as I may get!!! And then there's the view... Owner, Peter Herrera.

THERE ARE SECURITY CAMERAS ON SITE.

A security deposit will be required.:

$500 Standard

$800 Pet/s

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets considered
Peter Herrera (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

We use VRBO alot now that we are retired and this home is nothing short of THE BEST:

home - beautifully designed interiors and yard,

Priate, secluded location,

Stop-your-heart views,

Frig and cupboards stocked with condiments,

HERE'S THE BEST PART: Comfortable beds AND pillows - we rarely find this.

This home looks like it belongs to movie stars but is avail to people like us because the owners donated it for SIX nights to our Lions club.

THANK YOU to the owners for sharing.

Bob & Judy Frume
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 9

Reviews

5
based on 12 traveler reviews

Please...read the reviews. Bring your binochs
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
5

Hawaii vacation

  • 5 of 5

The house was an excellent place to stay, the picture did not do it justice. The house is in great condition. The design of the house did made my wife and I vacation even more special than it was thought to be. Waking up every morning and walking out into the living area to see such a beautiful view of diamond head was spectacular. When I return to Hawaii I will most likely try to stay at peters home again. Thank you Peter!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a view!

  • 5 of 5

This home was everything we thought it would be: comfortable, quiet, with all the appliances you need to make your stay completely straightforward. The layout separates the bedrooms which gives a lot of privacy and the kitchen is very well-equipped. The highlight is of course the view, which is fantastic and unparalleled. We also loved the tree in the courtyard with the birdfeeder, and the pool which is also great. We would definitely come again, the hosts were very friendly!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ann Arbor, Michigan
5

Perfect in every way!

  • 5 of 5

This house is its own paradise, in the middle of the larger paradise of Oahu. The house itself is a gem, and stocked to the gills with everything you'll possibly need. The view down to Diamondhead and Waikiki cannot be done justice with pictures on the website - you must see it to believe it. The house sits at the top of a rise, elevation just below the top of Diamondhead, and the setting is stunning. We've stayed in rentals all over Europe and the US, and this house tops them all, taking into account the varied settings we've been at. If you're coming to Oahu, I INSIST you stay here; you won't regret it for a second!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Oh that hill. We will always remember that.

  • 5 of 5

We were fortunate to be able to spend two weeks at this beautiful hideaway at the beginning of July this year with my wife's sister and husband from the U.K. We had a tremendous time. The house was more than fully equipped with everything you could wish for.

It is situated at the top of a very long and steep hill but when you were up there, it was well worth it. The view was incredible. Don't be like us and not take the binoculars.

You really need a car although there is a bus stop close by that takes you right to the Honolulu Zoo area from where you can walk down the main drag in Waikiki. Well worth it so you can have a drink and not have to drive.

The property owners are very easy to deal with and very pleasant. We would love to go back again.

'Beautiful place'

'Beautiful island'

All I can say is 'Thanks for the Memories'

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful Property and Location!

  • 5 of 5

I searched online for a nice house to rent for a week for my husband's 60th birthday trip - something about this one struck a chord in me. Our best friends from NY flew in for the celebration and enjoyed the home with us as did my husband's long time friend who lives in Honolulu. We could not have been more pleased with the choice. Beautiful views, privacy and the perfect, split floor plan for 2 couples. Everything you could need is there, just like home. The property owner, Peter, was wonderful on communication throughout the planning process and the Property Manager, Cristi, was a pleasure to deal with once we got there. Nothing better than morning coffee on the lanai watching Java Sparrows and a pair of Rose Ringed Parakeets on the feeder with an unobstructed view of Diamond Head in the background!

Thank you Peter and Lisa for allowing us to enjoy your lovely home for our vacation!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Sacramento, CA
5

The Farr's

  • 5 of 5

We travel to Oahu at least once a year (we have family on the island). We typically rent a place to stay using vrbo.com. Dealing with the owners/managers was so easy and smooth. They were nice and overly accommodating! And then there are the views. ....read the other comments - true to the T. Absolutely breath taking. We swam in the pool almost everyday. We had a wonderful time and would def return! Mahalo Peter, Lisa and Cristi!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Honolulu
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Kaimuki
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Too many....
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
H1
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Too many
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Gold Coast or Kahala
Car: necessary

Kaimuki is the WeHo of Honolulu: Chic, small, quaint, hip and very friendly with everything you will need close by.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kaimuki House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$450
$3,150
$10,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $100 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 18.0%

Hawaii Transient Accommodation and General Excise Tax
Number: W30215556.01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kaimuki House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Downtown
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers