check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mark and Chris

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

Waterfront - VIEW!, hot tub, deck, dock, pool table, fireplace, WiFi, dogs ok

36 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Huddleston House Rental Photos and Description

2 BR, 2 1/2 Bath, sleeps 4, Dogs Allowed (fee, $50)

Family Vacation, Romantic Getaway, Honeymoon, Couples Getaway, Girls Retreat, Fishing Retreat:

Log Haven is perfect!

Sleeps Maximum of 4, Dog Friendly (Fee $50), Bed Linens & Towels may be rented through a 3rd party

***Sunday-to-Sunday weekly only rental in Summer Season.***

Log Haven is a waterfront haven on Smith Mountain Lake in Huddleston/Moneta area. Our true log home is conveniently located to all that Smith Mountain Lake has to offer. Wide water views of Smith Mountain with stunning sunrises worth waking up for which can be enjoyed right from the comfy Master Bed. Our deep water dock has clear, clean water and is perfect for swimming, fishing and all your water toys. Very convenient to grocery stores, marinas, restaurants, shopping, Smith Mountain State Park, golf, and wineries. Our home has all the amenities. Large lakefront hot tub; 2 large, stone, wood burning fireplaces; dock with sundeck and floating dock; shallow water area with sandy bottom; lakefront porch with comfy swings and rocking chairs; pool table; cable tv; and free high speed wifi.

Our home sleeps a maximum of 4. Our Master Bedroom has a King bed and is located on the first floor in addition to the Great Room (with large, stone Fireplace), Kitchen and a full Bathroom. Our 2nd floor Bedroom can be configured as either a King OR 2 XL twins and has its own bathroom with shower. The finished, walkout Basement has waterfront views to be enjoyed while you play pool and watch tv in addition to a 2nd large, stone Fireplace, Laundry room, and ½ Bath.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Mark and Chris (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wow! Great place. Loved the covered porch, sunrises, the dock, and the kayak was fun. Our golden retriever loved jumping from the deck. The stairs were perfect. Great way to celebrate Dan's 44th and Alexis' 12th birthdays. Would love to come back again!
Aug 2009
  • 1 of 11

Reviews

4.8
based on 36 traveler reviews

Waterfront - VIEW!, hot tub, deck, dock, pool table, fireplace, WiFi, dogs ok
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 47 reviews
Washington, District of Columbia
5

Very beautiful location and a great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely beautiful location! I would stay there again! The hosts are very communicative about the place and things to do in the area!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Spectacular view!!

  • 3 of 5

When we arrived at the house, we were all taken aback by the amazing view of the water and mountains. We have rented many lake houses for vacations in the past (Deep Creek Lake, MD; Lake Anna, VA; and SML) but this house's view has the most amazing view we have ever experienced. Every morning, I enjoyed sitting on the porch swing with my morning cup of coffee. My husband enjoyed watching the sunrises from the bedroom (I watched a few mornings, too!) and my teenage daughters were thrilled that once we exhausted lake activities for the day, they were able to stream video because this house has internet (a rare find for houses at SML).

The dock area was wonderful. We all spent hours just floating in the water. Our dog loved the stone steps that entered the water and the upper deck was great for a evening meal. The dock was shaded during the hottest times of the day - which for us, is a bonus. We stayed during a heat wave (week of July 24, 2016) and needed the shade of the trees to enjoy being outside. We rented a boat from Parkway Marina and were very pleased with the service and the boat we rented.

As for the house: the screened in room in the basement was a huge bonus. We spent almost every evening enjoying this room! The kitchen was stocked well enough to cook for our family of 4. A nonstick skillet would be beneficial - as it does not have one. The beds were comfortable and the shower pressure was great (also a rare find in a lake house). The living room area is not well suited for a family of 4 to enjoy watching TV or a movie together. There is only a love seat and a chair to sit on. There is a rocking chair but it's not comfortable enough to sit in for a long period of time. There are signs in the house to watch your head going up stairs and for good reason - both my children and husband frequently banged their heads going up and down the steps (they are very tall). The house has a musty smell - possibly due to it being a log cabin. Upon arrival, the house had not yet been cleaned by the cleaning service - I contacted the owners and within an hour, the cleaning service arrived. We were appreciative of their quick response. A downside: a few nights at 3AM, the water softener would run a flush cycle causing loud noises we were not accustomed to.

This property is all about the view. The house functions well for eating and sleeping, easy to get to, convenient to White House Store but the real draw is the water/dock.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent 2 Weeks at Smith Mountain Lake

  • 5 of 5

This was our time at Smith Mountain Lake (SML).

We LOVED Log Haven for our two week stay. The feel of an old-time "cabin on a lake" but with all the modern conveniences.

Too many SML properties come across like "suburbia on the lake", not Log Haven!

The location on the lake is also excellent: a nice wide spot (at least 6 tenths of a mile or 1 kilometer) with only one other dock with in view.

Convenient to several marinas for boat rentals and such - we give a strong recommendation to Parkway Martina about a mile down the road - where we rented a pontoon boat for 2 weeks.

Large deep water dock, amazing deck/porch from the main floor, Weber gas grill, and a pool table.

Good setup for swimming. Both a ladder off the main dock AND a set of stone stairs into the water. We swam most of our days.

Nice modern kitchen - we ate-in 12 out of our 14 evenings.

We only used the Air Conditioner for a few days, but those were the hottest days of the year so far, and let me tell, the AC is STRONG. You can make it colder than you stand.

And something a lot of the ads don't talk about: Log Haven is not high up above the water. Many SML properties are REALLY high. Killer set of stairs back and forth to the water. Not Log Haven - main floor is maybe 15 feet above the water level. My bum knee very much appreciated that.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect family escape

  • 5 of 5

As advertised. Easy to get to. Ammenities were well maintained and there was plenty of room for a family of 4. Views were outstanding and the location on the lake allowed for swimming, boating access and pretty much anything else you wanted to do during a stay on one of the east coast's best manmade lakes, IMO.

MT

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Log Haven

  • 4 of 5

Country rustic, beautifully charming, cozy and peaceful at its best, great views on top of all that.

Thanks for letting us stay!

  • Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply Amazing

  • 5 of 5

Our weekend stay at Log Haven was simply amazing. No rock was left unturned in the owners efforts to make this the perfect place to stay. Everything that we needed was at our fingertips. Before booking our trip, I read many of the reviews and it is obvious that Mark and Chris have made every effort to accommodate their guest with heart-warming hospitality. I can’t say enough about the positive experience of the rental process itself, not to mention our relaxing stay. Every aspect of this vacation was positive. After booking the property, we were provided with useful information on local restaurants and activities to enjoy during our stay. We chose instead to enjoy all of the tranquility that Log Haven has to offer. The porch swing was one of our favorite spots to enjoy the beautiful views and to soak in the peaceful atmosphere that this location has to offer. Watching a fire dance in the gorgeous stone fireplace provided the perfect ending to every evening of our stay.

This was the perfect get-away location for our needs. We have every intention of returning to Log Haven to make more wonderful memories.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable and relaxing time at Log Haven. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
ROA
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Mariners Point
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Huddleston House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Aug 28 2016 - Nov 12 2016
2 night minimum stay
$275
$1,725
 
 
Winter
Nov 13 2016 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,600
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
$1,725
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 4 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $110
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 10.3%

Summer weeks start and end on Sunday
Check in time is 4:00pm Check out by 11:00 am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Huddleston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    2nd Floor Bedroom Suite - 2 XLTwins OR 1 King
  • The Master Bedroom has a king size bed and a 6 foot wide picture window looking out onto the lake. One doesn't even need to get up in order to enjoy incredible sunrises over the water or great lake views. *** The 2nd Floor Bedroom Suite can be made up as either 1 King bed or 2 extra-long Twin beds with a cozy lodge-styled bathroom attached. *** Pillows, bedspreads are provided. Guests must bring their own linens: towels and sheets.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Sunday to Sunday Rental in Summer Season.*** Check-in: 4:00pm/ Check-out: 11:00am*** Pet Fee: $50/dog, 2 dog limit. Must be housebroken.*** Smoke-free cabin. No smoking permitted anywhere on the property.*** What to bring:*** King sheet set (Master Bedroom)*** Two twin sheet sets OR King sheet set (Loft Bedroom)*** Towels for bathroom, hot tub, swimming*** Food (basic dried seasonings provided)*** Soap (dish and laundry soap provided)*** Paper Goods (1-2 provided to get you started)*** Personal toiletries*** Camera*** Sunscreen/Bug Spray*** Fishing gear/bait

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties