check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sublime Obsession-Amazing Views & Sunsets on the Pacific Ocean

37 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more




Bejuco House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Completely Private Location overlooking year-round stunning ocean views and sunsets. The 2000 square foot home has 2 private master bedrooms equipped with air conditioning for your comfort and a fully functional kitchen with an attached great room to enjoy. The house is surrounded by lush tropical forests with attention grabbing Howler monkeys, gorgeous birds and butterfly species for you to enjoy a full nature experience. There are several fruit trees on the property for you to enjoy some fresh fruit when in season.

The 10-mile long secluded beach is a 1/4 mile away. Horseback riding, Surfing, Kayaking, Snorkeling and Fishing awaits you. If you tire of the beach, lounge around the infinity edge pool and feel like you never left the proximity of the ocean. Excellent and reasonably priced local restaurants are nearby, offering a variety of local and international cuisines. Canopy adventures are within driving distance in nearby towns.

The property is located 45 minutes from the Punta Islita National Airport and a 2 1/2 hour drive from the Liberia International Airport. San Jose International Airport provides flights to and from Punta Islita Airport.

Keywords: House

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 6, 2016
Call Owner

About George

Your host in the infinity pool overlooking the sunset enjoying the view and some coktails. We built our house from scratch. It has all the comforts of home with a Costa Rican touch.

George purchased this house in 2005

Why George chose Guanacaste

We visited this area a few years ago; and when I visited his place I fell in love with Costa Rica all over again. I have been vacationing here since 1991 but was a little discouraged with all the building that was going in other areas of Costa Rica. Then I found Playa Coyote, WOW.....Playa Coyote is still undiscovered by the crowds of tourists. Very pristine compared to the areas of Flamingo, Jaco, Quepos, Nosara, Playa Del Coco, Mal Pais, Sante Teresa, Samara and Tamarindo. If you want crowds go to those places I just mentioned, if you want peace and tranquility come to Playa Coyote and the other small villages in this area.

What makes this house unique

The beach here is 10+miles long, and there will be many times when you are the only one on the beach. If you enjoy waking up to the sounds of birds and howler monkeys my place is for you. If you enjoy Great Sunsets and Great Views my place is for you. The name of the game around here is RELAX....RELAX....and more RELAX. If you are looking for crowds and a bar scene find another place, PLAYA COYOTE is a place to ENJOY THE BEACH, UNWIND, EXPLORE, and ENJOY NATURE.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi George

I just want to thank you for the house. We had again a wonderful time there ! Amazing sunset and weather again. We try to plan another trip may be this year :)

Eric and Sarah
Jan 2016
  • 1 of 8


based on 37 traveler reviews

Sublime Obsession-Amazing Views & Sunsets on the Pacific Ocean
average rating of 4.810811 based on 45 reviews

Excelente lugar para descansar

  • 4 of 5

Excelente lugar

La casa es muy cómoda y bien acondicionada

Visite el lugar del 8-7-16 al 12-7-16 con mi esposa y mis dos hijos adolescentes

La vista impresionante

La gente de la zona muy agradable y disfrutamos de la pesca y la playa

Recomendado 100%

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gracias Ricardo, hay muchos lugares bonitos para escoger en Costa Rica. Me hace muy feliz que mi casa y la zona de Coyote le produjo unas buenas vacaciones. Saludos George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome Location and Wildlife

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I (in our 40s) stayed at Sublime Obsession while visiting the southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula for the first time. We loved the area - not overly developed but with enough to do to keep us occupied for a week. The roads are bumpy, but if you've driven on gravel roads before, this is nothing new. Attractions in the area that we visited: Samara, Nosara, Guiones, then further south towards Playa Coyote: Punta Islita (visit the ARC Project to see Scarlet Macaws close up and personal), and Playa San Miguel (Rhodeside has yummy iced coffee and cinnamon buns). We went as far south as Santa Theresa (typical surf town). We also visited the Karen Mogensen Reserve (swim in pools in a river; very refreshing after a 20 minute, or so, hike). Playa Coyote is a beautiful long stretch of beach. We spent the afternoon of Good Friday on the beach and enjoyed people watching and listening to music (someone had brought a radio). This is an excellent property from which to view wildlife - every morning (around 5:30 to 6:00 a.m.) the monkeys would come down and swing from the trees. There's also a coatimundi that likes to drink from the pool. The villa is private so no noisy neighbours - perfect for what we wanted. We'd recommend this property to individuals who don't mind driving on gravel/dusty roads to reach their destination and who like to take in wildlife and local culture. The villa itself was very comfortable and the view is breathtaking. Thanks George!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Jill and Rick.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Immerse Yourself in The Local Culture!

  • 5 of 5

Do you like adventure? Do you like immersing yourself in the local culture? Do you like to getaway from the regular tourist towns and become one with the people and the region? If so, then this is the vacation of your dreams. We stayed in this beautiful home with our friends. The house has two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The master suite is on the 2nd floor and the one we enjoyed. Very private from the rest of the house. Perfect for a romantic getaway too. The house was modern and well equipped. BUT, the most exciting thing about the house was the magnificent panoramic view of the pacific ocean. The view was to die for! We enjoyed the beautiful sunsets every night and made it a ritual to take lots of pictures and videos so we can remember the glorious sunset forever. We also enjoyed the infinity fish shaped pool! We spent most late afternoons and evenings enjoying the pool and getting good photos and videos of the sunset over the infinite pool. Fabulous!

The town was quaint and quite lovely. Raael of the Rancho Loma Clara was an absolute gem and life saver! He was our 'go to' guy for questions we had or for anything we needed. He speaks fluent English too. Whatever we needed, he would either arrange it or help us to find it. He not only gave us information, but he also arranged to have meat delivered for us from the local butcher and he helped us find a hotel for one of our excursions north of the region of where we were staying. All the towns people we met were very helpful and accommodating and tried very hard to understand my high school Spanish.

The only down side of the trip was the roads in the southern region of the country. I read that they were bad, but didn't expect them to be quite that bad. Upon speaking to some locals, we found out that the normal 'revamping' of the roads that usually happens after the rainy season did not occur as of yet and even the locals were upset about it. But, as they say, 'when in Rome...' Had I know this sooner I would have rented an large SUV instead of the tiny one we wound up with.

All in all, we had quite an adventure and we will cherish it for years to come. We recommend it to those who have an adventurous spirit or those who are just looking to relax and to get away from it all.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sylvia, I am happy to hear that my house met all your expectations. George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Remote Retreat

  • 3 of 5

My husband and I and another couple rented this home for two weeks. Beautiful sunsets,pool, wild life and near by beaches.

The roads to the house were wash board, boulder covered and a full size 4 wheel drive with large tires is a must. The house was hot when we arrived but once the padlocks and chains were taken off the doors and we could open the sliding doors there was a breeze. The screens were broken, so we had giant spiders and frogs in the house. The pool area has no shade and the patio chairs are falling apart. The pool was fabulous.There was a tv, but no satellite and the DVD player did not work. Internet and cell service worked intermittently.

You must bring all your supplies: soap, toilet paper and everything for the kitchen, plus something for the ants, we used cayenne pepper. The washer and dryer worked great. The bathrooms were very nice, but the masterbath toilet was plugged when we arrived so we had to purchase a plunger. The beds had plastic covers on the mattresses and were annoying but necessary, since the air conditioner leaked in the downstair bedroom.The instructions were lacking: did not include DVD operation, how to clearly connect to WiFi, days for pool service, trash pick up and when to expect cleaning people. Electricity temporarily went off 3 of the 9 days we were there.

Casa Caletas hotel and restaurant was the closest restaurant and with road conditions we ate there almost every night. It has an extensive menu and was very good. Loved seeing the iguanas, sheep, raccoons, geckos while we ate! Beautiful sunset and a working TV at the bar. W enjoyed Rios restaurant in Coyote.

That being said, if you are adventure seeker and need to get away, this is the place for you. A very quiet place, fabulous sunsets, and beaches.The monkeys, butterflies, birds, geckos and iguanas are your neighbors!

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Karen thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am in the process of addressing the deteriorating patio chairs and will now make sure the screens are also taken care of. Not being on site I use the feedback I receive from guests like you to make improvements as soon as they are brought to my attention. The pool is serviced 2 times a week, and the cleaning person only comes by once a week. The garbage is usually handled by turning it over to the pool person as he is also in charge of that service. There is no garbage service in this area of Costa Rica and most of it disposed by the property owners. Unfortunately I don't have any control of the roads, electricity, phone service and Wi-Fi, and therefore can not make any changes to those things. It would have been easier for you if you would have contacted Vivian, my caretaker, to fix the DVD and toilet or for any other issue you encountered during your stay, since that is what I contracted her to do. Not being present in Costa Rica; I make every effort to make things as comfortable for all my guests as a I can. After your visit; there was an issue with the A/C Unit, and I was able to resolve that situation very quickly for those guests even though I was doing it remotely from the United States and not physically there in Costa Rica. As you stated in your review, this is a very remote area of Costa Rica and problems take a little longer to get resolved there. Again Thank you for taking the time to write this review. George
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ruskin, FL, Hillsborough

Our first stay at Sublime Obsession

  • 5 of 5

What an experience! We rented this wonderful home with a friend who'd stayed here before and boy are we glad we did. The house was fantastic and the location can not be beat if you want views, wildlife, and privacy! Loved relaxing in the infinity pool as we watched the crashing waves on the beach down below and the wildlife right in front of us. The howler monkeys greeted us with their calls every morning and the toucans and hummingbirds (along with some other very interesting and beautiful birds) provided some wonderful photo opportunities. The beaches in the area are easy to get to and only a short drive away and are pristine and almost always private. Finally, the little town of Coyote is simply charming. Don't miss at least one trip to Rancho Loma Clara to eat and meet Rafael; the food is unbeatable, and you won't find a more hospitable place anywhere (We ate there morning and evening each day during our stay.) If you want a romantic get away that's private and beautiful you won't be disappoint! We hope to stay again for a month next year!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pcstorm, It brings smiles to hear that you enjoyed your stay at my house. Looking forward to hearing from you next year. George
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Peachtree City, GA

Another Amazing Week @ Sublime Obsession

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at the house and we had an amazing time. We did a fair amount of exploring in our 4x4, but spent just as much time gazing at the world from the infinity pool. We never get tired of the constant changing scenery, clouds, and abundant wild life. As an added bonus we had a family of 15 howler monkeys on the trees adjacent to the house. The new bakers in San Fransisco de Coyote was a nice surprise. Good artisan breads, and empanadas. We ate at Rancho Loma Clara many times, and Rafael has become a good friend. Always fresh food, the beers are ice cold, and the hospitality is amazing. We watched quite a bit of soccer there as well. Some new tips from this visit include the following: You can print boarding passes at the motorcycle shop behind the grocery store. Definitely bring some paper napkins, a sponge and some basic spices if you have room. Definitely gas up and get groceries in Jicaral before leaving the pavement. Bring bug spray. Once you pack remove 50% of the items. You will not need them. We just booked again for 2016. Thank you George for sharing your amazing home with us.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cynthia & Kai, I have already reserved your week for next year. If it wasn't for a hiccup, this would have been your third stay at the house this year. It always makes me feel good, when my guest enjoy their stay and visit to this fantastic area. Thank you for your loyalty, see you in 2016. George
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Liberia International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
La Veranera
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Playa Naranjo
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
La Veranera
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Playa Coyote
Car: necessary

Many other activities can be arranged if you requested.


Rates & Availability

Bejuco House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Green Season
Jun 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
1 night minimum stay
Holiday Period
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 8 2017
1 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Bejuco House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Garage ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (2) Each Master Bedroom has a King Size Bed, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties