Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

It's TIME to plan for SUMMER!! Perfect place to vacation!!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Located in Tahoe Park, just yards from the water, this remodeled cabin is perfect for families looking to get away and experience Lake Tahoe's true beauty. The spacious downstairs is a completely open floor plan with a large family room, separate dining area and kitchen with island seating. Both bathrooms include bathtubs. The bedrooms are also extremely roomy - each furnished with a Queen bed. This spacious house is ideal for families or groups vacationing together.

This cabin is located just two short blocks to the lake and the famous Tahoe Park Home Owner's Association private beach. Walk down to the beach for a day of sun and fun in the water! Set on over three immaculately maintained acres, the Tahoe Park beach has over 800 feet of lake front footage, two piers, protected swim area, boat buoys, lush sprawling lawns, volleyball court, horseshoe pits, basketball court, playground, and lakefront barbecues and picnic tables (which can be reserved for private parties by calling the Home Owner's Association). This is truly one of the nicest HOA beaches on the lake and makes for great family vacations!

This cabin is also located within two and a half blocks of the main bike trail, hiking trails, market, Sunnyside restaurant and marina, and Firesign Cafe. It is very close to downtown Tahoe City for great shopping, dining, and more.

If you are a snow skier, you will love the easy 'back side' access to Alpine Meadows Ski Resort in the winter. Avoid all the traffic at the 'Y' in Tahoe City!

This cabin has a large deck perfect for BBQing and enjoying the Tahoe landscape. It also has a hot tub, perfect for up to seven people. This is a spacious, comfortable Tahoe cabin. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need to have a great vacation!

This smoke-free home is meticulously maintained by owners who are confident you will enjoy your stay! We know you will love this house as much as we do!

NEW mattresses as of February 2017!!

Keywords: Tahoe Park Tahoe City Sunnyside Private Beach West Shore

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 28, 2017

What makes this house unique

Home is in a truly great location. You walk out the door, and there is Firesign Cafe, Sunnyside, and local market less than a block away. You have access to the trail on 89, as well as many mountain trails which can be accessed by bike. For that, Cyclepaths is also in walking distance. During the summer, our private beach offers something for everyone. There is beach access, bbq's, grassy areas, horseshoe, basketball, and even a playground for the kids. Town is less than 10 minutes away, with several restaurants, shops, a movie theater. It is truly a magical location while visiting Lake Tahoe

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hillary and Beth were extremely easy to work with and very professional. The listing is very accurate and the home is very close to the lake and other amenities. The property is walking distance to an amazing café and market for most of your needs (as in a 1 minute walk), and is a 2 minute walk to the lake, where there is beach access and a couple of great resorts to check out. The home is beautiful and spacious. The bedrooms were large and the beds were comfy; the patio/deck is great along with the Jacuzzi. Overall, this is a great place to enjoy Tahoe and have a comfortable, clean, and private place to relax. We hope to return again.
Oct 2016
  • 1 of 10

Amenities

Talmont House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (3)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

2.5/5 -
(2 traveler reviews)

0% Complete
0% Complete
50% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
It's TIME to plan for SUMMER!! Perfect place to vacation!!
average rating of 2.5 based on 12 reviews
Corona de Tucson, Arizona
3

Easy to work with owners and great location.

  • 3 of 5

We were happy with the location of the home. We were there during one of their snowiest seasons and took about 15 minutes to make it to Squaw Valley for some skiing and boarding. Grocery store, lake and downtown were very close and convenient.

Their neighbor let us use their parking spot since their spot only comfortably fit one van (by comfortably, I mean to load gear and open doors safely!) During out last ski vacation in Park City, UT we rented a house that had a hot tub that was not working. I voiced my fear of that happening again because let's face it, a hot tub and beer is vital for a great snowboarding vacation! They had a neighbor come check out the house and hot tub prior to our arrival to make sure it was all good to go (Thank you!)

The house was equipped with cookware, and essentials. Had to run a load or laundry for more towels and make sure you run the dryer twice!! If it weren't for the owners being so responsive and timely as well as understanding of an accident I had with a baking dish that I broke, I'd give it a little less than average rating only because the beds were very uncomfortable and they didn't really make up for it. Their guest book has a few different instances of the same complaints and they haven't seem to be addressed.

We emailed the owner's about it directly and they suggested just using their extra blankets so if you're wanting a place to go to for great quality sleep, this is not the place to go to. If you're wanting something that has a little bit of everything including hot water (not such great pressure downstairs for showers), TV, some games, hot tub, fire burning place (you get your own wood) etc and can be low maintenance, this is your place! Outdated for sure but not the worst. Then again, I went there for the boarding, not for a fancy house!

I tried to get a bit of a refund or something to make up for the poor sleep and discomfort from our friends that accompanied but the owners did not feel that it was warranted regardless of the previous complaints so you at least now know that now! Although I don't agree with it, I respect it!

To end: If you can bare outdated fixtures, less than stellar sleep and can be low maintenance then this is your place. The owners were nice, responsive and speedy with responses. Overall, great location and we were able to cook and eat there each night with what they had!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Carla! Thanks for your review! Our home is exactly as pictured online, stating all amenities, so, you saw exactly where you would be staying when you rented the property. We didn't do a major remodel before your arrival, nor did we promise that. Regarding the firewood, wood is provided for you, you just had to bring it in the house from outside. We have adequate parking for 3 cars, one at the door, and 2 below the house. Most guests move their cars to allow everyone to be able to unload easily. When there is 15 feet of snow, the space is a little more limiting. When you stay multiple nights, it is very likely that you will have to launder some towels while you are there. As far as a refund for the couple who found the bed to be uncomfortable, mattress comfort is a preference. We stated that to you multiple times. Comfortable beds is a variable, and what one person finds comfortable, may not be another persons' comfortable. Also, we made recommendations to you trying to help out as best we could. The house provided you with a stay, and all amenities that were expected, therefore we did not provide you with a refund. Just as a reminder, we also gave you a discount upon booking because you had a limited budget.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, CA
2

A Disappointing Ending to a Relaxing Vacation

  • 2 of 5

I will give two stars for the location alone. The house is a 5 minute walk from the lake's shore, and across the street to a charming market and 2 cafes and only a 5 minute drive to Tahoe City. The house itself is large and cozy. The open living room/kitchen area downstairs provide ample social space while the 3 private bedrooms upstairs are good for alone time. The hot tub was in working order and there was plenty of fire wood supplied for the fire place. I appreciate all of this.

The house amenities are the cheapest available. If you want a good quality knife that can cut meat, for example, you will need to bring it from home. The same goes for the low quality mattresses, bedding and towels, pots and pans. I had to call around to borrow a suitable roasting pan, and purchase my own salt and pepper, for example. If cheap towels and bedding don't bother you, then it won't be a problem. The technology of the house peaked at 2004 and has not been updated.The televisions are old with only basic cable with no premium channels or option to rent movies. My dad wasn't able to watch the KU basketball game on basic cable so we had to go to a bar to watch. A small investment in a smart TV so occupants can enjoy holiday classics and watch sports would be a huge enhancement to the experience. The walls are very thin and probably not well insulated. Every sound can be heard through the walls. The bathroom vents are as loud as tractors. I could hear every cough and nose blow from downstairs from the upstairs bedroom. This is not an ideal situation for light sleepers or people who prefer sound privacy.

The departure procedure asked for us to strip our beds, bring all laundry to the laundry room, take out and secure all trash, remove all perishable food from the kitchen and start the dish washer. This was in addition to the cleaning fee. We did all of this. Unfortunately, I ignored my intuition and did not take pictures of the house before we left. I did several walk throughs of the rooms to make sure everything was in ship-shape order and nothing was left behind before we departed as it was my credit cared on the line. We left at 10:00 am sharp and returned at 10:45 am to pick up a forgotten item. The house was empty at 11:45 am.

The next day I received an email from Hillary, the owner, informing me she meant to keep the deposit. She provided no evidence to the claims of a big mess causing 3 additional hours of cleaning service, trash not taken out, “lots of additi

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonnie, So sorry you felt this way about our home. You didn't seem to have any complaints about it until I contacted you regarding the condition in which you left the home. We were contacted by our cleaning service to let us know you hadn't removed the trash from the home, the furniture had been rearranged and not put back, and the bedding had been stained, and not cleaned, which after multiple washes, needed to be discarded. There was additional time in cleaning that needed to be done, as well as bedding that needs to be replaced. I forwarded on the charge which was 1/2 of the security deposit ($150) which we incurred from the cleaning service. When you became vindictive and petty in your emails (clearly displayed in your review as well) we just decided that we would absorb the cost we incurred, and refund your deposit in full, as your threats (letting us know we could take you to small claims court if we did not return the deposit immediately for the bedding you ruined and additional cleaning costs) were not worth the money or headache. In the several years we have owned the home, we have never received such feedback. It is a vacation home, with suitable amenities for such. No, we don't offer renters on-demand rental privileges. We are not paying for your entertainment while renting the house. Everything needed for an enjoyable stay is provided.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.05 Miles
Sunnyside
Nearest Motorway
0.05 Miles
89
Nearest Restaurant
0.05 Miles
Firesign, Sunnyside
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $225
Damage Deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.