Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

'$119 for 3+ nights Beautiful Cabin on Trout Stream WIFI DSL'

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms (including loft ), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Acorn Trout Lodge is a beautiful log cabin, located on Fightingtown creek, a nationally protected trout stream.

Enjoy the luxurious accommodation and relax in the hot tub, get cozy in front of the outdoor fireplace or splash and fish in the stream.

Located within ten minutes of a wide range of activities, including the historic town of Blue Ridge - which offers good restaurants and antiquing. Also take advantage of the breathtaking views while hiking or cycling in the lovely Cohutta wilderness or any of the many other wilderness areas near us. Experience the exhilaration of white water rafting the Ocoee river or horse back riding in the mountains.



This place is amazing! very, very beautiful. We had such a wonderful time and really hate to go. - Matt and Meril Dailey.

We absolutely loved our stay here! Enjoyed all the great pottery Barn furnishings and the beauty of the cabin. - The Webb Family

More Details

George Smith
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 16, 2017

About George Smith

Aiming to be the best in customer service.

George Smith purchased this cabin in 2005

Why George Smith chose North Georgia Mountains

Great for weekend getaways from Atlanta and Florida.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Julie & George,

We had a great time at the cabin...again. Thanks for doing such a great job of providing value and class in a cabin. Looking forward to next year with anticipation.


Sep 2011
  • 1 of 3


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(60 traveler reviews)

'$119 for 3+ nights Beautiful Cabin on Trout Stream WIFI DSL'
average rating of 4.4333334 based on 63 reviews

The directions given were good and helpful because GPS wasn't exact. Cabin was clean and well kept.

  • 4 of 5

We built a fire in the pit and the owner at, my request, graciously put some wood there to start us off. Pets are welcome and there is a large crate in family room if needed. My dogs are old and didn't need it but it's very handy if you do. It is on a low elevation and has a river view. FYI: It's great for fishing but doesn't give those soaring mountain views if that's what your looking for. The loft upstairs has two twin beds built into the walls. It was really cute and I could see my girls loving that when they were young. The cabin was clean had plenty of towels. A prior post said there wasn't towels so I took some in case and didn't need them.

The hot tub was clean and functioned well.

I gave a 4 instead of 5 because the coffe pot was missing it's lid and it was tough making that much needed coffee in the morning. Also, many of the pans needed to be washed/ scrubbed before they could be used.

Overall, we had a great weekend and the cabin perfect for what we needed so I would recommend.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved our stay!

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time fishing and spending time with our kids. Great homey feel with plenty of room. Would stay again.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Roswell GA

Could be great but.....

  • 2 of 5

This cabin has a lot of potential. That being said for the right family this would be perfect. The key to to ask all questions up front. There is no information at the house to you have to know what you are getting into BEFORE you go.

The cabin is on a remote gravel road. It would be hard to find a night. There is no sign for the house so make sure you are clear on which one it is before you go! It is about 20 minutes from the Wal-Mart or Ingles. There is NO cell service at the cabin. There is a phone but you cannot make outgoing calls. If you want people to be able to reach you get the number ahead of time - the phone number to the house is not documented anywhere. The WiFi at the house is not great. The router has to be restarted 2-3 times a day and is not very fast service. The kitchen is nice but there is very little there to make cooking easy. There was 1 pot holder, no sponge, no Tupperware, no dish-rack. If you plan to cook ask up front for what you need and then plan to bring it with you. There are no coat hangers in the bedrooms. There are very limited towels, no hand towels and only a couple of very old washcloths. The house is somewhat clean. The refrigerator leaked while I was there and it was clear that the kitchen floor had not been mopped in a long time. There was a ton of dust in the house and under the beds. I cleaned out under the master bed and found socks and other trash. The owners were somewhat responsive, but the overall upkeep and maintenance is on the house is mediocre. The outdoor fireplace did not work when we got there but they did get it fixed. The indoor fireplace requires wood -so you will need to bring that. The TV was also not working when I got there - there was a bad HDMI cable. After spending 30 minutes on the phone with DishNetwork on Xmas Day, we were able to sort it out with what was there, but if not it would have been up to us to go a buy what was needed. As a HomeAway Owner and a Traveler I have to say that I have certainly stayed at places that have much better setup and maintenance. We did not even end up staying for our whole stay -it was easier to just come home(3 days early). With all of our difficulties I would have thought that the owner would have offered some kind of refund, but we never heard from them. This is not a place I would come to again.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: "This place is perfect". An email quote from this guest. For my family this is a true statement as we have countless precious memories of our stays here over the years. My daughter and I had decorated the place for Christmas and it did look particularly beautiful for these people coming in. The cabin is a unique place in a wonderful setting and I'm confident it is competitively priced. I also believe we were responsive to helping this guest resolve the minor issues she had ( they had accidently turned the satellite tv off ,providing them with cabin phone number etc.) Sadly I'm not surprised we have received this review as we have had several thinly veiled threats of it happening if we did not refund money for the guests early check out. As the guests early departure was their choice and not an issue related to the cabin we did not feel this was appropriate. Although I feel strongly owners should be accountable for the upkeep of their homes and providing a high standard of service to their guests I question that this type of behavior ( it is not the first time this happened) is the best and most professional way for vrbo to conduct fair reviews of its home owners. When I questioned them about it they responded with the option I have of reviewing guests. Again I don't really see how tit for tat reviews are conducive to a professional and informative platform on which future guests are able to choose their vacation homes.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Quiet and Spacious

  • 4 of 5

My family stayed here over Thanksgiving. The cabin is very spacious and the porch is wonderful - a picnic table would make it perfect. The fireplace is great and the kids loved the hot tub! The price really can't be beat. A few tips for future visitors. Bring your own dish towels - there were exactly 2 for us. There were no hand towels in either of the bathrooms and nowhere to hang your towels. You will need any and all napkins, paper towels, soaps, trash bags, tissues and toiletries as well. If you are feeding a lot of people, bring paper plates and cutlery. There were only 6 or 7 plates and about the same number of forks. I don't recall seeing any large knives, but I brought my own. I didn't find the kitchen as well stocked as some other reviewers but I guess that is very subjective. I brought what I knew I couldn't do without. Cabin was clean with a few minor exceptions which I addressed with the owners. Refrigerator does not make ice or dispense water. You are well advised to bring ice and bottled water as the water at the cabin is very mineral-ly and not pleasant at all. Washing machine IS super loud so don't plan laundry at night. =:0 Owners were quick to respond to any questions. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Two stars

  • 2 of 5

We found the cabin to be clean and fairly well appointed. We had to search the cabin for extra bath towels but found them in the upstairs bathroom. We also walked in to the cabin to discover water on the floor near the refrigerator (we put a towel on the floor to soak up the water). Although the cabin is fairly well equipped with some of the basic kitchen necessities, we did have to purchase salt & pepper. The outdoor fireplace did not work at all during our stay. We had even emailed the owner a few days prior to our arrival since there had been previous comments that indicated the fireplace was not working. We were assured that the fireplace was working. My husband tried to discover the problem with the fireplace but was unable to determine the issue. There was no cell phone service at the cabin so we had to drive to Blue Ridge to send an email to the owner regarding the issues with the Wi-Fi and the outdoor fireplace as well as the water on the floor since he does not provide a contact number. Unfortunately, these issues were not resolved during our stay even after speaking with the owner and being told that someone would resolve the Wi-Fi issue and there was not any reason why the fireplace should not work. The creek behind the cabin is not easily accessible (there is only a rope to assist climbing down to the creek). We were not aware of the severe drought in the area and that there had been several wildfires, causing smoke and haze to limit our outdoor activities.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We arrived at the cabin the day after the these guests left. The outdoor fireplace is worked by flicking a switch which we did and it worked well immediately. We had a full tank of propane delivered the week before arrival. I went ahead and cancelled the call out service I had requested to get the fireplace fixed when we discovered it to be fine.There is a landline at the cabin but no cell service. We spend quite a bit of time at the place and find the wifi works well although it will occasionally need rebooting just like at our home in the city. There is no password on our wifi . The Wifi was also working well the day after guests left . Although my husband did try to assist the guests with information on contacting tds , using fireplace etc after checking it out ourselves we found no issues with either the fireplace or wifi and we are unsure what else we could have done to assists guests further Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Buford, GA

Beautiful Cabin

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for a peak leaf weekend in October and had a wonderful time. The cabin is beautiful. We really enjoyed the deck with the fireplace. Very nice!

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Point of Interest
Swimming Hole and Tubing Put-In
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Epworth Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Memorial Day 2017
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
Dec 20 - Dec 31
3 night minimum stay
New Year
Jan 1 - Jan 4
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message


Epworth Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - This is a spacious loft area with two built in bunks
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King size beds (1) Orthopedic Pillow Top Mattress , Queen size Beds (1) Orthopedic Pillow Top Mattress , Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) King Size Convertible in the living area, Bunk Beds (1) Built in bunks in nooks in the roof - kids love them !
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Large outdoor gas fireplace on deck.

Partner Offers