check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kayc Bond

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Rustic Elegance On Lake, Fabulous Views, No Online Service Charge

21 Reviews
Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Tiger House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms + 3 Queen Sofa Beds and 1 Roll-away, 6 Full Baths - (Sleeps 11-18)

See our awesome views of the lake and of mountains from three states! Sunsets over the mountains are magnificent. So pretty that couples have their weddings on the dock at sunset! Inside it has stunning all wood floors, walls, and vaulted ceilings crafted with hickory, red oak, black walnut and pine. You can see the lake and mountains from every room! Next to the 4 bedroom Main House we have a charming one bedroom Guest Cottage. Located on a peninsula in the main part of the lake, you can see and join in on all the water activities. Dock your boat or a rental boat on our large dock. Enjoy it all!! MAIN HOUSE KITCHEN: The kitchen is state of the art with the newest stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops, with roomy dining for 12 or more. PENTHOUSE MASTER BEDROOM: Has its own private deck overlooking the lake activity, a king size canopy bed (with a pillow top mattress), and a steam shower and whirlpool tub in the Tuscan master bathroom.

Additional Room Information:

COUNTRY FRENCH BEDROOM: (Double bed) On the main floor, it has hand painted rustic furniture, high ceiling, and its own bathroom. 2nd MASTER BEDROOM: It has a king size bed with a pillow top mattress, a bathroom, a spectacular view the minute you wake up, and a beautiful stained glass window shining its bright colors into your room. It also includes its own balcony. BASEMENT: Downstairs is a perfect place for kids to play games and watch their own large screen TV. Filled with Native American artifacts it is often visited by adults as well. The kids dorm has a bunk bed, a pillow top twin bed and a bath. GUEST COTTAGE: On our lot we have preserved and renovated one of the original cottages built after the Burton Dam was finished in the early 1920s. Used as a guest cottage, it still has a working hand stacked stone fireplace and antique bedroom furniture (full size bed). Including a full kitchen and old fashioned tub, it has been lovingly decorated to keep its charm and cozy feel.

Amenities: You will want to relax on the wrap around porch with its hand made cypress rocking chairs and large lounge chairs for complete comfort while you read or snooze. Snoozing is also allowed in the hammock swinging next to the lake.

There is a study with a fabulous lake view, and its own full bathroom. A one person roll-away allows you to use the study as an extra bedroom if needed.

For spectacular TV watching there are HDTVs in the great room, kid's room, master bedroom and the guest cottage.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Kayc Bond (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Kayc Bond

The Story Behind “Kayc’s Kottages”......

Because of its phenomenal view and location, our point was one of the first lake lots built on after the Lake Burton Dam was finished in the late 1920’s. The first cottage was built in the early 30’s by an Atlanta developer. Some years later he built a second little cottage right next to the first one. This is now our Guest Cottage. Then in May 1976 he sold both of these small cottages to me, Kayc. I was 23 and I decided to use my savings towards lake property rather than buy a house or condominium. I had been to Lake Burton on a blind date and I fell in love with the lake.

I couldn’t have been more excited than the day I drove up to my first little piece of real estate, soon to be known as “Kayc’s Kottages”. The first cottage was getting so old it was called Critter Cottage because that’s where all the animals slept! So in 1984 I replaced the older cottage with the Main House with the glass prow front, but I kept the smaller cottage next to it to be the Guest Cottage. It is one of the few old small cottages left on the lake.

Then in 2007 my husband and I renovated the cottage and added to the Main House as you see it today. We added a penthouse master bedroom and master bath, a country French bedroom and bath, a large entrance foyer, and an all new kitchen and breakfast nook. We also recently added a rustic covered porch to the boathouse for excellent fishing.

Kayc Bond purchased this house in 1976

Why Kayc Bond chose North Georgia Mountains

Interesting Tid Bits about the Lake......

Lake Burton has over 1100 homes on it with 75% of the lots owned and leased out by Georgia Power. In the 1920’s Georgia Power bought the land and built the Burton Dam fed by the Tallulah River. Lake Burton is about 10 miles long. The city of Burton is underneath the 80 foot deep water basin in front of our lake house. From our house you can see mountains from three states: North Carolina’s Standing Indian Mountain, the Tennessee mountains and Georgia’s tallest mountain, Brass Town Bald.

The Lake Burton Waterfall Country Club rests on top of one of the Lake Burton mountains overlooking its award winning golf course. It was built by the Ritz Carlton founder Bill Johnson, who originally had a Tennessee Walking Horse farm on that site.

People you may know with homes on Lake Burton include Alan Jackson, Sam Nunn, Vince Dooley, Fran Tarkenton and Nick Saban. Renowned Iron Chef Winner and Atlanta restaurateur, Kevin Rathbun, rented our place to cook for a group of his friends. And the world renowned Cirque Du Soleil performers spent their Christmas at our place!

For those that know the 1972 film Deliverance, starring Burt Reynolds and Jon Voight, scenes were filmed along the Tallulah River where it feeds into Lake Burton. Also filmed on Burton was Four Seasons starring Alan Alda and Carol Burnett. And more recently, we met Clint Eastwood and Justin Timberlake when they were at the lake for scenes in Trouble With The Curve.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks so much for sharing your lake home with us - it was absolutely perfect! We had a fantastic weekend and fell in love with Lake Burton all over again.

Everyone enjoyed the stunning views of the mountains and lake, the serenity of the area, and the comfort of your home - so much so that we are already discussing a return trip.
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 43

Reviews

5
based on 21 traveler reviews

Rustic Elegance On Lake, Fabulous Views, No Online Service Charge
average rating of 5.0 based on 64 reviews
5

Perfect House!

  • 5 of 5

This house was exactly what we needed for a couple families to spend the weekend. The location was great and the views were wonderful. The owner was so easy to work with and everything was perfect. The dock and porch provided lots of fun times for the kids and adults and we had so much space to spread out and enjoy our time on the lake. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Extended Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

This is a fantastic house! The accommodations could not have been better. All the bedrooms + the separate cabin (for 4) provided lots of privacy and space for the three generations we had together (17 total). The house is on the main part of the lake in the middle but it was still quiet and peaceful…surprisingly so, especially on weekdays. We wanted to get out and explore the surrounding area but we had so much fun hanging out on the dock and beautiful porch that we ended up staying at the house…spectacular sunsets as well as view of the dramatic squalls that sometimes come off the mountains at night. The 2000 ft + elevation provided lots of nice breezes and we never felt too hot even in July. The kitchen had everything we needed and there were plenty of bathrooms. If there is any draw back it is the second Master bedroom which is right above the family room where we tended to stay up late playing games. The main master has its own porch and is absolutely beautiful. We will definitely come back!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great for Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely house on Lake Burton. We swam, fished, paddleboarded and enjoyed reuniting with our loved ones. Perfect accommodations for us, as all the bedrooms are separate for lots of privacy. The public areas are large....and we enjoyed every inch. The kitchen was so well stocked.....we had everything we needed. Thanks Kayc!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful house!

  • 5 of 5

Lovely home! Kayc was delightful to work with, and the house is spectacular. The house has perfect views of the sunset! We were at Lake Burton for a wedding so we didn't get to spend much time enjoying the deck and dock- wish we had more time!

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Athens,Ga
5

Wonderful views of lake

  • 5 of 5

We rented this house for a week. During the week we had children, grandchildren and mothers and mothers in law. The views of the lake are awesome. I grew up on Burton and thought this house had great views from every room. It is on the main part of the lake and can get busy on the weekend. If so then you just have to move up to the stationary dock. We loved that every bedroom had its own bathroom. We had plenty of room for our family of 13 people. We will come back next year for sure!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Alpharetta, GA
5

Perfect weekend wedding!

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a beautiful, comfortable place to have our small wedding (about 40 guests) and also have a place for our grown children to stay with us, and we found it in this beautiful house on Lake Burton. There was plenty of room for our immediate family in the house and the rest of our folks were able to find additional accommodations nearby.

The house is incredible! And the views of the lake and the mountains were perfect. The owner is very easy to work with and made every effort to make our stay trouble-free. We had our ceremony on the octagonal shaped dock just before sundown. Everyone had a great time and we were all very comfortable relaxing in such a beautiful setting.

We would definitely recommend this house and would rent it again ourselves.

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
110 Miles
Atlanta Intl Airport
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Kingwood Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
La Prades Chophouse Restaurant and Marina
Car: necessary

You will relish the quiet moments in front of the fireplace, drinks on the deck at sunset, counting the stars at night on the dock, and drinking coffee in the morning on the penthouse balcony. What could be better?!

CLOSE BY ACTIVITIES you won't want to miss: Short hikes to beautiful waterfalls (Minihaha, Panther and Angel Falls). Tour the Moccasin Creek Fish Hatchery (you can get there by boat!). It also has a playground area for kids. Slide and play in the brisk river water at Sliding Rock. Take in the mountain views at Black Rock Mountain Museum. Taste the excellent wines made at the Tiger Winery and Stonewall Creek Vineyards.

Other Activities: boating, paddle boarding and other water sports, fishing, horseback riding, ziplining, and mountain shopping

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tiger House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
In Season
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$750
From
$850
Fri,Sat
$4,950
 
 
Out of Season
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 21 2016
2 night minimum stay
$500
From
$600
Fri,Sat
$3,550
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2016 - Nov 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$850
 
 
Out of Season
Nov 26 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$450
From
$550
Fri,Sat
$3,200
 
 
Christmas and New Year's
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$850
 
 
Out of Season
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 10 2017
2 night minimum stay
$450
From
$550
Fri,Sat
$3,200
 
 
Out of Season
Mar 11 2017 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$500
From
$600
Fri,Sat
$3,550
 
 
In Season
May 1 2017 - May 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
$750
From
$850
Fri,Sat
$4,950
 
 
Memorial Day
May 25 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$950
 
 
In Season
May 30 2017 - Jun 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$750
From
$850
Fri,Sat
$4,950
 
 
Independence Day
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
4 night minimum stay
$950
 
 
In Season
Jul 5 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$800
From
$900
Fri,Sat
$5,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $750
Cleaning $350 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

DISCOUNTS:
We are happy to offer a military discount of $30/per night if it applies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Tiger House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Each bedroom has its own bathroom, plus a bathroom for the living room/study room (Total of 6 bathrooms).
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 3 twin/ single
  • KING BEDS (2) have pillow top mattresses. DOUBLE BEDS (2) have hand painted antique furniture. TWIN/SINGLE BEDS (3) include one twin with pillow top mattress, and one bunk bed. CONVERTABLE BEDS (4) include three queen size sleeper sofas and one single person rollaway.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 17 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Steam Shower
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Every bedroom has its own bathroom. Here are the types of beds in each bedroom: Master (upstairs) - 1 king size bed; Second Master (upstairs) - 1 king size bed; Main Floor - 1 double bed; Basement - 1 bunk bed and 1 twin (3 people); Guest Cottage - 1 double. Additionally there are 3 comfortable queen size sofa beds: Main house living room; Basement game room; Guest cottage living room. If needed, the study room on the main floor can also be used as a 6th bedroom. It has a full bathroom and a comfortable roll away bed for one person.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties