check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Marion Jarvis

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Whale watch from the front porch

7 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pacific Grove Condo Rental Photos and Description

2BR Bayfront Vacation Rental Pacific Grove, California USA

For an unforgettable vacation experience, visit our spectacular oceanfront home in the charming town of Pacific Grove, 'Butterfly Town USA.' This home is perfect for a small family or two couples.

Let the gentle surf lull you to sleep at night, after a full day of golfing, shopping, snorkeling, sightseeing, or simply doing nothing at all.

Enjoy stunning views and fresh sea breezes as you bike or hike along miles of beautifully landscaped, shoreside bike trails.

About cleaning: Most tenents prefer to do the 'move out cleaning' themselves, and there is no cleaning fee if they leave the house in

'move in condition' when they depart. If the tenent chooses to hire the cleaning service, there is a $75.00 extra

charge, and must be arranged well in advance.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Marion Jarvis (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Marion Jarvis

I live in the San Francisco Bay area, about 130 miles from our vacation house in Pacific Grove. We have loved that area since

our children were small, and we vacationed there every summer with our good friends, with whom we bought the duplex many years ago.

Marion Jarvis purchased this condo in 1976

Why Marion Jarvis chose Central Coast California

The absolute perfect location. Close to Pebble Beach, the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, Carmel, Big Sur, and some of the best Restaurants in California.

What makes this condo unique

Fairly close to our current home, a nice drive, and we can get there often enough to keep things in order.

Reviews

5
based on 7 traveler reviews

Whale watch from the front porch
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
5

Wow! It was surreal it was so awesome!

  • 5 of 5

I think this is the best place I ever stayed. I walked in and I kept saying to myself, "Am I really here? This is incredible." The location is amazing. You sit on the front porch, drink wine and watch the ocean and otters. It is a spectacular view. A short walk away is the beach for laying out. Right across the road are benches and a walking trail that goes for miles each way up and down the coast. I did not have a car and walked everywhere - to Monterey for sailing lessons, down to Asilomar beach, and in a short 10 minutes walk are all the shops and restaurants of all price ranges. Every morning I checked out a different coffee shop to see who had the best latte. You can take a shuttle from San Jose airport so no car needed if you like to walk a lot.

The home itself is wonderful. Very clean and comfortable. It feels modern with the granite counter tops and leather sofas, and yet also very warm. They have everything I needed including bikes, binoculars, beach towels. There were even fresh flowers by the window. Imagine eating breakfast at the window watching the ocean! Waking up to sea gulls! It doesn't get better.

The owners have been a blessing - so easy to work with, helpful, kind, etc. I would highly recommend this home for a vacation.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! I loved reading your response, and I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. Sincerely, Marion
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic Oceanfront Home

  • 5 of 5

I stumbled upon this listing while seeking lodging for the Good Old Days Celebration, and will be forever grateful to the homeowners! What a fantastic place in an ideal location. A short walk to the east is Lover's Point with a lovely park, sandy beach area, and burger stand. A short walk to the west takes you to benches where local artist's are drawn to paint nature's beauty. We walked along the ocean pathway all the way to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, to town for a late breakfast, to the outlet mall for taffy, thru residential streets admiring homes, and to the butterfly grove. We drove past the brightly painted butterfly house on 9th St. into Monterey for happy hour appetizers, and to Point Lobos for hiking and a picnic. But we were thouroughly entertained just sitting at the front window with beautiful ocean views and sea life -- boats of all kinds, otters, sea lions, birds, dolphins, and even whales. There was a bicyclist convention that week and we enjoyed watching teams whizz by us. Seeing the sun rise over the ocean was a huge bonus for us Californian's.

Every room in the house is quite comfortable, clean, and well-equipped. From leather couches, to the master bed, to the full-sized shower - there was comfort. We were surprised to see the landlord's paintings and photographs throughout the house. The kitchen is full of quality dishes, appliances, and gadgets needed to prepare any meal. The bar-b-que worked great and provided an opportunity to draw out friendly neighbors with it's smoky smell. Even the washer/dryer worked well, as did the dish network tv, wi fi, and stereo. There are emergency numbers and contacts readily available, helpful tips and instructions posted, and even equipment guides and travel brochures.

The landlords are absolutely terrific and their house is very well maintained. This home is the perfect place to relax, enjoy the Monterey Bay area, and one we hope to return to -- again and again.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You! Nothing makes us happier than to have our guests tell us how much they enjoyed staying at our house. We hope you can return many times. Sincerely, Walt and Marion
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Dallas
5

Adorable Duplex right next to Ocean

  • 5 of 5

Very homey and centrally located place to spend your vacation. Aquarium is a quick 10 minute drive and the wharf is about 5 or 10 minutes beyond that. Coastal walking path and drive is right out your door..I loved watching the fishing boats at night and listening to the ocean waves. The beds were comfortable and the huge HD TV was a nice plus when we wanted some down time. For being on the Monterey Peninsula and it's proximity to the ocean, this duplex is a wonderful bargain.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Folsom
5

Relaxation begins on Arrival

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed here for the past two summers for a week at a time, and I have never been dissapointed. The view outside the home is absolutely stunning. The feel of the inside of the home is quaint and extremely inviting. The overall feel of the home just says relaxation. The location is just wonderful. You are just a hop and a skip away from the beach, with lovers point just down the road. The location puts you a short distance away from many popular tourist locations. Overall this home has been wonderful and I will continue to come back

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Corona, CA
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

This ocean front duplex is a wonderful vacation rental. Everything you need is right there. My favorite part is walking out the front door, crossing a two lane street, and there's the beach. It is an incredible view from inside and outside the house. I love to sit on the bench right on the beach and watch the sun rise. It is an incredible experience. Our kids enjoy exploring the tide pools and rocks each day. We also like walking along the ocean path and riding bikes too!! It is beautiful to see the otters, seals, birds, geese and other amazing animals in the water. This location is ideal as it is literally minutes from the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. The city of Pacific Grove is filled with charming restaurants and store fronts. Our favorite places to eat are Peppers (a must eat) and Holly's Lighthouse Cafe. Of couse, there are many more eateries to try, but we just couldn't do it in one trip. Our family really enjoys vacationing here and will return again next year!!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Our family had a great time!

  • 5 of 5

We had to stay in California for a week because my son was having surgery. It was so much nicer to stay in a home than in a hotel room. My kids were playing in the sand and ocean every day, so it was great to have a washer and dryer. When the tide would go down in the afternoons we watched the seals from the front window (or porch) every day. Twice we saw a school of dolphins swim by (again from the front window). It's more of a coast, than a beach, but in the evening (when tide was low), there was a little stretch of beach where my kids could "run away" from the waves, and build sand piles, and wait for the waves to carry them away. Overall it is a fantastic location and little rental home (especially for the price). My only recommendation would be to bring your own blankets.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I think I'll go shopping for some new blankets.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pacific Grove Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,210
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100

$1100.00/week
1/31/10 1/31/13: $1100.00/Weekly 1(4 Guests) Per extra guest: $50.00
There is no 10% tax on renters staying 30 consecutive days or more

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Pacific Grove Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Sturdy hand rails in bathtub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • clock radios in each bedroom, TV in one bedroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Long term renters welcome, but reservations need to be made well in advance, as we get booked up quite far ahead Please ask before bringing your dog. We may need to charge an extra 'damage/cleaning' deposit when your pet comes with you, depending on the size of the pet, and how much it sheds. No cats allowed.

Partner Offers