check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Treasure Tours

Member since: 2000
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Hikaru means To Shine and that is what we do, Shine!

17 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Treasure Beach Villa Rental Photos and Description

4BR Sea front Villa with pool, seaside tennis court and the beach at your gate

This unspoiled area is one of the few fisherman's villages that welcomes tourist -- not a tourist area that tolerates fishermen.

Our four-bedroom beachfront villa includes a 50-foot lap pool, private tennis and croquet courts, and a wonderful cook-housekeeper.

You can walk deserted beaches, or snorkel, body-surf, or fish. You can photograph and share the lives of our fishermen neighbors; or you can enjoy the privacy of an acre-plus lot, shielded by trees and flowers.

Privacy: We're in a fishing village, but shielded by heavy plantings on an acre and a quarter. And you even pick your own tropical fruit! Our village neighbors will welcome you if you choose to visit, but will not intrude. Watch for returning fishing boats from our patio, then walk 300 yards to the harbor to watch fish weighed and sold -- and bring some home! Or walk to the west over a series of all-but-deserted beaches, half-mile scallops of sandy beach separated by reef spurs you can climb over or wade over in reef shoes.

We allow two tradespeople -- a basket maker and wood carver -- to come into the back yard to show their wares. Miss Vanessa will tell you they're there; it you say no thanks, they'll pack up and leave.

You can walk a hundred yards down our lane, if you'd like, to learn to play grown-up dominoes at a neighbor's bar.

Touristic things: Our groundskeeper leads a walk into the hills behind us, pointing out birds and orchids.

You can drive to Black River, or hire a local boatman, to see the historic slave-trading block, visit the colorful local outdoor market, or -- best of all -- go up the river a few miles, through mangrove forests and open marshlands occupied by colorful birds and crocodiles. On the way home, stop at the famous Pelican Bar for a drink.

The night sky and views : With almost no light pollution, the stars are brilliant. Go for a midnight dip in the pool, but once there turn the pool lights off to enjoy the magnificent sky. Only one Dipper at a time to the north; the Southern Cross rising over the ocean during the night.

Our wide patio catches an onshore breeze most of the day, and gives you a panoramic view of the Caribbean at your doorstep so wide you'll have to turn your head to take it all in.

All this while Miss Vanessa and Miss Elesha keep house for you, shop and prepare and serve all meals, and make it a very special vacation.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • smoking allowed
Treasure Tours (Property Manager)
Member since: 2000
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Why Treasure Tours chose Jamaica South Coast

It is easy to make friends with fishermen in our area, and we did. The area has remained relatively undeveloped because the South Coast is in a 'rain shadow': the northeast trades wring themselves out on the mountain spine, so we have half as much rain as Ocho Rios. For many years, we relied largely on rain caught on the rooftop. Large-scale hotels just weren't possible. Piped water arrived a few years ago, but tourist development has been blessedly slow.

What makes this villa unique

The house accommodates up to eight -- but when one wants to be alone, there are a half-dozen places to sit, birdwatch, read or just contemplate the Caribbean.

Reviews

4.9
based on 17 traveler reviews

Hikaru means To Shine and that is what we do, Shine!
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
5

Discover Treasure Beach and Hikaru

  • 5 of 5

Hikaru is a vacation destination for the inner adventurer in all of us waiting to escape.

Even though the option to swim in the pool or the ocean or just lie in the sun is ever-present, discovering the local color is a defining part of the stay. A boat ride up the Black River to see crocodiles or to jump off a jungle rope swing hanging down 30 feet in the air into that same river, playing dominoes with the locals at the corner bar in town, listening to ragae at Jake's, a fine dinner of Miss Vannessa's lobster salad, lunch at the Pelican Bar (right out of "Survivor"), it's all there for the taking. So much to discover.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 2
5

Grandmas getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was the most relaxing place to stay ever. We had total seclusion with our own pool and seaside beach. The ladies cooked our meals, grocery shopped and cleaned up after us. Patrick the groundsman was perfect in every way. He booked us a tour to Pelican Bar which you can only get to by boat. And our captain and crew were the best. He made sure we got to tour a small bit by getting us a taxi ride to where we wanted to go (about 4 miles total) as we didn't want to go very far. He also made sure we were supplied with all the necessities of Jamica and was always there to check on us. Rebecca did an excellent job in getting us to and from the airport, a massage therapist and visited us every other day. The Treasure Tour Team made us feel very welcome upon our arrival. Keys, spirits, food, all necessary items needed to make our stay was provided. The pool was cleaned daily and the beach was within walking distance. If you want a really laid back vacation this is the place. We will be back in 2018 to see the upgrades to be done and of course hoping some of the retro will stay. HATS OF TEXAS OFF THE ALL OF YOU AND WE LOVE YOU ALL!!! MUAH - GRANDMAS FROM TEXAS

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Villa Hikaru is a very special place

  • 5 of 5

Here are the reasons to come to Hikaru: gorgeous view of the beach, a perfect, private pool, Ms. Vanesha, Ms. Elisha and Mr. Patrick (the house staff who are warm, talented, and generous), a complete lack of tourists and a wonderful taste of real Jamaica. We came with 3 of our kids (ages 10, 16 and grown), son-in-law and baby grandson. There was plenty of room for all of us, and we were well taken care of by the staff: Mr. Patrick giving us fresh coconuts from the tree by the beach and Ms. Vanesha and Elisha cooking really amazing food (be sure to get the lobsters!) and keeping everything clean. It's like living on your own private beach resort. On cook's night out, we went out to Egge's and watched the sunset while eating curried conch, while our youngest 2 played hide and seek on the beach with a big bunch of kids. Took a day trip to YS Falls and the Appleton Rum Estate, with one of the drivers from Treasure Tours, and that was lots of fun. We can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to have your family come and visit us at Villa Hikaru and even better to see all of you relaxing and enjoying your stay and each other. We do look forward to your return soon! The staff LOVED having your there ....so your feelings for them are very mutual. Please come back often...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A 3rd amazing experience at Hikaru

  • 4 of 5

This was our 3rd trip to Villa Hikaru with our 2 kids (ages 5 and 7). We've traveled extensively in many parts of the world and Hikaru has come to be our "go to" place for restful family vacations. The set up is ideal for us. Our kids love exploring the property; they find "secret" spots in the garden, spend long days at the pool and building sand castles. The staff are wonderful people and the food is delicious. For us it is the ideal family vacation spot. The slow pace, incredibly beautiful scenery, and "off the beaten track" feel make for restful and joyful days together. We can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pretty perfect.

  • 5 of 5

A wonderful place to get away with NO stress. Gracious staff who made fantastic food, kept the place immaculate, and yet somehow also managed to be totally unobtrusive. Spectacular grounds with way more to offer than any other villa we looked at. You will feel welcome and extraordinarily relaxed. We spent mornings and evenings by the gorgeous pool, and afternoons out at the almost deserted beach.

Particulars - Don, the owner is extraordinarily helpful. He provided a TON of helpful information before we got there, and coordinated everything on very short notice. Travel to Treasure Beach is a bit rough; I spent the first night recovering from car sickness. Plan to break up the journey a bit if you can. And don't expect a super luxurious house. It is comfortable though a bit dated, but really, you will have no reason to be inside except to sleep. And you will feel like royalty because of the great service.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed! Come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A real Treasure

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful time we had at the Hikaru last week.

Staying at the Hikaru made our one week vacation feel like two. The property was amazing. Quiet, private and lushly landscaped, we felt like movie stars in our own secluded oasis. We divided our days between the pool, private beach and lounging areas...such decisions!

The staff were excellent. We were treated to some of the best Jamaican food we have ever eaten.

We are counting the days until we book again.

Thank you for the wonderful memories.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Miss Venesia, MIss Elesha and Mr. Patrick loved having you. We hope you'll come again soon, and that many others will heed your advice and come too.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Montego Bay
Nearest Barpub
40 Metres
Several local bars a short walk from the villa
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Local restaurants and "cook shops" walking distnce
Nearest Beach
60 Metres
Out our front gate
Car: not necessary

Treasure Beach, known as the home of community tourism, is an unspoiled series of fishing villages a half-hour east of Black River. We have been offering experiential tourism before that term was even thought of. Check out http://treasuretoursjamaica.com/tours_menu.cfm for a listing of some of the available tours of the area. But the best feature of a holiday in Treasure Beach is meeting and mingling with the local folks. We are proud of our community and can't wait to show it off to you! Our community is made up of fishermen and farmers who can show you how we fish and farm here. We are especially proud to be the 2nd largest sea turtle nesting area in Jamaica and from June - November you can witness this amazing occurrence. Whether you love to hike and bike, sit back in your lounge chair, or do a bit of both Treasure Beach is the place for you. We promise once you live it, you will love it and you will want to return often!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Treasure Beach Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Season
May 18 2016 - Dec 16 2016
4 night minimum stay
$261
$1,825
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,353
 
 
In Season
Jan 2 2017 - Apr 14 2017
4 night minimum stay
$339
$2,375
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$339
$2,375
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $238 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Rates are for a "base group" of four; 10% each additional person. Cost of groceries (our housekeeper will shop for you, on your instruction) paid separately to Don Noel, 141 Ridgefield St., Hartford CT 06112-1837. Call or email for details: dononoel@me.com, (861)713-9960.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Treasure Beach Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , Kings can be split into twins
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Can be made into king with king linen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , Can be made into king with king linen
  • The twin-beds are designed to be put together with appropriate linen as king-size beds. The crib will fit into either one of two of the four bedrooms.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 8 bicycles
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Villa Hikaru is one of the original villas to be built in Treasure Beach and is currently under a massive renovation project to be completed by November 30. Filled with charm and cool breezes this 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom villa sits atop a hill overlooking the Caribbean Sea. This u-shaped villa holds a large shaded verandah in the center of the house with all bedrooms exiting onto the verandah where you will enjoy taking your meals allowing you an amazing view of the sea while dining. Sun patios, shading gazebos, croquet court, cactus garden sitting area, swimming pool, tennis court and so much more is part of this expansive and newly renovated property. One bedroom has a queen size bed and 3 bedrooms have options of two single beds or a king size bed. Each bedroom has en suite bathrooms and air conditioning. Vanessa and Elesha will prepare delicious breakfasts and dinners each day allowing you more time for rest and relaxation. Patrick makes sure the grounds, pool and seaside tenn

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties