check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jim Summers - Albuquerque

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

"THE POOL HOUSE" Golfers, Movie Crews, Weddings, Families, Groups, Sport Teams

48 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Alamedan Valley House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrms + Guest house, 2900 s/f, 3 F Baths, Sleeps 8-14, Hot tub, 1/2 acre

It is always best to call Jim about dates or rates @ 505-450-1842. If the Pool House is booked for your dates we have another 3000 sq ft rental called the Game Room House which you can see at Homeaway.com/204509. Fun and cozy rustic home located in the North Valley close to the Balloon Fiesta Park, just up the street from the Convention Center and only a few miles from Sandia Casino and Golf Course. From May 1st to Septmeber 30th enjoy the clean in-ground pool! Year round is a large hot tub great for relaxing after busy day. Property is completely fenced with an automatic gate for security and privacy. Driveway can accommodate 4 vehicles or two with trailers. Street parking in front of home with electric available can accommodate any size RV. Front park like yard is relaxing and a great place to enjoy a meal outside or BBQ on the grill. Pool and hot tub are private and snuggled between main house and the pool/guest house. Pool has a deep end and is heated when needed. Pool house is included in the rental and has a full bath, queen bed and kitchen.

Great property for Families, Vacations, Movie Crews, Team Sports, Reunions, Family Holiday Get-Together and more!

Please read the rate section as this website headline only shows a nightly rate and does not show the true fee. Thanks!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jim Summers - Albuquerque (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Jim Summers - Albuquerque

I am a retired firefighter for the City of Albuquerque, Realtor, avid outdoorsman and love to travel to places where I can spearfish and enjoy the ocean. This photo is of a King Salmon from Bodega Bay CA.

Jim Summers - Albuquerque purchased this house in 2001

Why Jim Summers - Albuquerque chose Albuquerque

We started renting vacation homes over 14 years ago in Bodega Bay, CA and have been hooked ever since. The amount of money we saved by cooking at the rental home and spending fun time with our family and friends was so much better than sitting in a hotel room waiting for the others to get ready and sitting....again... at the restuarant. I love cooking together, playing games and having drinks in the hot tub afterwards. Try it and I believe you will too!

What makes this house unique

Our kitchens are stocked full of everything you need to cook a fantastic meal! When we decided to start renting out our former residence we knew exactly what was needed for a great vacation home as we had ten+ years experience by renting others. HOT TUB & POOL IS A MUST! What better way to wind down a long day of touristing than to relax in a private clean hot tub and cool off in the pool. Outdoor patio is required to have a social gathering vs watching TV. Enjoy your friends and family by cooking & playing together vs waiting for people to get ready in a hotel room and then go sit down again at a restaurant.

Guestbook comments from the owner

- continued -

"Thanks Jim, the Pool House was awesome. We know it's a money maker for you but you can tell you put alot of heart into it. You make it a great place with the fire pit, grills, and all the care for the yard & flowers and details on things people need for their stay. Nobody else does this. Wish we could stay longer and know we will look you up again on our next stay. PS - if you see some snails with numbers on them it was for the races we had out back."

(I promise I did not pay them to write that! Jim)

"Albuquerque May 24-28 A wonderful week in a great house with so nice friends! (drawings of four happy faces and names + hearts) (then paragraph written in another language... says from Norway) Thanks for letting us stay at the house. We had a great time enjoying the sun & the wind! The pool was wonderful too. Mostly talking with our cherished friends from Norway & our beloved family. May 31, 2008"

"June 22-29, 2008 Jim, we enjoyed the interior and exterior of the Pool House. Very good atmosphere! Take care and God Bless. College of Sante Fe Brotherhood Reunion"

"Raptors 2008 Football Banquet. Everyone enjoyed this years location!"

"7-6-08 We fed the dog. (refering to life sized german shepard that protects the house) Loved the house! (comments about some who got sick) Thanks for getting rid of the mosquitos for us! The pool's great. We milked your cows. (refering to huge black and white cow collection in the kitchen) Thanks for the memories! (15 signatures)"

"Hugh Heff loved the arrangement. Many bunnies galore. 8/12/08 - 8/18/08 (with nice drawing of Playboy bunny)

Jim, thanks for everything. We had such a blast! We had an 80"s party on Thursday night. So everyone was dressed like 80's and 80's music was rocked throughout the night. It was like a flashback to my childhood. It was awesome. My family LOVED the house so much. They really felt at home here. There was plenty of room for all of the bodies in this house."

"Why so serious?" along side a very nice pen drawing of the Joker?

"Aug 26 - party of ten from Conneticut, California, Arizona, Pennsylvania & Mass. We love your house, it's such a blessing... We're here for our Christian Recovery Home Conference. What an awesome day!!! We had a huge BBQ about 50 people!!! ( nice drawing of a hand in the peace position) Dios es amor!"

"Thank you so much for the use of your wonderful home! We had a great week & enjoyed having such a fun place to spread out!"



I hope you enjoyed re
Dec 2008
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.8
based on 48 traveler reviews

"THE POOL HOUSE" Golfers, Movie Crews, Weddings, Families, Groups, Sport Teams
average rating of 4.7708335 based on 51 reviews
5

Wonderful house for family reunion

  • 5 of 5

There were 11 of us: 3 siblings, 2 spouses, some children and twin infant grandsons, yet the place didn't seem crowded during our recent 6-day stay. We put the infants and their parents in the pool house so the main house was peaceful at night for adults. I rented another house in Albuquerque during the same week for other siblings. There they had to pay extra for the use of the guest house. The gate gave us an added sense of security. The hot tub and pool were enjoyed by all. The kitchen was well equipped for home-cooked meals. The 2 living rooms were a plus: one for watching TV and the other for conversation. The check-in and check-out information was complete and comprehensive - 3 single-spaced pages. However, it was still nice to run into the cleaning young lady (Crystal) who took the time to show us the intricacies of the house: from turning on the AC to open the pool cover... Jim was responsive and accommodating. I would definitely stay at this house again should my family return to Albuquerque. The only caution: the floor plan is NOT recommended for people in wheelchair - too many steps between rooms!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very comfortable property

  • 5 of 5

We needed a last minute place for lots of family to gather and this property was a godsend! Two large living areas for groups to congregate, and 5 bedrooms to spread our for sleeping. I was amazed at how warm the heating kept this large house, as it was 30 degrees outside. So well stocked with lots of dishes and spices past guests had left. It was wonderful! Our family had a great time visiting with each other here! Definitely recommend highly!!

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It is an accomidating property

  • 5 of 5

We found plenty of room. We rented for 12 but had 9 every one had space and plenty of privacy if they wanted it. We rented for extra for family that may have been coming through to visit on a daily basis. It had all that you needed for cooking and cleaning. Very close to good stores that you could shop at from food to clothes and fun stuff. The neighbor hood was very quiet and good to go for a walk in. We found the house to be warm, comfortable, and inviting as well as the neighborhood.

The house is an older home and you know that when you get inside. Furniture was comfortable and plenty of comfortable seating, counter tops and eating area. Great for visiting the lay out is perfect with the open space that included the kitchen dining room living room and sitting area. The entertainment room was right off that and provided the quiet you needed to watch tv or play games while visiting going on in the common area..

We did have an issue with the bath tubs not draining while you were taking a shower and the toilet backed up in the Pool house which when we tried to plunge it made sewage back up on the patio. Jim was very quick to respond and fixed the issue right away. The dish washer is possessed it starts when it wants to and has to be shut off or it will run for hours. Yes I said hours. Didn't realize it at first but after the first time it happened we just turned it off and opened the door so it couldn't go off on its own again. The house was warm and comfortable. When the sun was shining it became very hot so some doors were opened. We used the back patio most of the AM and into early afternoon just to sit in the sun and visit. Wish we used the Jacuzzi but we ended up sight seeing a lot. We definality left the house cleaner than we found it. It could have been cleaner for the time allotted for that. But we enjoyed the house and would rent the pool house again. Jim was friendly and helpful and hopefully he found us to be great house renters. enjoy the pool house if you choose it. There are more pros than cons.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Not bad, but not great!

  • 3 of 5

The house is not bad, nothing fancy. It has plenty of room for a large group, and the price was very reasonable. The location is great for the balloon fiesta. We have stayed in the house on two different occasions, and each time the roof has leaked in the family room when it rained. During our recent stay, the front outdoor lights were burnt out, we took a light bulb out of the dining room fixture and placed it in the porch light by the front door in order to see when returning after dark. The carpet needs to be cleaned; there was mildew in the master bedroom shower; we could not get the broiler or one of the burners to light on the stove. The house is showing its age and needs a good cleaning and some updating.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The Guest is absolutely correct on several points! Anonymous stated it is not bad but not fancy. Well I hope I painted that picture (along with the pictures) that the Pool House is an old adobe home with a very comfortable feel but not "fancy". That has been a challenge to try to keep the "old" homestead feel as it would be so easy to upgrade it to modern "fancy" design but that would ruin the feel of the house. The house does have plenty of room for a large group, is priced fair and is very close to the Balloon Fiesta. During the middle of the Fiesta Albuquerque was hit with a very heavy down pour of rain and that amount of rapid rainfall caused water to back up on the roof in areas that it normally does not. The roof did leak. The guests did call and I was there at the house within a couple hours clearing the roof but the rain continued falling for two days. I attempted to patch the leaking area while it was raining but never found the spot causing it. I did find the culprit afterwards and made the roof repairs. The great part was the storms were all in the afternoons and the balloons flew every single day which was a first in over 20 years. It is obvious the roof doesn't always leak as Albuquerque is experiencing one of it's wettest years in a very long time. I consider it a very positive compliment when guests return to rent the same house over and over so "Thank You" for that! As for the burnt out light bulb.......well if I had been asked I would have let them know we keep extra bulbs in the laundry room. Since they are dusk to dawn lights I was not aware that we had a bulb burned out. We will be doing much renovation this winter/spring (our downtime) but we will not be upgrading to anything fancy as the prior 40+ guests comments have stated the Pool House has a warm feel to it and most guests like that. Thanks for the review PS - I wish they had commented on the large number of pomegranates that were ripe on the tree and they got to enjoy during their visit. We also have apple and peach trees that produce fruit in the summer months.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Ideal for a large family holiday or celebration

  • 4 of 5

The listing description was quite accurate. Our extended-family group, comprising three generations, was celebrating a major birthday of a senior member, and we strongly recommend the Pool House for such an occasion. The large and shady front yard, pool, hot tub, patio, and barbecue facilities appealed to young and old alike. The pool was especially popular, and pool toys are included.The house is well furnished and maintained, but the roof leaked in one spot after heavy rain though the owner came at once to fix it, and the dishwasher should probably be replaced. The owner is genial, flexible, and prompt. He used to live here, and therefore has a special feeling for the property; he does his very best to make sure that you will like it, too. The North Valley location is convenient for shopping (Costco and Cottonwood Mall), sightseeing, sports, and eating out (many good restaurants on 4th Street), but public transportation is sketchy and you will need your own car(s) to get around. Although we did not use it, the Los Ranchos Journal Center station of the Railrunner to Santa Fe (or south to Belen) is only a mile away.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Loveland, CO
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a nice stay stay with room for us all. There was my wife and I along with our 5 kids and 1 grandchild. There was always something to do with the pool and the spacious front yard and games provided inside the house. The house is close to everything, a 10-15 minute drive, to make it very accessible.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: recommended

North Valley Albuquerque, close to casinos, downtown & more. Quick and easy access to freeway and Westside. Only 2-3 blocks from Paseo Del Norte and the Rail Runner Train Depot.

Other Activities: Downhill/Alpine Skiing, Racquetball, Miniature golf, Kayaking, Hot Air Ballooning

Photos

Rates & Availability

Alamedan Valley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Pool Season 2016
May 1 2016 - Sep 29 2016
1 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Balloon Fiesta 2016
Sep 30 2016 - Oct 9 2016
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Weddings 4 Nights Thur - Mon
May 4 2017 - May 7 2017
4 night minimum stay
$2,450
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$375
 

Additional information about rental rates

Base Fee - see below $750

We simplified it! All inclusive rate so you know exactly the total amount due NOW! Nightly rate + base fee (that's it) includes rental, all taxes, all supplies & cleaning fees and yard/pool/hot tub fees. No minimum or maximum number.
Example - for a $200 night time period 4 nights x 200 = 800 + 750 base = $1550
Need to add a night +200, remove a night -200! That easy and NO hidden fees ever!
$50 administration fee will deducted from the deposit if the reservation is cancelled for any reason. Cancellations must be made at least 60 days prior to arrival or the entire deposit will be kept as we can not fill a large group house in that short of time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Alamedan Valley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain ...
  • River ...
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Shampoo
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Guest House - 1 queen , Full Bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , Office with full bed
    Living & Sunroom - 3 sleep sofa /futon , Pull out couch and two trundle beds
  • The office has a full bed and is used as a bedroom except no permanent closet. There is a clothes hanging rack and dresser. In the sun room there are 2 trundle beds that you can set up as well as in the living room a sectional sofa queen hide a bed. The Guest house has a Queen bed and another chair that converts to a single bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Shade tree covers the front grass area. Kid friendly, small kids play ground toys and more. Property is totally fenced and pool has automatic safety cover. 2 BBQ grills. One portable on back patio and a brick BBQ grill in the front yard picnic area. Propane is provided. Private Pool: Pool is Open form May 1st till October 15th! In ground 33'x16' with automatic cover. High speed internet is provided and a wireless modem is in the house however we do not provide diagnostic services nor do we guarantee your computer will connect to it.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties