Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up


Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Fox Den Cabin--Secluded Mountain Getaway Near Shenandoah National Park

20 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalize payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Shenandoah Valley Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin - 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed - 1 Bath - (Sleeps up to 5)

Secluded along the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains we have the ideal vacation getaway. This unspoiled paradise is perfect for a romantic rendezvous or a family retreat. With 10+ acres there is plenty of space to soak up the crisp, clean mountain air and enjoy the great outdoors. Walk, hike, or visit the nearby creek. Catch a glimpse of wildlife roaming the area. Play outside on the large front lawn and fire up the BBQ grill for a picnic on the covered patio. At the end of your day, watch the sunset from the porch swing, curl up by the gas fireplace or roast marshmellows around the campfire area. The cabin is located just outside Luray in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, minutes from Skyline Drive and Luray Caverns. Open year round.

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Erik (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Erik

Fox Den Cabin is a family run vacation rental in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. Our entire family was born and raised in Luray, Virginia. We take pride in providing you with a great vacation experience and a clean, cozy place to call home whenever you visit the Shenandoah Valley.

Erik purchased this cabin in 2005

What makes this cabin unique

The cabin has a rustic feel, but is just modern enough to provide you with all the amenities of home. The property is bordered by rock walls dating back to the late 1800's. Years of hard work was put into rebuilding the walls as you see them today.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Very clean and centrally loctaed, cabin is nice size for smaller family, we had everything we needed there, would recommend to a friend
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 4


based on 20 traveler reviews

Fox Den Cabin--Secluded Mountain Getaway Near Shenandoah National Park
average rating of 4.4 based on 24 reviews
Cincinnati, OH

Close to Shenandoah Park

  • 4 of 5

We used the cabin as a base of operation for three days of hiking in Shenandoah National Park. It is a great location - 10 minute drive to the entrance, 25 minutes to Skyland. The cabin is cozy – two small bedrooms, single bathroom (with tub), full kitchen, and a living room. Plenty of room for a family of four. We enjoyed the large front porch that overlooks the 2 acre front lawn - large, flat area for playing sports. There was no sports equipment at the house, so bring your own balls, nets, and bats. The neighboring houses were over a 100 yards away, so really did not see/hear them. The kitchen came with the basics including full size frig, electric stove, microwave, pots, pans, and dishes. The kitchen did not have a dishwasher or slow cooker.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

I would not recommend this cabin to anyone I know!!

  • 3 of 5

The cabin is beautiful, but there is no water pressure at all. If my fiance turned on the water in the kitchen, then the water completely turned off in the shower. The toilet is so low to the floor that you could crawl off of it. The sink is too low to the floor. There is no cell phone signal at all. I have a special needs child and could not communicate with anyone all weekend because my phone would not work. There is a phone at the cabin, but you can only make local calls. The master suite bed is as hard as a rock. I had to take pain medication to function after sleeping in it. I would not recommend this cabin to anyone I know.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We welcome feedback on how to improve our property for future guests and strive to make the cabin a great experience, however it's not possible to please everyone. The sink and toilet are standard height. Standard height toilets are easier for children to use. We would be reluctant to change to something taller because of this. We do not advertise that we are ADA compliant. If you have special needs it is best to check with us to make sure the property will be suitable for you before placing a reservation. The water is on a well and filter system. It is not set up to use two or three fixtures at the same time without experiencing some pressure loss. This has never been a concern with previous guests. Currently the phone at the cabin is for local and emergency calls, however we will be offering unlimited long distance starting June 2016 in response to requests for this. The main bedroom mattress tends to be firmer than the mattress in the secondary bedroom. Finding beds that suit everyone’s needs and comfort level is hard to do. We have had good luck with the mattresses we currently use, however we will look into replacing them if this continues to be a concern.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fox Den was peaceful, beautiful & immaculate!

  • 5 of 5

We were relaxed the moment we stepped on the porch of this beautiful cabin. Although we visited sights in Luray, we could easily have stayed in the cabin and had just as good a time. Little touches like the foxes and the candles throughout the house make it quite homey. Go there! We will certainly go back!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful cabin, no info for local info

  • 3 of 5

The cottage was beautiful and clean. With the full moon this weekend it was a beautiful sight. There is no wifi or cell service at the cabin there is a phone for local calls. There was no info for local places to eat or see many of the information pamphlets were out of date or for other parts of the state. We researched places to go before coming down but were not sure of their locations and were consistently pulling over after we had cell crevice for the gps.

The outside porch was wonderful but there are a lot of wasps nests and bee hives around the porch. At night there are no lights on the porch to play games.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the comments about the cottage being neat and clean. We keep it that way for each and every guest. Reliable cell phone coverage and high speed internet is not available due to the secluded location near Shenandoah National Park. We hope that in the future this will change so we can offer better service. The pamphlets at the cabin have been left by previous guests. We try to leave as much information at the cottage as possible, however since everyone has different preferences we do not recommend one restaurant over another unless we are specifically asked for that advice. It would be impossible for us to provide directions on how to get to each attraction someone might want to visit. There are lights at each door and one ceiling light on the front porch. Overhead lights are limited in other areas. We look forward to improving the lighting in the near future should this continue to be an issue with our guests. We spray for bees and insects several times a year and no guest has complained of them or been stung during their stay. We believe the guest leaving this review saw mud masons. They look like wasps but are non-aggressive. We normally take down any type of nest when we clean, however they can appear in a day or two during your stay with us. For that reason, we keep a can of insect repellent and bee spray on the side porch for our guests convenience. We can assure you if there was a serious bee problem we would have already taken care of it! Coming to our vacation cottage is an outdoor adventure. Being in the woods around nature is all part of the experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

peaceful cabin

  • 4 of 5

We just stayed at Fox Den Cabin an The Only thing i didn't like was the bed. Everything else was very nice an the place is so peaceful an clean. Would definitely go back if they got a better bed. But we very Much Loved our stay. Thank you Eric for letting us stay in your lovely cabin.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Finding bedding that suits everyone's taste is very hard to do. We will be in contact with you to find out what about the bed you didn't like and will work to improve this issue as soon as possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We went to the fox den for my Birthday/Valentines weekend. The place is cozy and comfortable for my wife and daughter and two dogs. February is there offseason so it's very quite but a lot of things close early or are closed for the

Season. The place is clean and a very good and quite location. I will diffently coming back in the summer!!

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Dulles International Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Uncle Bucks
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Luray Caverns Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Southern Grill or Brookside
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Massanutten Ski Resort and Waterpark
Car: recommended

We are located along the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. four miles outside the town of Luray. We are two miles from Shenandoah National Park & Lake Arrowhead Park. Six miles from Luray Caverns. Popular area attractions include:

-Skyline Drive

-Shenandoah River Outfitters

-Luray Zoo (awesome rescue zoo!)

-Massanutten Ski Resort and Waterpark

-New Market Civil War Battlefield and Museum

-Page Theatre (great small town movie theatre!)

-Plus nearby wineries/vineyards and wildlife viewing


Rates & Availability

Luray Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Mid Season
Apr 1 2016 - May 26 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
Peak Season
May 27 2016 - Sep 5 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
Mid Season
Sep 6 2016 - Jan 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.3%

Free mountain air and scenery with every stay!

Rates INCLUDE linens and towels

Saturday-Saturday stays may not be available
3 night minimum holidays and holiday weekends
Holidays are charged the same rate as weekend nights

Pet Friendly, dogs 1 yr and older only up to 60 lbs or two no more than 60 lbs total)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Shenandoah Valley Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen
  • Main bedroom has a queen bed. Second bedroom has a double bed. Living room has a queen size sleeper sofa.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Outdoor Campfire Area, Mountain Scenery and Wildlife

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote