Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

AMAPOLA HOUSE BEACH AREA VILLA - COVERED POOL, SKY DECK HOT TUB - GREAT RATES

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

4 levels, 4 large bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps up to 8

Puerto Rico’s Amapola House is a private getaway minutes from the quaint town of Rincon, nestled near sweeping hillsides and tropical scenery in the Caribbean islands. Located a few minutes away from pristine Sandy Beach and the best Rincon restaurants and bars, Amapola House provides a comfortable resting place for those that want to have an activity-filled day, but a quiet place to return to at night. Backup electric and water ensure a completely pleasant stay.

The owners make sure that Amapola House feels more like second home than a hotel. Built by the Avilés family, who has lived in the area for generations, the house features modern design and stylish décor. Named after the hibiscus flowers that used to bloom on the property of the family matriarch, Amelia Avilés, Amapola House features original paintings, family heirlooms and historic surfing photos and sepias of Old Rincon going back to the 1890’s.

Once situated, guests can sit in comfortable chairs and look out into the tropical scenery from the Starlight Veranda, the private suite terrace or the lower California pool deck. They can also sunbathe on the Sunset Sky Deck, which also features a jumbo-sized spa tub, perfect for relaxing evenings.

Amapola House is a four-level vacation home with four bedrooms. All the bedrooms include large closets and either a queen bed or two twin beds. With three full bathrooms, the house comfortably accommodates up to eight people. Rooms are decorated in rich yellow and terracotta tones in a contemporary style. A private suite is located on its own level with a private terrace and outdoor dining area. Guests who like to cook on holiday will love the fully equipped kitchen and cocktail bar. Amapola House also offers a dining service for eight, and several great restaurants are minutes away.

Amapola House offers a unique vacation experience that vastly differs from others in the area. Located in a private area that is only reachable through nearly untraveled roads, it gives guests seclusion and tranquility, while still being close to the area’s best beaches and hotspots. The art, antiques and photos offer a glimpse into Rincon’s past and the history of surfing. Guests will truly feel at home at Amapola House, which was designed to do just that.

The golden sands and pristine waters of Sandy Beach are only two minutes by car and ten minutes on foot. Our Sky Deck sunsets are unforgettable and and the nights are filled with millions of stars and serious moonlight.

The interior is designer-decorated and contains a private collection of heirloom antiques and vintage photographs of Old Rincon and Surfing legends, which are part of The Amapola House Story.

Everyone that stays at Amapola House only regrets not staying longer and wishes to return soon, as indicated in our Guest Book entries.

Our kitchen and bar are well-equipped. Guest sleeps quite comfortably in beds with high-quality mattresses and high-count linens (no futons or pull outs). Extra large closets keep your living accommodations spacious.

Our oversized towels are plush and so are our beach towels. The large bathrooms offer rain shower heads, glass basins and oversized mirrors to allow you to pamper yourself as you prepare for the evening, after a day at the beach or a day trip.

iPod stereos, DVD players, flat screen TV's and full cable TV service provide entertainment between outings. High-speed wireless Internet keeps you connected when you want to be.

Our caretaker is always nearby and available to assist you during your stay at Amapola House and to ensure that your stay is a comfortable one.

This home has four levels with stairs and may not be suitable for wheelchairs and persons with limited mobility.

To reserve your stay or for more about Amapola House, go Reservations or call us at 786-546-6653.

More Details

Owner
Peter Anthony
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 14, 2017

About Peter Anthony

Well-traveled owner who used those experiences when designing this Elegant Villa.

Peter Anthony purchased this villa in 2008

Why Peter Anthony chose Puntas

I've lived in Rincón on and off for many years and our family has owned the property since the times of the Spanish Main. Simply put: The best place in the world.

What makes this villa unique

Enjoy the family antiques and heirlooms as well as historic photos from the 1890's to the present. Read our book 'The Amapola House Story' and view the original ABC Wide World of Sports coverage of the historic 1968 World Surfing Championship, which put Rincon on the map. Backup electric and water ensure a completely pleasant stay.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Amapola House is a tranquil delight. A group of eight of us travelled to from Ireland to Rincon for a week's stay. This modern villa was immaculate with fantastic utilities and comfortable rooms. I would recommend renting a car if you were to stay here as it's a little off the beaten track, a ten minute walk from the beach and about two miles from the town of Rincon. There are many advantages of staying at this villa, watching the sunset from the rooftop, bathing in the hot tub whilst listening to music, having a nice glass of wine straight from the wine cooler in the kitchen and lots, lots more. You really have to see it to believe it! I would most certainly recommend a stay at Amapola House.
Mar 2009
  • 1 of 4

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Aguadilla International (BQN)
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
5 Beach Bars
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
5 Seaside Restaurants
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
Sandy Beach - Pools - Antonio's
Car: recommended

Google Error Note: Google has incorrectly added the nearby town of Aguada and an incorrect 00602 zip code to our location. Our true location is Amapola House, Carr Vista Linda (413 Interior), Bo. Puntas, Rincon, Puerto Rico 00677. There are no actual house numbers in our rural area. Search "Amapola House" in Google Maps or Waze.

Rincon is a wonderful and secluded beach town that has allowed time and the troubles of the world to pass it by. It is a special place, filled with delightful sights, sounds and friendly people. If you haven't been to Rincon, Puerto Rico, visit us soon, but be warned: you may never want to leave.

In Rincon, a palpable positive energy perks you up and makes you want to swim, dive, fish, snorkel, surf, body-board, sail, hike, ride, eat, drink, party and find romance.

Surf big waves at the north beaches, then snorkel in the calm waters at the south beaches. See humpback whales frolic near the shore, during the Winter. Take a boat trip to nearby Desecheo Island and go fishing, snorkel its shallow emerald pools, or dive a reef wall. Explore tropical forest and seaside nature trails. Eat & Drink at our great restaurants and beach bars and enjoy a wide range of delicious Caribbean cooking. In Rincon, Puerto Rico, USA, no American Passport is required.

Other Activities: casinos, clubs, salsa dancing

Golf: Golf at nearby Borinquen Golf Club, located only 25 minutes away from Amapola House.

Amenities

Puntas Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Amapola House has four levels and may not be suitable for wheelchairs and persons with limited mobility.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Glass Sink & Shower Wall
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Glass Sink & Shower Wall
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Glass Shower Wall
  • The main bathroom has glass sink, a tub and rain forest shower head. The master bathroom has a glass sink and a glass block shower wall with a rain-forest shower head. The fourth bedroom suite has a private bathroom with a glass block shower wall and rain-forest shower head.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Private Bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , XL Bedroom
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Private Suite with Full Bathroom & Terrace
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , 2 Twins convert to 1 King upon request.
  • The master bedroom has a tropical view, a queen bed and a large closet. It offers an Internet network cable outlet, as well as wireless access. The second bedroom has a tropical view, a queen bed and a large closet. The third bedroom has a tropical view, two twin beds, convertible to a king bed and a large closet. The fourth bedroom suite is situated on its own level and offers a tropical view, a queen bed, private bathroom with glass block shower and rain forest shower head, private terrace with dining table, Wi-Fi and network outlet, flat screen TV with cable service, a clock radio with iPod connection, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker and a microwave oven.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • alternative lifestyle
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Amenities include: Covered Pool & Deck. Beach Chairs and Towels. Starlight Veranda with chairs; Rooftop Sky Deck with spa tub, dining table, bar and sun deck chairs. A/C in all interior areas. Ceiling fans. Wi-Fi and network outlets. Flat screen TVs with cable and Stereo. Wine cooler. Well equipped kitchen. Stove with oven. Table service for eight. Bed sheets & towels. Outdoor shower. Automatic back-up water and lights. Parking for two cars. Washer, dryer, Iron & ironing board. Amapola House VIP Arrival & Departure Services include a personal familiarization tour at check-in and personal assistance at check out. You'll be provided with your own up-to-date guidebooks and our local newspaper that tells you all the places to go and everything that's happening during your stay. Additional Amapola House Services include, maid service, as well as grocery shopping and catered food service.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
AMAPOLA HOUSE BEACH AREA VILLA - COVERED POOL, SKY DECK HOT TUB - GREAT RATES
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 23 reviews
Waterford Lakes, FL
5

Amapola House: More Than We Expected

  • 5 of 5

We're among the first to stay at Amapola House, because it's brand new. It's much more than what we saw online. The stay was totally enjoyable. The place is quiet has everything you'd want for a beach-area villa and more. The view from the rooftop is awesome, with unforgettable sunsets, especially from the spa tub. We loved all the modern touches, such as super-quiet A/Cs, the bar and wine cooler, silky mega-count linens and super thick towels. The beaches, only minutes away, were pristine and we had great lunches and dinners at the many restaurants located at Sandy Beach; the beach bars had live music and friendly barkeeps and locals. We took advantage of the promotional introductory rates, but will gladly pay the full rate to spend more time at Amapola House when we return for our Winter vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2008
  • Stayed: July 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: At Amapola House, we appreciate the feedback that we receive from our Guests. We strive to improve our accommodations and amenities to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay, by providing sensible lodging services in an elegant setting, surrounded by the natural beauty of Rincon.
Did you find this review helpful?
30 5
4

Enjoyable vacation

  • 4 of 5

The amapola house was very much as shown on the vrbo site. It was clean and well maintained. The location is excellent and we had a great time. Peter was responsive and handled the one problem quite quickly... we asked for groceries to be shopped for and paid but they weren't there I called and they were delivered an hour or so later... no worries and nice they provide this service. 2 notes . The driveway is poor, unless you pull in just right or you have a car w high clearance you will bottom out every time... this should be fixed. Also the beach chairs provided are the stadium chairs that are really uncomfortable we bought our own. Both of these things are very minor and are only intended to improve a property I highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad that our house and services are well appreciated by our guests and will continue to read and listen to all suggestions and comments to keep Amapola House a 5 Star Vacation Home. We strive to provide the best of everything to our guests. After heavy rainstorms washed out the public road gutters, instead of waiting for the city road crews, we've hired a private contractor to make improvements that will level and beautify our entrance. We're constantly buying beach chairs to replace the damaged and missing ones and we always try to locate the best ones available at the local vendors.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
St Louis
5

Nice place. Good location in Puntas. Accurate description. Clean.

  • 5 of 5

We were very pleased with our stay. The description and pictures on the website were quite accurate. Gorgeous views and plenty of space. The roof top was great. We saw lots of rainbows. Beach chairs included, a plus! Be aware the fourth bedroom has its own entrance and cannot be accessed from the main part of the house. Overall we were very comfortable. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We make every effort to ensure that Amapola House is a perfect fit for our Guests. Our pictures and descriptions are constantly updated to show the upgrades and improvements that we are constantly making. Our repeat Guests always find something new when they come back to Amapola House. Our second level suite is a favorite with guests who really like its intimate location and privacy, having their own private full bathroom, the separate sunset view terrace and quick access to the the pool deck.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Meriden, CT
5

Beautiful property and sorroundings

  • 5 of 5

The listing was accurate with regards to the location, layout and amenities in the house. The house is absolutely beautiful and the views are breathtaking. From the color, the art work, the layout of all the rooms - everything was well maintained and clean and resembled the online pictures. The property manager welcomed us and was available whenever we had questions or needed to borrow something (like sugar for our coffee). We also got some yummy avocados and bananas from around the property.

There is plenty of surfing beaches and quiet areas to go suntan. Plenty of restaurants and shops within driving distance. Our stay was great. We were able to relax and enjoy the stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything About Amapola is Beautiful and Clean!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at the Amapola House for 4 days with myself, 5 other adults and my 6 year old daughter. The house is beautiful as are the views and outdoor areas, and it is kept immaculately clean (which is a must for my travel companions). The photos are a perfect representation of the house. The location of the house is wonderful as it is on a "side street" rather than the next street over which can be used as a cut through to get to the beaches, so it is nice and quiet.

We were planning our next stay at Amapola halfway through our first day staying in it -- so we will be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Breathe taking!!

  • 5 of 5

Loved Amapola House !! Amazing view, super clean, has everything you need when on vacation!! Nice quiet neighborhood! Very close to a nice beach ! Definitely coming back soon!!

Kat R.

Tampa, Fl.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $195

We offer a Special 10% Rate Discount for reservations that are paid in full when booking. Amapola House is located in the quieter section of a residential beach area community and is not suitable for events or student and singles party groups. Amapola House is rented to responsible adults over the age of twenty-five.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.