Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Grand Retreat - Roomy Timberframe Home, Free Wi-Fi

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 3,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, game room, huge kitchen, 3 Baths, Sleeps 12, FREE Wi-Fi & FIREWOOD

The Grand Retreat is sure to please the entire family with its large great room, a deck overlooking Jonvick Creek, large fire pit for evenings around the bonfire, full size pool table and a dedicated theater room featuring a 50” flat screen TV with surround sound. This home sits on a large wooded lot with no neighbors. It is only 5 minutes from Lutsen Mountain and centrally located for hiking, fishing, snowmobiling, waterfalls, and scenic drives. Free WIFI and *one rack of firewood.

This custom home is a large two level timber frame home with two complete family rooms – one featuring a full size pool table and game table, the other features a stone wood-burning fireplace with gorgeous views. There is a custom full kitchen with a large dining table that seats 12, five bedrooms, three full-bathrooms and a two-car garage. It has hickory floors with in-floor radiant heating, granite countertops, vaulted ceilings with exposed beams and warm cedar. It is furnished with high quality furniture – comfy rich leather couches, four-poster beds with thick mattresses, double bunk beds and comfy sofas in the theater room, one that has a pull out Lazy-Boy double bed.

There is room for a maximum of 5 vehicles.

More Details

Property Manager
Greg Amundson
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

About Greg Amundson

Greg and Betsy live in Scandia, Minnesota. A previous home building contractor, Greg built more than 50 custom timber frame homes on the north shore, including all of the Lutsen Lodges homes. Currently, Greg and Betsy own and operate Lutsen Lodges vacation rental homes and are also business entrepreneurs.

Greg Amundson purchased this house in 2006

Why Greg Amundson chose Minnesota

Lutsen Lodges was established to provide families and friends a high quality vacation in an “upper end” post and beam retreat. Our properties are located in the Sawtooth Mountains just 5 minutes from Lutsen Mountain Ski Resort and in the midst of numerous lakes, streams, hiking and snowmobile trails, waterfalls and much more. In addition, these retreats are in secluded and quiet locations for those seeking extreme relaxation or outdoor activities.

Lutsen, Minnesota is the ultimate outdoor recreation area. Whether your interests are hiking, fly-fishing, lake fishing, hunting, kayaking, mountain biking, photography or snowmobiling, the Lutsen area is unsurpassed for any outdoor activity. Close to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area, wildlife abounds and you may see moose, wolves, deer, loons, black bear and much more.

What makes this house unique

Our properties feature only the best in amenities: radiant heated floors, free wi-fi, large stone fireplaces, granite countertops, flat screen satellite TV's, outdoor fire pits, comfortable furniture, pool tables/game rooms and best of all large custom kitchens. All our properties are located 5 minutes from Lutsen Mountain Ski Resort and centrally located for hiking, fishing, snowmobiling, waterfalls, and scenic drives.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Twelve women from church thoroughly enjoyed your beautiful home. We thought it was especially thoughtful of you to have a large dining room table that seats 12 and was perfect for our group. We enjoyed 2 days of hiking, lots of laughter, sunshine, game playing and wisdom swapping. We are GLOW(God Loving Outdoor Women)
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Lutsen House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Main Floor Bathroom - toilet , shower , Access from great room and bedroom.
    Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Private bathroom accessed only from the master bedroom
    Basement Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • Three full bathrooms. Master bathroom includes tub/shower combo. Two bathrooms include stand-up showers.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Includes private full bathroom
    Main Floor Bedroom - 1 queen , Private room for 2.
    Basement Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk beds include a full-size and twin-size mattress.
    Basement Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk beds inlude a full size and twin size mattress.
    Basement Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Comfy queen size sofa bed in theater room.
  • Two private rooms on main floor with queen size, two basement bedrooms, each with bunk beds including a double mattress on bottom and a single mattress on top and the theater room converts to a private room with a new pull-out sofa bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Dedicated theater room with 50-inch plasma screen and surround sound' system including a Blue Ray DVD Player

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

Grand Retreat - Roomy Timberframe Home, Free Wi-Fi
average rating of 4.6896553 based on 35 reviews
4

Great Stay, as always

  • 4 of 5

A group of guys have been meeting up for "mancation" for the last 11 years--we've now spent 3 of them at this house because it is simply a great place to stay. Foosball and Air Hockey are nice additions to this already great place.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kirk; Always a pleasure having you and your group up at our houses. Take care, Greg and Betsy Lutsen Lodges
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet and excellent space.

  • 5 of 5

Place was awesome. Great location and near a lot of hiking trails. Place had enough space for me and my friends. Cozy, and the landscape was beautiful to wake up to every morning.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Abraham - we appreciate your review on our home. Greg and Betsy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minneapolis, MN
5

Great ski weekend

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for a large group. We enjoyed the large living room and game room down stairs. The bonfire pit and wood fireplaces inside was a nice bonus. Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Andrew; Thank you for the great review. We very much appreciate your business and hope you will consider us again in the future. Regards, Greg and Betsy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice!

  • 5 of 5

The layout was great for family gathering.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gordon; Thank you for your review of the Grand Retreat. Were always glad to hear from our guests whether it is praise or helpful suggestions to improve your stay. Greg and Betsy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alexandria, MN
1

Never received code to get in, horrible experience

  • 1 of 5

We were very excited for our annual ski trip, booked this house for the family! During travel up north, we realized we had never received confirmation email with instructions on how to get in. We searched through email after finding nothing other than payment receipts, called the owners cell, and left multiple messages. After 4+ hours of travel with an infant, we started to get worried as it was late and still no way into the house. After no response from multiple emails, phone calls, voicemails… Our family started to arrive with no way in. Now after 11 pm, options for other places to stay was not looking good in secluded Lutsen area. After two couples had managed to check into separate hotels, one of our couples arrived and noticed the garage door was accessible, luckily finally found an unlocked door allowing half our group a place to stay for the night. Mid morning the next day, finally received a call from the owner. After explaining our nightmare, he offered minimal compensation for the issues. After a month of waiting, no communications or check received as we discussed. Very disappointed in how things were handled, awaiting updates from VRBO complaint.

The house fit our group ok, heating (or lack of heating) seemed to be very touchy and kept our group up at night.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nicole; Were not sure what to say, we feel terrible about the experience you suffered arriving late at night with an infant and not having access to our home. We also feel terrible about not hearing your phone call late that night. We very much regret that you never received the information sheet, which we emailed you, containing the directions and door code. Sometimes spam filters perceive these attachments as spam and block them. In reference to your comment about reimbursement, we did cover the extra costs of your guests that stayed at a hotel that evening even though you were able to gain access to the home. The check was delayed because we were waiting for your response as to whom and where to send it. A lot of these issues were due to email problems and we always recommend to all of our renters to contact us prior to their trip if they are missing ANY information or have questions. We have been in business 8 years and have never had this type of situation occur and will do our best to make sure it can never happen again. We must admit, your 1 star review stings and will, unfortunately, be a part of our listing forever, but we will learn from the experience and continue to strive for 100% satisfaction for all of our future renters. Our best Betsy and Greg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home with great amenities!

  • 5 of 5

Our experience with this home was fantastic. Not only was the home in great shape, it offered a beautiful view that was wonderful to wake up to each morning. Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a weekend getaway up on the North Shore.

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Nick, we value your reviews and strive to offer the highest quality rental homes in the Lutsen area. Regards, Greg and Betsy Lutsen Lodges
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Lutsen Mountains
Superior National Golf
Cascade River State Park
"Fantastic waterfalls and views of Lake Superior. Great fall fishing for Steelhead and King ..."
Boundary Waters Canoe Area
"Only 15 minutes from the Lutsen Lodges Grand Retreat. Great for canoeing, kayaking, fishing..."
Cascade Lodge Restaurant
"This is our favorite place to eat that always does a great job and offer some of the best me..."
Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Duluth, MN Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Papa Charlies
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Superior Ridge
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 61
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Moguls
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Lutsen Mountain
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Car: necessary

Wilderness Concierge - If you looking for assistance on personalized activities such as hiking, photography, moose viewing, fishing, hunting, canoeing and much more simply let us know and we can customize a guided or unguided package for you and your guests

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lutsen House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Memorial Weekend
May 25 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$625
 
 
July 4th Week
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
$625
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$625
 
 
MEA Weekend
Oct 19 2017 - Oct 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$625
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$625
 
 
Christmas and New Years
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 2 2018
5 night minimum stay
$625
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$590
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $85 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.38%

If you utilize the "Book it Now" feature you will be charged a Service Fee by VRBO from 4% - 10%. You can make a reservation without this fee by contacting our office directly.

All homes have a 3 NIGHT MINIMUM stay.

Cancellation Fee 60 days or more before 12:01 AM of your first nights rental is $250.00. If cancelled within 60 days of your first days rental there is no refund unless we can re rent the home for AT LEAST the same amount of your reservation.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable