check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

David

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Kid Friendly Condo Ski In/Ski Out to Tahoe Donner Ski Slopes!

17 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Lake Tahoe North Shore Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 3-6)

We bought our 2 bedroom, 1.5 bath condo (sleeps 6) when our twin girls were two years old so they could grow up enjoying mountain life. We designed a kid-friendly condo that would grow as our kids grow, but always be a fun, safe environment for infants, toddlers, and young children.

Primarily reserved for family and friends, we rent our second home on a limited basis only, and treat our condo as our second home, because that’s what it truly is!

Set in the exclusive Tahoe Donner neighborhood, access to our home away from home is designed to be our refuge in the mountains away from the distractions of everyday life. While TahoeDonner offers a range of amenities, we have no cable TV -- on purpose! We use our home as a way to spend time with our family (We did recently add WiFi access)

Subject to seasonal closures, amenities include all that Tahoe Donner has to offer:

¨ 50 yards from Tahoe Donner Downhill ski slopes. Considered a kid-friendly ski hill and “The Best Place to Begin”.

¨ Central access to the best ski slopes in the North Lake Tahoe area such as Northstar, Squaw Valley USA, Alpine, Sugarbowl, and Boreal.

¨ Pools & Spas maintained by TahoeDonner Association (NOTE: The common pool maintained across the street by our HOA is not heated and is not available to renters)

¨ Golf Course & Tennis Center

¨ Private Beach at Donner Lake

¨ Equestrian Center

¨ Cross Country Center

¨ Alder Creek Campground

¨ Day Camps for Children

¨ Hiking Trails

¨ Minutes from Historic Truckee, outlet shopping, and fine dining.

¨ Convenient on/off access to I-80 freeway. Don’t fight the traffic coming up from Lake Tahoe!

30 minutes from Lake Tahoe's North Shore.

Details: The unit includes 1 car garage, washer/dryer, full kitchen with dishwasher, wood burning stove, electric range & oven, microwave, TV with DVD/VCR, stereo. We have wifi access, but NO CABLE TV. We have a Roku and tons of DVD's, but recommend you bring board games or a deck of cards, and rediscover your family!

Sorry, no smoking and no pets. You provide your own sheets and towels.

**NOTE: Renters have access via guest cards to all the amenities offered by the TahoeDonner Association (see all amenities and availability at: www.tahoedonner.com). Additional per usage fee required for guests. However, the common area clubhouse across our street has recently been restricted to OWNERS only, so we are no longer able to provide access to the HOA clubhouse across the street from our condo. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
David (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About David

We living in the Bay Area of Northern California. We are a family of five with three young kids.

David purchased this condo in 2008

Why David chose Lake Tahoe North Shore

We bought this as a vacation home to create memories with our young kids.

What makes this condo unique

Walking distance to the TahoeDonner Ski Hill!

Reviews

4.2
based on 17 traveler reviews

Kid Friendly Condo Ski In/Ski Out to Tahoe Donner Ski Slopes!
average rating of 4.1764708 based on 17 reviews
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Great condo, close to the downhill area. The condo was well-maintained and had all ament is listed by the owner. The owner was very responsive and friendly when we were setting up the rental. We'd definitely stay here again.

Additionally, then food a the lodge was excited excel

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tucson, AZ
5

We had a great time

  • 5 of 5

This is an incredible location, especially if you want the option to ski Tahoe-Donner. It's a very small ski area, but worked fine for us on a blizzard day when roads were restricted and we didn't want to drive anywhere to ski. The lifts are 50 yards from the condo door.

Other days we drove the 20-30 minutes to nearby areas like Squaw Valley, Northstar, Sugar Bowl, etc. Downtown Truckee is 15 minutes away.

The owner is very honest and straightforward and the condo is well equipped so you don't need to bring anything. Everything in the kitchen and bathrooms was very well stocked.

The only caveat I would add for potential renters is that there is no hot tub near the condo. There is a rec center 2 miles away with 3 outdoor hot tubs, dry spa, a pool (open in winter), workout facility, etc. But it's $8 per person per visit. Factor that in if you like to sit in a hot tub. Still with the fairly inexpensive rent it's still a good deal in my opinion.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Mateo, ca
5

Close to slopes, great amenities, we had a perfect trip!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this rental! Walking distance to Tahoe Donner ski lift which made the trip perfect. Our kids are little so they could play in the snow right outside the unit (we even found a spot for them to sled down a small slope- and there was a sled the owner left that we could use). Safeway was a 10-15 minute drive which was easy.. Our kids could come back for lunch with a full kitchen (even has a dishwasher, toaster oven, full oven), take a warm bath (nice bathtub for kids), warm up their ski clothes in the dryer (very nice washer and dryer), and go back to the slopes.

Tahoe Donner had good ski lessons for the kids and although a smaller mountain with not as many lifts (it has 2) it was just what our little ones needed to learn. It allowed me to practice my skiing after not going for 7 years too.

I would definitely recommend this rental to others. Beautiful fireplace and very comfortable beds. One is a king and one is a queen so make sure to bring the correct sheets!

Thanks for allowing us to use your place!

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a great time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Horrible experience, do not waste your time!

  • 1 of 5

I will never ever rent this property again! I understand you have to bring your own linen and towel, even though I was told to do so after booking. But I couldn't understand that why heater is completely broken/not working in living room while outside temperature is around 2F! Even more, there is no toilet paper in the bath room. I was not told that I should bring a roll of toilet paper for traveling, and I never ever remember any other property I rent before needed me to bring my own toilet paper! The shower head is broken impossible to have a shower. My kid got sick due to freezing temperature in the house and couldn't get a warm bath. Will never come back!

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We take full responsibility for this bad review. This renter unfortunately, literally got caught in a "perfect storm" of bad luck, and we have apologized deeply for their horrible experience. We had renters earlier in the week who were a nightmare - they stole all the stocked up toilet paper, broke the showerhead, a chair, and damaged furniture in the HOA common area. The heater in the living room broke - unclear if the renters did it or it just decided to break this weekend. In any case, due to it being the Christmas weekend, our handyman was not around to make the necessary fixes, and we as the owners were out of town and out of touch for the holidays as well, leaving the renters high and dry. THAT WAS OUR FAULT, AND WE ARE DEEPLY SORRY FOR IT. In response to this renters complaint, we have given them a 25% refund of their rental fees, as well as a complimentary weekend at our condo this summer so they can hopefully have a better experience at our home. We are not professional property mangers. This is our vacation home and we rent it out to help make the mortgage payments. But we want our guests to have a good time, and we are disgusted that some renters chose to trash our condo and that this reviewer and his family had such a horrible experience. We try very hard to screen our renters, but sometimes bad apples get through. Also, if you are considering renting our condo, please keep in mind this is our home, and we are not professional property managers. Our low rental rates compared to the rest of the market reflect this. If you want a 5-star experience, DO NOT RENT FROM US! If you are looking for a home lovingly maintained by homeowners, but with some wrinkles in it, feel free to check us out. But we do ask that you treat our home as well as you would treat your own. And please read our site very carefully -- we do mention the towels and linens on the rental website. Here is the email response from this renter after I called to apologize: "Thank you for calling me to address our concern on the renting experience. We understood the situation now. Thanks for offering the refund and free stay. We will let you know our schedule."
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

All the ammedities were wonderful and age appropriate!

  • 5 of 5

We truly appreciate the great communication and support with our property owner David. He made my family and I feel extremely welcomed and comfortable during our visit.

We hope to come back in the future.

Silena, Oakland, CA

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a good time! Happy Holidays!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

A wonderful location and very comfortable

  • 3 of 5

The accommodations are very comfortable and the condos have nice amenities. It is in a lovely area with nice trail heads close by, including an equestrian center. There are two golf courses near by and a gorgeous, dog friendly lake. I loved the area, the views and the experience. The property had some extras in the kitchen but bring your own coffee. I would definitely recommend this place to a small family and I plan on returning.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Lodge
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
TahoeDoner
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Downtown Truckee
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
80
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The Lodge
Nearest Ski
50 Metres
TahoeDonner Downhill Ski Hill
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Donner Lake

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tahoe Donner Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Rates
May 28 - Dec 15
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$100
Fri,Sat,Sun
$660
 
 
Holiday Rates (Winter)
Dec 21 - Jan 1
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$300
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,100
 
 
Winter Rates
Jan 2 - May 27
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$200
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,320
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$100
Fri,Sat,Sun
$660
 

Additional information about rental rates

Mngment Fee (No Refund) $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates subject to change without notice.

By law, we are required to assess a 12% tax on all short-term rentals:

The Town of Truckee requires that a transit occupancy tax of 10% be assessed on rental and cleaning fees to all rentals of 30 days or less. We must charge you directly and are not allowed to absorb the cost for you or include it as part of our rent. (Truckee Municipal Code 3.24.050). Truckee TOT Reg. No. 443.

The Town of Truckee also assesses a 2% tax for the benefit of the Truckee Tourism Business Improvement District (TTBID), which is used to enhance the experience of visitors to the Town of Truckee.

If you are renting a unit in Truckee that does NOT charge you this tax, they are out of compliance with the law.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lake Tahoe North Shore Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2) Queen bed in each bedroom., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) 1 queen futon in living room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This is our mountain home -- it's not a five-star hotel! Be prepared to fend for yourselves a bit, and be ready to be in a true home, not a hotel. But what we lack in 5-star amenities, we make up for with a cozy home and prime location next to the Tahoe Donner Ski Hill! You provide your own sheets and towels. No pets, no smoking, please. In the winter, it can get cold, so bring extra sweaters and blankets, and snuggle up with loved ones!

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties