check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Heather

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Breathtaking Lake View/Willow Cove Home

10 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Bass Lake House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Welcome to our lake home! This has been our year-round retreat getaway for nearly 30 years. Legend has it that when our dad walked by and saw the lake view from this home, he offered cash on the spot. The rest is history.

Our home is located in the coveted Willow Cove area and is walking distance to the Pines Village where you will find three restaurants, a full service grocery, deli, bakery/pizza, a souvenir shop and a surf shop.

Our lovely home has 3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, kitchen and a Great Room on one level, and an 'in-law' type bedroom downstairs with a separate entrance and full bathroom. The interior of our home is adorned with notty pine and is decorated very homey with touches of family and Bass Lake history. Our front yard boasts one of the only grass lawns in the area and is great for children and outdoor games. Saving the best for last, we have a large deck that features breathtaking year round view of the lake for BBQing and outdoor dining.

All bedrooms are supplied with comforters, blankets and pillows. Guests are required to bring linens.

There is not a boat slip or access to a pier for the rental, however you can easily rent one through the Pines Marina for an additional cost. The Pines Marina is a short walk from our home (less than 1/4 mile). We can supply you with their number if you are interested.

On the lake itself there are three marinas open in the summer, The Pines, Miller's Landing and The Forks. Each have gasoline, dining outlets, boat rentals (fishing, ski & patio) & jet skis for rent.

You can also plan a day trip to Yosemite Valley (1 hour drive) to see the famed granite walls of El Capitan and Half Dome, along with the breathtaking waterfalls, Yosemite, Bridalveil, Vernal and Nevada (spring & summer months are best for water flow). If you get an early start you can trek Half Dome for an experience and view of a lifetime. It is a tough hike at 16 miles round trip and 5,000 foot elevation gain, but worth every potential blister.

Whether you are planning for a quiet Winter get-away, or an active Summer vacation, Bass Lake will not disappoint. Bring your family, friends, and neighbors. Build memories that will last a lifetime and start a new tradition....vacations at Bass Lake.

For additional information on local attractions please visit the Bass Lake Chamber of Commerce website.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Heather (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Heather

Ask any home owner in the area and they are most likely familiar with our dad, Jim Ackroyd. Our dad served as the Administrator to the Homeowner's Association during the time when homeowners came together and purchased the leased land from PG&E. No small feat and our dad played an integral role in the process. We are very proud.

Our dad passed away September 2004 from cancer. We are telling you this not to make you sad but to invite you to truly enjoy what this lake and home have to offer. Our father lived life to the fullest and this home was a conduit to his favorite activities - BBQ's, boating and reading the paper on the deck.

Heather purchased this house in 1982

What makes this house unique

While staying at our home you'll enjoy the warmth and comfort of a family home. Many rentals are sterile, loosely stocked with items and give no sense of who owns it. Our home is the opposite, it's fully stocked for entertaining (food gatherings are our favorite), well maintained and emulates a warm family experience. You are invited to enjoy it to the fullest.

Reviews

4.8
based on 10 traveler reviews

Breathtaking Lake View/Willow Cove Home
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
Fremont, California
5

Excellent place!!!

  • 5 of 5

We were a large group of friends who spent the new year and a couple of nights at Bass Lake at this amazing place!! The house was beautiful on the inside, with a true lodge feeling. Heather was amazing and she was super helpful with suggestions and tips. She even returned my call about a qn at 10pm on the 31st night!!! The entire group had a great time and were very comfortable for the two nights we were there. The location is great as Bass Lake is right there, with some amazing hikes and about 30 mins to the entrance of Yosemite (depending on traffic). Highly recommend!!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and a spacious home !! Must visit !

  • 5 of 5

We were here for NYE with friends, from the very start we felt at home. It is very inviting and welcoming:) spacious enough for 12 people. The owners are sweethearts and very accomodating. They made our stay very pleasant. Would love to come back to this beauty !

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Bass Lake Beauty!

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed in this property on more than one occasion. The owner bends over backwards to accommodate and tries to make sure all of your needs are met. The location is unbeatable; you can walk to the village easily and just down the street is access to the water near the sheriff's tower. The deck is huge and can seat a ton of people and the view from the deck is amazing because you can see far down the lake! The house has been in the owner's family for many years and the personal touches throughout make it feel homey. It is very clean and well-maintained. The kitchen is extremely well-stocked and has two refrigerators. Updates were made to a lot of the furnishings this year and give it a modern feel. This is a fantastic house for large gatherings because there is enough space for everyone to spread out. I plan on returning to the house many times in the years to come. It is my Bass Lake home away from home.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words Denise. We hope you and your family continue to come to Bass Lake and to our home. Have a great rest of the summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Thousand Oaks, CA
5

Beautiful Lake Cabin, Great Location, Accommodating Owners

  • 5 of 5

We've been to Bass Lake many times and have stayed at a variety of cabins. This cabin had a wonderful view, was well equipped, and had lot's of room for the two families that stayed here. The owners were very accommodating to us regarding our requests and always got back to us in a timely manner. We will definitely stay here again!!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Susie. You, your family and friends are the ideal guests. We would love to have you back at anytime. We rent year round so if another visit comes up this year, let me know.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
venice, ca
3

Dark a little depressing and desperate for an update

  • 3 of 5

I have been to Bass Lake a few times and oh how fantastic it is! Kids talk about it all year. You have to know that you will not find bargains in Bass Lake. All the owners get it and know what to charge. If you are an aesthetic person, as I am, you have to simply pay more money. I booked late, another issue with bass lake, you gotta do your summer over christmas break for the great houses. And, for me, if I'm going to live there a week I want it to be pretty. Casual but nice. If you don't care and are looking for a crash pad in a good area grab it. My reviews are brutally honest.

We rented this house because the bedroom configurations sounded perfect in case my mom wanted to come: "In Law type bedroom downstairs with separate entrance". Let's start there. It's in the basement garage and feels like it in every single way. it's underground so black dark. The bathroom is sadly the nicest in the house.

To enter the home itself, you walk through a very narrow and dated kitchen. There is no a/c in the main area, just a noisy 'swamp fan' thing. The ac in the main bedroom didn't work upon arrival but the owner/daughter had it fixed right away.

There is old carpeting, no Wifi, a phone that only makes local calls out and your cell phone will not work, although cells don't work well at all at Bass Lake. The whole vonage thing has changed home rentals and it's a surprise when you come across a house that doesn't offer anything like that anymore. The tv's are ancient, fuzzy, tricky and awful. Don't even think you'll be watching a movie at night without wanting to run out and buy a new one. Furniture is just pooped out. Dead throw pillows. I won't go on, you got it. It's simply a bummer because there is space and a nice view (from the deck and master only). With a little attention, some paint and a few creative furniture pieces they could pull it together. It's a vacation rental and people who rent want to feel like they are not in uncle pete's 70's bachelor pad, although a savvy woman fluffed the master with a Home Goods comforter on a spectacular four poster bed. It's not a broken chair kind of place - yet. It's just over stuffed, dark and .. well old.

It is family owned and they have a lot of love for their dad who lived there full time, a proud fireman. Now that it is a rental the family should consider taking the time and money and give the house an update because it can be great and they could make a bit more money out of it.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Everyone is entitled to their opinion, though I want readers to know that we were very clear with this guest (numerous times in advance) when it came to the swamp cooler in the living room (works fine), no wi-fi and the location of the in-law room (my favorite room in the house by the way with its own bathroom and it stays cool during the heat of the summer). We'd also like to share that the carpet is only 3 years old. We installed new windows 2 years ago and completely rebuilt the deck 3 years ago, so this guest's interpretation of "old" is unlike any we have read. We agree that our home does not have the most current TVs however we believe in enjoying the mountains and lake when you are here. Not sitting inside glued to the TV (they work perfectly fine for that movie night, your favorite weekly series or when you just want to veg). Our home is comfortable, clean and loved. We invite you to read the other reviews on our site and then decide if you would like to rent our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
5

The Herold Clan

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here in the summer of 2011 and absolutely LOVED IT!!! With 4 families (mostly adults) it worked well. The deck was were we usually ate our meals, and used the BBQ almost every night. The location has a view you can only dream about. Thank you Tracy!

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Fresno International Airport (FAT)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Walking Distance
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
River Creek (9-hole) in Ahwahnee
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Merced, CA
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Highway 41
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Walking Distance
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Badger Pass in Yosemite or China Peak
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Walking distance

Yosemite National Park

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bass Lake House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall/Winter
Sep 12 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$350
Fri,Sat
 
 
Winter/Spring
Jan 1 2017 - May 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Summer pre 4th
May 8 2017 - Jul 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
 
Summer post 4th
Jul 9 2017 - Sep 10 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 11.0%

Remaining security deposit is returned to you 14 days after your departure, provided the home and grounds are left in good order.

$300 deposit with signed contract is required to reserve your dates. Full payment of rent plus security deposit is due 90 days prior to arrival. Payment by check only.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bass Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Resort
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - In Master Bedroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - Guest Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - In in-law type room - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 4 - in-law type room with separate access - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Both are Queen size. Room has heat & air conditioning.
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , ie. California King. Room has heat & air conditioning.
    Bedroom 2 - We call this 'the Big Room' - 1 king , 1 queen , ie. California King. Room has heat & air conditioning.
    Bedroom 3 - We call this 'the Little Room' - 1 double , Note: Room has wall heater & ceiling fan.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties